COMOS at E-Mobilia World 2015 – four new EV stations, 10 more by end-2015; 40 in total by 2017

COMOS 2

At the E-Mobilia World 2015 conference – held in conjunction with the 2015 International Greentech and Eco Products Exhibition and Conference Malaysia (IGEM) – Comprehensive Mobility Solutions (COMOS) chief technical officer Fadzili Ahmad Shiyuti gave attendees a sort of status update regarding the profress of the electric vehicle sharing service.

Since its launch in June, COMOS has collected 850 registered members, with 220 fully paid-up and able to use the service. Through the 150 bookings made so far, customers have racked up 500 hours of use, and travelled as much as 15,000 km.

According to Fadzili, most trips have concentrated around Kuala Lumpur and the surrounding Klang Valley area, but some have ventured as far as Ulu Yam up north and Nilai down south; yet, COMOS has encountered no instances of their EVs running out of battery so far. He added that this statistic means that the range anxiety fears people have regarding EVs have been unfounded.

COMOS 3

It’s not all smooth sailing, however; the breakdown of user demographics showed that only 32% of COMOS members have actually booked and driven the cars. Feedback from users has shown that the lack of stations (and the inconvenient locations of those that already exist), along with the relatively pricey usage rate have been the main factors behind customer pushback.

In response, COMOS has worked to solve at least one of these issues, by opening four new stations in the Klang Valley – Mines Shopping Centre, KL Sentral and the Kelana Jaya and Universiti LRT stations. These are in addition to existing facilities at the Bangsar and Asia Jaya LRT stations, Medan Tuanku, Munshi Abdullah, Universiti Malaya and UTM Jalan Semarak (the previous bays at Pasar Seni and Ampang Park LRT stations as well as Lorong Bunus appear to have been removed).

The company is also looking to expand to 10 new stations by the end of this year, as well as adding another 10 new Renault Zoes to the original fleet of 10. Also on the road map are the addition of several new stations across Peninsular Malaysia, grouped into Zones 1, 2 and 3.

COMOS 1

Zone 1 incorporates the Kuala Lumpur and Petaling Jaya areas, including the existing Kelana Jaya and Ampang Line LRT stations. By 2017, this should bolster EV station count from the current 11 to 40 stations in Klang Valley. From there, the company will move to Zone 2, which includes the municipalities of Subang Jaya, Putrajaya and Cyberjaya, as well as the stations along the upcoming LRT extensions and the new MRT Line 1 and 2.

Running concurrently is Zone 3 – the company is looking to implement fast chargers at rest stops along the North-South Expressway (NSE), as well as introduce the service in Johor Bahru and Penang. The former will be done in stages, starting with a pilot program from KL to Melaka, then will continue to JB and extend from KL to Penang.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ahleong on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:02 pm

Guys, we are missing the point here. Car prices should go down. Why are we shifting the paradigm here?

Newer cars are more efficient and with lower taxes, we can use the ‘extra’ to pay for fuel, maintenance, etc.

We can afford to change cars every 5 years to better and more efficient models. Euro 5 diesels are already here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Rm2.6 billion hilang on Sep 13, 2015 at 11:29 am

sure to fail. Somehow, money will be invested, money will disappear, then company goes bust. Typical scenario of any GLC or Crony company

• ahleong on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:02 pm

Guys, we are missing the point here. Car prices should go down. Why are we shifting the paradigm here?

We can afford to change cars every 5 years to better and more efficient models. Euro 5 diesels are already here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • ARBA (Arab Red Bean Army) on Sep 13, 2015 at 11:41 am

then how the robbers in the Government want to make money? Rm2.6 bil is not enough bang.

• ahleong on Sep 11, 2015 at 10:04 pm

guys, we should be looking at reducing the car prices, by like 30% to 50% gradually..
    Newer cars, are more fuel efficient and the safety is also guaranteed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Mek Dee on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:03 pm

talk’s easy. Let’s see what happen in 2017.

Hopefully, this is not like pepsi-cola…..all sugary stuff and gas only.

• Albert on Sep 11, 2015 at 11:12 pm

This COMOS project is going to fail badly and TERRIBLY horrendously.
    The former CEO of Proton doesnt seem to grasp the mentality of Bolehland.Perhaps he is still thinking the Saudi Santa will save him if his project kaput.
    people here dont care a damn for damaging the cars,spit all over and if they can shit ,they will do it to soil the cars.This is Bolehland not Australia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
    • Do u think all that kind of shitty peoples will even thought of using this services… I think most of their customers are well mannered professionals who really appreciate a good service rather than being a vandalism. Go out and travel more often. U’ll see there’s more good Malaysian than the spoiled ones. Don’t just sat in front of ur PC and feed urself with all the negativity that came from the internet. Go out, hangout with your friend or just a breeze walk in mall..U’ll see there’s more in Malaysia other than politics, racism, crimes, shared recipes that U know u won’t have time to cook it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Albert on Sep 12, 2015 at 10:07 pm

Apo.dont be too optimistic.Just eat your own words in 12 months time.
        Now only 220 out of 850 registered users have fully paid up.Can you make money?Please have a brain scan.
        Maybe you flunk your Maths and economics.
        Syed Zainal got it wrong this time.No massive perlindungan given now ,like that given to Protong.This forum got too many over optimistic dudes who cant understand the difference between profit and losses.

• Well Albert, let get this straight. Entrepreneurs are blessed to see opportunities that not anyone can understand. Every hugh successes start with a 1st step of actually make it real. Do u think we can enjoy today cars if car maker on old time listen to the pessimistic people that still on horses who says cars are dangerous and who want to sat in ones coz it carries combustible fuel that may blow up in times. People laugh at Toyota when they want to produce the 1st hybrid, saying who want a car with expensive batteries. Now every car maker somehow following their direction. Tony Fernandes also face the same when he want to run Air Asia. The list can go on, but I’ll let it to be discovered by urself.don’t be lazy to read.

• fahmi on Sep 13, 2015 at 6:13 am

Albert, more like too many Malaysians are pessimistic like you. Complain all day, but do nothing to contribute the betterment of Malaysia.

You barely understands business, yet talk like a big tycoon. Facebook was losing money left and right, but still got valuated over billions when they went for IPO. Losing money in the first few years to gain strong customer base is normal in business. Microsoft was selling original xbox at loss for its ENTIRE lifecycle.

Why dont you go back selling insurance, cars or phones, if you know nothing about big business.

• Albert on Sep 13, 2015 at 6:37 pm

Bodoh Fahmi,dont use facebook to frighten us.
          If 2oo odd people sign up,and you are the boss…you can be happy?
          Dont tokok,maybe you are the part receipient of the….from the Middle East Santa,you talk as if Robert Kuok needs your advice.
          It is just plain common sense….if the volume is not there,how can you get even RM1 profit? Look at f..up Lotus,there has not been 1 year that it has reported any profit since our hero bought it donkey years ago.Just wait 12 more months…and see it folds up or prove me wrong.Dont tell others to go back to sell other things.This forum is for people who can assess facts,not get emotional over someone.
          Jonathan Lee,your forum contributors are getting too emotional.We need facts,not dwell on emotions.

• I suggest you look in the mirror and see who is emotional. ;-)

• brianxyz on Sep 12, 2015 at 12:32 am

Good and decent effort from COMOS Malaysia. I thought their pace could be faster and price could be lower if more competitors allowed to come in.

• Anticipator on Sep 13, 2015 at 11:23 am

Is there any blockade for entering this kind of biz?…any special permit required? SPAD?…hope such biz will blooming with many players…

• Aero (Member) on Sep 12, 2015 at 2:32 am

Brilliant news ! Glad to hear Subang Jaya and Cyberjaya are in ‘Phase 2’… these guys know their market demographics well.

It will take many years to build up a strong EV infrastructure nationwide, but it’s a good start. What we don’t know is whether or not EVs will sell well in Malaysia, because currently, they’re are only selling in developed, high income countries (or in China’s case, high income cities)… due in large part to government subsidies and rebates, which make them cheaper to buy and run (some cities even have several FREE charging stations for EVs!).

However, in developing countries (with the exception of China), EVs are very slow selling. Even in so-called ‘Detroit of Asia’ (Thailand), EV sales are abysmal. If I’m not mistaken, Malaysia is the leading market in Asia for EVs (and Hybrids too in the past before our government abolished the tax rebates for CBU Hybrids).

I have my doubts on how successful EVs will be here, but I would still like to extend my support to all the parties who are working on making our EV industry the biggest in ASEAN.

• Albert on Sep 12, 2015 at 9:12 am

Dear Aero,its nothing wrong to be optimistic but their data showed they have 800 plus active users only.
      They need maybe 30 to 50 thousand users to make money due to heavy upfront investments.
      There is a certain community in Bolehland that likes to SYIOK SENDIRI,BERGAYA,SHOW OFF,EXTRA GUNG HO..just like those actors/actresses BUT they miss the point entirely…PROFITS.
      Perhaps,they are waiting for donations from the new Santa from middle East to bail them out if things turn sour.
      Shambolic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • start a fight on Sep 14, 2015 at 12:58 pm

user count is nothing to shout about when you are doing this kind of business. go back to school albert and learn basic economy.

if u argue on the hours and mileage operation… and yups I agree with you, it is a slow start. however, good start nonetheless.

wonder why u so butthurt

• C.P. MOHAN on Sep 12, 2015 at 10:19 am

All marketing not reality talk or pitch.

• Another “dirt collector program” start 2015-2020

• Kanji on Sep 13, 2015 at 3:36 pm

Well this is a good idea – on paper. But CoMos is a GLC isnt it? Sadly we all know how that will turn out.

• start a fight on Sep 14, 2015 at 12:55 pm

how come COMOS is GLC. read more people. internet is more than porn and politics.

• Kanji on Sep 14, 2015 at 4:41 pm

You mean it isnt? Im glad to be proven wrong.

• Jaeger project on Sep 14, 2015 at 4:52 pm

Their partners are GreenTech Malaysia and the Malaysian Automotive Institute. Go google these youself and figure out if this smells like a GLC before you talk of porn and politics.

• eastsiders on Sep 14, 2015 at 8:56 am

what about the east coast sector?