Naza Automotive Manufacturing lays off 300 staff

nam gurun

According to a news report, Naza Automotive Manufacturing (NAM) has laid off 300 workers at its assembly plant in Gurun, Kedah. The lay-off at NAM involved 225 staff members as well as 30 from the NAM Committee, with the remainder being administration staff, The Malaysian Insider reports.

The report added that laid-off staff were given a farewell party earlier today at Dewan Seri Zaleha in Gurun, where they received their termination letters. In attendance at the event were NAM chief operations officer Roslan Abd Ghani and a labour department officer, according to the event programme.

The NAM plant, which has been in operation since 2004 and which has a workforce of around 1,000, assembles Peugeot and Kia models for the domestic market.

In a follow-up, the Naza Group issued a short statement on the matter:

“We have undertaken an exercise to rationalise the staff strength at Naza Automotive Manufacturing given the tough economic conditions brought about by the weakening ringgit and domestic and export demand.

However, at this time, our priority and focus is to assist and support where we can, those affected, to ensure that their welfare is well managed and taken care of. We have provided a separation package to enable them to plan their future endeavours.

Meanwhile, we shall continuously address measures of cost efficiency without compromising our quality of service to our customers.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Jobless on Aug 27, 2015 at 6:14 pm

During good times workers work tirelessly to bring pofit to their employer but during bad times they are kicked out..this should not be the way..it should be “senang dan susah bersama”…and worst is the top managment who made all the dumb decisions causing loses stays but the ordinary cari makan workers (who not involved in the decision making) kena berhenti

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 182 Thumb down 8
    • Well said. Cant agreed more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
      • Worker on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:23 pm

What about Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
        • trollmaster3000 on Aug 28, 2015 at 12:07 am

proton is waiting for the latest shipment of banglas to the country..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
          • Meanwhile moving coffin still popular and worshipped like idol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 28, 2015 at 8:40 am

This will not be happening to Proton they still stick with their DRB Transformation Plan to produce 3 new models in 2016, new A-segment rebadge from Suzuki and new fuel economy direct injection engine coming up. Proton is really dare to change and committed to product good reliable product to rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
          • Naza Please Be Kind on Aug 28, 2015 at 10:00 am

Naza get everything free. AP system now over 25 years. Each year Naza get thousands of AP. One AP worth RM50k if you sell paper value. If you bring car in and sell, each AP can make you about RM300k clean profit for each car sold.

Let us assume no car is sold. Just paper value of the AP.

You calculate that with 20 years with few thousand free AP per year. In total, more than RM50 billion.

You get free AP also, you still want to sack 300 people

• Appeal To Naza on Aug 28, 2015 at 10:07 am

Naza get everything free. AP system now over 25 years. Each year Naza get thousands of AP. One AP worth RM50k if you sell paper value. If you bring car in and sell, each AP can make you about RM300k clean profit for each car sold.

Let us assume no car is sold. Just paper value of the AP.

You calculate that with 20 years with few thousand free AP per year. In total, more than RM50 billion.

You get free AP also, you still want to sack 300 people

• Wahai Orang Orang Kampung on Aug 28, 2015 at 10:17 am

Sedarlah Orang Kampung. 300 Pekerja ini bangsa anda. Bila tak guna lagi, kena buang macam sampah.

Sedarlah.

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 28, 2015 at 2:15 pm

Finally I have a point in common with Ah Beng! Bravo!

Proton is best at rebadging, then it should stick with it. Suddenly do 100% R&D come out rubbish models (Preve, Suprima S, Iriz etc) no one bother to buy, company making lose, for what? Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok only.

Same like if you are good at making roti canai, why bother selling hokkien mee?

If Proton sell its accordana, I may consider. I definitely will buy if Proton rebadge Lambo.

• kington on Aug 28, 2015 at 12:16 am

In Proton, the challenging business environment is always offset by more grants from the government.

• growup on Aug 28, 2015 at 8:32 am

You think only got incentives? Please grow up

• Proton Big Criminal on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:16 am

Proton has been sucking billions every year. Infact, in total, since 1985, Proton has sucked more than hundred billion ringgit in grants.

that is besides what Proton has sinned and the bad thing they did to all Malaysians. Proton has Made all cars expensive since 1985 and each and every of the 30 million Malaysians now suffer paying high loans just for simple cars.

Cars have not gone up that much over the years since 1985. Yes it has gone up with normal inflation but no where to our levels of prices. For example, high spec CBU made Toyota Camry with 10 airbags and 20 other safety features not in our Camry is sold for Us$22,000.

UMW will get at cost price at about US$15k at country distributor price.

You CKD it, it will cost about US$12k.

That is Camry. What about smaller cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
          • RM2bil grant for R&D from gov instead of DRBHCOM….

• Albert on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:07 am

The next mass retrenchment will be Proton…Ah Beng will head the list comprising 500 dead wood.

• Free AP - Why Sack? on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:08 am

Naza is a crony company. They should not be doing this because ALL their APs and money are free. We rakyat are actually supporting Naza with high car prices.

Each AP is worth RM50k. Naza gets thousands of AP per annum. That alone is free few hundreds of million free money.

So, in hard times, they should retain their workers. After all, 30 million rakyat of Malaysia suffer because of the AP system. The AP system is the one making our non AP car prices high.

So, by right, if you get free money per annum the past 20 years, the least you should do, keep your loyal workers.

• Albert on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:04 am

Send them to the undertaker(WWE)to get the piledriver treatment.

• Albert on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:12 am

OMG, what a disgrace and unkind act.To add salt to your wound,NAZA organise a farewell party for the laid off staff.
        Can you eat the farewell satay stick?They should call the staff one by one in to HR office and offer counseling and alternative job placements,together with the severance cheque.
        What a way to treat humans…it is certainly demoralising and inhuman.

• vecko on Aug 28, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Ok so you suggest to give the letter and send them out of the door?

That’s very rude, no?

• Kerengge2012 on Aug 27, 2015 at 6:29 pm

Yes setuju

• Gargantia on Aug 27, 2015 at 6:31 pm

And the AP system cronies owners, you jobless your problem…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 20
      • kzm (Member) on Aug 27, 2015 at 7:06 pm

NAM not produce AP car..AP oni apply to import car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
        • james dean of the east on Aug 27, 2015 at 7:57 pm

AP is not only applicable to grey importers. AP is also used to import parts and accessories…there are four major AP franchise holders and Naza is one of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Gargantia on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:28 pm

Thanks to confirming Dunmo @kzm. He never learn…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • Alan Lee on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:05 am

kzm baru bangun ke bang? Jangan bimbang, pergi tidur lagi

• kzm (Member) on Aug 28, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Well im replying for CAR not part n accessories..nothing wrong what I say rite? All imported stuff from food to IT gadget has AP this everybody should know.

• please do not comment for the sake of commenting only. nowadays, comment are cheap but research are not done properly.

• Gargantia on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:33 am

Well said hope @kzm will realise his mistake and in his future comments too.

• junkks on Aug 28, 2015 at 12:14 pm

p1 bashers got more to bash and complain without logical reason.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 28, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Tell me what info is wrong in my comment? The thing that I’m say everybody must know by now…

• Frank on Aug 27, 2015 at 8:20 pm

In the real world this often happens

• Normal Guy on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:19 pm

I’m sorry. I don’t agree. I’ve seen many Malaysians take their job for granted and not appreciate what the company is doing for them. They complain and always asks for more money, more benefits, more bonus to work more. Just asking them to support when there is high volume is like begging them to do OT. Now that jobs and opportunities are scarce it’s natural companies take cost cutting measures. The first ones out the door are usually the ones who caused the most problems. Who would want to let go hardworking staff? Moral of the story? Appreciate your job, work hard and make sure you bring value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
      • cckkpr on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:33 pm

About 40% of the workforce will not be working the day after pay day. These are the first workers to be sacked.

• Jimmy on Aug 27, 2015 at 10:06 pm

300 people become jobless is better than 1000 people become jobless. And normally the problematic ones will be laid off first.

When it reaches 1 : 6.5 , you will see more. And I hope you enjoy your lives and enjoy writing x on Umited Notion.

Good luck.

Please continue to feed billions salary to those some 5000 brains who keep focusing on whom to be sent to Jailpiter or Plutonjara, who fail to focus on or fail to tackle the economic situations.

PhD, guna duit beli punya. Semua boleh, kecuali economi.

You want to makan cakes terang-terang, make sure you are better than Lee Kuan Yew; Lee Kuan Yew is better than all presidents of United States Of America.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • Reality brah on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:58 pm

Don’t get your butt hurt.. This is life. Only on ultra rare occasion leaders would step down/get a pay cut.

• Good time or bad time, workers get paid. Don’t tell us that you work tirelessly for your boss. Do you use your mobile phone when you work? Do you go to FB during working hours? Did you come back to work on time after lunch? Didn’t your boss paid you for your time in the company?

Nobody owe anything to anybody.

• 1 Juta Axia Sedan on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:07 am

Perodua should hire them to produce 1 million Perodua Axia Sedan cars soon. Even 300 workers will not be enough to meet the anticipated big demand.

No doubt that Perodua Axia Sedan will become a huge gigantic success due to rakyat no longer keen to buy new Proton Saga and Persona. The new gearbox and engine factories by Perodua is a testament of future sales victory and even more job opportunities created for local youths and vendors alike.

Perodua = the Savior of local automotive industry!

Tahniah in advance to Perodua for your upcoming 1 Million units of new Axia Sedan car!!!

#1JutaAxiaSedan
      #1MillionAxiaSedan
      #1MillionLove2AxiaSedan

• Anonymous on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:32 am

Well, this is the reality. How good the relationship runs between employer and employees, we are just a mere chess for them to make each move that benefits themselves. In times, we have to be sacrifice for their selfish needs.

• Albert on Aug 28, 2015 at 10:59 am

Bradder jobless,in today’s economy…no one is immune from retrenchment.Even the bosses themselves have to suffer losses.
      Only Proton can afford to khayal in everlasting perlindungan,thinking times are still good.Thats why they are waiting for the Saudi Santa Claus to splash Rm Billions to bail them out.By 2016 1st April,Proton would have lost a staggering rm 2.1 Billion…and yet they are still singing Michael Jackson’s “we are the world”.
      Watch out…Paultan…the next fresh from the oven news is “PROTON FIRES 500 workers,perlindungan backfired”

• ya, in same logic. Y our nation leader who making all the dumb decision lead to economic downturn yet still refused to step down?? i wonder

• During good times, the workers does not work for free. They are paid with salary for the month they work. Business entity is to make money. Their termination comes with termination package.

A very good example of a company that still retaining all the staffs even though they are not productive is Proton. See where the company is heading.

• sick&tired on Aug 27, 2015 at 6:56 pm

give termination letter at farewell party!!?? that must have been some party!

• Just realized bout the farewell party. The company still dare to hold such. Probably the compensation is quite handsome.

• Given the quality of Peugeot ckd cars… Erm…

• Tommyk on Aug 27, 2015 at 7:27 pm

Jobless, i fully understand your soul, you will be understand further when you manage such huge manufacturer hub, from time to time sacrifice of certain labour’s, small sacrificing is to maintain the empire. Please don’t blame them, life move on.

• Papagoines on Aug 27, 2015 at 7:35 pm

I still believe top management also need to take part in reducing the company’s cost

For example if not mistaken the late Satoru Iwata, CEO of Nintendo… when Nintendo hit hard, he voluntarily cut half his salary and other board of directors follow suit by cutting some percentage of their salary *correct me if I’m wrong*

IMHO rather than facing loss of job, I’d rather faced some cuts in benefits… but that just me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Golfer on Aug 27, 2015 at 7:42 pm

Really sorry to those workers but it is expected due to the poor sales of Peugeot and Kia especially Peugeot. Who would buy lousy Peugeots especially with our current low value ringgit and poor economy? You can expect high price for spare parts due to exchange rates and almost zero resale value when you are dying to get rid of your Pug.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Jaguar on Aug 27, 2015 at 8:36 pm

I had once stepped into a Peugeot showroom and was ignored by the salespersons who seemed more preoccupied with their handsets.

• normal_user on Aug 27, 2015 at 10:04 pm

What a sad day this is for the business empire created by the late Tan Sri SM Nasimuddin.

He once boasted that never once that he had to lay of any of his staffs because of economic problems.

And he was very very proud of NAZA Automotive Manufacturing, as that was his biggest proof that he could succeed without having to rely on AP from the government to succeed in the automotive business.

It is clear that his son, SM Nasaruddin did not inherit any of the business acumen that his late father has. What he succeeded is destroying the one business that his late father spent his sweat and tears building from scratch.

SM Nasaruddin did not seem to care much about his businesses. He surrounds himself with incompetent people to manage his businesses.

NAZA Automotive chief operations officer Roslan Abd Ghani did not implement any other high impact cost cutting measures before resorting to lay off his staffs. Managers benefits, company cars,telephones allowances,petrol cards, oversea travels were not even reduced. Mr Roslan himself even has 3 company cars at his and his wife’s disposal (a Mercedes E-class, a Peugeot 5008 and a Peugeot 208)

External warehouses to store car components are still being rented at a huge cost of RM250K per month when the logistics area in the factory itself could easily accommodate all the car components.

They even spent more than RM1million recently to have a customised parts inventory system when good old excel files could do.

They could have done a lot more to reduce costs, but what they did first is to lay off their staffs.

A really sad day indeed for the legacy of Tan Sri SM Nasimuddin.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
    • dirtyoldmen on Aug 28, 2015 at 8:20 am

wow. what a nice fairy tale. who doesn’t love a rags-to-riches-to-downfall story, right?

Good guy–> father. check. Spice it up with some myths for good measure. Make him a hero. e.g.”…could succeed WITHOUT having to rely on AP…”
      Bad guy–> everyone else in Naza. check. son did not seem to care TOO much? (can you prove this allegation?)
      CEO got 3 company cars (has the board approved it? can you prove abuse of power?)
      Excel files can beat a customised inventory system? Riiigghhht. lets not let logic and facts get in the way of a good story, right?
      Finale. throw in a picture of doom and gloom. sad day…legacy.
      BTW, are you a graduate from half-ass drama school.

• mz neutral on Sep 01, 2015 at 10:58 pm

haloo pls muhasabah diri…..jgn ada sikap dengki n iri hati…. n pls investigate first….who r u to judge people without knowing them very well

• Jobless on Aug 27, 2015 at 10:19 pm

Normal guy, i tink yur comment is shallow and unfair to the many of us who worked until late hours and who bring sales and profits to the company in the good times (especially those in the sales frontline will know)…many of us even have to work on weekends and sacrifice quality family time just to keep up and achieve sales targets..those who failed are often shouted and abused by managememt..it is a common knowledge just ask any salesman worth his salt…some of them ended with high blood pressure, diabetes and even heart attacks..and they have to sell multi products else their commissions shall be cut…and dont tell me about company keeping experienced hardworking staffs, read how long serving MAS employees terminated but the uppper management promoted…

• peugeot..hmmm, look at the 308 2nd values plus issues, not suprised people stop buying..not naza’s fault that the cars are defective

• bukan bangla on Aug 27, 2015 at 11:03 pm

People in GAWAT time always will ignore Koreans and Conti car..
      Only Japanese car so far have proven record long lasting..

The fact:
      Toyota Nissan Honda the reliable brand. Maybe not a luxury symbol but proven..

After 20 years, car van pickup still running..

Sunny xtrail vennate hilux crv old still on the road. With low maintenance cost

While optima, 320 bmw, merc, pejot, sportage if can survive after 5 years – cost alot, maybe double of their price..

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 27, 2015 at 10:41 pm

All the best to those who got terminated. Ideally the company would help seek employment to the said staff as well as offer some sort of compensation to them while they are looking for jobs…at least this is what I observed overseas.

I’ve also seen companies who vowed to re-employ staff who have been terminated during hard times when the economy recovers and while that’s happening they shift some redundant staff to different departments around the world to avoid terminating them as they believe their manpower is the key to the company’s success.

But I’m not so sure if this is practiced here…

• Wee fuk yew on Aug 27, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Das Kapital

• My Peugeot RCZ is fine (changed engine sensor after 3 years, but under 5 years warranty), but my Peugeot 407 just got Engine Fault after 3.5 years (no more warranty). Not sure how much it is going to cost…

Another Peugeot? No thanks.

Kia? Sorry, no thanks as well. My K5 has had the front balancer changed in less than 2 years. Waited the parts for 6 months.

Everybody can sell cars, but when service arise that is the time that makes a different.

• tokmoh. on Aug 28, 2015 at 1:45 am

Because selling is much easier than after sales. Can’t expect such simpleton AP kings to be that sophisticated.

They sell car, get cash, happy, enjoy fancy car, fancy mansion, every year multiple overseas trip, luxury hotels, foods, life is good. They’re not in it because they’re passionate about their products. They care more about their ego to show other people they are “successful” through blatant protection.

If they are passionate, customers will be their best friend. From the moment customers first step into showroom, to servicing, to enjoying activities together as fellow car fan, doing meet ups with owners club, understanding defects, rectifying/consulting with manufacturers in France/Korea, ensuring good parts supply chain/expertise in rectify/service, good cost control so savings can be passed to customers, etc.

• Somehow I do not feel sympathetic. Bought a peugeot 308 n sold it off after warranty. It is the most unreliable car I had ever owned n the most expensive to maintain. So now sticking to only local n Japanese. They shouldn’t b in business.

• LONG LIVE tokmoh~!

• P1 Customer on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:28 am

Similarly, that’s why you get rubbish service with Proton. You can get Proton for cheap, but when you service it then you’ll know

• cendol (Member) on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:45 am

More good times ahead for Malaysia. Enjoy.

• C.P. MOHAN on Aug 28, 2015 at 10:07 am

There is no such thing NOW as “lifetime jobs. Don’t take the good times for granted or lightly, in fact the good times is to iron-out the bad times. The real problem arises when jobs become scarce and very very specialised.

• I refuse to work for nobody, in bad times nobody can retrench me.

• hybrid on Aug 28, 2015 at 10:19 am

I refuse to work for nobody, never been called a bangla nor a nepal in any workplace, no idea what the word “shift” means, in bad times nobody dares to retrench me.

• alldisc on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:59 am

instead of 300 low ranking staff laid off, why not the top management (managers and directors) cut their salaries by 20% instead? so 10% will cover the salaries of those 300 unfortunate staff.

and yet, naza advertise new jobs in jobstreet yesterday… quite a number of them. surprisingly.

• Kesian bln depan nie ramai orang kena berhenti kerja.Bersedia saja lah..

• Ootai on Aug 29, 2015 at 10:22 pm

Toyota cars/parts are made in japan. They are imported by umw using usd currency (used to be,¥). Under instruction from the top. Well, u don’t a need a LSE qualification to tell u that umw is bleeding & might follow the path of Naza. ☺

• pick your employer and boss wisely …

• RAHUL on Oct 24, 2015 at 11:46 pm

In INDIA one of consultant called Zennate technology pvt ltd, NOIDA Delhi NCR , Is sending emails saying that NAZA is recruiting people, and collecting money on the name of verification of documents.Such a fraud going here on the name of NAZA group.

• normal gay on Dec 29, 2015 at 4:06 pm

Why sack the innocent but retai ned the brats rats manager who duduk mkn gaji buta. He use comp. Car wng 3552 to ferry the ayams every weekends. No body cares bcos he is a principle

• Yumas Koh on Jun 20, 2017 at 10:19 am

What was the root cause, how came 2 years later the same business unit heads are still in control of the business? These guys are the root cause for the failure of the business. No accountability, leadership or checks in place.