Cadillac CT6 to feature 34-speaker Bose audio system

cadillac-ct6-bose-panaray-audio-system

Never mind that the Cadillac CT6 flagship sedan has yet to be revealed in full – information regarding its segment-defining audio system has made its way online with Bose revealing that the new car will arrive with the firm’s most advanced and “highest-performing automotive sound system” ever.

Specially-developed for the Cadillac CT6, the Bose Panaray system will be the first product to debut as part of the firm’s latest range of “Advanced Technology Series” audio systems. It is said to feature technology carried over from Bose’s home entertainment platform “to deliver unprecedented performance in a car.”

The Bose Panaray system features a total of 34(!) speakers – nearly all measuring in at less than 100 mm – that are strategically located around the cabin.

As a result, occupants of the Cadillac CT6 “will be elated by what they hear and feel when they switch on the Bose Panaray system,” says executive chief engineer of the CT6, Travis Hester. The Cadillac CT6 will debut at the 2015 New York International Auto Show this April.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Even with a 10 speaker JBL system in my car, I’ve never once thought it’s not good / loud enough. This is either gonna be a revolutionary tech or just some ‘more is better’ marketing bluff

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Sam proton on Mar 29, 2015 at 8:43 pm

Sam will need to work very hard to install this at his 25yrs old son proton saga.

• Qumpy on Mar 28, 2015 at 11:17 pm

Sorry, but it’s excess to the point of ridiculous.

I guess it’s partly due to the fact that many Cadillacs not bigger and only somewhat better (and only in certain ways) than the Toyota Corolla and Camry. So they stick, what(?), LOL, 34 speakers in the thing and hope the suckers with more money than brains will buy.

I went to the car show in Montreal and sat in the back of the Cadillac and had less room than in the back of a Corolla. The Cadillac was all done up in leather, but was oh so cramped.

I’m not saying they don’t have great brakes and lots of power etc. etc. but there’s very little to distinguish them from any other company’s offerings unless they do something inane and ridiculous.

If they really want to distinguish themselves, how about a powerful long range, 100% clean engine? But, AFAICT, they’re not even trying – and companies like Tesla, and even BMW are going to beat them to the punch.

Cadillac used to mean the best, now it means 34 stupid speakers jamming the passenger compartment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • Lance on Mar 30, 2015 at 11:05 am

DO you guys really think BOSE are stupid enough to do something unnecessary? The more speakers mean it can divide all different frequencies to different speakers. Also the positioning where the sounds come are also important hence they have more speakers. Its not about the more the merrier and unnecessary as most of you guys think.

• Walao on Mar 28, 2015 at 11:21 pm

34 speakers not bad lah. So when some Sohai car hit you, you mati also don’t know what happened. Pity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Sam Loo's Bapak on Mar 28, 2015 at 11:53 pm

just boasting with numbers…..

What’s next? Another model that sports a 34+1 speakers??

• nabill (Member) on Mar 29, 2015 at 11:33 am

since when more speakers means better sound??
    Audiophile will understand!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • kitol on Mar 29, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Yes it is.. but this is Bose not another cap ayam Bosey kay..

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 29, 2015 at 6:14 pm

More speakers doesn’t equate to better sound, agreed, but it’s not like they’re dumping many low-quality speakers in there. I’m assuming that they aren’t, at least, due to the nature of this application.

More speakers would improve imaging and sound stage, perhaps add more detail to the music that you might miss out on had you only 4 speakers. Because they’re not just using the same speakers and plastering them all over. Audio is about more than the number of speakers, or the quality of the speakers you use. Type of speakers, placement, acoustic management, output signal management, phases…many factors contribute to good sound. More speakers will allow you to do more – pull off more audio tricks and adds more degrees of fine-tuning. Sure, it’s an excess, but so are high-end HiFi audio sets. You don’t need that kind of gear, but you can afford it and you’re interested in pursuing it.

That’s luxury.

I’m not saying that it’d definitely be awesome but if they manage to pull it off, I think it’ll be a magical experience. As an audio enthusiast, I’d like to experience this myself. I just hope that they upgrade the car’s electrical system to deal with this load because it looks to be pretty demanding.

Side note: the car’s sound dampening and suspension system had better be excellent. If I’m rich enough to own one of these, I’d hate for the thud of a bump to interrupt my aural enjoyment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • nabill (Member) on Mar 30, 2015 at 2:28 am

problem is , there is a limit because of physical space , and u r gonna get so many different waves for evey speaker is gonna be a mess , its a nightmare to tune them properly , n u r going to need some kick ass amplifiers for different range of speakers to put them to sing in harmony…i can get the idea of so many speakers in a big hall,big room,cinema,concert and all that bcos u have so much space ,in a car interior which is very tiny by comparison its just not feasible , but its clear that cadillac is doing this for marketing ‘the more the better’ reasons…it will surely give you louder sound , but i highly doubt its gonna be any better than existing 8-12 speaker setup currently available in some cars..
        im not sure why some are having a go at Bose , they make very decent audio , they are definitely not the best , but more than good enough for the money…

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 30, 2015 at 9:35 am

Oh, but they do have some amplifiers in that system. From the diagram, I ascertain that they have 2 dedicated amplifier (E, L) each for the two sets of woofers and a 20-channel main amplifier (M) in the trunk.

They don’t seem to be using spectacularly large speakers, aside from their woofers and the door speakers. Of particular interest to me are the UltraNearField headrest speakers. So they’re meaning to say the sound won’t travel beyond the headrest, eh? So some of the other speakers would also not have overwhelming output? Most of these speakers look to be pretty high-tech like (C), and I’m sure Bose has made an acoustic model for the interior.

It’ll definitely challenge their sound engineers to tune the system properly, no doubt. That’s why it’ll be interesting to see if they can succeed in pulling this off. More speakers means more things can go wrong because of the complexity but I cheer for their success. They’re willing to try something really crazy, and I think they know that what they’re doing is pretty crazy.

It’s still too early to say that they’re just using numbers as a gimmick or there’s actual substance behind this system. I doubt a sound system, no matter how good, would be sufficient hype to draw buyers to a car, though. If the stock sound system is bad, they can always mod it to their own liking.

I feel most of them are attacking Bose just because this seems like a numbers game. But Bose is quite a well-established and respected audio company on its own right they probably have the resources to pull off something as complex as this. We’ll see.

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 30, 2015 at 3:27 pm

oh, a correction:

From the diagram, I ascertain that they have 2 dedicated amplifiers (E, L), one each for the two sets of woofers…

• Gaviny on Mar 29, 2015 at 11:59 am

A lot of people seems to have opinion that bose is all marketing and not as good as they say

Compared to Harmon kardon, meridian audio,

• If I had an orchestral music playing, could this setup output each instrument to each speaker?

• cadiluck on Mar 30, 2015 at 8:18 am

Only for the deaf!

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 30, 2015 at 10:48 am

The irony of such a system is the same with high end home systems.

When you are well off enough to afford them, chances are you are quite advanced in age and your hearing is already on the way out……..

Some lucky rich dude may be able to enjoy them while thier hearing is still intact….if its not already compromized by years of hard partying…

• As compared to other brands, namely Mark Levinson, Harman Kardon etc, is this Bose system better?

Not too sure, but why need 34 speakers when others can make do with 19 or less?

• cucuk on Mar 30, 2015 at 9:25 am

how to fit into waja ?

• prabowi on Mar 30, 2015 at 9:57 am

The cadillac would end up weigh 34 tons and probably need a 34 liter V8 to run it.

• alldisc on Mar 30, 2015 at 10:04 am

in logical sense, having many speakers will allow you to enjoy beautiful sound even at low volume.

no, believe me. try that (low volume music)

• shawal on Mar 30, 2015 at 10:19 am

Ct6 is cadillac’s answer to s class,will be powered by a sensible twin turbo v6, looks good too, theres pics of it already on d net

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 30, 2015 at 11:28 am

My hifi at home only has 2 speakers. And it fills up the entire living room pretty nicely. 34 does sound overkill. But in the end, its just a number. The proof is in the listening.

I still think that tuning is more important, especially inside the tight confines of a car. 34 speakers will be more difficult to tune, as it might just bounce of interior panels. So they have to be careful where the speakers are pointing to. But as comparison, the excellent Mark Levinson in Lexus cars make do with less than 20 speakers only if i’m not mistaken. Acura’s ELS system has even less speakers, but based on reviews I’ve read (sadly no Acuras are sold here – so can’t listen to them myself) they sound as good as Lexus’ Levinson system. And the best thing is the ELS system only uses Panasonic products. What makes them push above their weight is the tuning – which is done by people in the recording industry.

• niterunner99 on Mar 30, 2015 at 11:44 am

what’s the use of so many speakers if the overall sound insulations is not up to standard?

• They forgot one for the seats to amplify your balls !!

• andy Lim on Mar 30, 2015 at 2:09 pm

BOSE… Good sound system , clear, sharp, no that Value for money.

cause a bit expensive lah.. go and try you will know.