Hyundai Creta crossover unveiled in India: it’s an ix25!

Creta_1

South Korea’s new global B-segment crossover, the Hyundai Creta, has officially been unveiled in India ahead of its market debut slated for July 21; as expected, its looks – built on the company’s more angular “Fluidic Sculpture 2.0” design language – are virtually identical to the Chinese-market ix25.

Everything has been carried over – the sharp head- and tail lights (with LED positioning lights), hexagonal grille, wraparound glasshouse, SUV-style skid plates and plastic mouldings; even the 17-inch two-tone five-spoke wheels have been left unchanged.

No photos of the interior have been revealed at the moment, but a previous sketch indicates that it, too, will be similar to the one found in the ix25, with a wraparound colour-coded fascia, vertical air-con vents and a three-spoke steering wheel.

Creta_2

The impressive list of kit includes keyless entry with push-button start, Supervision instrument cluster, a five-inch touchscreen Audio Visual Navigation (AVN) system with 1 GB of internal memory, automatic air conditioning with cluster ioniser, rear air-con vents, six airbags, Electronic Stability Control (ESC) and Hill-start Assist Control (HAC).

Under the skin, the Creta features a Hive Structure bodyshell with a high usage of Advanced High-Strength Steel (AHSS) and Ultra-High-Strength Steel (UHSS), ring-like frames, a reinforced roof structure with multiple cross members, a dashboard cross member, reinforced side members and tailor-welded beams (TWB) for improved rigidity without increasing weight.

India will get a choice of three engines at launch, one petrol and two diesels – the 1.6 litre Gamma Dual VTVT petrol mill puts out 123 PS, while the 1.6 litre CRDi VGT turbodiesel produces 128 PS; a 1.4 litre CRDi oil-burner will also be offered. A six-speed manual transmission is standard-fit, with the 1.6 CRDi getting the option of a six-speed automatic, said to be the first diesel auto in the segment.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• hahaha on Jun 29, 2015 at 11:10 am

Hyundai Critter!!! what a name!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • toi toi on Jun 29, 2015 at 11:50 am

A: u pakai kereta apa?
    B: Hyundai Creta
    A: I know lah kereta Hyundai. Apa model?
    B: Creta
    A: Of cos kereta. Which model???
    B: Creta
    A: #$@%$#$!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
  • hopefully its price will be lower than Hrv.

• Hyundai Kereta
    or
    Inokom Kreta

Take ur pick!

• kreta on Jun 29, 2015 at 12:02 pm

kereta Hyundai …. hahahaha nice name.

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 29, 2015 at 12:06 pm

As long as it is kimchi, it will not have RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • OMG…Hi Loo Loo, this H.Creta at least better than ur T.Rushhhhh for Hellllll…LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rrrr on Jun 29, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Better or not, still early to say.

You never touch it, never sit in it, never test drive it, how you know better? Enough of Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok!!

But for sure, it will not have RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • As long as it is Sam Loo, it will not have Safety!

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:20 pm

I don’t provide safety to you, why should I? I am not making condom.

You don’t buy car because it is from me! You buy car made by Toyota. Faham?

• the reason to purchase a car is good to drive with reasonable Safety features, not its Rv. Oh did I mention Toyota selling here is lack of safety feature? oops…

• Beli Creta on Jun 29, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Paul : I wanna buy a Creta. Looks gooding.
    Sam : What brand you wanna buy? As long as got Japan DNA, sure God one.
    Paul : WTF you talking about. I said I want to buy Creta lar!
    Sam : Ya lor. But you need to car brand with good reliable and RV. Only Japan cars can do that.
    Paul : Creta is a Hyundai car!
    Sam : Hyundai? Kimchi! No better than proton, don’t buy their kereta la, waste money. Buy Toyota!
    Paul : Do you even read Car news or just blabber off?
    Sam : Toyota good. Tells me everything. Why need to know other brands.

• Amol Salunke on Jun 29, 2015 at 2:00 pm

Where is AWD/4WD model… if Hyundai does not launch AWD version for Creta with all the featuers such as Panaromic Sunroof, then it will lose the race from begining itself, Already Renual duster and XUV500 has it and Nissan Terrano, Ecosport and S cross will be launched with AWD feature in next 1-2 months… so it is in interest of Hyundai to launch Creta with AWD and other features right now itself… or it will lose the business

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Actually, there is market in Sri Lanka and Bangladesh for small kimchi SUV.

It can be traded in after 12 months for around RM20k

• Amol Salunke on Jun 30, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Where is AWD/4WD model… if Hyundai does not launch AWD version for Creta with all the featuers such as Panaromic Sunroof, then it will lose the race from begining itself, Already Renual duster and XUV500 has it and Nissan Terrano, Ecosport and S cross will be launched with AWD feature in next 1-2 months… so it is in interest of Hyundai to launch Creta with AWD and other features right now itself… or it will lose the business
    .. add all the features as in China Model..