GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz GLE 450 AMG Coupe on display at the new Mercedes-Benz Cafe in Bangkok

2015 Mercedes-Benz GLE 450 AMG 2

If you happen to be in Bangkok, you’ll be able to catch the Mercedes-Benz GLE Coupe in the metal – Stuttgart’s new BMW X6 challenger is on display at the newly-opened Mercedes-Benz Cafe on the first floor of the Emporium Shopping Complex. Quite a speedy appearance in the Kingdom this, considering that the GLE Coupe only made its debut four months ago.

The display vehicle happens to be the range-topping variant, the GLE 450 AMG Coupe – apologies for the lack of refinement in the shots, but I only had my mobile phone with me at that point. Incidentally, visitors to the Cafe will also be able to get up close with the Mercedes-AMG GT S – the car, which made its Thai debut last month at the 2015 Bangkok Motor Show, is unmissable, decked out in an AMG Solar Beam Yellow exterior shade.

The GLE 450 AMG Coupe – the first of Mercedes-AMG’s new AMG Sport line models to take on the mid-range BMW M Performance and Audi S offerings – is powered by a biturbo 3.0 litre V6 engine offering 367 hp at 5,500 to 6,000 rpm and 520 Nm at 1,800 to 4,000 rpm. Paired with a nine-speed 9G-Tronic transmission, power is sent to the tarmac through a performance-oriented 4Matic system with a 40:60 front-to-rear power split.

Standard equipment includes AMG bodystyling elements, sports seats, an Airmatic air suspension with variable ADS Plus damping as well as an extra Sport+ mode for the Dynamic Select system. In Thailand, the GLE 450 AMG is priced at 7.99 million Baht (RM990,000). As for the GT S, that one goes for 14.9 million Baht (RM1.69 million).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 14, 2015 at 4:23 pm

Can expect it to cross RM1mil when its here in Bolehland but MBM will be smarter to bring in the lower range 350d and/or the 400 to compete with the X6.

On a side note – wow @ the 22 inchers.

• Fugly, look like korean car, how to compete with X6?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Amran on Apr 15, 2015 at 11:18 am

Many ppl have the weong perception thinking Malaysia price will be higher. The fact is it will be 10-20% lower than in Thailand. Of course, ppl like u n me cant afford. My max limit is just till ML350. This is insane.

• BYE LEX on Apr 14, 2015 at 4:35 pm

Yes, Lexus/Toyota sales down in M’sia. Same L0rrrr lose his job, no one will talk about RV again.

• We got many cars, bad after sales service, lack of spare part, high maintenance cost.

then, nobody want to buy our second hand car..

Kereta Tidak Bernilai.. Cheap cheap second hand value kampung ppl also dont want buy.

• Total monthly payment equal to 5,346,000??

• Holy expensive, i rather get S class ( personal opinion)

• johny on Apr 14, 2015 at 5:59 pm

this is the real M.Benz, AMG.

not those Typical M.Benz C-class, driven by uncle.

• fatuncle on Apr 14, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Of course la uncles, youngsters where got money to buy.
      Can afford junky MyVi or Vios only.

• DPCraft on Apr 14, 2015 at 7:58 pm

Rear looks like old E-class, tbh rear of this car doesn’t looks good, you have that money please don’t waste it on this model, S-Class better. Dashboard also ugly. Only thing nice is the 22 inch wheels and rims( In my opinion ) But the best looking rims is the ones on 2015 CRV.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 14, 2015 at 10:14 pm

ini i suka….

• kc.huan on Apr 15, 2015 at 9:33 am

it have a ugly back!!! Oh no, if we give the chance to choose i dun think many of us will like the back. Like ex-Mazda 2 sedan…. Wrong designer.