Toyota Avanza facelift: new interior, exterior pix leaked

Toyota-Avanza-dan-Avanza-Veloz-baru-new-2015-728x404

Thanks to several images of the facelifted Toyota Avanza now making the rounds on the Internet, we now have a rough idea of what the updated seven-seater MPV will look like. Well, there are now more pictures – from Indonesian portal AutonetMagz – to flesh out that idea even further, including one low-resolution photo of the interior.

As previously indicated, these images show how different both the regular and “sporty” faces will become – the standard front fascia will take on a rather Honda HR-V-aping look, with a thick upper chrome bar connecting the headlights and an enormous trapezoidal grille.

Regular face (left) and “sporty”/Veloz face (right)

The alternate face, on the other hand, features a more Vios-like look, with projector headlights, a slim upper grille and a large downturned lower grille connected to the fog lights. It appears that Toyota wants to increase the differentiation between the two different looks – very Perodua-like, we might add – to justify the two different badges they carry in Indonesia – the latter is sold there as the Avanza Veloz.

On the other hand, the rear of the car is largely unchanged save for updated tail light clusters (now with decorative elements that encroach into the tailgate), as well as a new chrome number plate garnish that connects them.

Interior-dashboard-Avanza-Veloz-baru-facelift-2015

Not much can be garnered from the sole interior photo, but even here we can see that the Avanza will gain some sort of touchscreen infotainment system, as well as what appears to be a new gearlever with a revised silver base surround. Also reportedly confirmed are new colour schemes (black and brown for the regular Avanza, full-black on the Veloz) and a three-point seatbelt for the centre second-row seat.

Interestingly, under the bonnet, the Avanza is set to gain Dual VVT-i, which will help improve emissions and fuel economy; it is unclear, however, which of the two engines currently available – 1.3 litre and 1.5 litre petrol mills – will receive the technology. The existing five-speed manual and four-speed automatic transmissions are expected to carry over.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• berserker on Jul 23, 2015 at 12:32 pm

At first glance, I thought is was a Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • John Labu on Jul 23, 2015 at 12:41 pm

Design macam tokang pecah jentolak. haha. kalau jual dlm rm30-40k okay la.. kalau jual 50-70k.. kbye

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
  • sabahan on Jul 23, 2015 at 12:49 pm

so ugly….. why can’t they can design it like new Fortuner look alike?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Same L0rrrr on Jul 23, 2015 at 2:30 pm

You get what you paid for. How much is a Fortuner compared to Avanza.

People don’t buy Toyota for look, they buy for comfort, reliability, fuel saving, good RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 60
      • nathan on Jul 23, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Comfort? Did I just see?
        Suspension isn’t stable and it’s so stiff. You can feel every bumps on the road.

Avanza is a budget car. Don’t expect so much gimmicks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • sabahan on Jul 23, 2015 at 3:48 pm

jangan marah marah mah, design la, u know what i mean design?

Design don’t cost u comfort reliability fuel saving etc etc. Good looking car does not mean good. Bad looking does not mean bad, but definitely not selling, know what am I saying?

• we know Nissan Livina, Honda Mobilio, Honda Freed isnt good looking too…

MPV is a practical car, is not a show off car.
      deficult to desing it perfectly due to the compact size on a small wheel.

MPV has small wheel compared to SUV.

• olio benzina on Jul 23, 2015 at 3:28 pm

But this is not an MPV.
        Its a van in disguise for the clueless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • Van’s engine is below driver seat.
          MPV has a Front Engine.

• Van Persie on Jul 23, 2015 at 5:27 pm

All (even the latest BMW) MPVs are front wheel drive.

Toyota do make proper MPVs like Ipsum, Wish, Sienta and Estma.

Go look under the Avanza then look under a LiteAce.

Jangan kena tipu.

• Avanza and Innova uses Truck based Platform for good durability.

These are budget MPV and need to go through lousy terrain over ASEAN country..

Truck based platform and a Rear Wheel drive system give the best durability.

RWD give the bonus of better power delivery, more capable than FWD in pulling heavy load.

• Van Persie on Jul 23, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Truck based platform for good durability?
            More like for cheaper production.
            Its not the bad roads in ASEAN countries.
            Its because Toyota can’t get away with selling cheap unsafe crap like Avanza to Europe and other developed countries.

Dah lah high CG and rear wheel drive.
            ESP, traction control semua tarak. ANCAP crash test jangan cakap lah.

• tiffany on Jul 23, 2015 at 4:07 pm

Nissan Serena and Mazda Biante MPV not so good looking too.

Compact body on tiny wheels.

• looking forward to Honda BRV. :D

• dugongx on Jul 23, 2015 at 12:57 pm

WTF is this piece of shit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • nameless on Jul 23, 2015 at 1:06 pm

i would like to drift this..

• disaster!… what’s happened to Toyota?

• Syameer (Member) on Jul 23, 2015 at 1:22 pm

As the saying goes, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. But this terribly designed thing is such an eyesore and it is any car connoisseur nightmare knowing that this will soon flood the road and I have to see this on the road everyday. Damn.

• xxXxx on Jul 23, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Alamak

• CFE USER on Jul 23, 2015 at 2:02 pm

The look at the back is seem like it had been hit in an accident.

• It is called bruise design
      You know la the latest conti design by bolehland beloved brand Toyoda

• KLeong on Jul 23, 2015 at 2:56 pm

oh dear…come on lah Paultan.org! Reall???

• lolerd on Jul 23, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Why, you dun satisfy issit?
      Stay tuned, you will cry when you see the real one, LOL

• DPCraft on Jul 23, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Even Proton Exora looks better…

• evoavanza on Jul 23, 2015 at 10:23 pm

The highest variant got Evo X fascia front, you dun want?
      Everyone will think this got turbo engine ady, lol

• Toyola on Jul 23, 2015 at 10:58 pm

Exora jauh lebih bagus dari Avanza ni.. haha..

• tiffany on Jul 24, 2015 at 12:35 am

Very Practical 5+2 MPV that looks ala like SUV.
    Comfortable enough, sitting tall and no worry of flood in Malaysia.

Hidden Quality:
    fuel efficiency, reliability and sustainability.