New China-made Lotus SUV to take on Porsche Macan

lotus-apx

It would appear that preliminary reports surrounding the oft-rumoured Lotus SUV are beginning to materialise into concrete facts. As Autocar UK understands, the Hethel-based sports car manufacturer is hard at work developing a five-door crossover model, with a market introduction deadline scheduled for 2019.

Tipped as “a real Lotus” by CEO Jean-Marc Gales, the “world’s first lightweight SUV” is the first of many upcoming projects touted by the joint venture agreement between Lotus Group, Proton Holdings Berhad and Goldstar Heavy Industrial. As such, the Lotus SUV will be positioned to capitalise on China’s growing demand for crossovers with the new model slated to be assembled at a facility in the south-east region.

While exact details remain unconfirmed, the new Lotus SUV will square up against the likes of the Porsche Macan. The latter has been selling at an impressive rate of 30,000 units per annum, with figures tipped to hit the 50k mark in the near future. Other information includes mentions of an all-wheel drive layout and a name beginning with the letter ‘E’, as per usual with all Lotus models.

As for its styling, the Lotus SUV is slated to feature a lower overall stance compared to its rivals while maintaining roughly the same wheelbase as the Porsche Macan and Audi Q5. The marque is adamant that the lower roofline will in no way compromise the rear cabin space – a priority for most Chinese customers.

Porsche Macan drive 1

The crossover will feature a steel monocoque structure with composite and aluminium outer body panels. Elsewhere, an all-independent double-wishbone suspension setup is likely to feature which in combination with its lightweight construction, should result in a model weighing around 200 kg less than its competitors.

Gales has also stated that the new crossover will feature “some Proton parts… but that’s nothing unusual.” He adds that one “can find VW parts in a Lamborghini.” As for powertrain options, Lotus is still mulling over the idea of its engine and layout plan. With Lotus strengthening its relationship with Toyota, expect similar engine options from its sports cars such as the supercharged 1.8 litre four-banger and 3.5 litre V6 to feature.

A diesel and hybrid variant is likely to be introduced later on from launch, as well. The former would prove popular with European customers, should the car go on sale there, while the hybrid version should please Chinese officials, who are now adamant that new models introduced at the end of the decade feature “a hybrid element” of some sort.

Following its market introduction into the Chinese domestic market, Lotus will be looking to sell its crossover in Europe, as mentioned, and in Japan, where safety legislations more or less mirror the Chinese requirements. Breaking into the American market would be a different story altogether as Gales has mentioned that some modifications are required to satisfy American safety laws.

GALLERY: Porsche Macan

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Anything drop into China’s hand, amazing thing will happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Proton = Volvo and BMW on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:26 am

This will beat Porsche flat. Because of Proton tech in it. You see, Proton now is at par with Volvo and BMW. Our Ministers say so.

Our Education is also at par with Oxford University United Kingdom. Our Ministers say so.

This car will have Proton and Lotus brains it it. Our culture of makan nasi lemak, tidur, tunggu contract, malas, pakai tongkat dan kahwin empat. It will definitely be a world seller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 19
      • Bomoh on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:39 am

Our country is soon on par to Hollan

• Bernard on Apr 29, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Holland

• Ultron on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:45 am

You want to profit but you don’t want to change. Proton, your syiok sendiri attitude never change and this will be your downfall

• u5rtBN on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:49 am

Correct, Proton = Real Man cars.

MITI CEO comfirm quality same as BMW and volvo… so don’t complaints and keep support BN and Proton to win next GE !!!

MITI CEO education from Harford university and best in world. So just shut up !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Proton = Real Stupid Man car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 35
          • u5rtBN on Apr 29, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Your comment get more thumb down…

BN still win big, opposition macai go to others country if don’t like here !!!

BN won’t change BECAUSE we always right !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
          • Bs lee on Apr 30, 2015 at 1:42 pm

What a stupid comment. Proton can nevrr catch up with other makers as long as we still have Syndrome 3S..that’s syndrome SUKA SYIOK SENDIRI.

• Ya…u right. Next GE win P2 will be conquer 70% market share

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • alifzz on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:14 am

2019 for mass launch is too long..people will be not interested to buy it, further the design is outdated by time.

• Potty on Apr 29, 2015 at 5:22 pm

“some Proton parts… but that’s nothing unusual.”
      “can find VW parts in a Lamborghini.”

Proton = VW. Hahahahaha share some ketum please.

• Jimmy on Apr 29, 2015 at 5:24 pm

No tiny body.
      Must make it 1800mm height, 2088mm width and 4888mm length.
      Do not make any SUV if you plan for 1798mm width, simply lame.
      And, sportsvehicles with no sunroofs = detached house with no swimming pool. Of course there are some people who don’t want private swimming pools in their house.

• kereta_lembu on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:17 am

Maybe they will make it look like a Porsche Macan :)

• Bomoh on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:19 am

Proton: Our quality is actually on par with BMW
    Goldstar: Ok great, our next product target should target higher. Em…targeting Porsche…

Cheng Cheng Cheng Cheng…

• Liamsi on Apr 29, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Perodua: Our quality is actually same with Lexus
      Toyota: Ok great, your next product should target more stupid Malaysian. Em…reduce few more thickness of iron, target 500kg for each unit…

• Chinaman on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:42 am

And yet Proton still JV with China to make “Lotus” cars. Real stupid. Why JV? Sell to your kampung people in Bolehland lah. They are “smart” enough to accept your Proton as Lotus

• driver on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:29 am

because there is demand, so they should supply. to go into china’s market, one must have ‘local company’ to produce and sell under their local brand.
          learn and do some research please before comment.

• Liamsi on May 01, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Demand? How much does Proton sell in China? Please research before comment

• Andrew_sow on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:20 am

Proton parts + China made.. Ho seh liao.

• navigate on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:23 am

Proton Savvy

• tokmoh. on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:27 am

That proton part better not include Punch CVT gearbox.

• alldisc on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:28 am

that is because the market is big. with huge population.

on the other hand, the new name for this model… Lotus Entah. perhaps?

literally means… i dont know.

• Very funny? The truth is Lotus SUV will be named Ebola then export to Malaysia land to infect all stupid Malaysian, so prepare coffin urself

• Peter on Apr 29, 2015 at 6:32 pm

LOL … I’m definitely wth U on this.
        If Lotus serious abt selling as premium marque, I doubt average Malaysian can afford it. No wonder they have to start in China.

• hahaha……….

• Wiwiw on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:46 am

Sounds like a cut cost lazy ass development, ‘just to meet the safety requirement of Chinese market’. Why not develop it to meet the North american safety requirement? Never learn their lesson, keep on sucking protons profit. The world wants cheaper i3 i8 Teslas and not another SUV. Epic fail.

• Proton won’t develop model meet N.American market.
      They will only declare their car are as safe as Lincoln…M’sian Lincoln coming up next.

• Liamsi on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Oh yeah…cut cost ass project similar to Toyota and Perodua

• driver on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:34 am

and even all Jap’s/Euro’s brand is a cut cost project since they too have JV with chinese company to sell their product there then. ror…

• Burong on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:47 am

China will utilize much Lotus better than Proton. Proton is just a tool from Gov for their political finance channel. Every year announce loosing money.

If proton stands by itself, there is no proton any more. Bankrupt loong time ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Past 20 years making money, not every year sohai

• Bcos Malaysian lazy and refuse to improve,so the project national car always fail.

• National car project fail want to blame the rakyat? That’s why Proton always fail

• At first glance, I thought something wrong with the title. Then it make sense upon seeing Lotus in it. Proton wants to take on everyone. Ukurlah badan dulu.

• It’s kinda epic to see so many flooding the comment site with their own insights and predictions on what’s gonna happen with the yet-to-be-seen SUV.

For once, for god’s sake, try not to act smart please. Like people always say, If you have nothing positive to say, don’t say anything!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • spongewai on Apr 29, 2015 at 1:43 pm

when headed to production, will Lotus sell it well against Evoque, Macan etc??!

i dun think so…

engine for Lotus i think will use Toyota 3.5 v6 engine

• donkey J on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Soon we will many PPP on street
    Preve Pretend Porsche

• albag on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:43 pm

Porsche Macan Made In China coming soon!!!

• deja vu on Apr 29, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Oh my god.
    So many hatred for Proton.
    Paul, please, next time don’t include any news regarding Proton in this blog.
    Bashing Proton everyday, everyhour, every minutes.

Many of us are getting tired of reading about Proton bashings.
    Yes, we already know Proton is bad. So please people, get a life. No need to bash Proton all your life.

• Bernard on Apr 29, 2015 at 3:53 pm

China has tried for many years to change their dubious perception but to no avail…

• Still Waiting on Apr 29, 2015 at 5:23 pm

And here I’m still waiting for a Proton SUV/Pick-Up truck (not the arena crap)…

• Hor Shen Hau on Apr 29, 2015 at 8:02 pm

Arena crap?Bro,Australia,UK people got the biggest Proton Arena (Jumbuck) fans.They like,love and appreciated the car till now.But in Malaysia,all people say that Arena is crap,stupid.

• DPCraft on Apr 29, 2015 at 5:23 pm

lol, Proton Savvy design battle against porsche

• Hor Shen Hau on Apr 29, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Good luck Lotus,Proton and Goldstar!!I’m always behind you to support you guys!Show to the stupid haters that you guys can do it!

• Hor Nien Yuet on Apr 30, 2015 at 1:39 pm

Yes, show the world that you can syiok yourself

• Hor Shen Hau on Apr 30, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Oh,syiok sendiri attitude?You change your attitude first lah.Syiok sendiri selalu.^_^

• Syiok L0rrr on May 01, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Not just Proton syiok sendiri but the fanboys also. Comment above is the proof

• driver on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:40 am

i think you should include this in your post for people to understand more before giving critics.

“European and U.S. carmakers are keen to raise their presence in China, but have been confined to owning 50 percent or less of joint venture companies run together with Chinese enterprises.”

• superman on Apr 30, 2015 at 9:17 am

last month MITI says Proton is same as BMW and Volvo. now they say Chinese made Lotus Proton Suv is same as Porsche Macan?????

Can you ppl stop being so arrogant. do you have any brain???? how can you now compare your car to Porsche? maybe tomorrow Accordana will be as good as Bentley. Like that Bufori car still believe they are better than RR and Bentley with their ugly car… why like this???