Cashless tolls expected to reduce congestion by 30%

Toll

With 12 toll plazas going cashless from today, traffic congestion in the city is expected to be reduced by up to 30%, The Star reports. There will be additional staff on standby to assist in the switch to ETC (electronic toll collection) as well as sell Touch n Go cards.

The Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway (AKLEH), Stormwater Management and Road Tunnel (SMART) and Duta-Ulu Klang Expressway (DUKE) will be the first to fully deploy the cashless system in Kuala Lumpur.

GM of AKLEH, Engku Mohd Fauzi Engku Hatim explained that there will be Rela officers on duty to help patrol officers in controlling traffic. Meanwhile, motorists travelling on AKLEH will receive a 5% discount at the Datuk Keramat toll plaza; likewise for Class 1 motorists plying the DUKE expressway.

The switch to full ETC is expected to be smooth. Datuk Lim Keng Cheng, MD of DUKE concessionaire Ekovest, said that ETC penetration has risen to 85.8% after the highway’s promotion of the system and Touch n Go cards. At AKLEH, it has risen from 65% to 89%.

PLUS’ GM of operations Norbayati Manap said that top-up and purchase of electronic access cards can be made at the extreme left booth of the five northern toll booths that will be converted today. It marks the completion of the cashless system in all the company’s 14 toll plazas nationwide.

To recap, here are the toll plazas going cashless today:

• Penang Bridge toll
  • SMART Highway toll
  • Dato Keramat toll on the Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway (AKLEH)
  • Ayer Panas, Sentul Pasar and Batu tolls on the Duta-Ulu Kelang Expressway (DUKE)
  • Jitra and Bukit Kayu Hitam tolls on the North-South Expressway (PLUS)
  • Lunas and Kubang Semang tolls on Butterworth-Kulim Expressway (BKE)
  • Gombak and Bentong tolls on the Kuala Lumpur-Karak Highway (KLK)

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Thank you BN Government for coming up with this idea. At least now, we can reduce jams and drive faster to our destination.

I am thankful for all the top brains in our Government for coming up with ideas like this. there is no point being negative like Bersih supporters, who just make noise and never give good ideas.

Terima kasih Kerajaan BN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 35
    • Fuhh! RBAs are getting desperate nowadays. Even my nick oso wanna curi. Thank you DAP!

• George Abdul on Sep 09, 2015 at 12:35 pm

No tolls also can reduce jam la… Stupid statement by GM of AKLEH !!! Cronies never will admit wrong… BN never stop stealing money from Rakyat !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Suresh on Sep 09, 2015 at 2:06 pm

You call this brains John? Guess yours is not working!
      TnG is something that have been in our country for more than 10 years now. It is a very late implementation to go cashless. Never less finally they started. :P

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 09, 2015 at 11:59 am

Stupid john can speak non sense all day long but prohibit others to speak non sense? lol

Wanna reduce congestion? improve the public transportation then!

• Then pipu buy less of your junk toyota loh, how leh? You alredi start to forcibly pull random passerbys into your showroom, but they keep telling you then wanna go see Honda and Proton.

• Eventually, they need to phase out TnG as well, because it still slows down traffic as you need to stop, wind down the window, tap, raise the window and go, which takes around as much time as paying with cash. For now, what they need to do is put all TnG on the left side and all SmartTag on the right side as SmartTag is much faster.

• alldisc on Sep 09, 2015 at 1:13 pm

in some areas like federal highway and kesas, the number of cars queuing up to pay toll in cash lanes often block access to TnG/smart tag lanes during the peak hours.

well that was my experience the past few years. it is different though now.

found a job in seremban. everything is there in the vicinity. small town, no toll at all. hardly any jams.

earning less but lower stress. peaceful life.
    try it. you will notice the birds chirping in the morning- something that you wont realise living in klang valley.

• City Slicker on Sep 09, 2015 at 3:37 pm

No need seremban lar. My ampang house also got bird chirping in the morning. At night even got burung hantu. Shopping pun 15 minute drive to klcc. You stay in seremban, shop where…mydin….jusco…..Boring sial. Any major health issue, also have to rush down to KL coz all the specialist, IJN all in KL. So work harder and don’t be lazy and hide in kampong.

• jemsial on Sep 09, 2015 at 10:51 pm

Ampang jem teruk sial, 15 minit sampai KLCC only naik LRT can do, if by car prolly you drive in the middle of night

kakakakaka

• City Sialker on Sep 11, 2015 at 8:17 am

City Sialker must be using honda ex5. thats why no jem. and his ah beng iswara cannot use to go here and there except to nearby 7-11.

grow up City Slicker – constructive comments pls.

• ben yap on Sep 09, 2015 at 4:18 pm

remove the toll and traffic congestion will reduce by 50%