Chevrolet Sonic LTZ – launch moved to December

Looks like the local launch of the Chevrolet Sonic, which was supposed to take place on November 29, has been pushed to December – the actual launch date hasn’t been firmed up yet, but the car is set to debut sometime next month, so we’ve been told.

The Thai-made B-segment offering will be introduced here in both sedan and hatchback forms, and in a single specification trim, the range-topping LTZ. The car will be equipped with a 1.4 litre Ecotec VVT four-cylinder mill, with 100 hp at 6,000 rpm and 130 Nm at 4,000 rpm for output numbers. Paired to it is a six-speed auto transmission.

Items on the feature list include 60:40 split fold-down rear seats, tilt-adjustable steering, a six-speaker single CD/MP3 audio system with USB connectability as well as 16-inch alloys and 205/55 profile tyres. As for safety kit, the car comes with dual airbags, ABS, EBD and brake assist.

Pricing hasn’t been announced, but an indicative figure of RM82,000 was bandied at the media preview held earlier this month, where we sampled both Sonic body types – read our report here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• vee-oh on Nov 27, 2012 at 1:29 pm

no need to launch also OK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
  • The further they postpone the better
    No offense I dun think it can sell well againts the ford fiesta….. My opinion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Ahmadfaris93 on Nov 28, 2012 at 7:34 pm

With that engine and that price, there’s no way it can compete with the Fiesta. They need to really study the market and revise the price if they want to launch it.

• Kaninabei on Nov 27, 2012 at 1:47 pm

I gonna buy this car….2014, second hand, because by then the value will be around rm15000. A good deal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
    • salgoodguy on Nov 27, 2012 at 2:44 pm

hahaha..ya ler, nice theory..but you will suffer to maintaining this car then..

• Ahmadfaris93 on Nov 28, 2012 at 7:39 pm

I am user of a 2004 Chevrolet Aveo. There are no major problems or maintaining the car or maybe I’m just lucky.

• hantu on Nov 27, 2012 at 2:21 pm

if the price is really around 80K, I would rather buy ‘potong’ inspira. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • no need to launch la..

• sepul on Nov 27, 2012 at 3:15 pm

i dont know why they cut so much on equipment despite being the LTZ trim.. to bring down the price? then people will stick to vios and city instead

those who want to be different can always find the fiesta and polo as a better choice.. even a mazda2 is seemingly better equipped

naza is just like tan chong.. chevy is a good car but under specced for its price

• they had a booth at 1U last 2 weeks ago, Sonic was there but was locked, so you can only peep the interior. I registered myself, price will be around RM74k, only 1 model (1 spec)

• Malaysian on Nov 27, 2012 at 4:13 pm

I think the people at Naza Quest should really sit down to come out with a good strategy. We do not see much of Chevy on our roads. I hope they will rethink about their pricing. They have the distributorship for sometime and I am very sure by now they would have learn soemthing…..RM80K will not get you anywhere….Almera is only RM6xK….

• carlover on Nov 27, 2012 at 5:26 pm

I would Love to see the price to be set lower. I think with the bareback Nissan Almera selling at RM69800 (auto), if Naza is aiming to get into the game properly, they Should review their price. Range of 65-68k would attract Chevrolet supporters. Range of 60-62k would attract big crowd from the market. Anything above Almera then u can sell only 50-100cars a month.

• tikus on Nov 27, 2012 at 7:09 pm

With this kind of price,Almera will kill them all.

• Kaninabei on Nov 27, 2012 at 7:10 pm

No worries I wait until2014 and get this car for rm15000

• DArkerMarker on Nov 27, 2012 at 7:35 pm

The dont even like the headlamps. Seeing the remaining part of the car definitely make me sick.

So, please dont launch the car. There are other good car consumers can buy other than this.

• Biscuit on Nov 27, 2012 at 11:47 pm

The price for 1.4L.!!……kimchi’s going up but the quality, fit & finish remain the same

• shawal on Nov 28, 2012 at 9:30 am

you can’t price this car above 70k

• Ahmadfaris93 on Nov 28, 2012 at 7:43 pm

If the price is 80k, the price would be okay IF IT IS A 1.4 TURBO as it would be competitive with the Ford Fiesta. They really need bring the price around 65k-75k(max) or else this model would suffer and some people might consider the depreciation value too.