Over 500 north-bound buses to use TBS Bandar Tasik Selatan from Nov 1, no more Pudu Sentral – SPAD

MK02_160208_KTB_SKYVIEW

Those who frequent Pudu Sentral (formerly known as Puduraya) for bus trips take note. Over 500 north-bound express buses using the city centre base will be moving to the Terminal Bersepadu Selatan (TBS) in Bandar Tasik Selatan come November 1.

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) said the move was expected to reduce congestion in Kuala Lumpur and would affect bus riders heading to Perak, Penang, Kedah and Perlis, The Star reported.

“Under this move, 545 of the 635 northbound express buses operating from Pudu Sentral will be diverted away from the city centre. This will help reduce the traffic congestion faced by commuters in the Pudu Sentral vicintiy and in the long term decongest the central business district in the city,” a SPAD spokesman said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Tukar Albar Cepat Cepat on Oct 20, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Good move SPAD. Now the only thing you must do is remove Albar as your big boss. Cause his wife owns too many teksi companies and Albar cannot be impartial when the teksi drivers crucify Uber and Grabcar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • carlies on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:10 pm

To be frank, the TBS at Bdr Tasik Selatan is quite a successful project as an express bus transit hub. I’ve been using Puduraya long time ago which without renovation and now to TBS.

Good improvement we praise, bad things we criticize! TBS is really a good job! Well done!

• Proton achieving 15% TIV in 2015 on Oct 20, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Then why waste so many millions in upgrading and refurbish Pudu Sentral in the first place? Just like the AES, Pudu Sentral is a deliberate stupid planing to enrich the cronies, because they knew from the start the traffic there will gonna render Pudu Sentral handicap in handling the woefully congested bus flow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • HaIrI on Oct 20, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Well it’s have second function as UTC for gov agencies there.

• MoFaz (Member) on Oct 20, 2015 at 6:13 pm

only express bus (inter-city) will move to TBS. Pudu is still a bus station for city bus.

• if only gov know how to do things with proper planning…

• Syed Albar. Pudu pipu will thank you.

• Ollie on Oct 20, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Two cents:
    For buses going north, hub should be in North. Many suitable places: One Utama has Aeroline hub, KL Sentral also can use (a few incl Transnasional, Nice are at KL Sentral), ideally would be Sg Buloh.

But should definitely be near the NKVE, simple logic!! Not from BTS, how far to travel through MRR2 to reach NKVE!! Kepong, Damansara, even Selayang/Batu Caves would be an option so that travelers can easily take inner-city services, i.e. KTM Kepong/Sg Buloh/Kepong Sentral/Kelana Jaya and LRT Terminal Putra/Tmn Melati to arrive at the hub using non-road transport.

Is this really rocket science? SPAD is just so ST__ID.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 11
    • No connectivity. What about pipu who wanna travel north to south or vice versa? You asking them to take ANOTHER bus to traverse length of KL/Selangor and stops along the way just to go to another connecting bus? You are discriminating against these travelers with your half-cooked ideas. No, its not rocket science but its no fools game either and it takes a fool to suggest something ST__ID.

• Power on Oct 20, 2015 at 11:33 pm

yup, every day we hear ass-idea for years from the Gov..current crops of MP not only dont have qualification, experience, common logic also loosing since their only logic is benefiting the cronies through building projects and projects

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 21, 2015 at 8:19 am

Precisely what I was thinking.

They should have made Kepong Sentral or Sg Buloh the hub since both MRT and Komuter will service them.

• masalahnya di TBS bila time kemuncak jalan untuk turun dan ambil penumpang jadi panjang sampai org potong que.. klu boleh asingkan turun dan ambil penumpang.. parking pon bermasalah disana.. harap dapat menambah baik..

• gavyin on Oct 20, 2015 at 6:36 pm

at least the TBS didn’t become white elephant

• trololololol on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:50 pm

Then time to rename TBS as it no longer served it purposed of Selatan

• No connectivity. What about pipu who wanna travel north to south or vice versa? You asking them to take ANOTHER bus to traverse length of KL/Selangor and stops along the way just to go to another connecting bus? You are discriminating against these travelers with your half-cooked ideas. No, its not rocket science but its no fools game and it takes a fool to suggest something ST__ID.

• Susukotak on Oct 20, 2015 at 10:31 pm

Sampai masa ada buat demo di BTS yang menyebabkan jam teruk di MRR2…. SPAD kata…
    Kita kena buat satu lagi terminal di Sungai Buloh.

• i couldnt agree more on this.. Shut down the inter-city service at Pudu. At the same time, tighten the security and operation of TBS.. more SPAD officer to overcome the “ULAT TIKET” problem. Make the current ticketing service become better, let it be Online and secure way to purchase ticket.

• A move with a motive, to promote usage of KTM’s ETS trains for the North sector. Just make sure that there are sufficient trains to cope with the demand. Goodbye bus operators and their Ulat Tiket.