2014 Peugeot 308 previewed to dealers in Malaysia

Peugeot-308-Preview-0001

The 2014 European Car of the Year is now here in Malaysia! Though it’s not exactly at the showrooms yet, the new Peugeot 308 has been previewed to dealers yesterday by Peugeot distributor Nasim Sdn Bhd.

The preview unit is a diesel automatic, as seen from the automatic gear shifter and the 5,000 rpm redline seen in the new-style instrument panel mounted close to the windscreen.

Does this mean Peugeot’ll bring in a diesel variant of the new 308 to fill in the gap voided by the previous-generation Ford Focus TDCi, though? Peugeot currently offers diesel engines in the 508 and 508 SW.

Diesel engine options include a 1.6 HDi doing 92 hp/230 Nm or 115 hp/270 Nm, or a 2.0 litre BlueHDi producing 150 hp/370 Nm. Since this preview car is an automatic, it should have the 150 hp engine with a six-speed auto, the same combo found in the Citroen Grand C4 Picasso in Malaysia.

peugeot-308-engine-options-worldwide
Available engine options worldwide – click to enlarge

For petrol engine and automatic gearbox, the 308 offers a new PureTech 1.2 litre e-THP engine with 130 hp and 230 Nm, mated to a six-speed auto. The 1.6 litre THP 156 from the outgoing car is also available but only with a six-speed manual so far.

In Europe, Peugeot says that its new C-segment five-door hatchback is contributing towards the brand’s move upmarket, as upper trim levels are getting the bulk of the orders. Last we heard, the new 308 should see a 2015 introduction in Malaysia.

You can follow the Peugeot Malaysia Facebook page for updates. Thanks to Dato’ Billy Goh from Peugeot Batu Pahat and Jordan Wong from Peugeot Setia Alam for the photos.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Good job Pug! 2015 intro 2014 car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
    • readmore on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:53 am

peugeot style is like this, they launch, but they launch with limited engine and gearbox first.

the factory making the 1.2 litre turbo engine only open in september.

even china getting this car in 2015 only. we get in 2015 consider very fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • hari hari tak mau on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:41 am

If sold by NAZA…. no thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 36
    • lowprofile (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 10:23 am

there’s little chance of countries out of europe getting a 2014 car in 2014. so, stop harping on this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • 008 Lion (Member) on Oct 12, 2014 at 9:56 pm

but the facelifted 5008 which hv been introduced in europe somewhere in jan 2014 was launched here in may 2014. Although it first appearance was in Frankfurt 2013. So there is a chance this one will come to here this year.

• bro even the UK just got the 2012 Ford Fusion aka Mondeo a few days ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • kadajawi (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 7:04 pm

But that’s cause they wanted to close the factory in Belgium that used to make the Mondeo, and the company that was supposed to take over starting with the new Mondeo wasn’t ready yet.

• nasi_ayam on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:48 am

if the price tag right. u can see lot of 308 on KL road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • TooSlow! on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:20 am

The current generation of 308 does not exactly give a good impression to the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • zeek (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:48 am

What took you so long Nasim…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 29
  • Wilson Lim on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:07 am

BRING IN MANUAL PLSSSSS!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • lowprofile (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 10:28 am

i don’t think it will come as it is not financially feasible to bring in a manual. not enough malaysians buying to make it a feasible business case. so, maybe you can look to proton or perodua for manuals that are affordable. or, you can go for the specials like the 208gti or the rcz etc. for bread and butter models, it won’t make sense to sell here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • 4G63T DSM on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:15 am

The HDI 150 unit is certainly interesting. Provided it would work with our horrid diesel here. Diesels typically give an additional 20+% additional mileage per litre.

• alldisc on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:52 pm

use BHP diesel. supply comes from singapore, which is easily euro 4 compliant.

search info in this website.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:15 am

Beautiful n very classy looking,previous 308 had a tight rear space n not much knee room,hopefully thy addressed that…
    Bring the 1.2 e-thp makes more sence,has enough power n helps reduce the price…

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:36 am

1.2 e-THP and the 1.6THP should come over here, with the 1.6HDi probably coming in… I won’t be surprised if the diesel comes, after all they managed to tune the Citroen so…

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 2:03 pm

So people who drive the 1.2l engine will be considered as poor people…lol can’t get behind the logic of people whom we put to run the country.

Anyhow this all new 308 does look good inside and outside, wonder how’s the spec and price when it launches next year.

• krishna on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:44 am

Diesel is the way to go! more diesel cars please!

• gaviny on Oct 09, 2014 at 9:49 am

have to say kudos to naza for encouraging diesel models, there’s just to little manufacturers who dare to push ahead on great diesels we have been missing out.

BUT

please have the DPF removed, last thing we need is DPF blocked alarm

• Please keep the DPF and go BHP to pump euro4 diesel everytime. Do your part in keep the air clean from PM.

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 11:41 am

problem with removing the dpf is that all those particles (dpf = diesel particulate filter) will got into the engine and clog the engine up instead. what can be done is to have the dpf changed or cleaned at shorter intervals (a layman’s point-of-view). this must be done by the brand distributor as part of the regular service maintenance and then there’s the cost (will customers pay for this or cry foul by claiming profiteering?) of the filter or cleaning the filter…

maybe those who are more technically inclined can comment further on this.

• There’s 2 ways to clean up the dpf, the principle of both ways are same, which is to heat up the exhaust to a certain celcius (I forgot exactly which, but it is definitely in the high region) to BURN off the pm.

Common way is to run the car at highload and heat up the exhaust (either electrically or by exhaust gas). Second way is to spray fuel particles into exhaust so that it vaporize and heat up the exhaust gas.

• alldisc on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:59 pm

jaguar succeeded bringing in their high tech diesels to malaysia just by removing the DPF. of course, some other things in the recipe but it works brilliantly.

• nadz (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 11:13 am

Naza planning to bring in Buick brand. Currently available in China market.After 2 years nothing has been done .Maybe no green light from gov for them to claim EEV incentive.

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 2:31 pm

is there a RHD buick? the ones in china are LHD.

• Two Thousand!!

• French Slut on Oct 09, 2014 at 11:37 am

Wonder whether it will still get the dreaded DPF error ? Blardy engine emmission is way too sensitive.

• DD (Member) on Oct 09, 2014 at 12:07 pm

from the pix, look worse that current 308. by the way, to all pug drivers and lovers, don’t flame me. i am a pug driver and lover too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
  • michael on Oct 09, 2014 at 12:13 pm

i just hope ( and hope is a very big word) that they moved the ECU to the right, so finally peugeot cars have a proper space glove box.

• EnergyAnalyst on Oct 09, 2014 at 1:16 pm

is Puretech engine an options? re: The new PureTech 1.2 litre e-THP engine with 130 horsepower and 230 Nm?????

• EnergyAnalyst on Oct 09, 2014 at 1:18 pm

is the new PureTech 1.2 litre e-THP engine with 130 horsepower and 230 Nm offered?

• Maserati(Official) on Oct 09, 2014 at 2:02 pm

its funny that despite how bad Peugeot’s reputation is, is still miles ahead of Kia and Hyundai.

Say no to Kia / Hyundai !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • ok cancel golf, i want this!

• kumar on Oct 09, 2014 at 4:33 pm

wow did anyone notice the RPM meter. it starts from right to left.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Oct 09, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Have 5 liter de-ionised water bottle in the trunk all the time. You will always need it when this Sui Kwan Euro wants to let go some steam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • loo sam pah on Oct 10, 2014 at 11:17 am

pls la…go away from here. pug is not your cup of tea so why bother. it brings no value to you by making such sui kwan comments in pug page apart from showing you ignorance in the marque.

just go to any automotive machinist shop to see for yourself those numerous warp cylinder heads from hilux.

get a life bro.

• Kobibing on Oct 09, 2014 at 7:57 pm

hooray, just booked 1, CBU for 1st batch! Call me crazy idiot blind whatever, I don’t care, it’s #caroftheyear ! #letthelionroar

• nabei on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:34 pm

this car will not last 3 years. engine cannot tahan our extreme weather. good luck pug.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • nabei on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:36 pm

the french bastad only knows shagging. engine o erheat still cannot solved

• vanxzdarx on Oct 09, 2014 at 8:48 pm

local msian have to pay double omg …uk cost £16k++ = rm88k only but we pay £27k = rm150k msia gov so cunning .. kerajaan didahulukan bukannya rakyat didahulukan .. krajaan paksa rakyat beli proton je ..harga proton dah bleh beli keta jepun kat sini ..makan duit rakyat !!

• Real3D` on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:47 am

the poor feeding the rich once more

• bslee on Oct 11, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Yes, rakyat di dahulukan. Its correct.
      Its the rakyat first to “Die paying high tax”..

• admire the HDi engine, we should have more diesel family cars in msia
    But Pug ergonomics still quite poor, those design is just for style
    Pug sales in msia is not that impressive, VW msia had better sales despite many say its “problematic” ..

• loo sam pah on Oct 10, 2014 at 11:26 am

75% of the car buyers will choose BM,Merc,Audi
    balance 25% will opt for Volvo, Jap, local and Korean marques.

we drive pug not for their RV, their glamour, their reliability or the super service from the SC etc.

so why bother to flame us.

• this car look so boring. y is every1 going gaga over it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • brandon (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 3:12 pm

expecting THP for better performance

• I DEFENITLY WAIT FOR USED CAR…

• Peugeot engine r damm noisy…esp308

• customer on Jan 03, 2015 at 8:58 pm

Peugeot,…its 2015. Where is the new Peugeot 308? Ever since the clock strike 12 midnite on New Year,I’ve been waiting for its arrival literally every single day,I looked for any source of info from anywhere everyday for updates on the car’s arrival. I know,its been 3 days after new year,but I can’t stand holding back my cash =( pls oh pls bring it in at this very moment,sooner than soon,immediately,a.s.a.p.

• customer no 2 on Jan 16, 2015 at 2:34 pm

Same here, ‘ve been waiting since Sep 2013 aka “forever”. Peugeot M’sia FB announced mid of 2015. But I heard it will be here around March/April, not sure it’s true or not..

• Yup same here.. Paid booking fee in OCT already.. Still waiting..

• customer on Feb 03, 2015 at 2:13 am

Well we know one thing:
          We’re waiting like this guy

Peugeot 308,waiting…(Part 1) : http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=VvNFUJ2ZYiY

Peugeot 308,waiting…(Part 2) : http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=32hbwLt9kh4

P.S: Part 1 is him literally waiting for minutes to tick by,just to not waste your time. Kudos to Peugeot for the creative ad though =’)