Part of Sungai Gombak bridge opens to traffic today

dbkl

A part of the newly-constructed Sungai Gombak bridge, which connects Jalan Raja Laut to Jalan Kuching, is open to traffic from today, reports Bernama.

The route opened is Jalan Raja Laut – Jalan Kuching Selatan (Cheras-bound), Kuala Lumpur mayor Datuk Seri Ahmad Phesal Talib told the national news agency.

“This project has become a necessity to reduce congestion at Jalan Raja Laut and the signalised intersection at Jalan Sultan Ismail,” he said, adding that another part of the bridge that connects Jalan Raja Laut to Jalan Kuching Utara (Kepong-bound) is still under construction.

According to Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL), the construction of the Sungai Gombak bridge will dedicate two car lanes, one motorcycle lane and two pedestrian walkways connecting Jalan Kuching to the north.

The bridge’s physical work began July 18, 2013 and is expected to finish by early- to mid-2016. Upgrades to Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman’s pavements are also being carried out – these are expected to be completed within two months.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Better dun open so fast. Finish first then test kau-kau. Move 40ft trailers in & out, left & right for 100,000km before open to public.
    Otherwise, if something out of the blue happen, u can bet some politicians will try score brownie points and condemn the entire project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • sham82 on Jun 01, 2015 at 2:09 pm

IF something happens u expect the ppl that we voted in to keep quiet???
      IF something happens u assume that it’s a natural course of nature and not bcoz of cutting corners, corrupt practices, bribery for approvals etc???
      Whose fault is it IF something happens??? The brownie points seeking guys or the guys who already ate more than the brownies during the pretender, construction n approval stages????
      Not sure if u n i living in the same country man!

• good. now no need line up to go cheras from sultan ismail traffic light

• timun choong on Jun 01, 2015 at 2:26 pm

will it be helping to ease the traffic? high possibilities it help to divert the traffic jam into other area. come on la.. make the road nearby masjid negara bigger and better.. right out the road capacity already been overload..

• shaunD on Jun 01, 2015 at 2:37 pm

eh got link to the news or anything with pictures? i’m trying to imagine where it is and how it looks like.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 01, 2015 at 3:46 pm

I’m still waiting for them to finish fixing that fallen bridge @ Cyberjaya. Bloody traffic jam during rush hours and its getting worse lately.

• yourname on Jun 01, 2015 at 6:25 pm

who? dbkl?

• not DBKL scope on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:05 pm

well…that is the selangor area and if im not mistaken under MPSepang or JKR. definitely not under DBKL jurisdiction. no point for ‘them’ to fix it.

• Yuzdi8 on Jun 02, 2015 at 3:10 pm

I think it won’t solve the congestion as Jln Kuching (that area only) is 4 lanes dual carriageway. They should upgrade to 6 lanes dual carriage way. Or else it will cause congestion. Jln Kuching is part of Inner Ring Road and its also link Southern (Cheras) and Northern (Kepong. Such a wastage of Rakyat’s money.