Toyota to launch 20 new models in China by 2016 – Etios-based sedan and hatch to lead the way

Following on the report yesterday that Toyota is set to introduce two brands exclusively for the Chinese market beginning next year, word has it that the automaker is planning to introduce 20 new models in China by 2016.

It’s mentioned that of the 20, two small cars will be the among the first in, arriving in the second half of next year. The offerings are a sedan and a hatch – the sedan will come from the JV in Tianjin with FAW, while the hatch will be built at the JV with Guangzhou Automobile.

While no mention was made as to the identity of the vehicles, the fact that they’re coming off the JVs means they are likely to be based around the workings of the Etios sedan and Etios Liva hatch.

For the sedan, it was reported last year that Toyota intends to keep costs down by using Etios parts for the new car, which will have a 1.5 litre engine, but that the Chinese derivative would be slightly larger than the Etios to accomodate preferences in the Chinese market.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• stupid design…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Biscuit on Nov 27, 2012 at 2:45 pm

Well….for toyot…as long as the car can move forward and backward is good enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Loo on Nov 27, 2012 at 4:00 pm

Can launch as many models but pls make sure there is no more recalls. Always Toyota got recalls, brake pedal issue etc etc etc. This is why resale value of Toyota in Malaysia getting to be so bad. 1 year old Camry 2.4 to fetch RM100,000 also so difficult.

• really ?
          give me your contact, i got lots of ppl willing to buy 2011 2.4v @ 100k
          market are running @ 140 ++ leh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • Resale value here resale value there. Probably you should stop “investing” on cars.

• i tot china already boycott japs product… toyota sales is suffering badly in china! still dare to launch 20 models there?

• alldisc on Nov 27, 2012 at 3:53 pm

toyot – being japanese, has this one thing called never give up spirit.

look at UMW, no matter how much bashing they got in paultan and yet they are almost hitting 100,000 units in sales mark, repeating what happened in 2008.

coz they never give up.

• Nope, they are just pouncing on most uneducated mind. Only petrol heads come to Paultan. Casual drivers (which is most of the population) will probably say, “What ball dan? Ball dancing?” when you ask them to read Paultan.

• VW in China is so popular…T is nothing there.

• You can launch as many models as you like as long your government do not make stupid move like buying island. Do that again and your company will cease to exist in China.

• This is the PAWA of a bigger China market.

• gOOsh on Nov 27, 2012 at 3:59 pm

ni kalau jual kt mesia, laku nih… as long as it is T brand…

• Joe Radzif on Nov 27, 2012 at 5:30 pm

huduh….

• this market belongs to volkswagen, it is so well done for volkswagen to build their reputation and system here.