KL-Padang Besar ETS gets green light, starts July 10

KTM_ETS_Padang_Besar

The green light has finally been given for the Kuala Lumpur-Padang Besar Electric Train Service (ETS)The Star reported today that trains on the service will start running from tomorrow, July 10, well in time for the Hari Raya balik kampung rush.

According to the publication, Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said for the initial phase the service will ply the 329 km-long route twice daily, but this will be expanded in the near future.

“We have ordered 10 sets of the electric trains, and once they are ready, the frequency will increase,” he told reporters after sampling a test run of the service from Batu Gajah to Kuala Kangsar. A ticket from Kuala Lumpur to Padang Besar will cost RM81.

The service was originally slated by KTM to begin running on July 1 (ahead of its planned September deployment), but up to the end of last week the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) said it had not yet given the green light for the line to begin operating because the commission had not finished inspecting the Chinese-made ETS trains and the double tracks of the route. Looks like it has now.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Lpost on Jul 09, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Great!!

• TT@TT on Jul 09, 2015 at 7:01 pm

This articel is contradict with press release by ktmb. Based on ktmb kl-pdg bsr will use indonesia source rolling stock and a quick check at ktmb ticketing site the fare will be rm39 pet way. And if you check ktmb ticketing ets route will be kl-ipoh ipoh-butterworth butterworth-pdg bsr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:20 pm

rolling stock from indo n Rm39 ticket? r u sure? where u got those news? i read many news site say wat paultan.org article says..

• TT@TT on Jul 10, 2015 at 7:54 am

check this:
        http://www.ktmb.com.my/index.php/2013-10-22-03-50-26

there is no direct ETS KL-Pdg Besar schedule.
        what they have is ETS Kl-Ipoh (RM 25), ETS Ipoh-Butterworth 0500-0650 (RM23), ETS Butterworth-Pdg Besar 0730-0915.(RM21). Total KL-Ipoh-Butterworth-Pdg BesarRM 69
        if you wish to use ETS Ipoh-Butterworth-Pdg Besar you need to be at Ipoh station a day before or by 0500.
        direct train is Tren KL-Pdg Besar (indon sourced PT INKA rolling stock)
        http://www.ktmb.com.my/images/PressReleaseTrenTambahanKTMIntercityETSRaya2015.pdf
        Fare Kl-AS RM39

• tokmoh. on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:07 am

Rolling stock from Indo must’ve pluck from the sky, but there is RM39 tix, just not all the way to Padang Besar.

I tried KL Sentral to Bukit Mertajam, it is RM39. Never tried to to Padang Beasr, so dunno how much.

• TT@TT on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:28 am

check this:
          http://www.ktmb.com.my/index.php/2013-10-22-03-50-26

there is no direct ETS kl-pdg besar schedule.
          what they have is ETS Kl-Ipoh (RM 25), ETS Ipoh-Butterworth 0500-0650 (RM23), ETS Butterworth-Pdg Besar 0730-0915.(RM21). Total KL-Ipoh-Butterworth-Pdg Besar RM 69
          if you wish to use ETS Ipoh-Butterworth-Pdg Besar you need to be at ipoh station a day before or by 0500.
          direct train is Tren KL-Pdg Besar (indon sourced PT INKA rolling stock) Fare Kl-AS RM39
          http://www.ktmb.com.my/images/PressReleaseTrenTambahanKTMIntercityETSRaya2015.pdf

• HaIrI on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:48 pm

Rolling stock from China CSR Zhuhou, 10 sets of ETS with 6 coach each sets, total 60 cars. Indo don’t have the technology to produce electric train I believe.

• TT@TT on Jul 10, 2015 at 2:16 am

For price just check at ktmb eticket.

• TT@TT on Jul 10, 2015 at 2:22 am

PT Inka. Kl pdg besar will take 6h43m with 8 stops

• TT@TT on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:29 am

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Industri_Kereta_Api

• frossonice on Jul 09, 2015 at 7:15 pm

With right pricing, good service and puncuality, this could turn to be great investment for the gomen and can surely bolster northern region economic activities.

Tho honestly I think they should have convert the line to standard gauge instead of the current metre gauge. Standard gauge can cater for more faster train.

• jinggo on Jul 09, 2015 at 7:41 pm

Najib mesti bangga sbb ini hasil sumbangannya sebagai PM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Albert on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:02 pm

Why do we need this shit train service? Don’t we have Plus?
    The arab mamak is milking taxpayers close to rm 20 billion for the double tracking.His plotong is just national service.Thats why Proton cannot die.IT is a trade pact.
    Ever wonder why Proton keeps going ” strong “,even posting nearly rm 1.5 Billion losses the last 2 years?
    It is because taxpayers are funding this socalled goldmine.SHAMBOLIC and LAZY bastards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 90
    • frossonice on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:34 pm

What the hell are you talking about? Must everything related to Proton ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • HaIrI on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:42 pm

Have you ever using Plus during festive season? It will take almost 6 to 7 hours to reach Penang from KL. With ETS it only take half the time compared to driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • Malaysia needs to learn how to ignore stupid people. Please ignore this fella

• spock1976 (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:49 pm

what shit are u on? Many people have been waiting for this ETS. The less cars we see on the highway, the better. In fact I’m buying one tomorrow to Taiping.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
    • Go Home Albert on Jul 10, 2015 at 8:43 am

By judging how the way you expressed your view, clearly shows you’re from elsewhere; not Malaysian. We Malaysian support this motion in a positive note. Be it coming from the current ruling Government, it will be beneficial to ALL. Crazy sia you, eshol

• Bird brain on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:01 am

Your stupidity is beyond compare. Are your parents dogs? Because your intellect here says they probably are

• shawal on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Does it go as fast as it looks..?

• HaIrI on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Design speed 160km/h, operation speed will be around 130 to 145km/h. Too bad govt did not opted for standard gauge, else we will have trully high speed trains in Bolehland. Assume this like TM Unifi which marketing says broadband highspeed bla bla bla, in the end only offer max 30mbps….not trully highspeed internet connection. Lol

• normal_user on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:42 pm

With a top speed of 160kmh, this china source trains can travel from kl to pdg besar in 2 hours 30 mins including stopping time at transit points.

• HaIrI on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:44 pm

It only achieve 160km/h at certain routes, average speed will be 140km/h. KL to Padang Besar will take 4hours and 45min according to report.

• spock1976 (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:54 pm

Bro, the distance from KL to Pdg Besar is about 500km. Basic maths will tell u that even at top speed throughout the journey with no stopping (which is near impossible), it will take at least 3 hours.

• Vader68 on Jul 10, 2015 at 12:55 am

“Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said for the initial phase the service will ply the 329 km-long route twice daily, but this will be expanded in the near future.”

• frossonice on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:55 am

That is because if you want to take the train from KL to Padang Besar, you have to transit in Ipoh since the new route using the new train only start from Ipoh, not directly from KL which is served by current ETS train.

• Jimmy on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:01 pm

I sell you, and I feel proud of your respect.

I speak well in English.

My tongue is not important, cakes yes.

I put my cars inside your garage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • SgWay on Jul 10, 2015 at 2:39 am

Good opportunitynto offer rental car service at the major train stations.

• Susukotak on Jul 10, 2015 at 5:18 am

boleh mula bisness simpan kereta ni. Simpn kete org utara. Bila mereka turun kl dah ada kete. Sapa nak joint?

• at last something good from our government..pls do the same for kl – kelantan..we need more efficient and safe public transport like this

• frossonice on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:59 am

Agree with this. In fact, the best way to do is to build another line directly from KL to Bentong dan then all they way to Kuantan, intersection in Jerantut/Mentakab. That way, it will be faster to get to Kelantan without having to go down to Gemas first.

• Caesar on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:11 am

Just checked at kl sentral, they knew nothing about this. They said no direct to Padang besar

• frossonice on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:56 am

KL to Ipoh, then transit from Ipoh to Padang Besar. Maybe using 2 different trainset.

• Caesar on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:25 am

Nope, from the news it said, is a direct, not transit. This Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai info is incorrect. SPAD yet to approve.

• Suresh on Jul 10, 2015 at 2:07 pm

KL —– > butterworth how much?

• Wisarut on Jul 10, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Let’s see when SRT is going to run a feeder BREL Sprinter DMU services to make a connection between Hat Yai Junction and Padang Besar (45 km)

• prinz on Jul 11, 2015 at 9:47 am

check this:http://www.ktmb.com.my/index.php/2013-10-22-03-50-26there is no direct ETS kl-pdg besar schedule.what they have is ETS Kl-Ipoh (RM 25), ETS Ipoh-Butterworth 0500-0650 (RM23), ETS Butterworth-Pdg Besar 0730-0915.(RM21). Total KL-Ipoh-Butterworth-Pdg Besar RM 69if you wish to use ETS Ipoh-Butterworth-Pdg Besar you need to be at ipoh station a day before or by 0500.direct train is Tren KL-Pdg Besar (indon sourced PT INKA rolling stock) Fare Kl-AS RM39http://www.ktmb.com.my/images/PressReleaseTrenTambahanKTMIntercityETSRaya2015.pdf

• cpt43 on Jul 11, 2015 at 12:36 pm

As far as I know:

ETS 9208 departs KL Sentral to Padang Besar, 08:00 hrs, arriving 14:40 hrs.

ETS 9209 departs Padang Besar tp KL Sentral, 17:00, arriving 23:40.

• cpt43 on Jul 12, 2015 at 1:11 pm

latest schedules
    9208 KL departs at 0900 to Padang Besar, arrv 1500.
    9209 Padang Besar departs 1600, to KL, arrv 2115.
    9500 Ipoh 0500 to BTW arrv 0650.
    9600 BTW 0730 to Padang Besar arrv 0915.
    9601 Padang Besar 1400 to BTW arrv 1545.
    9501 BTW 1700 to Ipoh arrv 1850