2015 Mazda 2 – bookings open, pricing teased, RM88k

mazda 2 mal spec 1a

It looks like things are speeding up towards the local market introduction of the 2015 Mazda 2ASEAN production of the fourth-gen DJ began at the AAT plant in Rayong mid-September, and the Thai-assembled hatch made its regional debut in Jakarta last week at the IIMS 2014.

Now, one of the Bermaz dealers has teased the car by announcing that bookings have opened for it, with first deliveries scheduled to begin early next year. Tentative pricing for the hatch has also been offered – at RM87,XXX, this falls in line with Bermaz’s aim to price the car under RM90k.

Of interest is the mention of an indicative pricing for the sedan version of the 2, tagged at RM85,XXX – it’s on the cards, yes, but the car hasn’t been unveiled yet. The sedan was spied on test recently, so it might be that an official introduction isn’t far away. As far as show debuts go, it’s Bangkok next year if it doesn’t appear at the Thai Motor Expo in December.

mazda 2 mal spec 2a

The tentative spec-sheet states that a single engine version will be offered for the 2, the same as in Indonesia – this is a 1.5 litre direct-injected SkyActiv-G four-cylinder petrol mill, good for 115 PS at 6,000 rpm and 148 Nm at 4,000 rpm, paired with a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission. No manual option to be found here, as before.

As far as specifications go, all indicators point to us getting a variant identical to the mid-level R Spec that will be sold in the republic. Kit includes a seven-inch LCD touchscreen as part of the MZD Connect infotainment system, DRLs, i-stop automatic start/stop system, leather seats and auto air-conditioning.

Also on, pretty much the same kit as seen on the Indonesian R Spec – items bandied include leather seats, a reverse camera and paddle shifters as well as 16-inch alloys wrapped with 185/60 rubbers (on the IIMS display, these were Dunlop Enasave 300+ eco-tyres).

Mazda 2 R Spec IIMS 1

And, like the Indonesian versions, the Malaysian Mazda 2 will come with dual airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) and traction control. There’s quite a marked difference in the pricing of the car in both markets, of course – in Indonesia, the 2 will go on sale with prices ranging between Rp. 225-270 million (RM61,000-RM73,200).

Closer to home, two ads for the new Mazda 2 Skyactiv on our sister classifieds website oto.my have appeared, listing the hatchback for RM87,670 and RM88,000 respectively.

We’ve of course driven it – read Jonathan Lee’s impressions of the Mazda 2 from the test drive in Japan back in August. The gallery below of the Indonesian R Spec variant, meanwhile, offers a good indication as to how the Malaysian specification car will shape up.

Mazda 2 R Spec (Indonesia)

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments generally express excitement about the Mazda 2's launch at RM88k, highlighting its features like leather seats, keyless entry, 7" touchscreen, auto air-conditioning, and Skyactiv technology as good value. Some compare it positively to competitors like Honda City, Peugeot 208, and Kia Rio, citing design, safety features, and price. Safety concerns are raised due to only two airbags and the absence of projector headlamps and DRLs, with some wishing for more airbags and features like HUD and cruise control. There’s debate over the pricing compared to Indonesia and Thailand, with some calling it expensive and others feeling it's reasonably priced given the features. Overall, comments reveal anticipation and a mix of praise, safety concerns, and skepticism about pricing and feature offerings.

• Vader (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Wow, more and more b-segment hatchback cars in our market..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Gargantia on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Love the car, but the price still seem off.

If Bermaz can make it 81k below will be a better offer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
      • If people can pay more then 90 k for a 3 generations old drivetrain/platform, then this should be a bargain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 17
        • Aaron on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:15 pm

To be honest, for the price we are paying, we get Leather seats, keyless entry, 7″ Touch screen, auto air-cond, Idling stop system, Head Up Display, paddle shifters, reverse camera, DRL and Sky Activ Direct Injection technology. These are toys most other B-segment in Malaysia don’t offer. For 87k, I honestly think it’s very well priced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 23
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:18 pm

no vital airbags, no cruise control….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
          • Jimmy on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:43 pm

For the niche market for people who like to drive, you might as well buy yourself an Iriz which has good ride and handling and you have the manual option, all at half this price, remembering that base Iriz also has 2-airbags with ESP, without 6 airbags. Spare parts and RV definitely will be better than this primary-1 level safety car at such high price for average lower income poeple. If you are having high income and like to drive a small hot hatch, then get yourself a 1-series or A250.
            Mazda Malaysia has become more and more greedy/arrogant after they introduced the Mazda6 which I think is a good buy in D-segment sedan market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
          • Honda City Better on Jan 29, 2015 at 1:28 am

Honda City is a better choice:
            – Looks better(Kodo design doesn’t work on small cars)
            – Roomier(Bigger in every dimensions)
            – Cruise Control
            – Touch panel aircond
            – Rear aircond
            – HDMI socket
            – 2 more speakers
            – 4 more airbags
            – 4 more horsepowers
            – 5 years unlimited mileage warranty
            Most importantly this Mazda 2 doesn’t come with projector headlamps with DRLs which leaves it nothing to shout about

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:39 pm

The 2 should be THAI made, not the 3 as of JAPAN made; and as one of the most expensive small hatch in town.

This new 3 at 85k~87k tentatively with 10k higher than existing 2 at 78k~82k.

What is the total sales volume of existing 2 since launched, cant really see on the road.

Going to sell at 10k higher?

Honda City from 7xk onward
        Nissan Almera from 6xk onward

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • Tats y even in KL u hardly c mazda around. Msia mindset is to buy a larger space car which mazda cant offer. Yup d car offer all tech n so beautifully design. but too bad d interior is so small. its a nitch market in msia.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 6:18 pm

a real pity….a rather good car ruined by short sightedness in product market planning by bermaz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Gargantia on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Operation-Manager.

Hi-com city = ckd
        TCM Almera = ckd

New Mazda 2 = CBU

About the high selling price, please complaints to Bermaz and MITI of Bolehland.
        Why include excise duty on CBU, and making Rakyat paying extra taxes??

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:10 pm

For an example, THAI citizen can enjoy cheaper Malaysia made Hyundai Elantra from Inokom Msia at MYR 74k ~89k in THAI where Msian have to pay 20k+++ extra in MSIA???

Are typical Msian too silly to be cheated?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Gargantia on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:36 pm

MITI and MAI keep lie to Rakyat about taxes work.

When Gov will stand at Rakyat side and not cronies side??

• Ibrahim on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Cheated? Come on!! You have the choice to buy or not to buy and you can compare prices. Paying higher tax does not mean you are being cheated. Sweden and Denmark income taxes are way out higher than in Malaysia. Are they being cheated. Taxes are taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Oct 02, 2014 at 10:06 am

Not sure what Denmark citizen feeling…

If Denmark made 48oz tin Danish Butter Cookie,

Selling $25 at Germany, Sweeden, Norway (neighbouring countries),

BUT

Selling at $40 in Denmark

• Jokerwi on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Indonesia price = RM61,000 – RM73,200

Bolehland price = RM88K

Come on MITI, let Bermaz price it lower lah. Jangan takut sama Proton lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Car price reduced with better package by moving forward as seen on Honda City, Nissan Almera, Perodua Axia, etc…

Not moving backward, the Mazda should driving on cost reduction instead of cost increasing.

• KaoPehKaoBu on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Axia > ALL
        Only RM25k, good RV use 10 years still can sell RM15K!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
        • ya.. to pay ur hospital bill

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
          • If trailer hantam your Proton, do come back here to tell your story ok (if you still alive lah).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
          • my proton? perodua salesman is so desperate and paranoid recently

• neemfa on Oct 01, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Probably the best looking sub-RM90k car in the market.. interior looks premium too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • Definitely love the car. But I kinda disappointed that we didn’t get the same interior looks as the one they reviewed in Japan:

http://paultan.org/2014/08/25/driven-2015-mazda-2-japan/

I’m really digging the looks on that one. Looks even more premium. The one we get looks a little dull.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Its not Japan made as the 3, so the interior looks less innovation when dock ASEAN.

• Nissan on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Ford exoboost is not bad either, and come with big discount.

• seancorr on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Plus the EcoBoost comes with 7 airbags and this with just 2. Honestly the spec is very decent but doesn’t get my 5 star rating due to shortage of curtain and side airbags.

• Eyo (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Looks can be subjective , i own the peugeot 208 because im in love with the looks:) In flesh , the 208 looks much nicer then in pictures and it commands a noticeable road presence too ! ( thanks to the DRLs and unique design )
      Sorry i got too carried away praising the 208 design

Btw , this mazda 2 car looks good too :) especially the Drls hehe . Doesn’t look like its fitted aftermarket like the Fiesta ecoboost ( my opinion ) .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • intermilan on Oct 01, 2014 at 11:28 pm

Well .. if bermaz sell for rm88k.. it will be more expensive than peugeot 208..

Wah..

• Blizzie on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Will it still have i-Activsense features?

• Àlahai (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Axia is still a better choice.. Hahahahaha .. Hahahahahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
  • forest the tree on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:10 pm

RM88K is the basic specs or full specs?

• seancorr on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Looks like only one variant and the price is without insurance so you’re looking at a price of RM90k+ which is very close to the Fiesta EcoBoost.

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:22 pm

No manual transmission?

Oh yes, typical local foreign car distributor. Not feasible sales on manual transmission no manual transmission is provided. Want the car go with automatic or else go away. Very predictable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • This car has a 6 speed manual.. Bring it in damnit.

• Eyo (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Im young , i started with an automatic car and i find myself a better driver in an automated car . I get to focus more on the drive and the roads just in case of anything :) . And nobody can argue that automatic cars is very convenient to anybody that loves to visit big cities or have to visit big cities every morning for work .

But i agree with you , Bermaz should bring in the manual since this is suppose to be a ‘fun’ car . And for some , what’s fun without proper pedals and stick .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • then you are just weak.. if you started with a manual, you are a much much better driver than the “better driver in an automated car” you said..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
        • Eyo (Member) on Oct 02, 2014 at 1:58 am

Sorry if i offend you in any way Jwk , i might not be the best driver you can find around , nor am i an experienced driver . But i don’t consider myself a weak driver and im offended by your statement ( i hope you don’t really mean it ) . My definition of weak drivers is people who drives recklessly at inappropriate places trying desperately to show off their ‘skills’ , endangering others in the process .

Surprise , you’ll find a lot of people who drives better in automatic these days :) . Parking , peak hours , uphill and downhill . All these are made effortless with an automatic gearbox . i drove a manual before , it’s fun yes . Which is why i agree with lonelyobserve , this car should have a manual variant too since it is suppose to be a fun car in the bends :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • taboogen on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:25 pm

where is the rest of the airbag..

• kelvintbm on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:28 pm

Initially thought of getting a jazz, then come a bargain for new proton iriz and now the new mazda 2. More option for consumer is good, more competitive and subsequently the price will go down and spec will be better.

Difficult to choose among this 3.

• driver on Oct 01, 2014 at 7:17 pm

a simple advice: go test drive all of them before putting your money. good luck bro!

• honest on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:46 pm

It’s nice to c that we have plenty of choices in our country
    But it would be nicer if the government improve public transport infrastructure throughout the country: (home/office) to (public station), state to state, country to country, bicyle & motorcycle lane etc

• guilt (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Not bad.. Got HUD..

• Yea, I’m not the only one who noticed that

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:14 pm

HUD….even bmw…once so proud of the hud in their E60….nowadays even 520i no HUD….

• nabill (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:47 pm

well it was never going to be cheap…
    even the previous version mazda 2 was going for almost 80k….
    but im jus hoping that the 2 airbags is a typo…

• Marieta on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Why only 2 airbag..I rather have additional 4 airbags than leather seat, paddle shifter and HUD :(

• 6_Airbag on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:38 pm

too concern about airbag? letak bantal kiri kanan. more spongy than ballon bag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
      • Eyo (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Letak bantal kiri kanan and you’ll find yourself not being able to see left and right :) That’s worst then having 10 airbags .

Its good that people are concern about car safety features . I wish more Malaysians would be sensitive when it comes to safety features in car .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • 85k for sedan with that spec look good. release it fast..cant wait to book.

• Potato Whitehair on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Mazda2?

Meh Kia Rio more price bargain and better spec in all sense.

I will go for Myvi rather this Mazda 2inches of angry bird

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • ah chai on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Why Indonesia they can sell almost 20k cheaper?

• Poorman on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Wah!! RM88k……if next year plus GST 6% …..I am looking at RM93K plus plus. Cars are indeed a luxury item for me.

• Eyo (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Wish they didn’t skimped on the car safety features :( . That is a major turn off for me . Car looks good , and performs well too according to Driven review .

Anyways , to whoever booked this car . Enjoy your ride:) i envy you

Ride safe everyone :)

• is it at a reasonable price?this is why PT Driven is very very important.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:17 pm

i rather lose the head up display than lose all the airbags….mazda…as usual…giving very unique kits like HUD and that i-drive but missing out on vital stuff which cannot be retrofitted like cruise control

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Reality on Oct 01, 2014 at 9:17 pm

LOL. Where in Malaysia can you adequately use cruise control? Are you serious?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 02, 2014 at 12:28 am

well i use it quite often during north south highway when i don feel like talking to the police…. im not sure if ure pak cik kampung that hog the road or johnny rash that tailgates and full pedal anywhere if possible….

• Ultraman Jepun on Oct 01, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Wow. 2 airbags for rm88k ??? Even iriz also 6 airbags.

For the price, i rather top up a bit more and get the kia cerato. Bigger and well equip in term of safety.

• What is the point of HUD in a small hatch with relatively small engine? The owners gona bring their mazda2 for track day or something?

• Before this I always think Mazda will come with at least 6 airbags for their cars…. to see 2 airbags for Mazda2 is quite surprising and I think really give a bad impression on Mazda safety.. proton is upgrading and going forward… but Mazda2 is going backwards..
    please don’t tell me becoz it’s a small car so it don’t need 6 airbags.

• Almighty Snack Bar on Oct 02, 2014 at 12:12 am

Haih.. Freaking regret getting honda…

This car will be the start of Honda BS Malaysia BQ And QC car…

• Almera on Oct 02, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Why don’t you go make a booking for the new Mazda 2 right now and sell your City. Then let’s see if you will whine and complain when you get the same type of problems in your new car or keep quiet and eat your words.

• Almighty Snack Bar on Oct 04, 2014 at 11:46 am

Hi there b***h,

why are u so hurt when i am just saying the truth about Honda Malaysia car quality?

your mum and dad is selling Honda cars? or u urself is selling?

why? scare that ur sales will be 0 once Mazda 2 is out and in fact any new cars?

Haha.. dun be such a failure and accept criticism.

Wow thanks for actually knowing i own a city, but too bad u dunno that i own many other Hondas.

But i forgive u as failures are aplenty in this world and hope that u will change so that the world will have on less useless fellow.

haha..

thanks for making me laugh and knowing that there are many many failures in the world :)

thank you for replying and have a great day selling ur City. hope u sell as many as possible now before other models come out.. haha.. ohya forgotten, u can’t even sell even city is the best spec car right now.. hahahahahahahaha

• why everyone is talking about missing features but not what Mazda gives us? fuel price is going up and i think skyactiv engine is the future for fuel economy, even the new Toyota Yaris is using Skyactiv engine. Buy a cheaper car but pay more for fuel, LPPL.

• Dynamo on Nov 01, 2014 at 3:03 pm

just wondering if our Mazda 2 comes with that sports mode because from the photos in the other post, some of them do not have the sports mode. and also just want to ask if we get the HUD, does that mean that our Mazda 2 comes with the REV counter in the middle or our REV counter is the one in the left screen?

• Dynamo on Nov 01, 2014 at 3:05 pm

and also will we be able to get the interior in the white leather?

• Possum on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:21 am

Hope Mazda 3 will facelift a CKD version with the same features (especially the reverse camera).