Proton Wira cuts toll queue, gets crushed by lorry

This terrible accident happened when the Proton Wira involved switched lanes (presumably out of the sudden) and tried to cut into the queue of vehicles at the toll booth.

With more and more toll plazas switching to increase the amount of electronic payment lanes and reducing cash lanes, motorists should take note of what payment method they want to use and be sure they are in the lane that they want to use well before the queues start to prevent such incidences from happening.

If you do happen to have to switch lanes into the middle of one that already has a long queue, do not do so suddenly. Turn on your indicators and wait until someone who is completely aware of the manoeuvre that you want to do allows you to cut in.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wira drivers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 70
    • Ahhh same thing inside my head

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
    • alldisc on Oct 02, 2015 at 7:04 pm

on top of my head now… are these wira drivers upgraded from myvi or they buy wira first before upgrading to myvi?

lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
    • rewq is stupid on Oct 03, 2015 at 11:18 am

Stupid.. Its not the car its the driver.. U must be a bad driver considering you stereotyping by the car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
    • This is a really incredibly stupid stereotype. Grow a brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • pungkoq on Oct 02, 2015 at 5:15 pm

in malaysia, one does not simply allow other cars to cut in even if u indicate..hard to find those ppl nowadays XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 14
    • alldisc on Oct 02, 2015 at 7:05 pm

do you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • NightWatch on Oct 02, 2015 at 7:09 pm

If that said person required to cut in an appropriate manner then very often people will give way. What irritates most of us is when the motorist failed to indicate before cutting in. On top of that, we really don’t appreciate queue cutter as this is unfair to those who have waited patiently in the queue. These queue cutters are no different from parasites or douchebag opportunists.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 215 Thumb down 0
      • Frm fb , the driver looks OK although drenched in blood. I was even more surprised that he’s still alive!

• Teabags on Oct 03, 2015 at 7:37 pm

Douchebags like you are the reason why people in an emergency always dies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
        • RavenAii (Member) on May 08, 2016 at 11:57 pm

While douchebags like you are the reason why people pretend they’re in emergency so that they can cut waiting lines. People nowadays had hard time to differentiate emergency and line-cutters.

• Shariff on Oct 02, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Can the wira driver see the sign that the lane is meant for lorry ma! Ayooooo

• drkyon on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:24 pm

I will allow if they give signal,wouldnt you?

• kehkehkeh on Oct 02, 2015 at 5:19 pm

harap mampus la driver tu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 63
    • John Rayz on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:23 pm

And we hope the same goes to you too. Ignorant fools are everywhere, maybe you’ve done the same previously but luck was clearly on your side. Praying for others mishap is a inconsiderate and total ignorant. Let us all hope that his mistake is a lesson for all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 9
  • not me on Oct 02, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Have patience or you’ll end up as a patient..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 5
  • Here i clap for you..take that and dream it everydays.

(lorry driver)

• alldisc on Oct 02, 2015 at 7:08 pm

but the actual sentence is… i am sorry. but you should not expect lorries to have ceramic, cross drilled and ventilated disc brakes all round. with ABS. and EBD.

in fact, not a single disc brake in use.

our braking distance is shorter than a locomotive. or a tanker ship. but thats it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Karma on Oct 02, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Everyday without fail I will see queue cutters on the road whether it’s peak hour or not. It’s just a bad habit than cannot be changed by some individuals. Hope this serve as a message to all those moronic queue cutters than they aren’t always lucky. To those who abide the law and queued up patiently, kudos to u guys!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 0
  • Definitely not blind spot . Malaysian drivers. Typical. We experience this everyday especially morning rush hours. If people que up in line for purchases or payments why don’t apply the same while driving

• is it that troublesome and hard just to go get a TnG card?

i do not understand why people still queue for minutes to pay cash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Total destruction for car, minor scratches for lorry

• rahman on Oct 02, 2015 at 8:58 pm

If one cant be helpful one must not be a nuisance, at least

• rahman on Oct 02, 2015 at 8:59 pm

If one cant be of use at least dont be a nuisance

• RIP

• Aero (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:04 pm

That’s a nice Perdana V6 cruiser. I didn’t know our PDRM still used Perdanas that old.

• Dang.. this is something I always want to do if I ever drive a lorry

• Well serves that fella right but cutting lanes. I’m sorry but Malaysian drivers mostly love doing these stunts and it’s very annoying

• Shahrul on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:29 am

To those who said only malaysian car drivers are cutting in lines, i give you my middle finger. This is not about what car you drive, this is about attitude. I have seen many people using imported cars showing impatience beyond believe. So all those malaysian car bangers should stfu!

• Cheng On on Oct 03, 2015 at 10:12 am

Not the wira driver’s fault. Happened to me before. Once i get into proton, i suddenly become dumber than before, so when ppl in that state, accident tend to happen.

Not only proton, whenever i comeback to malaysia from oversea, somehow my IQ get lower. When i fly out, my brain get back its original high IQ.

When i read malaysian portal like paultan, i become stupid n leave stupid comment. Nvr happen with foreigns blog.

Seriously considering migrating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Hi Cheng On.
      I think you should migrate. You may learn both better grammar and manners. I also think the rest of us Malaysians would celebrate an idiot like you gone.
      Cheers! :)

• Paul it’s jump q not cut q

• Deserve

• Cheng On on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:02 pm

This is example how stupid malaysian are, always judging ppl by english and its grammar. Hey buddy, many of us chinese survive and become rich through out the world not knowing how to speak english or local language. Those who so called can speak english well always end up working for other as employee. They key yo success is hardworking, not grammar. But here in malaysia, the lazy majority get jealous with hardworking people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Please learn on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Your condescending attitude will guranttee you a backlash in which ever country you intend to go to and if you are already there , then you should know your place in society by now.

• drebarbas on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Dear Paul,
    Is this really an ‘accident’. One of the definitions of accident is “an event that happens by chance or that is without apparent or deliberate cause.”
    An ‘accident’ implies that no one was at fault and/or unavoidable.

From what I gather from your article, this is not an accident. It was most probably caused by a person who simply disregarded a traffic law by cutting queue, not leaving sufficient space for another vehicle to manoeuvre (and brake) and by not using the cars indicators.

So by no means is this unavoidable.

So why call it an ‘accident?’

Call it a ‘crash’ instead.

• Please learn on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:29 pm

Your point being.?…His error should be further highlighted?

• Marissa on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:26 am

Well he deserve what he gets, that lane is for lorry though

• I had witness many times, we all in queue. The car behind my car signal out and cut que in front of my car. I was like what the h***? Everyone also hurry in time ma, everyone also rush. Got signal, Cut que like that is too selfish, i dont give a damn everytime and i will drive to front to block the way.

• Curse on Oct 04, 2015 at 7:54 am

Not dead yet? I wish #hope moron drivers are dead. They think they are king of the road or the road belongs to them. I hope they are in coma and under tubings and on life support. Sorry for being negative. Been pressured from politics all the way up to a normal life being ruined by moronic citizens.

• Kenny on Jun 03, 2016 at 2:34 pm

Dia ingat Wira dia tu Mitsubishi EvolutionV kot………0-100kmh in 3 seconds.

Padan muka…………habis kondem kereta sendiri tanggung.

• Gong Gong Ka on Jun 24, 2016 at 7:23 pm

MalaysIA bOLEH. jUST LIKE HOLLYWOOD ACTION MOVIE LAH…..