Johor Bahru city centre to start car-free periods?

lexus-cfrp-bicycle-8

According to a report by The Star, Johor Bahru city council (MBJB) is considering starting city centre car-free periods this month, following Kuala Lumpur’s introduction of the Car-Free Morning earlier this year.

“For a start, we are looking at closing the roads between 8 am and 11 am. We will start by having this once a month and will decide later whether to increase its frequency. The roads and areas will be announced later,” the English-language daily quoted mayor Abdul Rahman Mohamed Dewam as saying.

He said the Vehicle-Free Day campaign will allow activities such as cycling, running, street soccer, aerobics and netball to take place on the streets.

“The campaign is a good way to create public awareness about the importance of taking care of the environment and the city,” Abdul Rahman said.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• eims perfume on Dec 01, 2014 at 3:05 pm

i think its a good move…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • Just make sure i dont see any V.I.P car passing the Car Free Zone or Any Police clearing the road for V.I.P!

• Jonathan on Dec 01, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Maybe they close road to do road resurfacing? Haiz, does this mean that it is going to be a daily affair? Why are there more and more potholes?

• Jonathan on Dec 01, 2014 at 3:20 pm

One of the stupidest suggestion by MBJB!!! Public transport in JB city is sucks! Inconsistent bus arrival, no LRT, some places don’t even have bus route (Tmn Daya to Johor Jaya)!!! That is the reason people drive. So if they close the road at 8am which is the peak hour where people rush to work. So the expect people to cycle? What is the poor guy stays in Pontian but works in Century Garden? Brainless!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 13
    • screwu (Member) on Dec 01, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Chill pill bro…try google n read what dbkl did…

• Jonathan on Dec 01, 2014 at 6:23 pm

DBKL change road name…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
        • Bacapik on Dec 03, 2014 at 6:22 pm

I don’t get this. Or perhaps we are not getting this right. Are we talking about MBJB or DBKL eh?
          Haish…..

• Kangkung Rasa on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:11 pm

JB not reach that level yet.
      JB should go back to basic.
      Public transportation need to improve first instead of implement car free…
      Bus, MRT,LRT first well establish and maintain first.

Implement such activity now will caused massive traffic jam on surrounding area. Means not solve current problems, create new problems.

Probably, this is new kangkung project for own pockets!

• Jonathan on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:38 pm

Kangkung Rasa: Totally agree with you. At least in KL they have LRT, so closing certain roads are still manageble. In JB, if you close certain roads, then ppl will have to take alternative routes which will cause jam due to the additional volume of cars. There is no way ppl can take public transport and reach office on time unless ppl wait for it vry early in the morning because the service is sucks.

• Diesel Power!!! on Dec 01, 2014 at 4:44 pm

This is another suggestion from the “smartest-brilliant” ppl. If really concern abt the environment, y not just implement euro 5 fuel to whole country? Y wanna make ppl sooo incovenience for ur “brilliant idea”? How bout i give u suggestion below for ur consideration:
    1. Euro 5 petrol & diesel implement nationwide.
    2. Taxi & gment vehicle to use electric vehicle/hybrid/ngv only.
    3. Lrt & feeder bus to be implemented.
    4. Greater enforcement on factory & vehicle that release unhealthy gas.
    5. Build more bikes lane & parking place to encourage bicycle use.

• so u are suggesting more monies go to cronies isnt it?, dont be stupid…its a good move…not all road to be closed…do research 1st before u speak ok?, dont show off your stupidness..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
      • Not all the thing goes to cronies. Even DAP-Penang govt and Pas-Kelantan govt also use their cronies to do some works e.g. even build a small drainage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • Kangkung Rasa on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Penang open tender la…
          did you read the audit report?

Our boleh land are famous globally
          for cronism.

Are you Barang Naik member?
          Talk east , talk west, no study,
          no solid proof.

do you know how high of Malaysia gomen debt?
          gomen debt it’s YOUR debt.
          you may understand what i m saying if you well educated and katak atas tempurung.

• RicoT on Dec 01, 2014 at 5:40 pm

Get ready to get robbed/kidnapped while riding bicycle in JB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
  • With those ugly comments from JBrians we are sure JB remains substandard town compared to KL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
    • Jonathan on Dec 01, 2014 at 6:25 pm

Are you sure all those commentators above are JBrians?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Kangkung Rasa on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:24 pm

@ john, Ignore substandard awe comments.
        No matter KL or JB or Penang
        Regardless of TOP level or Substandard.

KL, JB still belongs to Barang Naik.
        Only Penang are slightly perform better due to its state gov. Penang is well loved by foreign investor.
        THis is a fact. You may interview expatriate.

Anyway, need to vote Barang Naik out.
        We could have better car, life, safety & security, job oppoturnity. It’s not demanding, its global basic standard. Current G makes our belove country no improvement, substandard, poor education system, poor social security enforcement.,..

We are not turtle, we dont want eat Kangkung.

• Jonathan on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:45 pm

Any part of the country is stil Malaysia and if the present G still ruling, our country is going downhill. I know tht Penang is doing well :) Recent news was tht Federal G’s new fleet of Proton Accordana cost more tht LGE’s Merc S class. Correct me if i m wrong. Thks.

• Bacapik on Dec 03, 2014 at 6:25 pm

When can we have trams in kuala lumpur…? Aiyooo…. Isn’t it a feasible idea perhaps?

• kakiayam on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:04 pm

So many negative comments when the move should be lauded and welcome by JB ppl. Personally, this would encourage me to bring my bike downtown once it is implemented. And on a nice Sunday, why not?
    Some comment to Jonathan after reading all the negative comments –
    1. This post is about Car Free, not about road surfacing or pot holes. Vomit your ranting at the right channels and topic.
    2. This has nothing to do with public transportation and obviously not concern with Johor Jaya and Daya. They are 20km away. The Car free day happens on Sunday, not peak hour rush time. Nobody would drive through JB just to reach Century Garden from Pontian. A simple google map check is more than enough to debunk you misleading statement.
    3. This post has nothing to do with Politics. I just came back from Penang Bridge marathon. It is now considered the worst organize marathon in Malaysia history. Considering that it is directly managed by the Penang gov, this is very embarrassing.

Get your facts right before vomiting misleading facts, otherwise, what you say in the future carries little weight.

KakiaYam

• Jonathan on Dec 04, 2014 at 11:47 pm

KakiaYam
      1) The road surfacing is meant to be a joke in responding to muya’s comment on police using those closed roads for VIPs. Of course i know this artical is about being car free not about potholes or road resurfacing.

2) Its stupid to say Johor Jaya and Tmn Daya is 20km apart. JBrians will testify to that. Its aprox 7 km only or even lesser. And do you know EVERYDAY is a workday in JB and in the whole of Johor due to the change of weekend by state G? Century Garden is the central of Johor Bahru City Centre! So what do you mean by “Nobody would drive through JB just to reach Century Garden from Pontian”. JB means Johor Bahru. any part of Johor Bahru is known as JB so is Pekan Nanas town and Skudai area!!! Puchong is Klang Valley so is Petaling Jaya!!! If they say the small town of Pekan Nanas is to be car free, so the person who stays in Pontian but work on SUNDAY as a G servant in JB City Centre is seriously affected!!! I think you are the one giving misleading statement instead!!! Do you need to go for lessons on how to use Google Maps??!!! I am a JBrian la wei!!!

3) Everything in Malaysia is politics! This car free city is suggested by state G. So if it is not politics that what is it? On your comments on the standards of the marathon that you took part – it is vry subjective for ppl to comment on how good it was organised. Some ppl have to high standards and some people just dont know how to distinguish between good standards and bad standards!!! So do you have any backup claims to support your comments on the marathon?

Next time be wiser so tht you wont make a fool out of yourself.

• KakiaYam
      1) The road surfacing is meant to be a joke in responding to muya’s comment on police using those closed roads for VIPs. Of course i know this artical is about being car free not about potholes or road resurfacing.

2) Its stupid to say Johor Jaya and Tmn Daya is 20km apart. JBrians will testify to that. Its aprox 7 km only or even lesser. And do you know EVERYDAY is a workday in JB and in the whole of Johor due to the change of weekend by state G? Century Garden is the central of Johor Bahru City Centre! So what do you mean by “Nobody would drive through JB just to reach Century Garden from Pontian”. JB means Johor Bahru. any part of Johor Bahru is known as JB so is Pekan Nanas town and Skudai area!!! Puchong is Klang Valley so is Petaling Jaya!!! If they say the small town of Pekan Nanas is to be car free, so the person who stays in Pontian but work on SUNDAY as a G servant in JB City Centre is seriously affected!!! I think you are the one giving misleading statement instead!!! Do you need to go for lessons on how to use Google Maps??!!! I am a JBrian la wei!!!

3) Everything in Malaysia is politics! This car free city is suggested by state G. So if it is not politics that what is it? On your comments on the standards of the marathon that you took part – it is vry subjective for ppl to comment on how good it was organised. Some ppl have to high standards and some people just dont know how to distinguish between good standards and bad standards!!! So do you have any backup claims to support your comments on the marathon?

Next time be wiser so tht you wont make a fool out of yourself…

• George Tan on Dec 04, 2014 at 2:52 pm

At least something being done.More trees should b planted .Green buildings should be encouraged.

• Its better to suggest tht they will be more stringent with the contractors on the quality of roads and on how to plan the roads properly rather than talking about being car free!!! They widen the road but it still lead to a bottle neck, so everyone got stucked there so whats the point? Also better spend more resources to build LRT or MRT or whatever to ease the dependancy on vehicles. There has been huha about the upcoming LRT but till today JBrians still do not know where will be the route going to be and where will be the stations. Talk about car free city when the LRT is completed. Or else we can’t go around EFFICIENTLY and EFFECTIVELY without our cars!!!

• carfreesupporter on Dec 07, 2014 at 4:26 pm

If you pay income tax and wonder what the government gives back to you – just attend any of the car free day in KL (1st Sun) or Putrajaya (4th Sun) and you will see how well it is organized and bonds families of all ages, race, and religion together in the spirit of exercise… This project no one sapu any money and instead we the tax-paying citizens actually get something great for free!!!

• Jonathan on Dec 07, 2014 at 11:02 pm

Well said. Maybe I should go up to KL and see for myself. But I felt personally tht it is not the right timing to implement it in JB yet…