Driven Web Series 2015: we’ll be back on November 25 – tell us what you think of the season so far

Driven Web Series 2015 EP4_01

Hey folks, Driven Web Series 2015 is on a mid-season break at the moment, as we plan to feature newer, recently launched and yet-to-be-launched models in the second half of the series. Don’t fret, we’ve got a great line-up for the last three episodes of the year.

We will be back with a brand new episode on November 25. Want a hint? Let’s just say we will pick up where we left off, and assess one of the most popular vehicle categories in Malaysia.

In the meantime, do watch the first four episodes of Driven Web Series 2015, and tell what you think so far.

Episode 1 – Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG vs CLA 45 AMG vs GLA 45 AMG

Episode 2 – Honda HR-V 1.8V vs Mazda CX-5 2.0 GL vs Kia Sportage 2WD

Episode 3 – Toyota Camry Hybrid vs Ford Mondeo vs Peugeot 508 GT

Episode 4 – Perodua Axia 1.0 SE vs Proton Iriz 1.3 vs Kia Picanto 1.2

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• DPCraft on Nov 05, 2015 at 10:02 pm

I miss the silly jokes from previous seasons :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Kipidap Driven on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:23 am

So far quite okay and compare those cars mostly relevant to rakyat’s income except those Mercedes cars.

Driven next should compare on:
      – Pickups (Hilux vs Triton etc)
      – MPV (Exora vs Avanza Alza Livina etc)
      – large SUV (Fortuner vs Everest, Pajero Sport etc)

Once in a while it’s okay lah for sportcars review like Merc GT vs 911 etc to escape a bit from reality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rrrr on Nov 06, 2015 at 11:53 am

Economy is getting bad. You guys should educate the readers with important financial knowledge like determining affordability, car maintenance, reliability and break down frequency, total cost of ownership, resale value etc.

It is easy to buy car, but not easy to own/maintain the car and every year a lot of young Malaysians declare bankruptcy due to cars. Please contribute to curb this.

• karam singh on Nov 06, 2015 at 12:13 pm

How about safety 1st ?
          lives > money
          put that in mind first.

• Driven Show on AP Please on Nov 06, 2015 at 10:29 am

You guys are amazing. Thank you for such good episodes. But next time, besides Driven, PT team need to also have debates and discussions on our AP system and why it is still maintained.

The Government has been conning the rakyat for years and every year, they come out with new schemes to delay the abolishment of the AP system

The AP system supposed to be abolished in Dec 2015 but now they have extended it indefinitely.

I hope Driven team can come out with articles and debates on why these 30 PEKEMA members are getting richer at the expense of 30 million people.

Just set up a counter in Putrajaya where individuals can go and apply AP straight from the Government and import our own cars directly.

As you know, the AP holders in Malaysia cheat the rakyat big time. Nearly every car is worn out with extremely high mileage. The AP holders clock down the odometer and we Malaysians are at the losing end because we think we are buying a low milegae car but in reality it is over 200,000KM

Driven need to do an article and an episode on this. It is not just reviews we want, we also want to understand why the Government want to enrich their 30 cronies at our expense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • DonkeyKong on Nov 06, 2015 at 11:15 am

It’s a free market. As long as there’s demand for such 2nd hand cars from AP holders, the industry will be sustained.

If we can purchase an AP for RM20k (it will certainly be priced high) and import our own cars, it would also mean that only the rich can afford it. What’s the difference between that and how those who can afford it purchasing their cars from AP holders currently?

It will be impossible for APs to be priced at RM100 or RM200. It will be priced beyond the reach of ordinary people for simple economic reason – if it’s cheap, our market will be flooded with cheap foreign cars and there’ll be no market for our local industries, there will be no revenue for the government from sales and import duties, etc. It will cause our economy to slide and our currency to depreciate and it essentially encourages capital outflow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Donkey on Nov 06, 2015 at 11:27 am

Talk rubbish again donkey?

• Donkey Bodoh on Nov 06, 2015 at 3:44 pm

bodoh statement from a donkey. So if there is demand for murders, we should allow murders in Malaysia ah?

• Lumpis pato on Nov 05, 2015 at 10:14 pm

Something’s amiss

• Wahaha on Nov 05, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Maybe I expected too much but I thought previous season productions are alot better.

This time, after the first four episodes, to me it’s kinda like DRIVEN: walkabout videos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • munyew90 on Nov 05, 2015 at 10:33 pm

Honestly, this season is kinda boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • tokmoh. on Nov 05, 2015 at 10:54 pm

I almost always end up having different opinion than presenters’ lol.

It feels everyone were just being yes-man, no attempt to see things differently and argue the merits of it. How diplomatic. That leaves an unsatisfying gut feel that you’re not trying hard enough. When its time to conclude, it should be a game of the better argument/merit wins.

I’ve never met Jonathan or Greg IRL, is that how you speak normally? It helps if you sound more natural, it’ll be more believable.

I could go really lengthy, but I guess the tldr version is :

– improve logic in the points you’re making.
    – just chill like you’re having normal conversation. May require more rehearsals to improve chemistry between presenters.

Nonetheless, the efforts are greatly appreciated. Here’s to more episodes to come and more enjoyable high quality contents. Cheers!

• Neonceejay on Nov 05, 2015 at 10:57 pm

To be honest, previous version was more entertaining.
    Well, i do know why you guys don’t want to talk too much in the show, but tbh the axia,iriz,picanto episode is the best one for me as
    A.) Perfectly describe how they drives. Which is a very good thing cuz the previous one when my dream car WRX STi appears Harvinder doesn’t tell a lot bout it… and let’s just don’t forget how hard it can be to ask for a manual tranny test drive unit.
    B.) It’s easily the most accessible car for Malaysian, at least. Cuz those are the everyday car, that people could buy.
    Watch car review, for me part of the fun was imagining “what if i own them?”. Showcasing premium and expensive car couldn’t help but give me a big slap, ask me to work harder in order to afford them.
    C.)Long enough with less…ehem(vulgar word, the extraction of male cow). Maybe I’m just a little too sarcastic for jokes and playing fool, i prefer the main point than lots and lots of WTH they are doing movement.
    No, i don’t denied or condemn hosts, as they’re trying their best too, just …

You know. It’s personal taste. I want joke i can go watch mr bean.
    But when it cames to car, a little joke is enough. Too much will spoil the whole thing up.

That’s all. Keep it up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • jonathan need a serious makeover!

• Gargantia on Nov 05, 2015 at 11:21 pm

So far seem good but not great, hope Driven can bring some chic as guest to make some introduction or briefing about the car… then host can start discuss more on the episode car. Main point please talk more on “unnecessary item and disadvantages safety spec” on the car models so that dealers and manufacturer can improve on that segment. The one with teh tarik on “safety hook” was the funniest hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Proton 15% TIV in 2015 on Nov 06, 2015 at 3:31 am

Chic doesn’t really go well with male car enthusiast, unless she’s Leona Chin or a typical car show model with sexy outfit. Call it patriarchy, but that’s a reality. They tried last season of inviting a chic into the show, but if you check the view count, the one episode with a chic in it is the least watched one.

• Gargantia on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:32 am

It because lack of entertainment value, look at top gear korea is fun to watch… (is a suggestion on or off still up to host and the crew members)

• DonkeyKong on Nov 06, 2015 at 11:18 am

I guess “chic” is really supposed to be “chick”?

• Savvy88 on Nov 05, 2015 at 11:37 pm

Bring back the ending-jokes

• CarNut on Nov 05, 2015 at 11:40 pm

Good stuff! Informative & useful. Keep it going guys.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 05, 2015 at 11:45 pm

I believe that constructive criticism should be delivered when due. So hear me out.

For me, season one was really really good. It was so loveable, and so relatable. Very good reviews, that really picked the mind I would say, like the case of the Honda Accord against the Mazda6, Vios against the Jazz Hybrid and the Golf GTI against the 1 series. Not to mentioned it was very friendly and just easy to digest (except Harve in a dress – we’ll not step into the deep dark land of that).

Season 2 had some chinks in the armour, like the F56 MINI against the VW Beetle and the overly cheesy Golf R against the WRX STI, but at the same time, there were some really good ones, like the Audi A3 against the 316i, and the Kia Optima against the Nissan Teana.

This season, for me has just lost the wow. It feels stale, it doesn’t really grab attention. For a start, the Mercedes A45, CLA45 and GLA45 one was just… it felt more like a walk around and product video than a review. It would have been quite different if it was say the GLA45 went against the RS Q3 (which obviously isn’t sold here), or more realistically, the A45 AMG against the Golf R and MINI John Cooper Works. The HRV against the CX5 was interesting, but again, just so dull. It didn’t really catch my attention that much – which was a surprise indeed considering I’m actually looking at that price bracket and have been toying with the potential idea of a base CX5… The Camry Hybrid one was a bit of a mixed bag too, while yes the Camry was a huge improvement over the old one, you couldn’t forgive the part how 1990s the interior and exterior looked compared to the Mondeo and 508, and how both the Ford and Peugeot have a much classier interior and better driving dynamics. The Axia against the Picanto and Iriz wasn’t half as bad, it was alright, but could have been even more interesting in terms of presentation. Having Harve in both the last 2 episodes was a good thing, I think, jokes aside, he brings a lot to the table and is a solid presenter. Same thing with Hafriz as well, I feel that both in season 1 and 2, Harve and Hafriz really made the show. Even Anthony would make a good presenter I feel, I find him the voice of reason and logic, especially after his Lexus presentation during the Accord vs Mazda6 episode in season one. And Sam Loo too.

It would actually be best to consider having a fixed set of presenters, and make them fixed to this show, while have the rest for the product videos etc. It builds familiarity and continuity within and between the seasons. Also, cut down the cheese, it doesn’t make the show any better – if at all it makes it a bit cringeworthy, especially the WRX one.

It may actually be useful to also consider having guests as well, but instead of celebrities etc, why not get the readers? Take a look at CarAdvice.com.au’s recent Correspondent competition, I think that was a real good way to shake up the show. Also, why not do like specials as well – i.e. an obstacle race of some sorts?

As for Petronas, I think you guys should not make the ads in the show so “in your face”, subtle ones like the ones in the first season were better. And try to make them blend in the show (like when Hafriz tried to get up to the same height of a Lewis Hamilton cutout – sorry Hafriz, not soon), not sore thumbs.

Once again, when due, I believe there should be room for improvement and critical comments. The show has a lot of potential, and I don’t want to see it go down the sliding slope.

PS: While I’m at it, it would be actually good if you guys could cut down on the “viral” stuff, i.e. the ones that get tagged as NOFP. I mean, once in a while it is okay, but seriously, some are just so so click-bait- like, especially on the Facebook page. This site grew cause of quality news and good editorials, we already get enough time wasters/water cooler articles (as I would call it) from Buzzfeed and Mashable.

• tokmoh. on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:51 am

I was just rewatching the Golf GTI vs A-class vs 1-series vs Volvo V40 video, and my God, Chris Ng was brilliant. He’s analytical and pays attention to details, now that’s what I’d expect from people whose main job is to review cars. You guys are professional at this, yet all just scratch the surface and everyone then just becomes “yes we agree, Camry best fc so win liao lor”. Where is he now, u guys should invite him back!

Readers as guests, interesting. I would gladly offer myself if they need a support to review a Volvo fufufufu :)))

I disagree on viral news. Paultan is trying to be relevant with local issues, so this is one way to give their input on local issues.

I reckon it’ll be better if it can be more visible, I can’t see it if I enter paultan directly on browser, but only through hotlink on fb.

• Golf MK7 Owner on Nov 05, 2015 at 11:59 pm

I prefer some moderate jokes but not too over the top or excessive. Keep those brief and funny will do. As for the car reviews, why not show us more of the car interior in future videos. Throughout the past few epsiodes this season, the camera has been shining on too much exterior and on the hosts :) obviously. So i would appreciate the more detailed walkthrough on the interior because that’s where we gonna spend most of our driving time in. For the good points, the summary of the vehicle prices and specs right at the beginning is a plus for quick and easy comparison.Also, a vast improvement of hosting from the presenters. Last but not least, good camera work but can still be enhanced for better showcase of road racing and exterior shots. Good job guys. Overall, it is a good season and of course all the readers and viewers would want to see lots more improvement and refinement in future episodes. I am anticipating for more than just 7 episodes if possible. Cheers :)

• dugongx on Nov 06, 2015 at 1:15 am

IN the past season we always have a surprised ending…which is lacking now

• nabill (Member) on Nov 06, 2015 at 1:33 am

u dont have to make it perfect , we can easily recomment a billion ways , bt the show has its own flavour , it doesnt have to copy other shows..just be yourself i guess

although i do agree than the presenters need to loosen up abit , it feels abit robotic at times , but maybe it takes time to be natural infront of the camera…

just carry on , i mean its the only proper local show we have , obviously we want more episodes , but that probably means u need more sponsors!

and its always good NOT to be politically correct , just say what you really think..voice out the real opinion not just to please the audience…and for heavens sake , please do hand samloo to the authorities or ISA or sting…it might be funny to some,bt its a horrible idea!

just one idea if i may,wdnt be nice if some of the readers be involved somehow in the episodes? like a mini discussion or opinion abt something…wd be cool…!

• Aero (Member) on Nov 06, 2015 at 1:35 am

I think the new season is fine. It’s just that many people are getting bored of the same old style of presentation and expect more innovation from the team.

If I were to suggest anything, I would suggest adding more context in the reviews… especially technical context (even some simple infographics will really help !), but also historical context. There has to be some sort of solid, convincing and factual justification for the verdicts. The Iriz vs. Axia vs. Picanto one was the best one so far, because it had the most context, was very relatable and was mostly facts-based. The one about the SUVs was also good. But the one about the D-segment sedans was just too ambiguous and inconclusive… and I don’t blame you guys, it must have been so hard to choose a winner ! For these kind of ‘impossible’ comparisons, I think it’s better if the style of presentation were to be more entertaining than informative… something like the Bukit Tinggi/ Karamjit Singh episode, but toned down a bit. The AMG episode I’m not so sure what to say, but I thought it was ok, unconventional intro aside lah. haha

You guys should continue doing what you do. Don’t let the haters bring you down, you guys are new to the team and we understand that it’s not an easy job. Half of these so-called expert critics here in the comments section can only cakap besar like Jeremy Clarkson with their keyboards, but I’m willing to bet that only a handful can actually pull it off on a TV show for tens of thousands of viewers… it’s not simple.

• All in all, very good effort.

I don’t know how it is behind the scenes but maybe you guys can try doing it without a full script. The acting always seemed “forced” and very structured (1 guys speaks for 5 sec and then moves to the 2nd guy for another 5 sec and then to the 3rd for another 5 sec). Just have points and some car facts and try to “go with the flow”. It’ll probably come out more natural.

And please, no silly low-budget ‘magic tricks’ (re: SUV episode). Makes it seem very desperate and well, silly. If you really have to do it, don’t take up too much time for it.

Another thing, physical variety in the presenters. Having all the presenters looking almost the same is boring. It’s like watching triplets reviewing cars. And they need to have different personalities and interests..they can’t all look like geeks.

Previous season worked : Harv as the speed freak, Jonathan as the geek and Hafriz the short colorful-shirt-wearing bloke who likes things a certain way. It’s not exactly Top Gear but your own version reflective of typical Malaysian drivers. Why not an older bloke? A family man? This season seemed too much like a college/uni video project.

• panjang on Nov 06, 2015 at 7:38 am

I dont watch all of the series but from what i have seen is that you are playing too safe. I would prefer a straight and blunt statement then mix it with a bit of meaningful joke.I do believe most of the viewers/consumer nowadays are a bit more intelligent.We dont need people telling us over and over again what we already know/heard.

Still,i will watched you guys rather than all the nonsense news report and tv show on air any day if you decided to be on tv.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 06, 2015 at 8:09 am

lets be honest, u had 3 AMG’s..no wait…4 AMG’s at your disposal and that was all you guys could do? it felt like a honda city review than an AMG review

• applegreen on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:11 am

If u guys wanna create entertaining driven series, i think u can take a look at how carbuyer, motortrend, the fast lane car did for their web videos. Apart from telling us fuel consumption, try to create how does the car perform when using ron97, how about using petronas engine oil,etc.

• Captain Slow on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:16 am

Please bring back Sam Loo!!!

• Bob-Wonder on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:19 am

Awesome show. Except for Greg who is very “kaku”. Other than that, the show sounds very scripted. Keep it up!

• old dog on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:19 am

the choice of cars compared can be better…

HRV vs CX5 vx Sportage is bad.

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:22 am

I always watch your videos and I lool forward to new episodes. It’s great to have a series doing head to head comparisons in Malaysia. Well done, guys.

The only episode I didn’t like was the one with the racing driver on Bukit Tinggi. It lacked information on the cars.

The new series is great. I want to see more comparisons of cars Malaysians actually buy but then every episode would be the Myvi vs…

• greg need to tone down on his over-acting

• I want to see instead of comparing 3 cars. Just review one car with 3 commenters who has their own view and more in depth review. If want to compare 3 cars, compare those common cars with more depth driving methods in rural and urban road. I liked hw u guys did the amg benz episode and axia

• If you want to raise the bar, please look into maintenance & reliability issue… the pug depollution problem, DSG and engine oil burn in relatively new german car. or interview with some car club/owner what they feel good/bad about their car.
    I cant recall which car magazine I read before but it sound something like this….. I wont won a VW after it warranty period !

Similarly … why not some shot on the bodoh sombong customer (OR the service advisor) when they visit the service center? I am sure you have endless joke on that ! haha….

• Lilian on Nov 09, 2015 at 2:29 pm

In fact, I have to say this. VW had improved in term on their car backup service on maintenance and reliability. So far as an owner for VW Jetta, I have no problem with their back up service and my car.
      Well, have to share that you information. Maybe is ages ago, which is not the most updated one!

• The new season is fine and actually is a pretty damn good (guess who said sometg like this…).. However, because of previous Driven were more entertaining with silly jokes, then some of viewers might feel a little bit bored. My comment, maybe u can put like a really silly joke for a short moment, but then the rest should be content. p.s. can’t u make it like a car vs. jet :P

• Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 06, 2015 at 11:48 pm

I feel that you guys (driven team) should cover pick up trucks and MPV

• thebosssedangbercakap on Nov 07, 2015 at 12:08 pm

make it in bahasa malaysia.

why? we (consumer)/paultan supporter have many choices of car channel on youtube for our consumption.

why dont you cater the mass market in malaysia.

go learn a few from those indonesian car vloggers.

when you guys spoke in english, for us it seems too unrealistic. speak up like a true malaysian. dont be ashamed of the malaysian language. heck i even watch those dutch car reviews with subtitles.

• Rakyat Malaysia harus diterap dlm minda utk mendahulukan faktor keselamatan dlm pemilihan kenderaan baru,seperti d negara2 Euro,bukannya pembelian kenderaan baru disebabkn trend , pengaruh rakan2 Dan status. D negara2 Euro mereka membuat research tentang sesebuah kenderaan sblum membeli. kenderaan yg paling byk alat keselamatan d dlm Nya , itu lah kereta yg Akan di pilih..