Bentley Flying Spur now available with V8 power

bentley-flying-spur-v8-e

Downsizing continues to spread, even at this level. The Bentley Flying Spur is now available with the same V8 that powers the Continental GT V8, becoming Crewe’s entry-level sedan. It complements the flagship Flying Spur W12.

The Audi-sourced 4.0 litre twin-turbo V8 produces 507 PS at 6,000 rpm and 660 Nm of torque at 1,750 rpm. It’s connected to an eight-speed ZF auto and continuous AWD. The century sprint’s done in under five seconds, and top speed’s just shy of 300 km/h.

Thanks to cylinder deactivation, efficient thermal management and regenerative technologies, combined fuel consumption and CO2 emissions are a quoted 10.9 litres per 100 km and 254 grams per km respectively. Range is a claimed 840 km.

bentley-flying-spur-v8-c

Here’s how you tell it apart from the W12 car: the V8 car has figure-of-eight tailpipes, its Flying B badge has a red centre and the lower grille is finished in black.

You are welcomed on board by a wood veneer called Dark Fiddleback Eucalyptus (how’s that for posh?) and a rear bench that seats three, while a Touch Screen Remote deploys from the rear centre console at the touch of a button, giving rear passengers control of climate and infotainment systems.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• So how many did the sultan ordered via our tax money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 26, 2014 at 7:05 pm

You must be refering to guan eng right…ya lor that poker face cannot trust one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 28
      • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Feb 26, 2014 at 7:48 pm

So which title were you conferred with…? Dato, Tan Sri, or Tun…?

• All malaysian politics are retarded so you dont have to put me in a group and assume im supporting either of them.

• My Jetta look nicer than this trash. Anyway, of this Bentley uses same VW engine (audi), it will have same DSG problems like my Jetta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • Do you know what is DSG? DSG is a transmission. Bentley is using ZF transmission. So… How will it have DSG problem?

• Latuk Bandar on Feb 26, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Ask yourself, how much taxes have you contributed? you talked as if you are one of the biggest tax contributor.

• Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 26, 2014 at 8:45 pm

exactly rich people like me paying tax more than 10 times of their EARNING also dont make so much noise , we gladly pay our taxes so that scums like ben can enjoy br1m , highways, world class airports ,subsidized petrol, and many more

btw ben u are a loser at the bottom of capitalism know your place malnourished pathetic vermin

• So, you can be nominated as one of “2014 JOKER OF THE YEAR” nominees..

• AutoFrenz on Feb 26, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Now that we hv this…is the s class still relevant…nah not even close…

• Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 26, 2014 at 8:48 pm

the difference in price tag for “entry level” of both of these cars are still huge thats what make S Class still relevant .

i think an entry level flying spur would definitely be more than 1.5m

whereas an entry level s class after few years of release there will be a strip down version that cost sub 600k or 700k

• nabill on Feb 26, 2014 at 8:31 pm

google skoda superb 2014….looks very similar specially the rear…

• When a huge company released a fantastic car, in other webpage or forum will be discussing about the specs, interior, heritage and etc.
    In paultan and most of the Malaysian forum, we scold the government, wonder how many politicians will use our tax money to buy this car, and criticizing each others political view.
    Eh I mean c’mon lah, this is a blog about automotive, not about politics, give us some clean air to breath can or not? I’m not criticizing your view on politics, but can you discuss at the blog that features politics, not automotive, ok?