Alfa Romeo 4C – production model for Geneva debut

648698_70499alf

Che bella! Two years after its debut as a concept, the Alfa Romeo 4C is set to attend next month’s Geneva motor show, this time in a production form that’s just as sexy as the concept. To be built at the Maserati plant in Modena, the 4C will spearhead Alfa’s US comeback when it goes on sale there later this year.

Length, width and height are respectively under 4.0 metres, 2.0 metres and 1.18 metres, while the wheelbase measures less than 2.4 metres. A new all-aluminium turbocharged 1.8 litre four-pot engine is mated to a twin-dry clutch TCT ‘box with shift paddles and a sequential mode. The mill features direct injection, dual CVVT and a scavenging control system that eliminates turbo lag.

Alfa is keeping output numbers to itself for now, but it does claim a weight-to-power ratio of less than 4 kg per hp. Autocar UK speculates 237 hp; if this is so, then that would mean a kerb weight of just under a tonne (the concept weighed 850 kg). The British publication also indicates a century sprint time of approximately 4.5 seconds and a limited top speed of 250 km/h.

The mid-engined two-seater’s chassis is all carbon fibre, while the interior’s central cell is also made of the lightweight material. There’s a new Alfa DNA selector which sees a Race mode joining the familiar Dynamic, Natural and All Weather modes. According to Autocar, next year will see the introduction of a track version, followed by a road-going 266 hp Stradale version and then a convertible.

More details when the wraps peel away proper, but first, you might want to wipe that drool off your chin.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sam Lose on Feb 12, 2013 at 11:19 pm

No resale value!!!!

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

• AVH® on Feb 13, 2013 at 1:57 am

Check out these cars: 8C 2900, 6C series, Giulietta Sprint, Duetto Spyder, TZ coupe, 1900 and T33/2.

Yes they are rare, classic and maybe even racing cars, but has a RV to rival real estate. Alfa Romeo sports car [RWD] usually will be more desirable when time goes by, espacially mint, not to say that resale value will not go down. Alfa Romeo 75 [the last RWD Alfa] in low mileage, mint condition goes for AUS$6k for the magnificent V6 manual version. May not sound like much, but compared to say, a similar age 535i or a 735i, they cost AUS$3k. So Alfa Romeo no resale value, your argument is invalid.

Although condition does plays a heavy role on Alfa Romeo resale, and they are not what we call reliable.A mint and awesome 1985 Alfa Romeo GTV6 cost AUS$17k ahile a lesser condition GTV6 cost AUS$6k. Remember it had a lesser role in a James Bond movie(forgotten which one). Speaking of GTV6, there is a very, very, very (3x), poor condition GTV6 [I think it’s only the body and chassis, the wheels are gone] lying around in Rawang, tried to find the owner but failed, so I assume is abandon. Anyone interested in a restoration project, it’s a beaut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • kirigaya kirito on Feb 12, 2013 at 11:19 pm

the car in the need for speed most wanted 2012 :P

• AVH® on Feb 12, 2013 at 11:27 pm

There’s not many modern car that can seduce people, like the 330 P4 or the original 500 , and if there is, its most probably a multi-million-euro-800bhp hyper mobile that most buyers actually don’t actually drive, and mere mortals can actually dream. Its reported that it will cost around the Porsche Cayman price, that means there is actually a chance, if it comes to Malaysia, that we normal mortals will actually be seduced on the road.

My goodness does it looks sevelt and sexy. I dare say lustful. I putting this as my desktop wallpaper.

• putting this as your desktop wallpaper? yucksss.
      This picture photoshop and not the real pictures.
      So cartoon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 31
      • AVH® on Feb 13, 2013 at 9:29 am

Sadly we have comflicting interest, where I actually love photoshopped images as my desktop wallpaper. From what I see all the shadows seems to point at an accurate direction. It’s either a heavily edited photograph, or whoever done the photoshop is damn good. It’s wonder what you can do with photoshop, I’m actually trying to replicate your head next to Bieber, looks really similar.

Lads and lasses of my age usually follow Korean pop stars or Justin Bieber or whatever the hell One Direction , but I actually follow animations such as Tintin or Up! Or some random stuff from Japan, they can actually be surprisingly good, So yeah I’m fine with any cartoons as my desktop wallpaper, in fact I have some right now next to the Alfa.(wind 7).

Well at least its something, I can probably guess judging your profile pic and some of your previous comment that you most likely prefer one of those K-popers as your wallpaper, what was it Big Boom or something, or maybe even Nicki Minaj type. Nah I personally don’t like those songs, prefer modern classical pieces.

• I don’t see anything wrong with people liking Kpop.

Please don’t mix cars with music, they are totally different.

Don’t judge people that like Kpop just because you don’t like. That applies to other kind of music too, you don’t like it, you can avoid it, no need to bash it.

• AVH® on Feb 13, 2013 at 4:21 pm

I am not bad mouthing anything about the K pop, I just don’t like modern pop music and electronic music that some of my generation like. I am just saying Juan here most likely likes K/A-pop judging from his comments and taste, if you say that I have a bad judgement than I’ll accept it. And we’re actually talking less on cars And more on what taste we have on wallpapers. And I’m trying to state that I’ve actually liked photoshopped images and cartoons.

Ps: if you’re cross that I say big boom, i’am really sorry, I honestly I didt know, I’ve just figured out what it’s call, Big Bang. Still not my taste, on the side note and off topic, try Yiruma.

• seriously, i hate k-pop, macam budak budak. Not even close, ermmm, rilek lah, u ni cepat sangat bad mood, hehhe

• AVH® on Feb 13, 2013 at 9:25 pm

FINALLY, a language that I can understand, chill there is no tone of bad mood when I’am typing either of my replies. I just enjoy replying and reasoning and if it sounds bad mood to you, you have my sincere apology,.

• It feel like mini size of Ferrari . Looks great.

• Jimmy on Feb 13, 2013 at 12:26 am

What a cantiq cute little sports car.

• gOOsh on Feb 13, 2013 at 2:24 am

i’m always a fan of alfa since 145 model… luv the sound of the engine & good handling… almost bought a 2nd hand 155 in ’98 as my 1st car; but ended up owned a satria gti…

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 13, 2013 at 7:08 am

This is as close to a production Lancia Stratos.

I wonder what had become of the Lancia Stratos concept quite a few years ago.

Given they are the same group, fingers crossed that eventually this platform may spawn a new Stratos.

• AVH® on Feb 13, 2013 at 9:48 am

Quite impossible, the Stratos name is actually sold to a multi millionair ,Michael Stoschek, in I think was ’05. He was the one who made that amazing modern day Stratos though it didt bear the Lancia name or logo. That car was actually based on the 430 Scuderia, so it had its V8 and transmission. But the body is now fully carbon fiber and its shorter than the Ferrari. It’s an one off, like the Enzo based P4/5, and cost close or more than £2 million. There was plan for a limited run of 25 but ferrari, who supplied some of the parts for the project, didt proceed the plan and it remained a one off.

There isn’t a Lancia Stratos concept since the fenomenon Stratos concept shown in Geneva 05′. To makes matter worst , I think Fiat killed of Lancia just a while back. Yeah, pretty impossible, I want a modern day Stratos as much as any Motor head do.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 13, 2013 at 12:54 pm

Right. If some billionaire can buy the rights (was it actually sold?) to the Stratos name and built the one off…. What’s stopping the same bloke in getting the Alfa 4C platform and building a body. Get Prodrive or whatever (since Prodrive built the fenomenon comcept.

There has not been a fresh small mid engine platform to work on for quite a long time.

No one spends millions and not think of making a return of that investment.

Fiat needs the Stratos name to revive Lancia. Right now it’s not doing anything other than rebadging Fiat and Chryslers.

• lovely….alfa’s sportscar are a work of art. my fav is the spider & the GTV6. Would love to get a 155 as a project car (the boxy looking 155 looks very muscular)

• KL Stray Cat on Feb 13, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Dare I say it…looks small like the lotus but better looking many times over :-)

• http://paultan.org/2013/01/18/alfa-romeo-roadster-built-by-mazda-deal-is-sealed/

Mazda MX-5 in Alfa Romeo Disguise.. This is more then good, Reliability is comfirmed good.