Chris Evans confirmed to lead new Top Gear line-up

chris-evans-top-gear

It’s official, everyone! TV and radio personality, Chris Evans, has signed a three-year deal to replace Jeremy Clarkson as the head of an all-new Top Gear line-up. Looks like the earlier rumours surrounding Evans were true, after all.

“I’m thrilled, Top Gear is my favourite programme of all time. Created by a host of brilliant minds who love cars and understand how to make the massively complicated come across as fun, devil-may-care and effortless. I promise I will do everything I possibly can to respect what has gone on before and take the show forward,” said Evans.

jeremy-clarkson-richard-hammond-james-may-top-gear

With confirmation of Evans jumping onboard, the BBC has also announced that production for a new Top Gear series is slated to begin “in the next few weeks.” Also, an all-new line-up would equate to the absence of Clarkson’s sidekicks, Richard Hammond and James May – expect more news on their replacements soon.

Earlier this year, Jeremy Clarkson, was suspended (and later let go) following a physical altercation with one of the producers, Oisin Tymon. The “fracas” was reportedly sparked over a case of Clarkson not getting a hot meal after a day of shooting. On the upside, the trio have recently announced a return to their antics with an all-new “live action arena tour” – similar to Top Gear Live but without the branding this time round.

Gregory Sze

An "actor" by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Something to THINK about on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:43 am

Top Gear is so stupid. 80% never talk about cars. All go excursion or climbing mountain.

true car show is Fifth Gear. 100% talk about cars. They review cars all the time.

Something like PT. Good reviews and less rubbish.

Top Gear is full of rubbish and no real reviews or much on cars. Bodoh betul. Can even bring tank and talk about tank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 61
    • lol if Top Gear is 100% cars it wouldn’t get the insane amount of viewers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:49 am

if only you understand what satire means…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • satire on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:46 pm

Yes I understand, satire new name is Same lorrrr who talk kok here all the time.

• arteu32 on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:46 am

TopGear is an entertainment show, they don’t review the cars like any other motoring shows, the cars are as much as a character as the hosts, that’s one reason there is such a huge following
      the early season of top gear, with that chubby guy giving tips on buying 2nd hand car and all..it was boring
      the current format, that’s the way to go
      and on that bombshell, #bringbackclarkson

• Top Gear without jeremy clarkson is no Top Gear on Jun 18, 2015 at 5:33 pm

top gear without jeremy clarkson is no top gear..

• FarizY (Member) on Jun 17, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Recent Top Gear is no longer factual. Nowadays, they are a comedy show, with cars.

• do you have downs?

• do you have down?

• nameless on Jun 17, 2015 at 6:16 pm

i dont watch both shows, i just watch best motoring.. made in japan wei..!

• Top Gear will never be the same…

• Random Comment 1 on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:59 am

I find Evens show on Radio 2 annoying and too hyper, but I admit I am excited to see what BBC comes up with, I think they will come up with something quite good. I watch a lot of shows on BBC Iplayer using a Free UK VPN here in Penang.

• I just don’t see how a radio host can replace Clarkson. I get that he’s a rich bloke who has a lot of Ferraris but I just don’t think it’ll work out. Remember what happened when they replaced Clarkson in the old Top Gear? It was cancelled not long afterwards.

• berserker on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:43 am

Who else thought it’s was Captain America??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Used to hate bad mouth Jeremy but imo nobody can replace him. He got that X-factor. He maybe wrong but Top Gear is not a Top Gear anymore without him. Its Trio or nothing. Hope that new guy do his best to draw fan affection just like Jeremy did. A single punch in face really change everything.

• berserker on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:48 am

Who else thought is was Captain America??

• NotGoingtoWork on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:05 am

They are setting the poor guy up to fail. I get his enthusiasm and passion to make it work but I think this is one of those mountains that is a wee bit too high…

Well, see you on the other side when this flops and you head back to radio I guess.

• sammy on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:15 am

Chris who?

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:26 am

Rest in peace in grave, Jeremy Clarkson.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:43 am

chris evans is as annoying as furghh

• This is not Top Gear anymore

• Anti-Pati on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Been watching Top Gear for a while now & I really feel that they’ve started going on a downward trend when Richard had his jet car accident in 2006. The past few series in 2013 & 2014 were the worst for its over the top & repetitive stunts just to pander to the new crowd (like that Patagonia special – I really can’t for one minute take Jeremy’s word at face value that they didn’t realize that the car’s plate number was not properly scrutinized).

There’s just too much faffing about & not much cars at all & frankly they need a refresh after 13 years.