No crack on MRT guideway, just netting – MRT Corp

MRT guideway netting

In response to photos circling social media allegedly showing a crack on a portion of the Mass Rail Transit (MRT) guideway over Lebuhraya Damansara-Puchong (LDP), MRT Corp has come out to assuage fears, saying that it was actually the joining of two pieces of netting.

Strategic communications and public relations director Mahmood Abdul Razak said that the netting had been placed under the guideway as a precautionary measure, as construction work was still being carried out.

“The thick jagged line is actually the joining of two pieces of netting which were sewn together. It is not a crack on the concrete of the guideway which is being alleged in discussions in social media,” he said in a statement.

Mahmoud added that the public should not be unduly worried while driving underneath the guideway, and should not slow down to look at it while driving along the LDP at that location. “I urge the public not to believe unsubstantiated claims being spread via social media on this matter,” he said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• MRT or Cars on Jul 24, 2015 at 3:31 pm

I hope the explanation is true…sick and tired of our culture of denial…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Construction Worker on Jul 26, 2015 at 2:13 pm

Oookay..why dont you eat all the smoke from ur car/motorbike? Its affecting the environment..dont be selfish..u also make mistake

• It’s quite irresponsible of people to write and post on such matters without evidence. It can cause a mass panic.
    I passed by the area over lunch today, and I must say it is the seam of the netting. And I’m pretty sure if that was a crack, because it’s near the centre of the span, it would have collapsed already.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
    • Why put a net in the first place then and why only that specific spot for the net? Meaning there’s a potential crack la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 44
      • Construction Worker on Jul 24, 2015 at 6:57 pm

They put net at that location because some holes or gaps have not been properly closed yet there..hence there`s chance of small tools/rocks from the viaduct to slip through..pls stop assuming things if you dont do the actual work

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
        • You just proved that I’m right. There’s a hole or gap meaning there’s a potential risk of a crack.Do you think a net is sufficient?. I ain’t assuming . I’m seeing it as it is. BTW, my dad is one of the Project Managers for KLIA2 so I believe him more than a fellow construction worker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 39
          • Klia2 banjir on Jul 25, 2015 at 1:47 am

No wonder klia2 always banjir la… Act smart idiot…

• gostudykid on Jul 25, 2015 at 6:55 am

It;s your dad not YOU. Now go back study lor

• Construction Worker on Jul 25, 2015 at 7:19 am

Lol..construction manager is also a a construction worker..general worker is also a construction worker..its just a general term..at the joint between SBGs, sure got hole/gap maa after installation..then only you can do sealing..KLIA2 construction doesnt directly involve road users..also they dont have any viaduct constructed specifically for TRACKS installation..believing someone in different construction industry for criticizing is not a good idea

• Construction Worker on Jul 25, 2015 at 8:16 am

Lol..there will always be some holes and gaps after joining SBG..your dad is in a different construction industry..also being a manager doesnt justify the amount of technical knowledge that you have..join the team and do the work, talk later

• Trollolololol on Jul 25, 2015 at 8:53 am

wow.. your dad is the project manager for KLIA2.

hahahahaha.. ‘your dad’..
            kid, just remember to study harder and think harder ya.
            your dad belikan what brand of underwear to you?

• Funny how so many donkeys in here with no technical knowledge are giving me crap. KLIA2 banjir coz why?. BN cut budget. Given insufficient time to complete a huge project by the government.My dad had 40 years of experience in construction field. Would I believe you or him?. Simple really. Once this thing crack further and the whole structure fall, don’t blame me for not warning you folks. Please la study more .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
      • berombon on Jul 24, 2015 at 10:37 pm

Aiyoo..if the whole thing has cracked and about to fall down, then surely something much stronger than that netting is needed lar…they would require steel netting, steel braces, steel supports…

That one also cannot think arr??Aiyooohhh, some people arr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Government paying 2 million bonus to try to get the construction team to complete in time for opening launch when in fact it needed more time for actual completion. You think project managers got a say on this?.Boss give order , project managers take order only. Earning a wage not actual owners. Banjir now who to blame?. If you ever work in construction field and working on government project you will know. So many idiots here commenting when in fact they dont know nothing.

• Construction Worker on Jul 26, 2015 at 2:04 pm

You also the same lorr..only believe your dad a.k.a. your crony..you dont work in the project but comment like youre an expert..so if your dad`s boss ask ur dad to lick his shoes, ur dad will do ah? Eh, if your boss ask you to do something that is clearly wrong you quit la..haih..kid nowadays

• GLC liars on Jul 24, 2015 at 3:35 pm

This guy may be telling the truth but I doubt many people will trust him. After all, we have been served with BS from these cronies too often

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
  • Bodoh Paultan! Why you no include drilz of the actual photo!
    Also you nak try tipu those Malaysians enlightened by dear leader’s visionary aura. Saupei-lah!
    Everybody knows the Gov cannot be trusted. If they say its due to netting and not crack, that means the pillar is totally broken and about to collapse!

If you post any explanation from Gov, even if its logical, it means you are BN trooper paid by najib!

Everybody, repeat after me: Ini semua salah Gov/ BN/ SPAD/ MRT/ UMNO!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 49
    • DonkeyKong on Jul 24, 2015 at 7:42 pm

Ok, cool down, time for you to suck Lim Guan Eng’s nuts now.. shhh… relax..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Hahaha… I truly “believe” the jagged crack is the joining of 2 net. Excellent artistic job done by those mischievous Bangladeshi workers that wanna prank us. SERIOUSLY, colorful bullshit is over my head.

• Jimmy on Jul 24, 2015 at 5:25 pm

Ow, noou ….

• uTipu on Jul 24, 2015 at 6:44 pm

How come that particular sector has some massive touch up? Cement totally different color?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • Friend,
      It’s called painting. They are doing that to make it look … Nicer as opposed to leaving the cement barren and ugly. They are doing that on all completed sections.

And as for the picture itself, it’s very plain to see that it’s a netting. As for why it’s that? It’s simply because, that’s the last portion they connected. So obviously for everybody’s safety, the netting remains until all is completed.

Sigh. Can people actually think rationally before firing for the sake of firing???

• Funny how people who know nothing about construction are commenting here like they know everything lol

• Michael on Jul 24, 2015 at 10:26 pm

If you look at social media photos, it is a crack.
    If you zoom into the high resolution photo by Paultan, it is still a crack.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Jimmy on Jul 24, 2015 at 10:42 pm

Paultan’s picture above is the earlier version before cosmetic make-up?

Was there a slanted irregular crack-like line before, instead of this vertical smooth seam?

• In today IT era. Most ppl will choose to believe Social Media posting, even I DO. But the most important is how those got accused (for this case is MRT corp) handle or reply it with facts instead of keep quite or divert issue.

If the photo shown by paultan is the location photo, what I can see could not be crack.

• waterman on Jul 25, 2015 at 1:33 am

that’s what happen when you find out the local news from TV nor newspaper can’t be trusted.

do we have a choice now?

• JB_KIA on Jul 25, 2015 at 11:25 am

put up a net there to catch fish or what?

• kEROL on Jul 27, 2015 at 9:05 am

ntah la… ikut ko le na fikirkan ape pon kenapa pasang net kat situ.. ikut la kreativiti masing2..

• Shaekey on Jul 25, 2015 at 2:47 pm

The easiest way to convince people is for the MRT to snap a few pictures of the section at different angles, then the whole thing will be clear and stop all this speculation by all the “online engineers”. I’m surprise that Malaysia has yet to become a developed nation seeing so many people are an expert in multiple fields. Our k-economy should’ve been booming by now!

• crack on Jul 25, 2015 at 5:19 pm

obviously, this is crack on the picture!
    As usual, it is their common stupid acts to cover scandals when there are facts to prove….bolehland…haaaa

• C.P.MOHAN on Jul 25, 2015 at 5:40 pm

It looks like a safety netting to prevent particles falling through and not a “cover up” as some suggested. Give our guys (who do the actual work unlike cronies) some credit before hand over.

• Seriously… From my point of view, IT IS just the lines from joining the nets together. For those who have actually tried joining 2 pcs of mosquito netting, you will understand how hard it is to join them in a very straight line. Even if it looks straight during the process, it will curl up on way or another when installed… And to those that say why not buy a bigger netting, the nettings comes in rolls of prefix width… No matter how u look at it, you’ll have to join them one way or another. YES, there have been a few incidents of mishap in regards to the LRT construction.. But let’s all try not to jump the gun…