Chevrolet Spin launched in Thailand – 7-seater MPV

Chevrolet Spin-03

The Chevrolet Spin MPV was launched in Thailand last month. The Spin, a budget B-segment MPV that takes on Toyota’s Avanza and Suzuki’s Ertiga in Asean, is imported from Indonesia. Designed by General Motors do Brasil, it is also sold in the South American country.

In this seven-seater with what Chevy calls high ‘theatre-style’ seating, there are 23 configurable seating positions and a total of 32 storage spaces. The cargo capacity of 162 litres can be increased to 864 litres with the third row seats folded. Folding down the centre row will boost capacity to 1,608 litres.

In Thailand, the Spin will be sold in (high) LTZ trim. Powering the MPV is a 1.5 litre engine with 107 PS and 148 Nm of torque. The Dual VVT unit’s power is delivered to the front wheels via a six-speed automatic transmission with driver-shift control (+ and – buttons on the gear knob, like the Chevy Sonic and Ford Focus) – a segment first. Indonesia gets a five-speed manual and a 1.3 turbodiesel (75 PS/190 Nm) option, too.

The Thai Spin comes standard with front/rear air-con, CD/MP3 player, USB and Bluetooth, DC power outlets, Follow-Me-Home, ABS, dual airbags and roof rails. Prices start from 762,000 baht. Could be spinning here in the future – do you think it will sell in Malaysia?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Walter Ty on Apr 05, 2013 at 3:20 pm

The Nissan Livina Genuss/Grand Livina is also a direct competitor to the Spin in addition to the aforementioned Avanza & Ertiga. With this model & the upcoming Trax mini-SUV, General Motors has clear winners on its hands.

• Hyundai De la Junk on Apr 05, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Its a Daewoo lah. I have no idea why the Koreans are so sneaky. Just admit it, its a Daewoo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
  • lackofchoices on Apr 05, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Bring it in…we need more affordable MPV choices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Josh Ling on Apr 05, 2013 at 3:56 pm

i can’t see the car coming to Malaysia yet, as Naza Quest will have difficulty to place the car in terms of pricing while steering away from direct competition with other cars by Chevrolet. Currently the Chevy cars are priced too closely, especially on the 80k to 110k level, so putting in Spin within the price range may risk of affecting the sales of another car, because Chevy cars are not very popular in Malaysia yet.

and it would be very silly for Naza Quest to price this car beyond 100k mark.

• Another chevy MPV model (Orlando) already launched in here on last year.
    Are they on the same MPV class?

• ben yap on Apr 05, 2013 at 4:10 pm

this will definitely be another underpowered lump like the Toyota avanza. I would not put in my money for an underpowered lump made worst with a poor brand resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • Abg Long on Apr 05, 2013 at 4:34 pm

i still prefer exora bold cfe. value for my money hehe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 26
    • diamjer on Apr 05, 2013 at 4:56 pm

hard to compete with exora

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
    • Jimmy on Apr 05, 2013 at 11:01 pm

Sorry, I am not in this group of potential customers, but I would just look at it from common rakyat’s perspective: this is probably one of the few occasions when people will say ‘Exora is a better buy compared to this’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • frenzyaustin on Apr 06, 2013 at 2:12 pm

Exora has better performance and looks (Exora Bold), but the quality is the matters that pull down the rating of the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Sam Loo on Apr 05, 2013 at 8:16 pm

I also would not trade in this kimchi even if the RV is low, coz cannot sell well.

Hyundai is the best, low trade in and higher selling price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
  • It looks horrible. That’s all I have to say.

• Cruaizy on Apr 06, 2013 at 8:09 pm

These ‘small size carry as many possible’ concept of transports craze may lead to yesteryears like disasters where we heard so many vans accidents with load of passengers wiped out at once!

• thedarkside on Apr 07, 2013 at 7:19 pm

i’ll wait till i see the new kia carens

• Sam Loo on Apr 09, 2013 at 9:08 am

Please buy the Carens. I year later, I will personally show you the Hilux