BMW F 700 GS and F 800 R introduced in Malaysia

BMW Motorrad F 700 GS Adventure-07

BMW Motorrad Malaysia has just unveiled two Thai-assembled bikes, the BMW F 700 GS and the F 800 R – both models are built at the BMW Motorrad’s plant in Rayong.

Both feature a 798 cc two-cylinder, liquid cooled engine with electronic fuel injection, mated with a six-speed gearbox. In addition to that, both also feature BMW Motorrad ABS as standard – part of BMW Motorrad’s “Safety 360°” principle. In the cockpit, the F 700 and F 800 R features BMW Motorrad onboard computer which displays average speed, fuel consumption and range.

Made for off-road use, the F 700 GS replaces the F 650 GS, and output numbers are 75 hp and 77 Nm of torque. The bike comes with a 790 mm low seat option as standard, and new paint schemes feature, namely Alpine White, Blackstorm and Racing Blue. Also new on the bike are LED turn indicators, fitted on the turn indicator glass.

BMW Motorrad F 800 R Roadster-06

As for the BMW F 800 R enduro model, the lightweight roadster bike comes with a higher power output, making 87 hp and 86 Nm. It also gets a lower seat height (780 mm), as well as a Black seat as standard, which is also adjustable. Aside from ABS, the F 800 R features automatic stability control (ASC) and electronic suspension adjustment (ESA).

The standard F 800 R comes in two colour options, racing blue metallic and light white. Complementing the F 800 R is the R Sport variant. Additional features for that one include a tyre pressure control (RDC) monitoring system and an LED rear light along with a black engine spoiler.

Now available in BMW Motorrad dealerships, the BMW F 700 GS is priced at RM56,900, while the F 800 R goes for RM49,900 and the R Sport variant at RM53,500, all prices on-the-road, excluding insurance. Additionally, both bikes will be featured at the BMW Motorrad on Tour Top Up Store at the MotoGP Malaysia in Sepang on October 23 and 25.

BMW F 700 GS

BMW F 800 R

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Ootai on Oct 19, 2015 at 7:03 pm

If you want a brand new beemer, but you can’t afford those on four wheels. What should you do?? Get those on two wheels, courtesy of our neighbors, made in Siam. Sawadee kap. Vroom.

• brianxyz on Oct 19, 2015 at 8:15 pm

I thought the rich ppl here are all kiasi one. Ride a motorbike in Malaysia is highly risky business. Avoid it if you can. Please another hobby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Grack on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:43 am

Pricing very attractive but wonder Thai assemble quality can be acceptable?

• mamakpe on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:42 am

Very happy to see bmw efforts to lower the price of german bikes. Its worth every ringgit to buy a beem bike. With help from tppa ,i hope it gets lower and affordable. If the jpj decides to abolish roadtax for bikes regardless of capacity, it will be an attractive situation. it will even reduce mat rempits and encourage safe riding culture & reduce traffic jams .
    When bmw bikes are reach able,Then you realise no one wants a jap bike, we were forced to buy rubbish because unfair regulations. Japs only get fatter…
    Thank you bmw motorrad malaysia,my sincere gratitude to you.

• mamakpe on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:50 am

I prefer the GS here because upright riding, no back aches pain, super comfy ,good clear view of surroundings.

• Rajandran Kanan on Mar 05, 2017 at 3:13 pm

please post me where to buy F800 at a best offer