Team ERA wins Shell FuelSave Challenge – 19.69 km/l

The Shell FuelSave Challenge 2012 happened earlier today, where popular radio DJs with one lucky fan each fought with other teams to be the most fuel efficient. After 97 km in a Hyundai Elantra, Team ERA emerged champion with the figure of 19.69 km per litre of Shell FuelSave 95 petrol.

Lucky fan Ahmad Adlyn, who partnered ERA FM DJ Adifashla, walked away with RM5,000 cash. The other DJs were Ean from Hitz FM and Wai Fun from Chinese station MY FM. Each were paired with a fan as they drove along a pre-determined route with two pit stops that had points-paying mini challenges. Shell FuelSave ambassador and popular actor Fahrin Ahmad gave them tips before the flag off.

“Before this, I’ve heard of driving tips that help save fuel while driving and today, I can proudly say that I am a fuel efficient driver having tried it firsthand. This once in a lifetime experience was even more thrilling as I got to team up with my favourite radio DJ Adi,” said Ahmad Adlyn. The runner-up teams took home 100,000 BonusLink points.

The Shell FuelSave Challenge was held in conjunction with Shell’s global online campaign – Target One Million. The campaign aims to educate one million motorists globally to be more fuel efficient via a series of mini games. The next game, Shell FuelSave Bootloader, is scheduled for launch soon. Malaysia is currently number two on the Target One Million global leaderboard.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sam Loo on Oct 04, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Not much leverage testing on cars with ultra low resale value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 59
    • actually u jealous of the car beauty n tech isn’t it?? just admit la u already shame coz using your current car that maybe a dugong,city,camry,altis,accord,civic right2? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • TurboMan!!! on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:04 am

Testing fuel consumption has nothing to do with resale value.

You mean u don hv the intellect to see that? Poor Sam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo on Oct 05, 2012 at 5:58 pm

If test car is a popular make with better RV like MyVi or Saga, it makes more sense, as it appeals to the masses.

A Hyundai ? Who is so stupid to make the mistake of buying this rotten cabbage and end up losing 50% of car value in 2 years?

• TurboMan!!! on Oct 05, 2012 at 7:06 pm

Somemore wanna argue with the same points?

Your points have been shot down 6 days to sunday.

No shame?

• David D on Oct 05, 2012 at 7:39 pm

Pah, this is a fuel efficiency test to see who can get the best mileage out of a bog-standard car, and you just gotta keep giving your ultra-stupid RV rantings?

Well, guess what, i doubt that Shell will give a shi* to your bigoted reply, as they just pick cars they like, not to your command.

Still don’t get it. Again, on behalf of the sane-minded, reasonable-thinking commentators here, i’m warning you again, you keep up with this rubbish, and we’ll keep smashing your comments up to a real pulp.

And, one thing, consider yourself lucky that you’re typing behind a computer screen, as if i were to see the real you, seriously, i really wanna give you a tight slap in the face for being such an ignorant bastard who has just gotta spoil the mood of us car lovers who has just endured a long day at work and wanna enjoy discussing about cars we love!

Turboman, keep up the good work mate. Good to know that you are still alive and kicking.

• what hyundai model will lose 50% in two years time?

• Sam Loo on Oct 06, 2012 at 2:56 pm

All Hyundai/Kia Models will lose more than 50% in 2 years when you trade it it

• Sam Loo on Oct 06, 2012 at 3:03 pm

I would love to see the looks on your face when the used car salesman tells you that your kimchi is worth less than RM20k when you trade it in next year

• David D on Oct 07, 2012 at 2:44 am

You just dont get it dont you? Warning after warning, rebuttals after one another, and you still keep talking the same old shit as if hoping the innocent ones will listen to you. Attention seeker?

No. You’re more of a ridiculous bastard who has a pathological hatred for a brand just because you had a bad experience with it.

• TIGER on Oct 04, 2012 at 10:54 pm

waste of time to do this types of campaign,no matter what u teach to driver it is his/her attitude on the road to determine how the person driving and accordingly fuel consumption of the car.
    Shell better give discounts on lubricants to benefit the customers or cash coupon to redeem fuel or much better campaign to benefit customers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • am i the only one to find that yellow/silver color combination which goes along the lines of the Elantra pretty attractive-looking? :)

• don schlong on Oct 05, 2012 at 8:16 am

duckface!!!!!!

• 19.69 km/liter. That’s a great achievement. Real life normal driving style maybe 15 km/liter?

• firefish on Oct 05, 2012 at 9:00 am

T&H ultra fanatic car asking why uses this car…

• ss427 on Oct 05, 2012 at 9:22 am

Hmm… a yellow Elantra ah LOL :) Actually it doesn’t look too bad in that color. It can be mistaken for a Veloster at a distance :) The Veloster can be ordered in yellow from the factory

Well folks, this is a real testement how advanced Hyundai engines has become these days. Rem, this is just the regular Gamma/Nu engines, the GDI version will do even BETTER :)

Seriously man, even my trusty FD1 can’t pull such figures no matter how light footed I try… and I’m using top grade Mobil 1 0W-20 fully syn oil and properly inflated tires and premium gas…

But then again, I’m in SG… where traffic jams is freq and we can hardly, if ever, maintain a constant speed for > 30 secs without slowing down/stopping

• Sam Loo on Oct 06, 2012 at 5:06 pm

You can’t trust any figures from Korean makes

• TurboMan!!! on Oct 06, 2012 at 6:36 pm

Shell did the test.

U cant trust Shell as well?

THen who shall we trust? The “legendary moron” Sam?

God forbidsss

• Sam Loo, Whatever you telling not support by any proves and you never do research also~ You are bladdy brain retarded moron. Strong suggesting you go to see doctor~~ Go to see Vet also can~~

• bystander on Oct 05, 2012 at 11:44 am

you guys really din give face loo…Shell wanna do a marketing campaign and get the message out to users to just be more light footed, save some gas abit, that oso wanna complain..aduh..

• Well, it make no sense to T driver, T driver is rich, more higher fuel consumption more better chance to let us show to public we r rich. those always emphasize for low fuel consumption had proved they are poor + pity.

• That is mighty impressive. My 1.4 TSI could only clock abt 5.7l/100km on my run.

That is full highway at 110kmh with Ron 97. Granted I was using aircon and electronics the whole time and should be driving at 90kmh instead. But still…. This is good!

• I was told part of the trick is to use cruise control @ 90-100 km/hr speed. I still trying to find the cruise control in my Vios, maybe it’s hidden somewhere.