Lower accident rate since implementation of AES

AES_Camera

According to a report by The Star, the implementation of the Automated Enforcement System (AES) has managed to reduce accident rates in the country by up to 36.84% since coming online eight months ago in 14 locations. The entire network was implemented on September 23 2012.

A study conducted by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) showed that a total of 12 fatal accidents were recorded since the implementation, as opposed to a total of 19 prior to the AES system being employed. “This means AES has managed to help reduce fatal accidents by 36.84% or seven cases within the period of eight months,” said Transport Minister, Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai.

From the MIROS study, it was also found that motorists were less likely to go over the speed limit is six hotspots, with the previous percentage of compliance at 63% jumping to 91%. At four junctions where the AES system is active, the amount of motorists who beat the light dropped from 4.3% to 2.2%.

He also added that international studies concerning the AES system have proven to reduce the road fatality statistics from a range between 17% to 71%. In addition to that, a total of RM51,434,650 worth of summons have been collected from September 2012 to the end of August 2014. Up to December 17 2012, a total of 10,136 cases were brought to court.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• JB_KIA on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:18 am

I have bad feeling….haven’t you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
    • dirty secret on Oct 31, 2014 at 12:44 pm

That huge AES compensation details, can tell us rakyat about it or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • RM1 million Camera on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:14 pm

I cannot stop laughing. MIROS is doing kuli work for the 2 firms and giving out false data. The 2 firms are projected to earn RM46 billion in 5 years with an untung of RM23 million per day.

This is the same firm that lied to the government and the rakyat of Malaysia saying each AES camera cost about a million. Ha Ha Ha Ha

Where got one camera costing million lah UMNO? You think the camera is Hubble Telescope kah to see stars and planets?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 4
        • BETA TEGAP on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Best betul kami untung berbillion billion setiap tahun kerana rakyat Malaysia bodoh belaka.

• Same L0rrr on Oct 31, 2014 at 3:25 pm

If Proton stop selling 1.6 engine for the tiny car Saga/Iriz/Satria, accident rate could be even lower.

The “Lotus-wannabe” marketing strategy is so misleading and end up a lot of wannabe drivers die in the poorly built cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Nov 01, 2014 at 12:57 am

Now u know who is the real Chameleon…

Car Insurance naik- accident increased

1Week after:
            AES implemented- low accident rate recorded

Now the question is: accident increased or reduced?

• Poosart on Nov 03, 2014 at 9:38 am

Dude, what about Perodua. Things like Viva Elite and Myvi 1.5 shouldn’t exist either.

Talk about double standards.

• AES - Untung RM8.6 Billion on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:22 pm

AES can untung RM8.6 billion per year. But don’t worry, the data will show they just untung maybe RM50 million only (from Sept 2012 to August 2014)

Are we rakyat that stupid?

The two crook companies say they invested RM800 million to buy cameras. If earn RM50 million in 2 years, how to recoup the cost?

Something smells so fishy. MIROS is obviously lying to cover up the real profit of the 2 companies.

• AES - Untung RM8.6 Billion on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:24 pm

This small 2 companies are the higest earning company after Petronas and Sime Darby.

Can earn RM billions per year.

• Makan Kangkung on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:36 pm

The company said there was a RM200,000 additional cost per camera was because that was needed for training.

Ha Ha Ha Ha haH Ha. Pay me RM200,000 per camera and I will give you free training lah

You need RM200,000 for each camera to show some slide show to the policeman how to use the camera ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • BETA TEGAP on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Terima Kasih Kerajaan Malaysia kerana banyak bayar kos kami. Kos kami murah. Semua kamera AES kami pasang RM800 million. Terima kasih Rakyat Malaysia.

Terima kasih juga kerana kami sekarang boleh dapat untung Berbillion setiap tahun. Untung lah syarikat kami. Staff semua boleh beli Porsche dan Ferrari sekarang.

• MIROS bull crap analysis on Oct 31, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Here we go again.

Can’t they get things right at all. 1st to proper analyze your data:
      1) Have a respectable 3rd party conduct and procure the relevant data-set to eliminate conflict of interest. And curate and analyze the data.
      2) Draw out all the other factors that might have caused a reduction in fatalities (even political and environmental factors). Haze, raining season, heavier traffic, better safety equipped cars, better road condition, etc)
      2) Have enough data-set to draw the conclusion. A reduction of 7 fatalities does not a conclusion make.
      3) Present the dataset to the rakyat together with your conclusion.

Jaguh Kampung just syiok sendiri. Dilbert principle states that the most ineffective people runs the government/government organization. This could not be more true here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
      • Makan Kangkung on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:28 pm

I hope the Kampung people wake up. Whilst you are told to tighten your belts and tanam jagung and eat Kangkung, your fellow brothers, mainly UMNO cronies, are dining in Harrods, shopping in Selfrdges and having tea in Fortnum & Mason.

I also want to be AES contractor if I can earn RM30 million per day

• Turunkan Harga Kereta on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Can the government use the billions going into Beta Tegaps pocket and give us cheaper cars.

Why give billions to 2 companies when you can give cheaper cars to 30 million people?

MITI say they need the RM6 billion in taxes from cars. If Beta Tegap is earning so much, use that to offset the 6 bil taxes the government gets from cars and give us cheaper cars

• kl fella on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:31 am

lol

• Abu Sayur on Oct 31, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Bull f**in sh*t. Anyone who believe this news should go to hell. AES is another white elephant project. RM700mil into the pockets of cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
      • RM1 million Camera on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Rm700 million for about 800 cameras. Only place in the world where 1 camera cost RM1 million.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
        • Turunkan Harga Kereta on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:53 pm

AES is like GST, its all about making money of the people of Malaysia just for a few UMNO cronies.

95% population suffer just to benefit 5% of UMNO cronies.

UMNO cronies will eat in Lafite in Shangri La and we will eat in mamak.

• Turunkan Harga Kereta on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Not just the 700 million. It is what they make per year that matters. They make at least a few billion per year. Just masuk one or two pockets.

• flunky on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:33 am

What a controlled society! If I want to drive recklessly and get into an accident, that’s my right!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 46
    • buaya on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:51 am

problem is when you drive recklessly you endanger other people

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 0
    • hakim on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:54 am

well, it’s not ur right to drive recklessly, coz it’s not ur own road, right? except if u are the only one who pay taxes… drive well la brother. the AES being implement coz there are so many reckless driver, don’t u think so?

• Not exactly. Yes, Malaysians could drive better. Some roads are badly implemented. With better planning, the roads could be safe even at high speeds. For eg, sudden junction, U-turns, bad merging lanes, and sudden curves.

And some stretches of the highway, the speed limit suddenly drops.

As for Malaysians driving better, if the traffic wasn’t so dam bad (bad town planning, too many high-rises approved but roads cannot support), they would drive better. I feel it’s definitely a factor.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 1:25 pm

I sense sarcasm…but it’s precisely because of people who want to drive recklessly and get into accidents that make this society so controlled.

• kzm buda bodo (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:37 am

This is all bull. It is to fool the public and divert our attention. It is to defend the system and the 2 companies given the contract.

The most important matter is this, how ultimately owns these 2 companies?

It has been shown that these 2 companies will be making billions per annum in just commission alone. Only very listed Bursa companies can make billions in clean profit.

But these 2 companies have been shown and projected to earn billions per annum. Very shocking figure for a mere Sendirian Berhad.

So who really has these contracts? Dig deeper and it will definitely be some distant proxy or relative of some Minister or UMNO big man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
  • kzm buda bodo (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:43 am

Taking Penang as a guide where there are 2.2 million registered motor vehicle owners, let us extrapolate this figure and times the 12 states (including Federal Territory) to determine the number of registered vehicles. We take the average of 2.2 million ( Road Transport Dept figures) as the average representing all states although some may have more and some perhaps less.

At best this is a very conservative estimate. Since our estimate is very conservative it follows that our final result will also be conservative. Since there are 12 states and each state has 2.2 registered motor owners , the total registered owners totalled 26.4 million. Let us further assume that at any point of time 50 percent of the registered vehicles are mobile on the road.

That means an average of 13.2 million vehicles will be plying the road at any given time in all the 12 states where the AES system is implemented. From the 13.2 million let us assume that 2 percent have committed traffic offences under the AES. That translate into a figure of 264,000 traffic summonses daily.

At the non negotiable rate of RM300 per summons, that translate into a daily figure of RM79,200,000 of money collected under the AES system. The share of the two private companies on a daily basis will be 30 percent of RM79,200,000 which translates to an income of RM23,760,000 per day.

On a yearly basis the income accrued would be RM8,672,400,000. And for the duration of the contract, which is 66 months, the total amount earned would be RM47,698,200,000 (i.e. RM47 billion, six hundred and ninety eight million and two hundred thousand.)

Please remember that the above figure for the traffic offenders taken was a lowly figure of 2 percent. If the figure had been 5 percent, the income earned would be astronomical.

Based on the above figure, is the Road Transport Department telling us the truth when they say that the implementation of the AES was not to reap exorbitant profit but to reduce road fatalities? Let Malaysians be the judge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
    • buaya on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:52 am

so don’t be an idiot and commit the offences. Let them go bankrupt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
  • azrai on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:44 am

And all the driver will drive at the third slowest lane in 75-80km/h speed at Bangi PLUS, after the camera the pulled back to 120km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Myvi 1.3 on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:52 am

The road users will only slow down prior reaching to AES zone. By Waze could be easily located AES. In another words AES effectively bring accident rate isn’t convincing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Myvi 1.3 on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:54 am

The road users will only slow down prior reaching to AES zone. By Waze could be easily located AES. In another words AES effectively bring down accident rate which is not convincing me AT ALL.

• Shaekey on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:58 am

The statistic would be convincing if the cameras were placed at accident prone area in the first place. However, all the cameras that I passed through so far doesn’t look like accident prone areas. They are on a straight highways. Never do I hear or read about any fatal accidents in those areas.

So my conclusion is the statistic is wrong. The fatal accident may be reduced but AES is taking the credit that doesn’t belong to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • ganni on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:31 pm

agreed with u…most of the AES camera were located at the irrelevant area such as the straight highway and at the uphill/downhill area…

• Henry on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:06 am

How many of the intended number of such cameras are actually installed? Of the number installed, how many are broken down and how many are still working?

• Drivers slow down for just a kilometre to avoid summons lah

• Maserati(Official) on Oct 31, 2014 at 1:36 pm

maybe that 1 km would have saved the drivers life, why so skeptical about government helping you? its a sincere effort, least you could do as rakyat is to support the government, dont asyik kutuk for no reasons

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • Malaysians can be so stupid it frustrates me. Im malaysian. Im not elitist , im not a bn crony. I have traveled to and driven rented cars while on holiday in australia, france and italy and all these countries have aes and their people dont make a fuss. Whats even more amazing is how they drive far better than many of us malaysians who drive selfishly, recklessly, come 4 ft behind the car in front, high beam impatiently or sometimes stay in the fast lane too long after an overtaking. What is wrong with malaysians yang bodoh sangat nak kata semua program yang dirancang ada elemen rasuah/cronyism. You are honestly the malaysians who like to drive recklessly fast, cut queues, jump red lights, not yield to pedestrians, drive impatiently. Maybe you might support aes if you travel and see how other developed countries drive and you realize how far we are. Why are my fellow countrymen so stupid sometimes. Arguing against aes is the same logic as arguing against seat belts, no texting while driving or mandatory seatbelts for rear passengers…

• KaoPehKaoBu on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:17 am

ppl slow down on speed trap, but later speed up 200km/h ..unless u put EAS all over the hiway

• Maserati(Official) on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:22 am

and yet Malaysians complain about authorities not doing anything to help the drivers in keeping the road safer

I hope there are AES all over malaysia roads, be it federal roads, highway or even lorongs.. so what the fine is harsh? if you don’t break the law, you won’t get fine, simple as that!

Great job Government! you are keeping the promise of helping Malaysians!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 33
    • MalaysianDriversNeedToBePunished on Oct 31, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Sad looking at the downvotes for this comment. Malaysians only think about their pockets and not mature enough to think about safety.

So if AES is removed, can any wise men advice how to solve the problem with our road fatalities?

All those comments about potholes, unrealistic speed limit, city planning, road planning all BS.

I’ve driven enough on the road to see how bad Malaysian drivers are.

I agree with the comment above, AES should be all the way. No discounts, just fine and send the offenders to jail if they don’t pay fine.

Downvote me all you like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Selfie on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:27 am

Smile you are on candid camera

• They only planted few cameras across the countries, but can reduce the accident rates by 30 over %? What BS are you talking about?

• Maserati(Official) on Oct 31, 2014 at 1:37 pm

its call planting them at hot spots … pareto rules, 20% effort to achieve 80% result… government employs smart ppl to do things efficiently, thats why!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • It’s good, but it can be great to change the fine system. RM300 will slow down an ordinary driver, but no point to fine a GTR driver RM300 for speed offence. Malaysia should fine a percentage base on income. So end up those riche must pay few thousands for speeding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • thinkso on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:46 am

bull_ _ _ _!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    pls fill in the blank

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:53 am

Assuming you can actually trust those numbers, AES at highways are pretty much useless. I ply the NSE on a weekly basis. I feel its even more dangerous then people slow down to as much as 60-80 near Trolak AES site.

Where these camera’s would be more effective is at traffic junctions. But then again, when is the last time a motorcyclist is nicked for jumping a red? And what is wrong with using traffic police?

I’m not against camera enforcement. But this whole sceme reeks of profiteering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • buaya on Oct 31, 2014 at 11:58 am

Please reinforce the AES with more cameras. Everyday i see morons driving like mad and endangering the public. For those who say this is for the crony, then don’t commit the offences and drive safely. The crony will surely bungkus.

• MalaysianDriversNeedToBePunished on Oct 31, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Agree, you know why people hate AES?

Because they are the traffic offenders. They want our country to be lawful and corruption free but on they road they break all laws and give duit kopi when they are stopped. See the irony?

• ciakap on Oct 31, 2014 at 12:04 pm

10,136 cases were brought to court.. but the hearing still postponed until now..

No AES cases being heard in court even though they being called

refer
    http://www.harakahdaily.net/index.php/berita-utama/15484-aes-tiada-perbicaraan-tapi-diminta-hadir

• sharon on Oct 31, 2014 at 12:24 pm

please fix it as soon as possible in east malaysia too. more better. hate people driving like crazy.

• Wah_Accident_Ke on Oct 31, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Kejap kata insurans naik sebab banyak accident dan tuntutan bertambah, kejap kata accident kurang selepas pemasangan AES. Semuanya TIPUUUUUUU belaka.
    Kerajaan Barang Naik sanggup putar belit kenyataan & statistik asalkan bole buat duit.

• traffic light on Oct 31, 2014 at 12:34 pm

put AES at all traffic light laaaa… reduce the no of person beating traffic light. see who dare complain !!!!!

• SoHai Law on Oct 31, 2014 at 1:09 pm

Accident will be increase in future due to 40k ppls bought AXIA… R.I.P

• My thought on Oct 31, 2014 at 1:10 pm

I support AES at traffic light but against AES for speed trap.

• yihang (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Aes or not…malaysian driver mostly drive recklessly…that is the fact…only slow down on certain point that aes is activated show the driving attitude more clearly…is time for Malaysian to rethink their driving behaviour…not bashing the aes..in a country that citizen driving habit is good..they no need speed limit to control them…the traffic rules is blend into their personality already..but in Malaysia..as long as I wont get saman..I do whatever shit I want..i accelerate when the light turn red and assume the car from other direction which their light turn green don’t dare to start moving because they see me don’t have the intention to stop..and they can do only horn and watch me beat the light..not only that..if one car did that..many follow..this is moral problem..not something called aes can solve..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 1:33 pm

lower accident rate, higher pocket money

• AES - Untung RM8.6 Billion on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:25 pm

Higher pocket money to the two owners of the AES system

• Jilbaber (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:16 pm

I agreed and we should implement more of AES (This is not sarcasm)

• BETA TEGAP on Oct 31, 2014 at 2:44 pm

More AES is better. We can put 800 more units. No problem, kerajaan will pay us another RM1 billion for it.

• People slow down when approaching AES areas, then sprint after passing them. Reduce what accident rate, retards???? Want to implement more just say it out loud la, cowards!!!!!!

• yes,effective 1m on the round b4 AES.who believe?
    there are no more real info and news in malaysia anymore.

• Limbo on Oct 31, 2014 at 3:36 pm

I strongly oppose to the idea of any permanent cameras or roadside handheld radar guns by police personnel. People tends to look out for them instead of having their eyes on the road ahead ! Does making driving dangerous. If using your handphone while driving is illegal, so does installing speed cameras along any speedway. Any form of constant distractions to the driver are illegal.

• mabel on Oct 31, 2014 at 3:58 pm

I nearly skidded my Bentley GT when slowing down from 230KMJ in AES zone. Sure enough the traction assist prevent any accident. No AES for V8 car.

• iqbal1987 on Oct 31, 2014 at 4:07 pm

alhamdulillah…(mata ke atas, tengan ke bahu)

• darkermarker on Oct 31, 2014 at 9:01 pm

hahahah, satu lagi projek (sanglap) oleh kerajaan…..

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:54 pm

More cars these days have stability control, which leads to fewer accidents. They should also look at what cars did crash, and what speeds they were driving at.

• X6 Owner on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:13 am

Jangan buat aku ketawa!!! Sy tak percaya pun.
    Statistik ini untuk alasan tambah AES atau mengekalkan AEC…
    Jangan tamak sangat bro. cukup makan sudah lar…