2016 Mitsubishi Pajero Sport – new Triton-based ladder frame SUV makes global debut in Thailand!

Mitsubishi-Pajero-Sport-0022

As announced earlier, the 2016 Mitsubishi Pajero Sport has been unveiled in full today, having made its world debut in Thailand – just like the Triton, Toyota Hilux and Fortuner earlier. With all the teasers, leaks and spyshots, there’s a lot that we already know of the new ladder-frame seven-seat SUV.

But as it turns out, there’s a lot more to know still. Completely redesigned and built on the second-generation Triton platform, the 2016 Pajero Sport is quite an advanced machine now. Not a rudimentary roofed-in pick-up anymore, it’s not. It now measures in at 4,785 mm long (90 mm more than before) and 1,805 mm high (35 mm lower). Its width and wheelbase stay unchanged, at 1,815 mm and 2,800 mm respectively.

On the outside, Mitsubishi’s new “Dynamic Shield” face dominates the front end, while the rear features a set of dramatic vertical taillights. Beautiful of not, that’s up to you to decide, but it’s interesting to note that the Pajero Sport gets a look of its own this time round – one that’s barely related to the Triton pick-up.

Mitsubishi says its “high-quality stylish design” is both sporty and dynamic, which sets is apart from its rivals. The press release was prepared before the all-new Toyota Fortuner was unveiled, perhaps.

In any case, the interior is said to follow the same theme, with a high console dashboard and thick silver panels that distance itself from the Triton cabin that it’s clearly based on. Sculpted seats (third row now folds flat), upgraded sound insulation, quieter engine and improved NVH all provide a higher level of comfort compared to the outgoing model.

Under the hood lies a 2.4 litre MIVEC turbodiesel engine with 181 hp and 430 Nm – shared with the Thai/Aussie-market Triton pick-up (Malaysia gets the old 2.5 litre VGT lump) – that’s matched to a brand new Aisin eight-speed automatic transmission. The latter is a first for Mitsubishi. A 17% improvement in fuel efficiency over the old model is claimed.

An upgraded version of the Super-Select 4WD-II four-wheel drive system is featured here, now complete with a new Off-road Mode and Hill Descent Control – both brand firsts. The physical transfer case gear lever is gone, replaced by a more modern rotary drive selector. Wading depth is said to be better than before too.

What’s most surprising – even more so than the new eight-speeder – is the list of safety tech on offer. Seven airbags and electronic stability control aside, the 2016 Pajero Sport can be had with Forward Collision Mitigation system, Blind Spot Warning system and Ultrasonic misacceleration Mitigation System (UMS).

A what? Watch the videos here to understand. Electronic parking brake (yet another Mitsu first) and Multi-around monitor are featured too. Whether all (or any) of these advanced new features, along with the new engine and gearbox, will be fitted to Malaysian-spec models remain to be seen, however.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Allen on Aug 01, 2015 at 6:32 pm

Hopefully Mitsubishi Malaysia will not only those safety feature when they bring it into Malaysia market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Areyousure on Aug 01, 2015 at 7:07 pm

“Pajero” always reminds me about the incident where MYVIs racing on DUKE. Did anyone get prosecuted successfully?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
      • Jimmy on Aug 02, 2015 at 12:45 pm

1. This new Pajero Sport is cantiq at the front but what happen at the back? It is a crime or sin to design such hodoh rear.
        2. When Nassan did good things, 6-airbags + ESP in all Sylphy and Teana, we puji and should support. When Nassan did bad things, by giving 2 airbags only in X-trail and Serena, should we support the offerings?
        3. If Lee Kuan Yew eats 1 billion sing-cakes openly, no Singaporeans should protest because, even without resources, he managed to make the country one of the best in World. Sane human will know that there is no free lunch, you want Mercedes, you pay more; you want good manager, you give higher salary; and to lead and manage a Singapore well is an extreme great task compared to that of the owner of Toyota Motor Corporation(how much Toyota Japan owner earns per year?), and why should Lee Kuan Yew be receiving 3million Sing-cakes per year only? The key question is : is Singapore well managed ? The economy, the racial harmony, the social security, the planning of the infrastructures etc etc etc?
        4. When amitaba dictates the universe beyond the King & Queen, gesus cannot declare his financial supporters because amitaba will silently take actions on those supporters; they no longer can get tickets to heaven. Remember, those gesus supporters supports gesus financially secara sukarela, because they care about the universe.
        5. Everybody eats rice, and everybody certainly will eat cakes. But don’t eat the whole birthday cake yourself, and put vast majority of the birthday party attenders in hunger. They come from Campungs and London/Tokyo/NY to support your birthday party.
        6. You are the father of your house, you eat all the cakes, and, for your household problems you let your Dapsons to solve or to voice out to grandfather? Your family are the ones who support you. They stay in Kampung Trepencil.
        7. Good luck, to Mahsubishi and Nassan, both, as long as you give 6 airbags + ESP to your vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 46
        • Not singaporean on Aug 02, 2015 at 2:31 pm

What did you smoke buddy? I don’t know why u relates this to Singapore or Lee Kuan Yew.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
          • Attention Seeker on Aug 03, 2015 at 9:30 am

Jimmy is an attention seeker. Always giving silly comments in other posts and he will always say cantiq. Only a person with half a brain will spell cantik as cantiq

• Bangau No Respect on Aug 03, 2015 at 9:51 am

What a stupid person bringing Lee Kuan Yew here, a dead person. Have some respect la bangau.

• Ford power! on Aug 02, 2015 at 11:37 pm

Best-comment-EVER!!

• Spastic Association of Malaysia on Aug 03, 2015 at 9:57 am

If PT can come out with awards every year, I think this will be the most taik comment of the year. Are you spastic?

Pls enroll with us.

• karam singh on Aug 03, 2015 at 2:13 am

well then. move to singapore.
          problem solved. simple.

• Japanese Workers Vs Proton Workers on Aug 03, 2015 at 9:37 am

See below and you will know why Proton is a failure and everybody wants a Japanese car. Most Proton buyers deep inside desire a Japanese or German car but because Government is stealing so much from us via high car prices, they have no choice but to opt for a Proton.

Japanese workers :

“We must work hard. We must focus in our work. We take pride in our products and must deliver excellent quality. Only then, we can enjoy our remuneration for the hard work done. We must aim to be more hardworking than our other Japanese car plants”

Proton Malaysia workers:

“Rilak lah bang, buat apa nak keje ni. rilak lah, nanti boleh buat. Letih lah ni, mari meh tido sekejap kat bilik stor, boss takde ni. Eh tengok awek kilang cun tu, bess lah dapat kongkek dia. Syok. Jom lah, mari pegi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Tak payah keje kuat ni, kerajaan nanti tolong. Buat apa keje kuat ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
        • Michael Lau on Aug 03, 2015 at 9:54 am

I don’t know what this retard is talking about. He is worse than Sam Loo.

Eating rich lah. Eating cakes lah. Bodoh kah?

• Tan KM on Aug 03, 2015 at 10:00 am

What is Nassan? Is there something wrong in your head? Lee Kuan Yew eating 1 billion cakes?

You got mental problems?

• OMG!!!! on Aug 03, 2015 at 10:09 am

OMG. Amitaba? Gesus? Bro, apa Gesus?

I think you are very ill and need help.

• Kenjiro on Aug 02, 2015 at 9:02 am

Hopefully Mitsubishi will never allow Proton to rebadge it and syok sendiri claim it better Lotus handling than Ralli Art itself. Beri malu to multiple Dakar rally champions saja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Aug 02, 2015 at 10:11 am

Unfortunately, Bolehland engine is still using the old 2.5 TD as fuel is still Euro2 grade.

Many petrol stations in BKK already sells Euro5 diesel. In Bolehland, they are only sold in JB because of restrictions from Singapore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • OMG…Damn nice from the front and the interior ….but when see the rear …OMG…yucks…puihhhh…

• shawal on Aug 01, 2015 at 6:39 pm

Lots of new cars now employ alot of chrome at the front…
    It is best to choose darker shade of painy to make those bling bling stands out,

Good effort from mitsu…looks like a car aorth buying…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • roxas on Aug 01, 2015 at 6:45 pm

wa seh, handsome muscular modern suv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • jhuan on Aug 01, 2015 at 6:48 pm

wow..Its a total make over compare to the previous model.

Now it has the real “Pajero” feel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • that weird butt..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 7
    • that rear on Aug 01, 2015 at 7:57 pm

cant agree more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Pakcik on Aug 01, 2015 at 10:36 pm

The butt is really ugly. Much much muuuuch uglier than a Fortuner, even Avanza. Seems like it’s crying blood.

But I like the techs and gizmos. Good job Mitsubishi.
      Hopefully the full-armoured car will bring to Malaysia.

• Image We are driving behind this Mitsubishi Crying Blood, What will we do?

• looks like a melted volvo butt

• tricycle on Aug 01, 2015 at 7:09 pm

Front, side view ok. Rear view ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
  • ProjeroSports on Aug 01, 2015 at 7:16 pm

Ruined by the overdone rear light. Overall still a descent packaged line up by Mitsubishi, should sell well if priced sensibly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Really on Aug 01, 2015 at 7:18 pm

Just when you thought Toyota and Ford had the ladderframe SUV class all to themselves, Mitsubishi sprang a surprise! Impressive mechanicals and safety techs, i must say. Now, we can only hope MMM won’t take out too much equipments for the Malaysian model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Apamau on Aug 01, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Seems like “Pajero” is now back to the league again, after a long missing in the trade.

Among everest,fortuner n Pajero sport. They seems to HV the best to offer.

• netizens on Aug 01, 2015 at 7:51 pm

That FCM feature are preventing owners from tailgating other vehicle… Haha its a good thing in bolehland….

• mohd marzuki on Aug 01, 2015 at 8:28 pm

getting worst..dont like the new design..little bit ugly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • And it will only come with cheap ABS and 2 airbags. Dont forget all those people who died on the duke highway, just because mitsubishi is too cheap to include addnl airbags and esp we have to suffer. No thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
    • bunny on Aug 01, 2015 at 9:49 pm

Well if you had review back the incident, the pajero sport used was euro version with 6 airbags, sunroof n esp. Go google the incident n u can see the side airbags deployed. The whole family could have survived but they neglected to use their seatbelts. Stupid family

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
      • bunny on Aug 01, 2015 at 10:05 pm

I had no right to call them stupid. Apologies. I will instead say it was their fate. N when death comes, it comes.. there is nothing you can do about it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
        • Dun worry I’ll do it. They are stupid and becoz of their stupidity they caused their own death. And they din even get a child seat for their kid.

And best of all, some Malaysian are harping on Gov to enforce them to use seatbelts and blaming the Gov for their deaths. Real topkek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • kzm (Member) on Aug 01, 2015 at 10:40 pm

yes it fate but at least use seatbelt n use child seat..

• Allen on Aug 02, 2015 at 1:24 am

The particular model involved with accident at Duke highway do not come with esp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • DPCraft on Aug 01, 2015 at 8:31 pm

The real is good if the taillights were not stretched down.

• new face triton on Aug 01, 2015 at 9:06 pm

Prefer the front put on Triton instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Head Hunter on Aug 01, 2015 at 9:19 pm

I love it!! Hopefully MMM wouldn’t dumb down the features when it reaches our shores. And hopefully they can bring in the new VGT 2.4 Mivec instead of the 4d56 vgt.

• Rear very ugly,stupid designer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • Like the front. Not so sure about the rear. Have to see in in metal first. Love the safety electronics. And like many of the commenters here say, hopefully we don’t get a watered-down version. Anyway, congrats to Mitsu.

• blablabla on Aug 01, 2015 at 11:05 pm

nice front but too ugly butt!!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Aug 01, 2015 at 11:20 pm

Great news for me.

12 month old Tucson prices will further depreciate like the Malaysian Ringgit

• GsvuGaviny on Aug 01, 2015 at 11:32 pm

The front seats looks very comfortable

• Should adopt The rear of ASX..current design not approaching at all

• Josh Ling on Aug 02, 2015 at 2:47 am

Regardless what others said, I love how the whole car looks. It’s been ages since Mitsubishi gave us some cars with looks that at least interesting enough to set them apart from others. and the tech implemented aren’t shabby either.

but a bit concerned how receptive the target market is towards the look. But this is an effort worthy of all kinds of praise. At least from me. I think it has just become my favorite SUV of the year, in terms of look.

• Hailat Loo on Aug 02, 2015 at 9:08 am

This time Sam Loo cannot brag about Fortuner anymore. The target buyers now clearly choose either new Pajero or Everest. Bye Toyota.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Aug 02, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Sam trades kimchis and uses a Camry 2.4V ACV40.

Not sure where the relationship with Fortuner comes in.

Hilux is used to tell kimchi owners that they are hailat oledi

• Quite beautiful the design. Very nice. Really much more attractive than the Triton. But only the engine. Not mind the engine is old. The black smoke issue never solve.

• iampro on Aug 02, 2015 at 10:54 am

omg hideous.

EVEREST WTF

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Sawadiha on Aug 02, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Why always Thailand this Thailand that? It’s always bad news now in Malaysia, nothing good?

• jinggo on Aug 02, 2015 at 1:06 pm

ape ke bangang mitsu buat design lampu belakang macam itu? spoil la..

• mivectd on Aug 02, 2015 at 1:59 pm

Should MMM facelift it with 2.4L mivec td mill after the availability of the euro5 diesel

• Diesel on Aug 02, 2015 at 9:38 pm

Have to wait for EURO 5 in all states. But the biodiesel. That also will kill this engine.

• Samad Jain on Aug 02, 2015 at 3:52 pm

handsome front grille…but all plastic chrome stuff unfortunately…

the rear…..OMG!!!

• Samad Jain on Aug 02, 2015 at 3:54 pm

Toyota Hilux…bye bye!!! (oudated and lousy tech)

Hello Triton/Pajero!!! (nicer looking better value)

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 02, 2015 at 3:54 pm

The ass is a big turn off. It looks okay even if they just stick back the old ass and change the tail light design a bit but this crying tail light design….ewww.

• BrianL on Aug 02, 2015 at 4:13 pm

I dropped by a Toyota showroom in Bangkok yesterday to have a look at the Fortuner, the moment I saw the 3rd row seats – fold up and hang – I lost all interest.

Toyota kept recycling their old tech and repackaging them, come on Toyota, now is 2015, at least spend some effort to redesign the lat row seats to fold flat like the new Pajero and Everest.

• does the 3rd row of pajero sport 2016 recline like the older model? or fixed position?

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Aug 02, 2015 at 4:58 pm

In US, Cars with the top 10 resale value after 60 months :-
    1) Toyota FJ Cruiser
    2) Toyota Tacoma
    3) Jeep Wrangler
    4) Toyota 4Runner
    5) Chevrolet Corvette
    6) Toyota Tundra
    7) Chevrolet Camaro
    8) Honda CRV
    9) Chevrolet Silverado 1500
    10)Dodge Challenger

Look it up. 4 out of 10 is Toyota and 5 out of 10 is Sushi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Same Lorr on Aug 03, 2015 at 9:25 am

Where is Proton?

• steven see on Aug 03, 2015 at 10:36 am

Proton…? You bought it for your son Hilux. Find at your cheras flat.

• Stupidity_rules on Aug 03, 2015 at 9:27 am

You should join the new cabinet. “D” boss prefer loyalty than intelligent.

• You mean just like when dear leader kick out Khalid Ibrahim? Yeah I agree.

• Fiesher_man on Aug 02, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Hmm it seems even mitsu uses toyota’s 8 speed auto

• Sabahan on Aug 03, 2015 at 12:18 pm

why the tail light like this….. like tears dropping from its eyes….

• Corrected on Aug 03, 2015 at 12:36 pm

the rear looks like they rotate the tail light of volvo…ahaha anti-volvo betul this pajero…

• lowered + big wheels it will look awesome!

• Front looks good, but rear? What is this a hearse? And look at the rear window, so tiny, how are drivers supposed to look back? My pajero sport has smallish rear window but at least I could still look out back, a little bit, but looking at the cutout for rear window on the pictures it seems like the rear window is now half the size of the current one, omg…