New Lotus Exige V6 Cup: 346hp track day special

Lotus has a brand new track-focused model, and it’s called the Lotus Exige V6 Cup, aimed at new and current Lotus Cup series racing, including Lotus Cup UK, Lotus Cup Europe, Lotus Cup Eastern Europe, Lotus Cup Italy, Lotus Cup Japan, and the Lotus Ladies Cup (Hungary).

Two models are available – the Track Day version goes for £62,995 and a full-on Competition-spec car starts from £74,995. The Exige V6 Cup’s supercharged 3.5 litre Toyota V6 makes 346 hp, taking the 1,080 kg V6 Cup up to 100 km/h in just 3.8 seconds.

The car comes equipped with Lotus Dynamic Performance Management, so you can switch the engine and traction settings between Touring, Sport and Race. Other specs include Pirelli P-Zero Trofeo tyres, an aerodynamically optimised front splitter, rear diffuser and wing, multi-adjustable suspension as well as race-ready kit such as a heavy-duty roll cage, four or six-point harnesses, isolator switches, FIA-approved fire extinguisher, tow eyes, removable steering wheel and HANS-compliant race seats.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• silwen on Aug 19, 2012 at 3:56 am

The fuel inlet is surprisingly high, right behind your head! Hehe.

Any idea if it is road legal?

• i can’t help but notice there are 2 jokers who will (meh) no matter what topic posted. real crazy stalker.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 20, 2012 at 9:26 am

Who is that 2 jokers who will (meh)? What you mean by this? what make them joker? Is that you disagree with their writing?

On contrary, what constitute the opposite, is that they have to please you until haven, apple polisher, boot licker, balls carrier, or any other similar act that please you all the time only not constitute a joker?

Finally, are you the one who are the real joker by make this unsubtanstiate claim without basis in this posting!

• Yummy cup series! Too bad lotus is way out of reach of many although its supposed to be ‘affordable’….even elise s is 240k and now replacement is elise sc which wud be at least 280k i think…..
    I’ll keep on dreaming…..

• blackbox on Aug 19, 2012 at 10:07 pm

If can’t afford new unit, just buy used car. They usually very low in mileage. You have the same amount of fun.

• Used elise s is abt 170-190k…still cant afford..
        Unless u r talking abt mk1 wic is abt 100k…and tats abt 15yrs old…

• Lotus cars still have stunning exterior design. They don’t need new models, just update the current models with modern interior, reduce the selling price, then they can go back to the glorious sales.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 19, 2012 at 3:51 pm

Those average people can’t afford to buy this sport car, yet for filthy rich, they are more interested on Ferrari, Porche,Lambo, etc.

Sport car is “expensive” big boy toy, not something “cheap” that attract buyer.

• True. Another reason not to buy Lotus in Malaysia (used recond unit) is lack of support.

• zaff1984 on Aug 19, 2012 at 11:05 pm

the sport rims are so awesome !!

• eagleeye on Aug 20, 2012 at 10:07 am

“aimed at ew and current”
    is that a typo?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Aug 20, 2012 at 3:09 pm

Ew! Thanks for spotting. It’d be “new.” Like it is now. :)

• brasgg on Aug 20, 2012 at 10:17 am

no use the car can do so fast at straight road if the handling is like sampan at corner, no use the power without control, nevertheless for this car i believe the handling is superb, as usual