BBC suspends Clarkson, Top Gear Series 22 cancelled

jeremy-clarkson-top-gear

Jeremy Clarkson, one of the trio of hosts on popular English motoring programme Top Gear, has been suspended by the BBC. The call for the suspension stems from an apparent “fracas” between Clarkson and one of the programme’s producers, who has been identified as Oisin Tymon.

According to multiple sources, the 54-year old host lost his temper after insufficient food was provided by the caterers following a day of shooting. It was there and then that the host had reportedly struck the producer. As a result, the remaining episodes of the current series will not air pending further investigation.

In light of the incident, the BBC has issued a statement. “Following a fracas with a BBC producer, Jeremy Clarkson has been suspended pending an investigation. No one else has been suspended. Top Gear will not be broadcast this Sunday. We will be making no further comment at this time.”

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Oh man…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:54 pm

So I guess Kelisa, MyVi, Satria and Savvy owners will be very happy about this news…?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 159 Thumb down 33
  • Obviously (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:55 pm

He must have been REALLY hungry…lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 1
    • LatukBandar on Mar 11, 2015 at 6:09 pm

They say, a hungry man is an angry man. and there is a joke on being full and empty, to keep a man happy, a women must keep him both full and empty. His stomach full and his balls empty.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 0
    • Holofanboi on Mar 11, 2015 at 6:32 pm

Obviously, its so obvious that he was too hungry!

Obviously im disappointed that you had to point this out…

Obviously this traffic jam is getting to my head oh dear lord ;-;

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Obviously (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:47 pm

Obviously, I had to point out the obvious. It’s in my job description.

Don’t worry, I won’t tell people that you were surfing the internetz while being stuck in traffic. Hope your head has recovered! hahah

• jim labu on Mar 11, 2015 at 6:58 pm

…or really drunk..

• Solving any problem by shouting “POWERRRRRR!!!!!” should empty his stomach in a minute. He got angry, not attacking people physically. BBC is just being an @rse looking for a reason to stow Jeremy away. Probably because Jeremy doesnt respect BBC’s top people the way they want to. American way of life tucked neatly under excellent british humour.

Watch Chris Harris on /Drive at youtube while Jeremy is away.

• Top gear is nothing without the 3 of them. Even if the bbc replaced him, he could just start his own car show and people would most likely ditch top gear in favor of his show.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 5
    • TG Fan on Mar 11, 2015 at 4:48 pm

No doubt he and his trio still can command viewership if they do their own show. But wait a minute, they still needed a TV Channel to fund their adventures, get them the cars, provide equipments so it’s not easy.

And also the other company might want to have their own way and only him with some other blokes to work with. Without RH and DM, it wont be the same anymore. People enjoyed watching TG is because the banters amongst them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • alldisc on Mar 11, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Jeremy can join tiff needle n the geng in fifth gear. Prepare to change his mindset though as fifth gear is not just another satire.

• Rubbish Perodua on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:57 pm

This man remember me “the door is rubbish!”, “the xxx is rubbish!”, “this car is totally rubbish!”
    But now can’t find the video anymore online. Anyone have that link?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Just search the episodes of TG in youtube, plenty of them. Jeremy can repair anything, with a HAMMER!

• We all know Jeremy had a temper…but this just blew the top away!

• Matte on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Driving fast cars at 280km/h apparently will make you hungry faster.

• Mulyadir Fitri on Mar 11, 2015 at 4:03 pm

Nah.. He will return. TG is nothing without him. He is TG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • hondaman on Mar 11, 2015 at 4:05 pm

diva tua…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • driver on Mar 11, 2015 at 4:14 pm

dont mess with Orang Utan when he’s hungry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • RicoT on Mar 11, 2015 at 4:16 pm

Imagine not enough food after a day’s of work and filming. Whoever that producer is, he is a wanker and total idiot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • A hungry man is an angry man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • car-fans on Mar 11, 2015 at 4:24 pm

‘Jeremy’s talk about Auto’ coming soon …

• he could be having a bad day, hes human too

• Idiot, because of food he lost $1 mil an episode job.

• Sab Sab Sui on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Go Join Fifth Gear…

• the stig on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:35 pm

oh my boss JC gone..now my boss is James May

• SHAWN SHAW on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:37 pm

sometimes, I really felt that he made jobs on others, criticized others, without giving face or thinking about the consequences of what was spelled out from his bad mouth. some good cars, which were well accepted by family men or women, were badly criticized by all the unreasonable critics … if the car was not his favourite model ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
  • din abdullah on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:59 pm

….about time!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • oh no on Mar 11, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Jeremy you idiot!

• Zachary Clarkson on Mar 11, 2015 at 6:58 pm

#BringBackClarkson

• shawal on Mar 11, 2015 at 7:41 pm

This season was by far a return to form for them….
    eventhough it is more scripted than usual but it is wayy more funnier….

the ambulance episode was a blast , I teared up laughing

anyway, they would resume and add those footages into DVDs or the next season….

I think JC has tried his level best not to be controversial for this series since the Patagonia special falklands controversIES , and the producers are pressing him on abit too much for his liking …

• Crasher7 on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Shocked! And on this bombshell…

• Samad Jain on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:00 pm

hahaha, producer kena punched becoz of makan matters??

• Hammy on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Still. Could be worse.

• Hammy on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Still… Could be worse.

• Albert on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:34 pm

This orang putih bastard is very egoistic.
    He wanted musang king durian but they purposely gave him frozen thai durian.
    BBC can do without him.There are millions of qualified presenters who are more tactful than this British shithole who destroyed the Kelisa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
    • Crasher7 on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:39 pm

Geez, it’s a satire, chill out. Not to mention he’s famous for being politically incorrect, he’s doesn’t care who he might offend, he just exaggeratedly states his hatred for Kelisa.

• TO dear ALBERT on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:44 am

qualified but not experienced and without him to comment our car we dont even know what is good car.

• lilian on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:58 pm

No more POWERRRRR!!!!1

• kelisa on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:30 pm

he’s been cursed by kelisa owners’!!!

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:49 pm

Okay so his manners are not the best, given.

But one thing, this guy unlike Autocar or what not tells it to the point. Take an example, he used to make fun of older Kias. But when he drove the latest Cee’d a few seasons back, the praise he had for it was immense. HIs news columns are a good read too.

And unlike Autocar, I feel that TG is willing to call a turd, a turd. no two ways. Things like Autocar, reading it makes me wonder how they can even write such things that seem to don’t make sense. Especially Steve Sutcliffe (I know people love him), I just feel he’s not that friendly as a presenter.

• neemfa on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:25 pm

Clarkson is an evil man. I only watch TG for entertainment. I rather watch motor trend video reviews.

• Jezza on Mar 12, 2015 at 3:20 am

Some say that the stig has been crying all week over the suspension of Jeremy Clarkson

• joseph Buck on Mar 12, 2015 at 3:31 am

well No food would piss me off too, so why the are you guy’s pulling the plug on the show!!!!

• blaster88 on Mar 12, 2015 at 11:01 am

Its about time! I applaud BBC for suspending Clarkson…in the past, he has uttered many racist remarks (esp directed at Asians). He has gotten too big for himself. Kudos to BBC for having the marbles to think beyond $$$ and ratings!

• kumar on Mar 12, 2015 at 12:09 pm

only suspended. HE WILL BE BACK!

• Aero (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 1:35 pm

Honestly speaking, the only one with an actual brain on Top Gear is May. Hammond just does it for the $$$ (as evident by the sheer number TV shows he’s hosted).. oh, and he’s secretly an American, so his opinions don’t count (jk jk). Clarkson is just a grumpy ageing man who’s more interested in the ambiguous subjective aspects of the car and not the mechanics and workings themselves… which is fine, but he goes overboard every now and then, but it looks like his luck just ran out this time. Will this be the end of Top Gear ? Tbh, I can’t be bothered… Top Gear itself has been repeating the same formula year after year for over a decade and the only thing that’s changed is the colour of the trio’s hair.

• TG is for Top Cars only. Example, expensive cars like range rover etc….. Cars that are driven daily for work not suitable. Don’t expect cheap mass produce cars to be on par with Rolls Royce, Lexus and the lot. By the way, I am still driving my trusty old kelisa for 12 years now,almost problem free, fuel efficient, and cheap maintenance.

• If BBC need him to b too fast then he has to b too furious also… I mean what did they expect the guy was hungry as hell

• teriyaki on Mar 12, 2015 at 3:13 pm

Seriously, I can’t imagine Top Gear without Clarkson.

• he only praise british car or Bugatti veyron

• blaster88 on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:01 pm

For those of you that glorifies him…he once described the people that built the Proton as “living on trees and having shoes made out of leaves”…while I can comprehend his distaste for Proton quality, the remarks that we live on trees are uncalled for…btw, do you know that he is very much a hated figure in UK?

• It's a comedy on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:24 am

The reinstate Clarkson page https://www.change.org/p/bbc-reinstate-jeremy-clarkson is about to hit 1.0M signatures. So much for being hated :P

• summicron on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:15 pm

I will never forget this James May line. “Pour some pussy on it.”

• It's a comedy on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:22 am

Guys,

Topgear is NOT a car show. Do not get confused by the presence of cars. It is a SATIRE, a COMEDY that happens to have cars in it. And like any comedy shows, it hinges on humour and a few lead characters. Take them away and the whole show falls apart. Imagine halfway through the show Friends, they decide to replace Monica or Chandler!

Clarkson is a rude, fat, unkept, politically incorrect b23tard. That’s why so many love him. Doesn’t mean we condone of his actions but we love the escapism. We all love shows like Expendables and Fast & Furious. Doesn’t mean they are real or we condone of massive killings and flying cars. It’s just a form of escapism.

And in that regard, Clarkson is probably one of the best at what he does. He is the celebrity, the glue to the show. It will be incredibly dumb of BBC to not reinstate him. As far as I am concerned, he can punch whomever he likes. The producer that got punched should be the one fired and Clarkson reinstated. The producer, you can probably find a million other people to replace him. Jeremy the Golden Goose Clarkson, you better believe you need him!

Anyway Sky and ITV have already indicated they are chomping at the bits to get Clarkson. So if BBC screws up here, they will probably steal the whole gang, call it Topper Gear and we will all be happy and contented getting our 30 mins escapism from a different network :)