Lotus to “reinvent the category” with new crossover

lotus-apx

Of all the auto manufacturers riding on a wave of positive hype of late, Proton-owned Lotus is definitely one of them. The Hethel-based firm, under the guidance of CEO Jean-Marc Gales, has seen a return to form with recent introductions of models such as the Lotus Evora 400 and Elise S Cup.

Upon inspecting the aforementioned models, purists will be delighted to know that Lotus has stubbornly held its ground by shunning the inclusion of creature comforts and whatnot that would help broaden the appeal of its models. Instead, Gales has decided to hark back to the basics by removing unnecessary equipment.

“We had an electronically opening glove box, which in a sports car is worse than useless,” commented Gales. “I don’t know who put that in, but I took it out.” With that said, Lotus has caved in to one majorly profitable aspect of changing customer demands – the want (need?) for a SUV/crossover model.

Lotus-Evora-400-Geneva-2

A report late last year hinted at the firm’s intentions to introduce either a crossover or a four-door sedan to sit alongside its range of two-door sports cars. Following on from that, subsequent reports began surfacing, claiming that an Evora-based crossover was already under development.

Now, it appears that Gales himself has dropped the biggest hint by claiming that Lotus will “reinvent the category” should it finally confirm a crossover model. “We’d do an SUV that is very light, very fast on the track and has outstanding handling,” he added. “I’m a bit torn between an SUV and a four-door sports car – but in the end I can see that the SUV has the bigger market.”

GALLERY: Lotus Evora 400 unveiled in Geneva by Tun Mahathir

GALLERY: Lotus Elise S Cup

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• wiwiwiw on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Who, on their right mind would choose the Evora than a Cayman? Want to increase sales, learn from Proton. Give big discounts!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
    • harkmee on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:20 pm

Hahahaha good one. Big discounts = increase sales = proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • thepolygonal on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:06 pm

I do wish this turns out well. :D Would like to see if Lotus can pull this off. A lightweight SUV… much like a buggy. It should have no problem to run in the beach and desert too. Now THAT is gonna be something different that Lotus can look into. Recreational Utility Vehicle (RUV).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • thedelusional on Mar 11, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Hidup segan mati tak mau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • prabowi on Mar 12, 2015 at 9:25 am

Lotus first introduce the APX crossover back in 2006. At that time there was hardly any crossover around. Now we can see that crossover is a hugely hot selling type with basically all manufacturer are racing to produce it. It could have been a game changer for lotus if it was launch back then. Too bad the decision maker at Lotus aka Proton was too stupid to recognize the opportunity.

• Do whatever dung you want. We don’t give it a poo. Just don’t plunder more money from Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
  • as long as Lotus is under Proton and they stick their noses to it, this plan will never work. Lotus problems is the mismanagement by proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
    • Low Budget on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:16 pm

Proton will just bleeding more money out in support of Lotus, a loss car making company for a “niche” market.

• Hafiz on Mar 11, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Proton side mirror spotted !

• superman on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:27 pm

yes you are right. it is proton SAGA side mirrors. I went to Lotus showroom in Damansara once. I sat in an Evora. the window switches. Aircon vents, interior and exterior mirrors, door hinges and latches as well as all fuse boxes are from Proton saga and Satria Neo. you could feel the cheap build in those parts. I never liked the cheap Alpine Radio with parking lines that don’t even move. Price? almost RM600K!!!!

• yusry on Mar 11, 2015 at 4:32 pm

Where will the R&D funds come from?
    500 mil ringgit for a pathetic Iris.
    Wonder how much will it cost this time.
    Its a joke when P1 supporter talk so highly of Lotus when in reality they cannot even afford one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Jimmy on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:06 pm

An SUV with height 1538mm = lame.

• superman on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:23 pm

how many drb hicom staff in this page disliking the posts? drb has money for them only.

• Sorchai (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 6:52 pm

How to become a millionaire?

Start of as a billionaire. Become owner of P1 and/or Teratai

• Sorchai (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 6:53 pm

How to become a millionaire?

Start of as a billionaire. Become owner in P1 or “Teratai”

• Samad Jain on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:02 pm

Once P1 and politics creeps into Lotus…..everything goes south.

• Hew Zi Jin on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:25 pm

What the hell are you talking about?What politics??Do you know that the Proton now is under DRB Hicom?DRB Hicom is a syarikat swasta.So now Proton have no relationship with Proton.The government only know to take money.And for Mr.yusry,RM 500 Million is from Proton Money,not from the Government.Please guys,dont create a bad stories about Proton.Proton now already improve a lot,but you guys,stay critiics.This is one example of Malaysian mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • Proton has just asked Rgt 1.6 billion bail out from the government. This is from the tax payers money to save a crony private company. The owner of Proton is the biggest governmENT crony

• khairul amir on Mar 12, 2015 at 3:32 am

Hahaha!!!
    DRB took Proton private to hide the mess created by its management.
    What a joke when this imbecile by the name of Hew thinks that the money doesn’t come from public funds.
    Where does DRB get its funding ?
    Of course from its shareholders pockets.
    If P1 is so strong then why bother getting govt protection after all these years?
    FYI DRB is a public listed company and not a private company.
    Don’t shoot your mouth when u have nothing upstairs !!!

• Rugi besar on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:28 am

Yes Proton never disclose status profit/loss to public anymore. Wonder why? Jangan malu malu lah, untung RM500 or loss RM1 billion, just tell it to rakyat lah. If not don’t call yourself as national car.

• antiP1 on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:45 am

if P1 made in China surely sold out ed all these cars..unfortunately it’s made in malaysia.. a country filled with 3rd class mindset ppl + dengki one