KL City Grand Prix – extra trains to be added if need be

LRT Kelana Jaya Line

In the lead up to the inaugural KL City Grand Prix, due to take place from August 7 to 9, Prasarana Malaysia Berhad has assured the public that the firm is ready to increase the frequency of trains on both its LRT (Kelana Jaya and Ampang) and KL Monorail lines to cater to commuters affected by the road closures – you can read in detail about said road closures here.

The firm’s senior manager of communications and media affairs, Azhar Ghazali, stated that an “injection of trains to cater to the public travelling during these three days” will be provided should the need arise. “For now, the services will go on as usual as per any other days. But if we see that there is a need, then we will add more train services,” he told theSun.

lrt-depot

Concerns surrounding congestion aboard said trains were also quashed by Rapid Rail COO, Mohd Ariffin Idris, who commented that the additional trains that could see service will be more than enough to cater to commuters. “We are ready to add more trains to the maximum if there is a need to do so.”

Earlier on, the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) announced that several bus services will be rerouted from 6 am on August 7 to 6 pm August 8. Services affected include the GOKL lines, RapidKL, Setara Jaya and Metro buses along stretches of road that include Jalan Ampang, Jalan Sultan Ismail, Jalan Raja Chulan, Jalan Perak and Jalan P. Ramlee as well as the Ampang corridor and Pandan routes.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Seebee on Aug 05, 2015 at 9:31 am

Bloody lousy management of traffic. Causing more jams. And inconveniencing the offices around the track. Narrow entry and exit points which causes accidents.

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 05, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Typical Malaysian government: You die your own problem, I get money/donation my own business.

• BigBalls on Aug 05, 2015 at 9:54 am

If need be?

The event is attracting tonnes of people to the city, locals and foreigners, and your asessment is IF NEED BE? If not now then when? When there’s a huge backlog of commuters getting stuck on the event days only you decide to add trains? Come on lah, be more proactive!!!

-BigBalls-

• Balls on Aug 05, 2015 at 10:10 am

Some companies around the area are forced to close on friday due its going to be a lost in productivity as roads are closed and travelling in and out of the city is almost impossible.

• kopiais on Aug 05, 2015 at 10:10 am

extra train but limited parking at train station…no difference… lol

• another stupid event which is causing lots of hardships for ppl working in KL, just go to Sepang and race, why the heck are u causing jamm to already grdlock KL??. We have world class facilities there in Sepang which is under uitilised instead of this which is causing lots of problems wt congestion to go to work. damn it!!..rakyat didulukan amende ni!

• Black Dog on Aug 06, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Another stupid ‘IF’. (IF 2.6B in my pocket…they are still dreaming right???)

Can’t they just decide/confirm and let people plan earlier and have peace of mind?

Pea brain