Toyota to introduce a low-priced car for China in 2013

According to reports, Toyota is planning to introduce a low-priced small car designed for the Chinese market as early as 2013, with production planned at two factories in the country.

The new car is likely to be based on the its existing small sedan designs, led by the Etios, which made its debut in India last December. While the company intends to keep costs down by using Etios parts, the new vehicle – to be powered by a 1.5 litre engine – is to be slightly larger than the Etios to accomodate preferences in the Chinese market.

The reports add that Toyota is set to spend about 40 billion yen in preparation for local production of the car, which it aims to sell around 200,000 units a year of. Two factories, joint venture plants in Tianjin with China FAW and in Guangzhou with Guangzhou Automobile, will churn out the new tyke when the time comes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kwing on Jul 29, 2011 at 12:21 pm

box on wheel.. japan is going the other way in term of developing your car….sad..

• Cheng on Jul 29, 2011 at 1:04 pm

why cant cheap car has good look?

• klguy on Jul 29, 2011 at 1:09 pm

if cheap cars looks good, who on earth (i mean Asia la) would want to buy the higher marques?

• Cheng on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:39 pm

then why expensive car has ugly look?

• Cheap car has most ugliest look,expensive cars has ugly look too but the luxury brands logo can cover it and make the whole car looks good :)

• lawa aper …

• Look like my @$$

• YEAH RITE on Jul 29, 2011 at 1:21 pm

wow give me the LWB version.. haha

• kawpoaaa on Jul 29, 2011 at 1:44 pm

LoL its vios again!

• antixxx on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:52 pm

It’s replacing Vios…

• Kenny on Jul 29, 2011 at 7:52 pm

Probably replacing toyota itself..with this kind of look it makes the geely panda look sexy

• alldisc on Jul 30, 2011 at 9:18 am

this maybe the one to replace vios, cheaper with a smiling face! no more dugong!!

• kamaji on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:05 pm

Low priced in China maybe but will be expensive if to sell it here & the design outlook…… So Borrrrrrrring.

• ben yap on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:30 pm

bring it to malaysia and sell it here. at least we can get to drive a new japanese marque for the price of a proton.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:44 pm

Low price car: Vios vis-a-vis Etios based, which one is cheaper with better specs.

For me, both also small car for low budget consumers.

• Unforgiven on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:49 pm

I’m sure the Saga FLX is able to compete with this car 1 on 1. Saga is ready to fight like a man, without protectionism now…. let’s do that right now!

• Expatriate VN on Jul 29, 2011 at 4:13 pm

Saga FLX with CVT is not a big deal, don’t be over excited with this minor improvement for Proton but is a standard feature for most of other car.

Fighting with T but with Etios based crap budget car, if win also not a big deal. Same as beating MyVi also another “ayam kampong cock fight”, not a big horse racing.

• Unforgiven on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:15 pm

You think so easy to have balls to fight with T?
        You think a Saga FLX dare to fight with a based crap budget car in the same price segment?

We should at least bring down the price of Etios to have a 1 on 1 fight first, before we start looking at fighting with a VW Polo.

• the saga FLX can easily thrash this POS ( piece of shit ) anytime inside out.

toyota is even getting worse than p1 nowadays. that’s what happens when profit is the only concern of the company.

• Unforgiven on Jul 30, 2011 at 4:10 pm

How do we prove that T is worst than P1?
            Safety, durability, quality or what?

• kenny on Jul 29, 2011 at 3:23 pm

pure Toy-outa … they really lost the toyoda touch… dammmit, i wouldnt drive it even it was free… a piece of scrap metal, you think the “T” will sell by itself then you must be dreaming… the world is not that stupid anymore…

• Unforgiven on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:24 pm

What if they sell it cheaper than FLX in M’sia? Which should be the actual price for Etios, do you think it will sell?

• Kenny on Jul 29, 2011 at 7:04 pm

will you buy a ugly shirt if its really cheap…or a disgusting looking watch / handphone cheap? … i know i wouldnt…unless thats all i can afford…even so id rather be on a kapchai bike than to draw untasteful attention to myself…

• Unforgiven on Jul 29, 2011 at 8:47 pm

Sounded like why we are still seeing Proton on the road…

• alldisc on Jul 30, 2011 at 9:41 am

dont worry, T wont sell this in malaysia. we have too high egos

the etios suits the chinese market just fine. cheap, durable and it is a toyota.

chinese market actually still sensitive with the japanese, because of world war II. many of the older generations, if they can afford it .. would go for conti makes.

• civicEK on Jul 29, 2011 at 4:50 pm

aiyoOoo.. damn ugly..

• ichi24 on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:33 pm

good, now toyota getting rape by the likes of hyundai and kia soon

• The car’s hideous!

• O.O like shit

• Jeremy Clarkson would have said something like this : “This car reminds us of the mainstream Japanese cars back in the 80’s..all boxy and designed using rulers.. the side looks like it has been given a tight slap by Chuck Norris..”

• Jimmy on Jul 29, 2011 at 9:29 pm

Still, it is going to be better than any purely China-made cars, including the Chinese pseudo-RR.

• Hadi75 on Jul 29, 2011 at 9:58 pm

A new facelift vios….

• Rosmah on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:07 pm

Sure looks like me when i was younger and slimmer.

• riderxdesign on Jul 30, 2011 at 8:46 am

naza 207 sedan is much better than this crap!

• pekan on Jul 30, 2011 at 10:54 am

FUGLY!

• UMW can bring this crap to malaysia, slap some TRD stickers and sell for 90k. i’ll bet lots of suckers will still buy like it was being given away for free.

toyota is going down the drain nowadays…too lazy to even design a proper car that at least looks reasonable / pleasing to the eyes.

cheap doesn’t necessary need to be ugly, look at new hyundai accent, fiesta hatch etc.

• Friction on Jul 30, 2011 at 3:32 pm

hehehe.. sound like my cousin. Nothing in this world can beat a Toyota. What an AhBeng!
      his Vios S spec… sure isn’t what he had expected.. he say no different with Proton! HAHAHA… but 1 thing for sure… their service center is 1st class…. helpful TA, friendly.. and change any faulty parts during warranty period without any fuss. For that I respect toyota.. this will make me consider Toyota for my next car!

• flipflop on Aug 01, 2011 at 10:38 am

of course la… u already paid them ‘downpayment’ of extra 10-20k for those smiles and fancy service~ :D

• Toyota back in the 1990s are real good, these days Toyota really become Toy-car. I actually enjoy driving the legendary Toyota SEG more than the brand new VIOS and Altis.

I heard a saying that, cars before year 2000 are designed by passionate engineers, and cars beyond year 2000 are ‘designed’ by passionate accountants. I don’t know how true it is, but consumers will know the truth.

• fique d on Aug 02, 2011 at 7:37 am

as long as it is TOYOTA rite? ayoooo… WTH.. slap TRD logo ppl will forgot how ugly it is hahaha…

• Anti turbo on Aug 02, 2011 at 7:58 am

bring it in… sale at the price of Proton Saga and then we will know whether Proton is really up to the task. Enough said… challenge the government to tax less tax on automobile…

• Selva on Aug 15, 2011 at 10:33 am

When will the Vios get a new face lift or replaced with Etios model?