VIDEO: Toyota Avanza facelift product film leaked!

Information regarding the upcoming facelifted Toyota Avanza has gone from a steady drip to a full-blown torrent, and it looks like it’s not stopping anytime soon. The latest leak comes from YouTube user Febri Ardani, who has uploaded an internal product video of the updated seven-seater MPV.

Despite being of fairly low resolution, it’s our best and clearest look yet at the new car. We’re already aware of the exterior changes – apart from reshaped headlights, front fenders, bonnet, tail lights and chrome rear number plate garnish, this “standard” version also receives a large chrome bar connecting the headlights, a sizeable trapezoidal upper grille and smaller lower air intakes that rather reminds us of a certain Honda.

The “sports” look that we get with the top-spec 1.5S (and which Indonesia receives as the separate Avanza Veloz) is set to get quite a bit different from the regular Avanza, with projector headlights, a slimmer upper grille and an enormous downturned lower grille that’s reminiscent of the Vios.

Toyota-Avanza-baru-facelift-2015-2016-728x318Avanza-Veloz-baru-facelift-2015-2016-728x318

It’s the interior that’s of focus here – previously revealed through a sole very low-res photo, the video now shows in greater detail the changes applied. The new touchscreen infotainment system (with Bluetooth connectivity) is clearly visible, and the gearlever and surrounding base also look to have been revised.

Also apparent are what looks like a refaced instrument cluster, new brown fabric upholstery (the Veloz will reportedly receive a full-black interior), and, on the second-row centre seat, a new headrest (split in the middle due to the 50:50 split-folding seats) and three-point seatbelt for improved safety.

Indonesian automotive portal AutonetMagz reported that the Avanza could receive Dual VVT-i technology. It’s unclear which engines will feature in the new car, but if the report holds water then one of the available options would be the 1NR-FE 1.3 litre Dual VVT-i petrol mill, with the current 1.5 litre VVT-i engine staying put. We also expect the current five-speed manual and four-speed automatic transmissions to soldier on.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• OMG.. my eyes…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
    • nabill (Member) on Jul 24, 2015 at 1:06 pm

this should be an advert for Eye Mo Moist !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrrr on Jul 24, 2015 at 2:25 pm

You won’t go wrong with sushi cars. When this facelift is launched, Proton can close its Exora production line instantly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 56
        • Underpower when full load, next!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
        • UMW Mampus on Jul 24, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Thanks to this new “facelift” Avanza.. soon Exora and Alza will have their sales increased!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 24
        • Dei
          Grow up la wei..!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • samelordupe on Jul 25, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 117
    • tiffany on Jul 24, 2015 at 1:21 pm

It’s a very practical 5+2 MPV with SUV height.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
    • kiddd on Jul 24, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Sam lor will pengsan after seeing this..
      No more sales after this..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 24
  • mobile on Jul 24, 2015 at 11:27 am

Pls la T, your designer can do better design than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • shawal on Jul 24, 2015 at 11:34 am

The poster boy of 3rd world mobility is back!
    with a new face!
    and the same nauseating ride quality~!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Pakcik Ishak on Jul 24, 2015 at 11:38 am

OMG, that Honda looks…
    Does NR engines could fit for RWD configuration?

• fast5 on Jul 24, 2015 at 11:45 am

Elegant if Indonesia I have no complaint… If UMW Malaysia use this word “Elegant sits” sure will be another laughing stock by UMW again !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Giovannie on Jul 25, 2015 at 4:17 pm

I think it is a nice 5 seater car..
      2seat extra is just a bonus.

• kennyjay on Jul 24, 2015 at 12:20 pm

i just vomited my lunch, thank you Avanza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • Look like China car design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Interior Mewah apekejadahnye!!!
    hahahahah!!

• Umw please stop bringing fugly indonesia spec car.you price it here like its a luxury car!No safety it just full of useless accessories(trd bodykit)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • seman on Jul 24, 2015 at 12:47 pm

waiting for honda brv preview in august, a 7 seater compact suv that can directly beat toyota rush and say bye to avanza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Zoom Zoom on Jul 24, 2015 at 1:09 pm

Last week i saw one Avanza tailgating one modified cr-z when cornering at high speed. Better be careful..Can buang anytime .. somemore without VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • EvoMisfiring on Jul 24, 2015 at 1:43 pm

Why so angry….I thought it’s a car for angry birds >:(

• albag on Jul 24, 2015 at 2:10 pm

pls don’t sell this car here.. better stick with the current design instead

• kelvin on Jul 24, 2015 at 3:46 pm

The facelift is getting even uglier? why???

• car-fans on Jul 24, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Ai yo Yo! Pls changes engine as well lar (6 speeds) – add in ESP for safety lar!

Mau jual mahal-mahal tapi tak mau kasih New Tech and Safety !

• KarTiN (Member) on Jul 24, 2015 at 5:45 pm

We all have a choice. We dont have to buy what we dont like. The harder part is educating others to be smarter consumers.

• urzu3 on Jul 24, 2015 at 6:11 pm

is this some kind of Horror Movies advert..?

• chanmali chan on Jul 24, 2015 at 7:19 pm

Introducing Toyota Avanza, with the matching slogan

“We Proudly sell New Old Car, equipped with Old Technology, with very minimum safety features”

• is that really new dashboard for avanza facelift? not good

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 24, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Please head to a Hyundai showroom.

Need more sorhai tai lan ngongs to prime the kimchi used car market

• I have to say toyota’s designs are becoming rather amusing. Everyone’s fighting to look sleek, sexy or aggressive but they seem to be just making tacked on changes that seem so amateurish.

• shamgti on Jul 25, 2015 at 6:54 am

Haiyaa…my exora can tapau this ugly machine.

• tinmilo on Jul 25, 2015 at 8:39 am

I agree on the ugly part…
    But how you all know it has no VSC? The details are not out yet… maybe UMW will give VSC plus 4 airbags and 6 speed auto

• nomoretoyota on Jul 25, 2015 at 9:10 am

great car to send kids to school, but dangerous to drive in highway. travelling at 100km/h, express buses overtook on the left and right, avanza also swayed left and right. just sold off mine, now driving a 20 years old E220 masterpiece, with a piece of mind…

• jambanquality on Jul 25, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Even Estima has swaying cabin, what do you expect with this sampan handling beand?

• olio benzina on Jul 25, 2015 at 9:14 am

You can’t polish a turd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 26, 2015 at 10:09 am

Strongly encourage all sorhai tai lan ngongs to buy a Tucson or Sonata instead.

Need instinctive buyers to prime the used kimchi market.

12 month old Tucson should be trading for around RM25k this week

• taxfreeak on Jul 27, 2015 at 2:01 pm

What an ugly design…Needless to say about the specifications…

• https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/d/d4/Panhard_rod.svg/2000px-Panhard_rod.svg.png

imagine if the suspension travels up and down in which is its infamous character known for. and for avanza the sideways movement made by penhard rod between the axle and body is quite undesirable. So both characters combined makes avanza so old fashion in design and feel. the ride on undulation highway is so out of fashion.