2015 Ford Ranger facelift – a sprinkling of new XLT images of the pickup, ‘coming soon to Malaysia’

2015 Ranger XLT 4x4 1

Nothing wrong with going with a ‘strong, silent type’ approach to plug the 2015 Ford Ranger facelift, but when a press release comes in with just a few photos and no accompanying text save to say “Coming soon to Malaysia,” that’s taking it to a whole new level.

The Blue Oval has released three new images of the Ranger in its XLT form, with the sole studio shot being of a 4×4 and the outdoor ones (that’s a Thai backdrop, by the way) being of a Hi-Rider variant.

Word sometime ago was that the facelifted Ranger, which made its world debut in Bangkok back in March, was set to arrive here sometime around mid-year, so not long more to go before the refreshed T6 makes its local debut.

Click to enlarge.

Three revised Puma oil burners might make it to the Malaysian market – output on the ZSD-422 2.2 litre four-pot Duratorq TDCi has been bumped up to 158 hp and 385 Nm from the 148 hp and 375 Nm seen on the current pre-facelift. There’s also a ‘new’ high-efficiency derivative of the ZSD-422 offering 129 hp, up by six over the 123 hp seen on the current Ranger XL.

No output change to the other Puma mill, with the P5AT 3.2 litre five-cylinder Duratorq continuing on with 197 hp and 470 Nm of torque, but the unit now features a reworked EGR system for improved efficiency and 18% better fuel consumption.

There’s also a 164 hp and 225 Nm 2.5L Duratec petrol engine, the L5-VE, but that’s not coming to our market. In terms of transmissions, the familiar 6R80 six-speed automatic and six-speed Getrag MT82 manual continues on. Stay tuned then – the silence will be over in good time.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Scott Cawthon on May 22, 2015 at 2:16 pm

I was kinda expecting a redesigned tail lights

• Ford Bad Bad Bad Service on May 22, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Never ever buy Ford la. They got the worst after sales service ever. Be warned.

Ford autoKONEKsion holds your car for 3 months just to replace a small part. My car, bumper kena bang, Ford AutoKONEKsion took 3 months to order the part. They held my car for 3 months. For 3 months I had to take bus everywhere. That is their policy, they must hold your car for however small the damage is.

I asked them where the part comes from, they said Singapore. What? Singapore? I thought 3 months, it was coming from EU or Africa. But instead, 3 months, it comes from Singapore! What a shocker!

Don’t know why the bodohs in Ford and Sime Motors cannot stock up parts in a warehouse beside the service centre (Ford PJ). So many empty warehouse there for rent and sale, can easily stock up parts there.

With this toilet jamban service, do you dare to buy a Ford car?

In contrast, my Honda Accord bumper got bang, Tenega Setia in Jalan 222, took 3 hours to replace the bumper, with the same paint colour. 3 hours VS 3 months.

Another main and big issue is their dual dry clutch, similar to VW DSG technology. Your Ford will be prone to juddering and continuous breakdowns. My car 2014 Ford Focus already broken down 3 times. Each time SC holds my car for 3 months. The whole of last year, with my bumper accident, I hardly saw my car as it was always in the SC.

Beware of ford’s infamous dual dry clutch but I think this Ranger may not be using dual clutch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 28
      • Butthurt Honda salesman & a bad driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
        • Butthurt Ford Salesman on May 22, 2015 at 7:02 pm

They are the laziest I have ever seen. This is why Ford sales are plummeting. 2 years ago Fiesta excited the young crowd. Sales begin shooting up.

Datuk Lawrence from Sime Motors got so excited. He even wanted to do IPO.

Now suddenly IPO cancelled cause Fiesta buyers have been flooding the forums about how bad after sales are.

Now Ford going down the drain. Sales are so bad.

What Datuk Lawrence need to do is sack all the Ford salesman and the directors in Autoconnexion. Bring bad name to Ford and have plummet the sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 22, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Ford Servis stinks. All my buddies with Fiesta say waiting 3 months for parts is normal for Ford Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • kzm is an idiot & no need to repeat the obvious…anyway why buy fuesta & if you want to buy any ford cars be prepared to receive the renounce bad services. If there are people still buying toyota why not ford

• urzu3 on May 22, 2015 at 7:48 pm

nak tipu pun agak2 la.. 3 months to take bus everywhere.. where is ur honda accord and 2014 ford focus? and yet u bought 2 ford.. what a dumb liar. fake story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Buyob on May 23, 2015 at 3:39 pm

My fiesta is almost 1 half years old. No problem about the dry clutch at all. Felt very smooth and powerful compared to normal AT. The juddering only occur during 1st 5000km or so then its gone completely. In term of after sales, mine got my windshield replaced in 1 week only. No need to wait for 3 month.

• somehow believe on May 24, 2015 at 10:30 am

Do you have problem with breaking any car you drive since you mentioned twice bumper hit? Haha We do believe after sales service here is very bad due to political and bad management and bad boss….

• carguy2000 on May 22, 2015 at 4:16 pm

that is why they call it “FACE lift”

• Takata Sushi on May 22, 2015 at 3:08 pm

I am a big fan of the current Ranger, which I think it is the best pick up truck yet here. The new look certainly looks tougher and I cannot wait to do such comparison with the new Hilux. For private ownership, the 2.2 is roadtax friendly and comes with 5-year warranty. We’ll see if any car maker can match that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • jemah on May 22, 2015 at 3:20 pm

better than hilux and triton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Jimmy on May 22, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Should all big size vehicles come with calipers as standard?

6 airbags + ESP + anti-roll.

• Ford has a strong heritage making trucks and utilitarian vehicles…..this is what a FACELIFT should be…….

• Ford has a strong heritage making trucks and utilitarian vehicles. Look at their trucks in the US……and this is how a FACELIFT should be….

• BON JAN on Oct 14, 2015 at 11:11 pm

Actually almost any brand vehicles are ok but some after sale and services is the worst nightmare for owners. The best so far are Toyota and Nissan, just the difference is the services costs.For Ford and especially Ford ranger,actually they are built with strong frame structural, larger and thicker. But When come to services,they appointed their panel service repairs workshop which many are not competent to deal with major trouble shooting and even minor and their contract T & C with their client’s inclusive of retain the owner vehicle when spare part not available until order arrived which sometimes took weeks and months to arrive.