SPIED: 2015 Peugeot 308 photographed in Glenmarie

peugeot-spyshots-2

Pug fans rejoice! A sole unit of the next-generation Peugeot 308 has been spotted making its rounds in Glenmarie. The C-segment competitor is expected to make its local market debut soon – a launch date of April has been mooted for the award-winning hatch.

As one can see from the photos, 18-inch ‘Saphir’ wheels will be making its way here. While the front isn’t pictured here, an earlier set of photos show that the local-spec Peugeot 308 will feature the mid-range front bumper which features chrome highlights as opposed to the layout found on the base-spec car.

Under the bonnet, the Malaysian-bound Peugeot 308 is said to be offered with a sole powertrain/gearbox combination. A 1.6 litre, turbocharged THP165 engine paired to a six-speed automatic gearbox appears to be the likely candidate.

If that’s enough to get you hyped up, ads for the new Pug are already up and running on our sister classified site, oto.my, with prices seeming to hover about the RM130k mark.

GALLERY: 2015 Peugeot 308

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• is it me or the C pillars look massive

• karam singh on Mar 11, 2015 at 4:04 am

for safety purposes..
      no wonder this car won european car of the year

• tawil on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:59 pm

No diesel version?

• Buntut Cantik on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:10 am

Looks prettier and better than the outdated Suprima S.

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 10, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Getting a Peugeot, is not much different from getting a Proton. People rather buy Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 48
    • Lpost on Mar 10, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Yup, i rather buy toyota europe model than outdated toyota design for 3rd world & for malaysia market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • karam singh on Mar 11, 2015 at 4:06 am

agreed , there is no such thing as 4speeder nowadays.
        Old crappy car..
        The Peugeot safety way better than Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • muy'a on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:06 am

at RM130k range.
          Expensive Toyota Corrola Altis with
          Dual VVt-i, 7 airbags, 7 speed gearbox,
          prestige, reliable, low maintanenace and better Nilai than Pug 308.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
          • Ur Money Wasted (UMW) on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:43 pm

Are you Sam Loo’s salesman?

How is it better nilai when a measly Corolla is expensive in the first place? Do you know how the Japanese first got recognition worldwide,its because of value for money! Why do you pay so much for just a Corolla? Ask UMW!

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:53 am

@Karam If for you, Vios means the whole Toyota (because you can only afford that), I feel sorry.

Peugeot safer than Toyota? Hard to tell.

But with Peugeot quality (like the Proton), your wallet, bank account, your wife saving definitely not safe.

Good luck!

• Sam Proton on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Apa pasal you beli Proton untuk anak you ? Boleh explain ?

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:11 pm

You can talkok whatever you want. I don’t have any Proton at home.

Having junk at home will affect my fengshui. The cheapest car allowed at my house is Vios.

• sam proton2 on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:21 pm

You punya flat dekat cheras ada fen sui juga?

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:45 am

Go stay in Europe then. Ask yourself why Toyota so expensive here?

Thanks to Proton and its protection. Why should UMW give you more while our sales already so good? It is a free market, however spoiled by Proton’s indulgence.

Let’s remove the stupid car tax and let everyone compete as open and fair. I hope the 86 to priced at RM100k as much as you do.

• tokokk on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Lol total BS, why City got more safety feature than Vios? Both are B segment, correct?

Blame p1 again? Tokok will always tokok

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:14 pm

City are no way cheaper than Vios. Go check out the price! Do your homework.

And bear in mind City also assembled at Proton production line. Quality wise, miles from Vios.

This can be reflected from RV also. Go check out how much 2010 Vios and City worth.

Do your homework.

• Ur Money Wasted on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:37 pm

UMW is the one that actually needs to do their homework. First of all to stay trendy,ppl are offering safety with VSC for a start. Who in the world wants push start across the range you peabrain.

Why cheaper,Toyota giving rebates across the lineup,maximum oso 2k,for overpriced garbages.

You think the quality is like ‘god car,jangan persoal’ is it,every Toyota we know actually kemek easily,so what’s the point?

Continue bragging about the RV of Vios from yesteryears,now people will favour potentially safer cars with active safety,like last generations facelift City,while fugly Vios got hideous syok sendiri TRD bodykit making it look worse than an ugliest living creature on earth.

So you do your homework.

• paulnut on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:31 am

Anyway,sam 25 years old son is using saga.

• toyota??? hahaha LOL!

• sambalbabi on Mar 10, 2015 at 7:03 pm

the shape….

if the price is right, this could be a better alternative to VW’s Golf.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Oops someone’s wallet gonna get rip 4 buying this car with their hard earned money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • was really hoping for a diesel version.

• customer on Mar 10, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Hey Baby! I’m rejoicing indeed,for you~

• wowow on Mar 10, 2015 at 7:39 pm

To anyone thinking about whining about the after sales service, unless you are an actual peugeot owner and has experienced crap service first hand, don’t bother commenting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Colin Wong on Mar 10, 2015 at 9:12 pm

So agree. I own a Pug for close to 2 years now and do not understand what the whining is all about. BTW, I have driven Nissan (2 units), Toyota (1 unit) and Honda (1 unit) cars before; I can only say that it is on par. Greater value for money than the Japanese marques. Don’t get started about resale value please. If you want to rant about resale value, 3 generation old Toyota models are waiting for you at all showrooms.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Totally agreed.
        peugeot ipoh sc indeed quite good and responsive.

• therealmaserati on Mar 10, 2015 at 8:54 pm

Looks ugly. Thr current version looks betta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Roque on Mar 10, 2015 at 11:09 pm

Just be careful with the after sales service. Especially if your parts are broken during warranty period. It was a nightmare for me even tho I reported my problem before warranty expires. When I followed up with them they say it has gone past the mileage, yes I am referring to the absorbers whereby the warranty only covers 30,000 km. mine was reported during warranty and before using up 30,000km. But yet they refused to change the affected part for me. They only gave in after I issued them legal notice. It is now resolved. The Peugeot care line people can be very stubborn. Everything is on record yet they refuse to entertain, not until I had to use legal means. So any potential new owners, just a word of caution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • nice looking car but you will lose 50% value the minute you drive off the showroom. And all the potential issues with ‘excellent’ dealer support..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • DonkeyKong on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:08 am

How’s the reliability of this engine? The early 308s and even some of the 408s seem to have problems with the 1.6L Prince engine.. carbon build up from the direct injection design, loss of power and incorrect timing from the stretched timing chain, etc. Have these defects been rectified, since both Peugeot and BMW seem to have moved away from the 1.6L Prince engine in their other models?

• rchoo on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:44 am

None of your mentioned problems such as Carbon build up from the direct injection design, loss of power and incorrect timing from the stretched timing chain exists in my car. Where did you hear that?

• DonkeyKong on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:02 pm

Heard it from a mechanic who services Peugeot cars, a 308 owner himself. I’m interested in the 408 but he advised me not to based on those reasons..

• rchoo, all the 3 problems mentioned above are common on the earlier ep6dt engines. not sure about the newest versions. I myself am a 2009 308 turbo owner.

• rchoo on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:47 am

Non of your above mentioned problems ever happened in my 508 Turbo Premium. Where did you hear that?

• rchoo on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:51 am

But I don’t think this 308 model is the European Car of the Year 2014 engine, i mean the extremely low fuel saving engine.

• kelvin on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:05 am

so? B or C segment? LOL

• 1.6T? When Peugeot replace this engine?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 11, 2015 at 7:31 am

Sui Kwan Euro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • HafizJoe Dorifuto on Mar 11, 2015 at 7:38 am

1.6 L Prince engine share with Mini Cooper…can tapau Preve / Suprima S

• hv money just buy. nice car.

• intermilan on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:38 am

“with prices seeming to hover about the RM130k mark”.

Nasim has increased 308 price at every available opportunity. Another price hike is a guarantee.

Price (OTR with insurance) for 308 (Turbo) back in Jan 2009 (when it was first launched) was RM111K.

If I’m not mistaken, there were few price increase exercises done after that e.g. Nov 2010 – increased to RM119K (OTR with insurance).

Price (OTR with insurance) for current 308FL is RM122K.

So the new 308(MkII) seems destined to be priced higher. Around RM133K (OTR with insurance).
    My guess, Nasim will round it up ‘nicely’ at RM133,888.

Value for money?
    1. Yes.. back in 2009. On paper that is..
    But it’s reliability issues and defects destroy every single bit of this proposition.
    Its disappointed to have 308 resale value plummet so low below the level it should be priced at.

2. Fast forward to 2015.. not anymore.
    Nasim will ask for ~RM20K more that the first 308.
    And there is substantiate suspicion that existing reliability issues and defects will still be around.

It would not explode into the market (a lot of excitement back then!) like what happened in 2009.

My guess is the new 308 will not generate much attention (what to hype about, anyway?) and will just chug along.
    But I wouldn’t mind (at all) if I am wrong on this on.

• Joker on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:17 pm

The thing with the previous 308T is really the carbon built up issues..
      Most of the owners have not drive a single turbo car before that let alone a soft turbo..
      and for some weird reason that problem only exist for 308T owner and not 408T and 508T..
      and it’s too bad really for the new 308 to comes with oni 1.6THP.. the new engine is so so promising and efficient.
      Perhaps the quality of our petrol here can’t really accommodate the 1.2 Puretech…

• Anonymous on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:54 pm

what is #RouteHunters? A new group?

• suomynona on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:34 pm

Sounds like a group to hunt for spyshots of new cars in Malaysia