Borderless vehicle registration system expected to be implemented nationwide from May 1

W1A

The borderless vehicle registration system is expected to be implemented nationwide from May 1, deputy transport minister Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi has said, according to a Bernama report.

Under this system, vehicle suppliers can obtain the registration number for the state required without having to go to the state concerned, he said. For instance, a vehicle buyer in Melaka wishing to obtain a Johor registration number could apply to do so at the Melaka Road Transport Department (JPJ), free of charge.

“The system is to cater for the needs of customers as there are road users who are interested in a certain registration number, so, to meet the customers’ requirements the government has facilitated registration in any state,” Bernama quoted Ab Aziz as saying.

When asked if MySikap could handle the borderless registration system, the deputy transport minister said the computerised service was becoming more efficient.

He also revealed that vehicle ownership transfer using the biometric system for individuals, which aims to guard against document falsification, had started from April 1.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Nonsense on Apr 17, 2014 at 1:06 pm

One by one current rules of which already in place for a long time now being revised…somebody keep on reinventing wheels and messed up a working existing system….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • 1st May, public holiday lah :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • Vader on Apr 17, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Is that mean the car owner can get the car plate number via on-line?
    So no need waiting at JPJ main ddor before open, once office open, everyone run like crazy to get the first queue to get a favorite car plate number?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Hooray i can get Sabah number and put like Singapore plate style!

Look more class and enhance my car resale value!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 43
    • And also makes it prone to carjacking ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Steve ORyan on Apr 17, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Good idea there mate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • ifyousaysoahbeng on Apr 20, 2014 at 2:33 am

“wahliao, u means if i puttings the sabah plate the idiots of malaysia will thinkings its a singapore plate ahh.. and idiots of malaysia all hard up for singapore cars right.. wah so good the strategy!!1”

good luck with this plan of yours my friend

• shawal on Apr 17, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Yeah…its just number plate and data entry..

You dont need DEEP BLUE to run the algorythm..

Just a decent enough clerk that punches in and out on time

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 17, 2014 at 1:46 pm

so now i can drive in kl using sabah road tax scheme?

• Interesting, like other said, how about the road tax tariff systems?

Now i can get recond M3 (or whatever high cc car) with half road tax value.
    RM 6,630.00 vs RM 2,374.00

I mean if you cannot afford the road tax u cannot afford the car. It just i do not like paying more tax to gov.

• rakyat biasa on Apr 17, 2014 at 2:05 pm

Yeah….

but still feel unpleasant today.

• Rupan on Apr 17, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Does this include Sabah & Sarawak? That will surely attract Peninsular Malaysia with large CC (especially diesel) cars to register under Sabah or Sarawak registration plate as the road tax is much cheaper. Isn’t that a form of tax evasion?

• Aero (Member) on Apr 17, 2014 at 7:14 pm

Wow, this is messed up. So what’s the point of having different state prefixes now other than ‘cool number / name combinations’ ?

The current system is good because it tells us where the car is from (in Malaysia), and truth be told, how to react to that driver on the road. Each state has it’s own driving characteristics. I don’t want to say what they are, I don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings, but I’m sure you all know what I mean.

So now it’s two counts of terrible news today. Maybe 3 if you count the new Ah Beng Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Along on Apr 17, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Not really IMO… My uncle right now lives in Negeri Sembilan, his hometown is in Perak, he bought a new car with Perak number plate… Some people are proud of their home state by showing number plate of the car… With this scheme, many Kelantanese will buy D number plate in KL, they don’t have to go to JPJ Kelantan for D number plate…

• I understand what u mean.Like a person from Johor drives differently from someone that hails from KL. Ppl from Terrenganu drives as thou they own the road. They can be king oni in their state, but please respect when u r in KL.

• Along on Apr 18, 2014 at 1:28 am

IMO, this scheme is favourable because many people are proud of their home state by showing prefix number plate…

I have an example which is my uncle… My uncle right now lives in Nilai, Negeri Sembilan… His hometown is in Perak. He bought new car in Negeri Sembilan but with AJN #### number plate, He’s a proud Perakian although right now he lives in Negeri Sembilan, with “A”JN number plate, he shows the sense of pride towards Perak…

With these scheme, people from other states who living in other area are most benefit from it (for example people from Kelantan, Terengganu, Pahang, Kedah and Perlis living in KL, they can buy home state number plates in KL)…

The consequence of this scheme are Sabah number plates are mostly registered in Johor and Malacca because similarity to the number plate of Singapore… Selangor and Kedah number plates are mostly registered in Sabah and Sarawak because similarity to the number plate of Brunei Darussalam…

The positive impact are Perlis, Pahang, Terengganu, Kedah and Kelantan number plates are no longer slower because most of them living outside home states, with this scheme, they can buy their home state prefix number plates without going to their home state JPJ…

FYI, If Sabah and Sarawak number plate registered in Peninsular, you still have to pay Peninsular road tax and insurance rate because the vehicle grant are registered in Peninsular also the vehicle owner’s address in Peninsular… Similar thing if Selangor number plates registered in Sabah, they have to pay Sabah rate road tax and insurance because of the owner’s address and grant are registered in Sabah although with Selangor number plate… Important thing to determine road tax rate is the where the grant issued and owner’s address…

Just my five cents…

• shahz on Apr 18, 2014 at 3:22 am

Humans..give something innovative, they complain..Give nothing, they complain..

• Tats right. Even Im not a BN fan. But sometimes I pity BN as whenever they implement something for rakyat out of good intention, they get shoot. When implement nothing, they get shoot too. LOL. well, i guess BN has to do more long term beneficial plans for rakyat to gain more confidence from the people. I personally think this plan works. Even before this, many ppl are actually buying plates not based on their home state. My uncle is from Kelantan. Stays in KL. Bought his BMW 528i from Kuantan with Negeri Sembilan plate. This happens 2 years back.

• Susu Kotak on Apr 18, 2014 at 5:56 am

Hampeh…low value innovation. Car with fancy plate number is no 1 culprit. JPJ please tackle this by issuing standardise plate.

• Salim BH on Apr 30, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Some modern and advance country have opted for prefix no. throughout their life. no matter how many cars you own, you only own one no.

• All this because wilayah number runs too quickly whereas other states likes perlis still running on two alphabet.. So now other states’ alphabet can run equally.. Roadtax i think still the same, eventhough u register sabah plate, but car location is in peninsular, roadtax follow car address.. A friend of mine brought car frm sarawak only get 1 year sarawak roadtax, subsequent year, gotta pay peninsular rate.

• FarizY (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:21 am

I’ve always wanted to get a Perlis number plate, R is just so cool!

• Mazlan on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:42 am

Now we can see more people using Langkawi ‘KV….D’ and Labuan ‘L’ on the road. Haha

Btw, I noticed Kelantan number plates is now fast approaching other states. It will surpass Malacca by the end of this year. Selangor number plates is getting slower since people prefer Wilayah’s over the latter.

• Along on Apr 18, 2014 at 12:52 pm

I beg to differ about Selangor number plates… Selangor number plates are actually faster than ever with more than 700 number plates registered per day compared to 400 per day before Wilayah adopted W …. A… Right now new Wilayah registered 800 per day, compared to old format WYY …. which 1200 number plate registered per day…

I’m as a runner and my preference to JPJ Padang Jawa… Selangor number plates are very popular among motorcycles, new Wilayah format have suffered massive unpopularity among motorcycles… The reason Wilayah so fast because of the car dealer runner…