Hyundai HB20X crossover joins the Brazilian line-up

This is the Hyundai HB20X, effectively a crossover version of the HB20, the first model from the Korean carmaker to be designed and built exclusively for Brazil at the new Piracicaba plant. Both hatch and crossover have made their first public appearance at the Sao Paulo motor show.

The crossover is set to go on sale early next year, with the sole engine choice a flex-fuel 1.6 litre four-cylinder unit that makes 128 hp. Manual and automatic transmissions will be available.

To create the HB20X, the i20-based HB20 gets raised suspension, plastic body mouldings and 15-inch alloys. There’s a redesigned face with a hexagonal grille, new fog lamps and a black bezel and chrome details for the headlamps.

Features such as silver roof bars, sports pedals, chrome-finished door handles and blue stitching on the steering wheel complete the transformation. Hyundai do Brazil says a sedan version will surface in the first quarter of 2013.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Jilbaber on Oct 23, 2012 at 5:05 pm

I like the design ! why made only for Brazil

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • ckd master on Oct 23, 2012 at 5:17 pm

the hyundai and kia design is always mind blowing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • Vader on Oct 23, 2012 at 5:28 pm

it look great.. is not bad to bring over here as Matrix replacement model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • Haters gonna hate~ on Oct 23, 2012 at 5:58 pm

Design getting too common, boring~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
  • Moh17 on Oct 23, 2012 at 6:40 pm

Myvi lagi best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
  • Drebar on Oct 23, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Hyundai proved that Cheap car can be Nice beautiful modern design…

Maybe underneath still not as good as Toyota but at least first impression sells first…

Wonder why Proton cannot learn from Hyundai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
  • Drebar on Oct 23, 2012 at 6:47 pm

Looks like a lovechild by GTR and Juke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • Front looks fantastic… But the tail so so oni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Sam Loo on Oct 23, 2012 at 7:45 pm

You mind will be exploding when its time to sell this car off

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
    • Hadi75 on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:27 am

If always worry about resale value…. Don’t buy car la…. Buy a house…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • whenever people start talking aboutt Korean cars….there will always “smart a$$” person associates the issue with the resale value of the car….this and that! As if the public got no other way of buying cars these days.and rather to stick to the usual brand ie. The T and The H brands!

Stop this stupid mentality….there is no car that is not depreciating on its value unless you bought the De Lorean – and thats a diff story altogether!

the best way to beat depreciation is by applying shorter loan terms whenever u wanna finance the car! Say 5 years or less….this way you can be sure your car value stay higher to the money you own to the bank!

Other than this, no matter what car u buy, if the term is maximum…say like 9 yrs or so! Surely you will always need to fork extra $$$ whenever you want to sell it earlier than the term agreed earlier!

Bottom line is, if you got the momey, it wont matter what car you intend to buy being it the koreans,the local csrs or the japanese!

Only loser wining abt resale values!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:15 pm

If you got the money, Korean will be the last option on your shopping list

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
  • kenapa design macam toyota yaris baru..

• Black Dog on Oct 24, 2012 at 1:14 pm

This baby looks good. I’m still pretty confident there’s a market for 1.6L – 1.8L small SUV below Rm90K. The Nautica was way too expensive compared to the previous Kembara. P1 should come out with one instead of always concentrating on hatchbacks and cars that compete among themselves.