Rolls-Royce Ghost Series II gets unveiled in Malaysia

Rolls-Royce Ghost Series II - Dato Michael & Sven

Eight months after its world premiere at the Geneva Motor Show, the new Rolls-Royce Ghost Series II has been unveiled at Rolls-Royce Kuala Lumpur’s new Quill Provenance Cars pre-owned showroom in Damansara earlier today, nearly five years after the original made the scene. The refreshed “baby Rolls” gets a subtle but extensive makeover both inside and out.

The nip-and-tuck starts with a resculpted front bumper, with the signature Rolls-Royce grille made taller. Also new are the full-LED headlights, featuring a slimmer, kinked shape and daytime running lights around the border, while on the bonnet is a new “wake channel” that flows behind the Spirit of Ecstasy.

Further back, the wheel arches can be filled by larger 21-inch wheel options, while the “waft” line on the lower rocker has a more relaxed angle, giving the Series II a more dynamic profile.

SONY DSC

Inside, the driver and front passenger sit on redesigned seats with electrically-adjustable thigh supports and depth adjustment, while the rear pews have been angled slightly inward for better passenger communication. The clock and the instrument gauges have also been refaced with matte chrome centres, dimensional chrome surrounds and polished metal chaplets which have been inspired by watches.

Some new electronic toys have been introduced as well, including an improved voice control system (which, like on newer BMWs, can understand full sentences rather than just two-word commands), an iDrive-like touch-sensitive Spirit of Ecstacy controller and an optional 18-speaker Bespoke Audio System that uses the roof for extra resonance. The Night Vision system can also now detect animals in addition to pedestrians.

Peeking under the bonnet, you’ll find the 6.6 litre twin-turbo V12, unchanged from before and producing 563 hp at 5,250 rpm and 780 Nm at 1,500 rpm. Mated to an eight-speed automatic transmission, the Ghost sweeps to 100 km/h in 4.9 seconds (5.0 seconds for the extended wheelbase variant), before nudging the electronic governor at 250 km/h.

SONY DSC

New to the Ghost is the Wraith‘s Satellite Aided Transmission (SAT) function – which predicts gear changes to suit upcoming corners based on GPS data – as well as hydraulic rear-axle bearings that improve ride quality, stability and refinement, particularly on the larger wheels. Opting for the Dynamic Driving Package, on the other hand, adds redesigned struts, new steering gear and adjusted dampers for better handling.

Meanwhile, the Bespoke personalisation service has been expanded with new paint finishes, wheel options, extended natural grain leather on the A- and C-pillars and a couple of new veneer choices – Paldao and Walnut Burr Crossband.

The price? That was not mentioned, but seeing as the original Ghost would set you back RM2.6 million before options, we reckon the new, improved Series II won’t exactly be cheap…

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• True class for the deep pocket rich people!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Ali Babba on Dec 04, 2014 at 8:38 am

Those with tiny salary RM3k per month don’t bother to comment here lah. Just keep on driving your old Proton okay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 42
      • Newcomer on Dec 04, 2014 at 9:57 am

Neither you only can see this car over the computer, bengong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • The Truth about BIG CC cars on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Government must do something about Rolls Royce and Bentley buyers cheating on road tax. These buyers use Sabah and Sarawak road tax at only RM3500 when they should be paying RM18,000 for Semenanjung Malaysia road tax.

See all they RR and Bentley in KL. They all use Sabah and Sarawak road tax. Quill salesman and even Bentley salesman themselves will tell you they got runner boys to take advantage of this loophole.

Bentley Malaysia and Quill is promoting this kind of cheating behaviour that deprives the Government of genuine revenue.

Government knows this but they close an eye because all the Ministers and their Children all use big cc cars and they also use Sabah and Sarawak Road tax

Go see any luxury car in Malaysia. You will see it is a RM50 salinan written on it. The runner boy will get the road tax renewed in Sabah and Sarawak for 70% reduction in price and later say road tax hilang and use the salinan as their ligetimate copy in Malaysia.

The poor people are the ones paying through their nose in Malaysia for 2000cc and above.

The rich use 6750CC and pay peanuts in price.

JPJ big boss also knows this but he takut want to do anything. He is the biggest chicken. He so scared to tahan any car more than 4000cc otherwise, habis la him, kena transfer to another department.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
        • Ray teo on Feb 13, 2019 at 11:45 am

I only know people who drive myvi/vios who drive like ITU JALAN BAPAK DIA PUNYA only pay less than rm100/yrs so u the one who should shut up for entire of ur life also not paying rm18k roadtax pls

• Very very beautiful & classic. Love it soo much.

• where is najib promise on Dec 04, 2014 at 11:35 am

Where is najib promise to reduce car price? In UK its only 200k pound. I will be driving this if i live in UK.

• Faridz on Jan 24, 2015 at 10:17 am

Dont ever bother what Najis has promised. He has lost respect from the rakyat long time ago..

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:54 pm

Thanks for the pics guys, I know I won’y be stepping into the showroom to see it…malu lah so pics like these will tell a thousand words for me.

That’s a lot of wood…too much to my liking but the layout does seem simplistic to me. The rear seats however I cannot judge…the new S Class does look better but I think one has to sit in both before judging which is more comfy but with such an asking price for the RR I am inclined to think that the RR should nail it in terms of comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • erwinkarim on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:41 pm

the beauty of rolls-royce is everything is bespoke. you think there’s too much wood, you can change the panel into anything you want as long it’s legal and don’t compromise safety…

• “What car are you driving,bro?”
    I’m driving a Ghost…
    LOL…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • cronyhorny on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:34 pm

cronies will have new choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 21
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:07 pm

hmm this or maybach s-class? next driven series to do test?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • LeJohn on Dec 04, 2014 at 9:45 pm

As much as I would like to see it . No way the driven team has that kind of sponsorship to roll on million dollar cars. I guess Top gear is only one of the few lucky Programs to have such a privilege

• driveabird on Dec 04, 2014 at 5:29 am

nice..magnificient
    mmmh..got isofix for todler chair?

• Chost Driver instead of Ghost rider

• Garfieldliew on Dec 04, 2014 at 8:05 am

Seriously guys… this Rolls royce is re-brand from BMW7 series. I doubt how many people knew this :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Sammy on Dec 04, 2014 at 9:14 am

I still prefer the look of a Phantom.
    The front grill doesn’t quite look like a Rolls to me.
    I doubt an S Class will give way if the driver saw this in their rear view mirror.

• maserati boss on Dec 04, 2014 at 9:54 am

Even my camry won’t give way to this cheap kimchi looking car.

• kereta_lembu on Dec 04, 2014 at 9:51 am

OK…time to sleep and start dreaming

• Tomboy Alice on Dec 04, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Just ordered 1 from toy R us

• ganni on Dec 04, 2014 at 3:42 pm

just bought one from Kyosho..

• darkermarker on Dec 04, 2014 at 8:00 pm

hmmmm, why the cockpit and dashboard like lorry ah??

• One helluva machine, but alas! You’d need a humongous size of a pocket to own this voluptuous beauty.