Datsun GO+: Datsun’s second model is an MPV

Datsun-Go-MPV-01

Datsun has revealed its second model, which has made its official debut ahead of the 2013 Indonesian International Motor Show that starts on Thursday. It’s called the Datsun GO+, a pretty self-explanatory name when you consider what the GO+ is – essentially a seven-seater version of the Datsun GO hatchback.

If Thailand is the land of the pick-up truck, Indonesia is the land of the MPV, a good place for Datsun’s MPV to debut. The Datsun GO+ is powered by a 1.2 litre engine mated to a five-speed gearbox.

It measures 3,995 mm long, 1,635 mm wide and 1,485 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,450 mm. Based on the wheelbase, that’s a full segment smaller than the Grand Livina.

The Datsun GO and GO+ will be built at Nissan Motor’s Purwakarta plant, 80 km from Jakarta. Both models will go on sale next year in Indonesia at a starting price of below 100 million Rupiah, which translates to below RM29,000, a very interesting price indeed.

859640_10201523468784023_1348440627_o

Even if the GO+ is only in reality a five-plus-two seater because of its small size, it would still give a lot of families with smaller children some safety belts for the sixth and seventh passengers, which is way better than squeezing everyone into a five-seater hatch. We don’t see any three point seatbelts for the third-row based on the photos, but there are lap belts.

“Today we are breathing new life into this historic brand. Why? Because there are a number of consumers here in Indonesia and other high-growth consumer markets who dream of car ownership,” said Renault-Nissan boss Carlos Ghosn, who unveiled the car in Jakarta.

No word on whether the Datsun brand is destined for Malaysia, but we reckon as long as Proton and Perodua exists, there is no market, or at least one that would be competitive. Click here for details, pics and videos of the Datsun GO hatchback.

Live pix courtesy of Autonetmagz.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Chris on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:26 pm

1.2L for that? Really? I think it will have the performance of a bus. 1st gear all the way up hill when the car is full.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • Hondaman on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:47 pm

It is really, really cheap, if by lucky chance our gomen let it be sell at the above price, sure sell like goreng pisang panas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • kromax on Sep 17, 2013 at 9:26 pm

It will suffer in going up hill. But who cares, as long as it’s not a Proton, Malaysians won’t bash it’s underpowered and it still can sell like hot cake. Badge does matter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • kadajawa on Sep 18, 2013 at 7:55 am

Yes true, here the price surely RM80K and make Exora looks cheaper worth buying.

Tan Chong better off sell it in Myanmar too. No hope to sell it here, as MITI always protect Proton and all its craps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
        • i think this one is better compared to Alza than Exora. perhaps the price will be up to 50k.

• Dont get surprise coz indonesia is well known for their healthy underpowered cc MPV market. Toyota did well with their 1000cc Kijang.

• Chris on Sep 18, 2013 at 8:59 am

Kijang is the Unser right? I think they modified it to become a mini bus? Well you definitely won’t need more than 1.2L to crawl through those traffic, in Jakarta at least.

• b sensible on Sep 18, 2013 at 2:06 pm

don’t get me wrong….indonesia models underpowered…but their accidents are much lower compared to us….cos they drive slowly with “underpowered” cars!

• powershot on Sep 18, 2013 at 8:35 pm

they drive slowly because of the horrendous traffic jams in the city area

• Chris on Sep 19, 2013 at 9:00 am

Nah.. they’re just way better driver than any of us in Malaysia. They can literally drive 3-4 inch from each other without accident. At least my driver can while I was there.

• Cheaper than Viva so u expect more?

• Chris on Sep 19, 2013 at 9:05 am

+ tax, I expect at least rm47k++ for MPV. Plus I just said it will have the performance of a bus, I didn’t say I expect more.

I really think people should read what other people typed, instead of reading what they want to read? But yeah that’s just me…

• Datsun will not enter Malaysia market because of Proton and Perodua. Even Daihatsu does not sell their passenger cars here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Suzuki on Sep 17, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Because Perodua share with Daihatsu.

Daihatsu Mira, Daihatsu Sirion etc

• Carnut on Sep 17, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Dont see why Datsun cannot sell their cars here. Anyone can sell as long as they get approval from Miti. Just that the approved price will not be as attractive compared to other countries. Daihatsu doesn’t setup shop here because they already own 49% of Perodua.

• kadajawa on Sep 18, 2013 at 7:58 am

Datsun can enter here but MITI will tell Tan Chong to sell it at RM80K price.

That’s how open competition works here. Take it or leave it. Proton must be protected till hell freezes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
    • rajahGlobal on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:50 am

it will come to Malaysia under Perodua badge!!

• CARtoon on Sep 17, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Well, it should be as long as BN is in power, discriminatory policies that put the Rakyat backward will continue and value driven models such as this will remain a dream. Ah such irony.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 25
    • carguy2000 on Sep 17, 2013 at 10:20 pm

your gomen expecting you to be richer and wealthier, now stop bitching and keep working buy Porsche instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
      • kadajawa on Sep 18, 2013 at 8:00 am

Hopefully you die faster live happily in hell with those corrupt cronies down there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • anti proton on Sep 17, 2013 at 9:26 pm

If this car enter malaysia, proton will die dao gao gao and I am waiting to see Dr M cry….. =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • Denaihati on Sep 17, 2013 at 10:58 pm

price was cheap but with 1.2L look like insufficient power to drive at malaysia highway, unless in short travel.

• kadajawa on Sep 18, 2013 at 8:02 am

what to do, rich corrupt cronies enjoy alphard vellfire while poor crony-supporters can only drive datsun go mpv. how foolish and tragic is that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Low Budget on Sep 18, 2013 at 2:55 pm

In the 70s and early 80s, 1.2L-1.3L is the standard engine for bread and butter cars (Nissan Sunny, Toyota Coralla, Mazda 808) etc.. driving outstation, no problem-lah. Today even Kancil 660CC also on highway to heaven..

• ibrahim rabani on Sep 17, 2013 at 11:01 pm

1.2l is enough for Indonesian market. with their insane traffic, there is no need for power. heck even their best selling MPV is Daihatsu Xenia which is an exact copy of Toyota Avanza but with a 660cc DVVT engine selling at around Rp150m (around RM45k. Good enough to go from Point A to Point B in that insane traffic.

• Chris on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:08 am

I once work in Indonesia. We mentioned how we’re stuck in traffic an hour each way commuting to work, only to be told it was “heavenly”, because our Indonesian counterparts was stucked in traffic 3 hours each way.

6 hours a day commuting to and from work in Jakarta.. my goodness

• flyinthesky on Sep 17, 2013 at 11:07 pm

rondo sibling ^^

• Adults in the 3rd row will need to hang their legs up on the 2nd row. But no problemo for children & midgets.

• Gary Yap on Sep 18, 2013 at 8:19 am

Yeah, like how do you cope in the third row when wearing mini skirt? Heck, do you even want to emerge from a car that looks like it’s designed by Hafei or Gua Gua Automotive. Think I’ll pass and get an Alza…

• i think i’ll pass Alza and get Estima. i think i’ll pass estima and get alphard. Hey if you want to compare please consider the rpice bracket.

• greatwa on Sep 18, 2013 at 5:25 pm

29k plus excise tax and sales tax, maybe around 50k. that’s already in alza price bracket

• The air con will definitely feel cooler if wearing mini skirt & hanging legs up.

• Looks cheap, feels cheap, drive cheap…AND it is cheap.Which is good. Dont be like some company that looks cheap, feels cheap, drive cheap, should be cheap BUT expensive. These companies make thick,fat bucks,. It is really disgusting that these companies should make the car, people first. AND the govrnment policies is not helping.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Agree with you. But for this Datsun Go+, it should not supposed to be ugly to be cheap, especially the dashboard and seat fabric design.

Anyway, its cheap. its ok.

• norman on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:16 am

I think diff market diff engine and who knows they will be using Nissan Latio 1.6 engine for Malaysian market?

• miskin on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:34 am

3rd row seat dia dok atas lantai teruss…. boleh duduk bersila…

• Jasonx on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:31 am

In malaysia this price can’t even get a proton..

• timber8115 on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:40 am

the dash reminds me of the kancil facelift with speedometer in the middle. lols…

• Looks pretty decent for a budget car..exterior and interior wise

• budlee on Sep 18, 2013 at 12:18 pm

That is a jump seat! just like those cars way back when. Definitely at 5+2, or barely a +2.

I kinda like it, just pop in a CVT and I am go to GO..

• Ahmadfaris93 on Sep 18, 2013 at 12:53 pm

LOL it’s ugly. However, Malaysians will still buy if it comes here as long as it is not Proton/Perodua. So called “Malaysians” right now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • RVP20 on Sep 18, 2013 at 2:28 pm

affordable MPV?
    YES (it should be)

sufficient power for MPV?
    ‘a BIG doubt’ gonna go with NO…huhu~!!!

• LS Goh on Sep 18, 2013 at 3:49 pm

Aiyo, it seem we again being short charged by Nissan Malaysia, this budget mpv hvg 5 speed while my grand livina only comes with 4 speed …

• Hangit! on Sep 18, 2013 at 4:15 pm

For RM30K! i buy this! use it till wear and tear. then just throw it away. Then buy new again.

• 1.2 L with 4 cogs tranny…oldies 120Y…huhuhuhu..carburetted engine…wow superb backwards at price 80k…welcome to Bolehland !!!

• pok mang on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:52 pm

29k for a compact mpv, very attractive…saga sv also can’t beat the price tag

• diamjer on Sep 23, 2013 at 8:46 am

better buy second-hand mpv

• Jebonr on May 13, 2014 at 12:04 pm

The front looks nice. But mid to rear? there’s something not right?

• driveabird on Jun 17, 2014 at 4:26 pm

the butt is ok if the badge is BENTLEY