Third-gen Kia Sorento coming to Malaysia in June/July

Kia Sorento Drive Jordan 21

When will the 2015 Kia Sorento come to Malaysia? The original question came from a current Kia Sportage owner on Kia Malaysia’s Facebook page. The page admin suggested that the interested party give Kia Careline a call, which is what we did. Turns out that the big SUV’s planned launch is just around the corner – in June or July – although dates are not firm yet.

The third-generation Kia Sorento was launched in its home market in August 2014 with the tagline “Man on the Road”. The slogan must have been derived from the new SUV’s macho looks and size, significantly increased from its predecessor, which was already larger than the average C-segment SUV.

At 4,780 mm long and 1,890 mm wide, the UM Sorento is 95 mm longer than before, with 80 mm of that going into the wheelbase, now 2,780 mm long.

kia-sorento-2015-europe-photos-7

Repositioned seat cushions result in more headroom, despite the 15 mm lower roofline, while boot volume is up by a significant 90 litres to 605 litres. There’s now also an underfloor storage compartment. Five- and seven-seat versions will be available worldwide; the seven-seater gets ‘remote folding’ second-row seats using levers in the boot wall. We should be getting the latter.

In South Korea, the 2015 Kia Sorento is powered by either a 186 PS/402 Nm 2.0 litre or a 202 PS/441 Nm 2.2 litre, both four-cylinder turbodiesels. Other engines for this model include a 2.4 litre GDI petrol, a 2.4 litre MPI petrol and a 3.3 litre V6 for markets that don’t care about fuel economy.

The current-gen Sorento is only available with a 2.4 litre petrol engine in Malaysia – a diesel will suit the big guy better, so let’s hope that there will be an oil burner option this time around, like in the Hyundai Santa Fe. We won’t be surprised if the new Sorento is priced higher than the current RM156,800, as it’s a lot bigger and more upmarket in positioning. What do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jason Tham on May 11, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Being reading up online reviews of the 2016 Sorento and so far, I’m impressed. Priced correctly, I’m sure it will draw some interest from those looking at the face lifted Mazda CX-5 2.5l AWD, Subaru Forester 2.0xt, new Nissan X-trail 2.5 AWD and Honda CRV 2.4 AWD. Hopefully, Naza KIA can come up with a pretty good offer to match the new impressive Sorento. Of course, still need to go for the test drive….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on May 11, 2015 at 7:31 pm

This car after one year value at RM35k. I some more need to consider if i want to accept it to my hailat junk yard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 102
      • karam singh on May 11, 2015 at 9:26 pm

RV maybe,
        but still offers better safety than Toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
        • Message to Same Lorrrr on May 12, 2015 at 10:24 am

There will be so many faggots that will come here and bad mouth Korean cars. Well, Hyundai alone last year sold 8 million cars. You plus that with Kia, I think it would be double.

Anyway, let us take just Hyundai for an example. How can 8 million people be wrong and a few pariahs in PT bad mouthing Koreans be right?

As for RV, that is Toyota salesman talk la in the forums. They got no sales, they come online and bad mouth Korean cars. Go check Mudah, Carlies and Oto, Korean cars have the SAME RV as Honda and Toyota. Infact, Toyota has worse RV than Korean cars. For example, a 10 month old 2014 Toyota Camry 2.5 now selling for RM98k, down from RM180,000. Camry 2.0 2014 model now selling for RM85k. Go to mudah and see. Call up and ask for cheapest price.

So, Toyota salesman, pls lah, don’t be jealous and come here disguising your names as various people.

These people who bad mouth were the ones those days say Motorola handphones were the best and Samsung handphones were crap. Now, see all these pariahs, they all using Samsung handphones now.

These are the same pariahs who also went around telling people Pioneer Kuro was the best TV in the world. Go to their houses now, you see a Samsung LED TV hung up on their walls.

It is high time all those sad Toyota salesman and fanboys go online to mudah, carlies and oto and compare each B, C and D segment with Korean cars. You will see, it is all a big lie. Japanese cars, whatever the segment has the same RV as Korean cars.

Its high time Sam Loo, De La Junk, Same Lorrrr and all those scum who bad mouth Korean cars to get a life. You all are frustrated in life and got no love from your family, that is why you come here bad mouthing Korean cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 41
      • Jimmy on May 11, 2015 at 9:52 pm

Just to be fair, I am not qualified to comment on the refinement and the braking ability of this new generation Sorento and other latest 2015 Korean vehicles.

I guess most people still have the expectation of a lower price compared to similar vehicles from T/H/N.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • July 2014 Camry 2.5 - RM98k on May 12, 2015 at 10:29 am

What RV all these clowns talking about? Kimchi now got better RV than Toyota junk. Now 2014 July registered and 2014 make Toyota Camry 2.5 selling for RM98k.

Accident free car and done only 22,000 km.

Brand new Rm180,000. In 10 months, the RV can jatuh RM82k

2014 Camry 2.0 also now selling RM85k. Go see Mudah. Advertised price RM95k, but he want to let go at RM85k after I call.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
    • Same L0rrrr on May 11, 2015 at 7:43 pm

The new Sorento no doubt is nice, but better buy it second hand, it would be dirt cheap then. Spend your money wisely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 47
      • Albert on May 11, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Might as well get the Honda CRV,AFTER 5 YEARS, still got some respectable RV.
        Some people are so gung ho,they never think of RV..until they become jobless..and the bank wants to repossess the vehicle,then they curse their luck in finding out the low RV of the repossessed vehicle.
        After the vehicle has been taken away,they still owe the bank and get blacklisted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 38
        • poor Albert on May 11, 2015 at 10:04 pm

Not everybody like the loor Albert who work at showroom with Sam Loo where botn are.junior uncle sales man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
        • hoseiliao on May 12, 2015 at 9:27 pm

this statement is absolutely true ,

u need to understand what albert says

my savvy 6 years , payment , left 3 years , i come out of job and open business,

i pay car savvy also a shoplot ,
          after 6 months to 1 year of businses , i struggle and cant afford pay my car anymore ,

because 6 out of 9 years , if i sell i get nothing and hutang bank 5k plus

• zainal on May 11, 2015 at 10:53 pm

ok mr sam. if you encourage people to buy a toyota, what can will you recommend in its class? Rush? ohhh no…. Rush is a shit! i rather get a cr-v or hr-v!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • Same L0rrrr on May 11, 2015 at 11:40 pm

Not happy with Rush? Is ok, I won’t ask you to leave Malaysia or Japan (like the Proton salesman does). We promote more competition, so that customer get most benefit and we despise any kind of protection (import tax, excise duty, AP rubbish).

CRV or HRV? As I always said, you won’t go wrong with Japanese car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
      • Jason Tham on May 11, 2015 at 11:43 pm

Well, if wanna buy second hand, anything also cheaper be it Toyota or Honda coz there’s no value in second hand cars. But buy from end seller instead of used car dealers.

• driver on May 12, 2015 at 7:25 am

this is the first time i agree with your pov.
        not worth it if the price drop 20-25% within one/two years of owning it.

• Kimchi Kar on May 11, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Kimchi cars are going up market or at least they are trying to position their cars that way. I am still not convinced that they will be able to justify the pricing increase if any as the vehicle ownership experience is still so so and their is partially the fault of the brand distributors in Malaysia. Post sales support is still a hit and miss affair.

Hope they bring in the oil burner model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • jemah on May 11, 2015 at 5:57 pm

very fast…good job kia malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
  • Wow, good looking car indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • shawal on May 11, 2015 at 6:05 pm

looks good in black….
    very FBI-esque…
    hope thye’ll pronk the torquey 2.2 diesel in this time…
    single trim, full spec with everything except the kitchen sink….

• Where is carens? on May 11, 2015 at 6:10 pm

Good! So when will be the New Carens turn to be here?

• please assemble the kia sedona and rebirth the naza ria!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Nieeshal on May 11, 2015 at 6:37 pm

A great car,just have to wait for the price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • same lor keem mak on May 11, 2015 at 6:48 pm

better stick with my proton waja..
    no loan no problem…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • sudonano (Member) on May 11, 2015 at 6:49 pm

I really hope they throw in the 2.2 diesel this time, looks brilliant though!

I really wonder if Kia will bring in the Sedona as well. We need a real successor to the Naza Ria.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Sam L0rrrr on May 11, 2015 at 7:03 pm

You guys please stick to reality la. U see on the road. Out from hundreds, where got Sorento one. Trust me. U wont go wrong with Toyota one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 72
    • BeemerFreak on May 11, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Wah i like it, for once no body likes your comments, not even you giving yourself one like…

• wiwiwiwiw on May 11, 2015 at 7:24 pm

I am seriously look forward for this seven seater SUV. I am toying the idea of putting my family in the new Santa Fe since there aren’t many options that comes with traction control, six airbags or a five year warranty at this price range. It may be kimchi but it is a safer smarter proposition than the unsafe ladder frame pick truck based seven seater SUV such as the Mitsubishi Pajero Sport or the Toyota Fortuner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • alonso on May 11, 2015 at 9:24 pm

santa fe or sorento ( if they bring in the diesel version) is the most sensible choice.

• pajero sports! myvi can easily hantam that suv!

• sick&tired on May 11, 2015 at 8:33 pm

hope they bring in diesel and price it below RM150k.

• What below RM150k, you will be very sure that after years, this Kia will be very much below 50k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Yap_How on May 11, 2015 at 8:48 pm

Can’t wait to view and feel this beast. Hoping to upgrade from my Sportage. Our family have owned 3 kimchi (Forte, Elentra and sportage) and we are proud of owning it. Hope kia Malaysia bring in the diesel model and price it nicely. Maybe a loyalty discount for current kia buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on May 11, 2015 at 9:50 pm

Get the Santa Fe instead because it can be traded in

• Martin on May 11, 2015 at 10:26 pm

Do not think RV, life is no second hand value, others than exterior, good looking, the safety features are more important. unable to deny that nowsadays hyundai & Kia,
    Ford and peugeot able to offer very good safety features to Malaysia customers. there are hyundai, Kia , peugeot even ssangyong in my family members.everybody is very happy with their car. sorry to say that many of them change are previous Japanese cars owner. new “recruited members” are hyundai santa fei and kia k5.
    moreover RV for above cars are no bad…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Kia is a good car that can last 5 years.

if u use it more than 5 years, u get urself headache.

to avoid headache… Take Loan no more than 5 years when buying a Kia..

then, u also have to wait for spare part to come even though ur new car is in warranty period.

wow…. just a rm150k car..
      so much of hassle to own it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • cynical on May 12, 2015 at 11:47 am

Rubbish, my Forte is still not giving me problems after 5 years and more than 100k kilometers

• Kimchi-me Hailat-face on May 12, 2015 at 9:36 pm

5 years???? after 5 years go and eat yourself, remember that all Kia can not be traded in!!!!!

• Hope they bring in Rondo as well…

• holofanboi on May 12, 2015 at 12:01 am

Wow…I really like this upcoming gen Sorento! If they bring in the CRDi priced around~ 175-185k, time to trade in the K5?

• johny on May 12, 2015 at 1:39 am

the Current Kia Sorento.
    with less than 250Nm pulling power, no power and Bad Handling..

like a clumsy clown on the road…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Do you even owned and drive one before? Because I have tested drive 5 equivalent class SUVs for comparison against the current Sorento and found out none of your comments are true. What do you expect from a 2.4cc engine? Handling, not the best in the world but for sure no ‘clumsy clown on the road’..

• ben yap on May 12, 2015 at 2:17 am

sure poor sales and cannot sell as well as the CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • If they can bring the diesel and priced it around RM150K OR BELOW since current model RM156K (this pricing is inevitable since SST vs GST regime + unfavorable Kia badge residual value + relatively lower value of the Hyundai-Kia compared to Japanese brands’ aftersales.

While 2.2 turbodiesel is good since it’s common like Hyundai’s stable mill, the 2.0 turbodiesel has more potential for other models like Carens, Optima K5, or Sportage.

Otherwise, if there’s no planning for other models diesel powerplant better opt for 2.2 with more sensible for Kia business model (they can used same engine parts from SD’s Santa Fe 2.2).

If Kia gamble with high price they’ll make their showrooms quiet as usual.

• Marieta on May 12, 2015 at 6:57 am

If they throw full spec including the navigation system and that 2.2L CRDi…I’ll buy it no questions ask…I no care RV but I care full spec

• Marieta on May 12, 2015 at 7:00 am

Oh..I also want it in current gen price (RM157k) if not I m gonna threaten them to buy ISUZU <– although this car look more hideous

• If RV is the highest interest, then get a house not a car.Depreciation is confirm, while going through the stage enjoy the car serving you what you want and need.

• ss427 on May 12, 2015 at 9:04 am

Guys and gals, the new Sorento is already selling like hot cakes in SG. Too bad we are still being denied of the wonderful 2L Turbo GDI engine, but the existing 2.4L GDI and the 2.2L CRDi diesel are perfectly acceptable

Read up the various road test reviews in SG… every tester said that the new Sorento built quality and drivability is as good as many Euro makes, at just a fraction of the price.

Hey Sam, don’t click on the link below ok? I can’t pay for you medical bills should you pass out after reading how great the new Sorento is
    http://www.kia.com/sg/wcm/groups/webcontent/@kgn/documents/webvehiclecontent/093328.pdf

• Marieta on May 12, 2015 at 10:34 am

Saw the brochure and I’m a bit disappointed :( So in SG also don’t come with full satnav package…then malaysian one probably more underspec…maybe I should wait for facelift

• ss427 on May 12, 2015 at 3:16 pm

We got the top spec SX version only. This international market brochure I’ve included doesn’t show the SX version. We got the 2.4L GDI not the simple MPI model.

Yes no SatNav, but our local dealer is able to throw in aftermarket but integrated SatNav HU with large screen touchscreen LCD.

Its from China… but its of OEM quality. Too bad the font colors, styles doesn’t match the rest of the dash display… The Map is from Papago

• ss427 on May 12, 2015 at 9:05 am

And the selling price in SG… :(

http://www.kia.com.sg/upload/pricelist_latest.pdf

• old dog on May 12, 2015 at 11:06 am

korea car external looks so nice nowadays

but for the internal …for luxury design, they will need a lot of effort, sometimes simple is good…just look at BMW

• Redline on May 12, 2015 at 11:29 am

The centre console look very retro….like 60’s design.

• Marieta on May 12, 2015 at 2:25 pm

You kidding right ? If not then what ISUZU interior is to you..1940’s design ?

• xavierbong on Jun 09, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Only poor people talking about RV. You want RV, buy property. Property has very good resale value. If you cant afford new one, wait for those buyer to sell their as second hand car. They can afford it anytime without the stone age “RV” talk.

• Hafiz M on Jul 06, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Can’t wait for it’s launching, hopefully it will be ready for registration by end of this year.

• HalimZ on Jul 25, 2015 at 2:01 am

Now end of July but still now news about Kia Sorento 2016, did ask to Kia Malaysia branches, their also doesnt have any news about it. Hmmm…

• Roger on Sep 03, 2015 at 9:17 am

It’s already September, any news when is this launching? thinking of getting either this or Tucson.. guess who ever launch first will get my money.

• hornbill on Oct 09, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Just called Naza KIA. They said no news yet on the Malaysia launch, still waiting for management decision etc. I’m comparing this with my all time favourite Santa Fe the 2016 model (also no schedule release date yet according to Inokom-Hyundai when I called today). Again, who release first will mostly likely get my money! If neither of them release soon, don’t blame me for going to H or T..:-)

• As of today NazaKia cannot confirm the date for this release. What a let down…this is bad marketing techniques for branding and image when the HQ says they don’t know.