Giugiaro plans return, may work with Asian carmakers

VWGolfMk7_0089

Just months ago, Giorgetto Giugiaro announced his resignation from the company that he founded, Italdesign Giugiaro SpA. The Italian – best known for designing cars such as the iconic Mk1 Volkswagen Golf, the Alfa Romeo 159 and the Proton Emas concept – isn’t quite ready to retire just yet, Automotive News reports.

To recap on the series of events, Giugiaro sold off his 90.1% share to Volkswagen back in 2010, while still retaining a key position within the company. In June this year, he relinquished his position as honorary chairman and withdrew from the Italdesign Giugiaro board. Following this, the remaining 9.9% shares owned by both himself and his son, Fabrizio, was then sold off at about the same time.

The 77-year-old was quoted as saying that he didn’t feel old enough to retire. “I will continue to do the only thing I’m good at, designing cars,” he said recently. Picking up where they left off, the father and son team is said to be on the lookout for a green field site or a current facility, as they plan to start a new design and modelling company.

Work offers are reportedly coming in for the Giugiaro team, although not from Europe as one would expect but from Chinese and South Korean automakers. When asked directly on which Asian automakers have made such offers, Fabrizio Giugiaro replied, “it is too soon to elaborate.”

Despite that, the younger Giugiaro has confirmed that both father and son will be making a comeback in the very near future. “We are just at the beginning of our talks so it is really premature to say something more, but we will definitely come back to the car design business,” he stated.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• dewaSemut on Sep 21, 2015 at 4:59 pm

PROTON!!!!!

• Giugiaro on Sep 21, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Definitely not. I’ll leave that to Azlan

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 21, 2015 at 7:10 pm

Design is never Proton’s problem, build quality is. Wake up dude!
        Proton doesn’t need a designer, it need ENGINEER!!!

• Peter Schreyer on Sep 21, 2015 at 8:33 pm

See the new Accordana and you’ll know they do have design problem as well

• CarmenTung on Sep 22, 2015 at 7:19 am

You got to be kidding, the new Perdana design is majestic !

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 22, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Any rebadged Proton is still ok to buy. Proton best quality only available with rebadged models.

That’s why you see those Preve, Suprima S and Iriz only parked in the warehouse, but not driven on the road.

• fast5 on Sep 21, 2015 at 5:12 pm

Please return !!! I mean the girl :D

• GTR 2.0 on Sep 21, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Proton, just offer him the contract. Do it before launch your new Perdana. Plsssssss, I beg U.

• Briss Cangle on Sep 21, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Sorry lah he won’t waste his time and talent to Proton. Offer gaji 2.6bil pun rela tak mau.

• Absolute Rider on Sep 21, 2015 at 6:32 pm

PROTON…. satu-satunya!! Anyway, I think he will pick China’s auto company.

The 77-year-old was quoted as saying that he didn’t feel old enough to retire. “I will continue to do the only thing I’m good at, designing cars,” he said recently.

“I’LL BE BACK” – Giugiaro

• Ta Nah Jaa Koon on Sep 21, 2015 at 8:31 pm

D girl got poisoned deeply, looking at her pale face and blue lips. Where’s the antidote?

• Random Comment 1 on Sep 21, 2015 at 10:27 pm

I own a car designed by Giugiaro,it is a Chevrolet Spark based on a Fiat 500 concept penned by Giugiaro in the 90s, I really love the cute round looks of this car, picked itup a year ago from a expat owner on Mudah at RM 7000 as he was leaving the country.

http://img.favcars.com/chevrolet/spark/wallpapers_chevrolet_spark_2003_1.jpg

• azrai on Sep 22, 2015 at 8:26 am

This old man is great, but as great as Jimmy Choo, he sold his company and want to make a comeback using other’s money. In this case the Asian’s.