PLUSMiles toll rebates totalling RM51mil unclaimed

Toll

Toll rebates amounting to RM51 million under the PLUSMiles loyalty card programme still lays unclaimed, Deputy Works Minister Datuk Rosnah Abdul Rashid Shirlin said, in a report by Bernama.

Since the card was launched in 2009 and up to September 30 this year, toll rebates have accumulated to RM72 million. Out of that number, only RM21 million in toll rebates have been claimed so far, she told the Dewan Rakyat. She noted, however, that rebates must be redeemed within a period of 12 months. Exceeding the 12-month timeframe, any unclaimed rebates would be deemed void.

“To claim the rebate, a cardholder must go to the (PLUS) customer service counter for a verification process before the rebate can be credited to the card. If there are no problems, the redemption will take only five minutes,” she said. Similarly, PLUSMiles cardholders can choose to register online as well, Rosnah said.

Rosnah said that a direct rebate mechanism has not been implemented as of yet, this is due to the constraints in the current system. “However, PLUS in cooperation with Touch ‘n Go will always be open to suggestions and improvements, and PLUS will continue to study the best rebate mechanism for users,” she concluded.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• George Abdul on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:25 am

Wow another RM51 millions for the crony shareholders if unclaimed… So question how much in the past years that the unclaimed redeem had not been announce??? Fully total abuse by ministers and the cronies !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Nov 06, 2015 at 10:19 am

RM72 million is just theier published official figure. We don’t know the real amount. It might be few hundred million. All keep quiet.

Government actually no need to even have toll if there was no songlapping in Malaysia. All tolls are there because too many people are songlapping.

Big boss can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions. All the songlapping can go to making new highways with NO tolls and existing highways also can take out tolls.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor. Even given Tunship.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get toll free roads.

Problem is, Government own All toll operators are either UMNO big boys or direct cronies.

It is up to Government to reduce abolish toll charges. I repeat, toll concessionaires are ALL Government owned via Khazanah, EPF, PNB, Tabung Haji and various GLCs.
      Please do n’t ketuk the Rakyat anymore. This year Malaysian Government will collect record highest tax collection in the history of Malaysia. Just from GST alone, Gomen has collected RM50 billion in 4 months. You plus that with Income tax, Corporate Tax, Investments by EPF, Khazanah, duties, cukai, eksais etc….Malaysian Government this year is super rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • frossonice on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:35 am

Really? Right after Hari Raya, I went to a PLUS TNG to reload my card which is by the way, the Plusmiles card. When asked about any rebates, they promptly told there is no rebate anymore without even checking the system.

I don’t really think they are sincere enough to honour it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 0
    • I am fully agree with you as I facing similar issues many times until I show them the print out of the rebate….Then they only “willing” to check….after they respond system belum update lagi ?…WTH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • 4G63T DSM on Nov 06, 2015 at 1:20 pm

I myself have about rm200 of unclaimed rebate but not been able to claim it. So it’s considered “burned”.

TnG says they are no longer able to process it due to a “change of system”. Wow, so convenient.

I suspect, it’s all a sham anyway.

• Rebate on Nov 06, 2015 at 3:34 pm

I’ve been redeeming my rebates for the past 2 years without much problem exceptthe redemption needs to be in multiple of RM10.
      If you have total rebate is less than RM10, then forget about redeeming it.

• tohellwithplagiarism on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:46 am

Every time when either of my family members went over to counter for credit reload and asked along if we could claim our rebate, reason given amuses me. For exp : claim untuk minggukedua shj. ; system down bruhh ; rebate encik dah expired ; changes of timing to claim rebate. 1/6 times is the success rate to claim lol. Kita rakyat bagi BN maciam sohai so ok laaaa Kan. Hidup 1Msia ! Hidup 1mdb ! Hidup Rosmah !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • HaIrI on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:53 am

Please use the unclaimed money to fix/revamp the system and offer direct toll rebates to consumer instead of asking paying customer to go to collect their rebates at selected branch/toll plaza. It is much hassle for current practices as not everybody have the time to redeem and sometimes we are unaware of such rebates until it is too late to claim from PLUS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Matchy on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:53 am

Is it really that hard to implement the direct rebate mechanism?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • badman on Nov 06, 2015 at 2:41 pm

What i remember around 4-5 yrs ago..they can implement the ‘on the spot rebate’ during festive season. Before rebate around rm40+ from sg buloh to juru and rm34-37 something after rebate that charged directly on the spot. Hows that dep minister of works say (in dewan rakyat recently) it takes time to adjust the system????
      think the folks are stupid dumb a**???

• TheDuh on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:56 am

What bull crap is this Touch N Go?
    Why can’t you just give the discount on the spot when we go through the toll plaza?

Why do you need to show us that you are stupid and lazy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • xxxxxxxx on Nov 06, 2015 at 9:56 am

use the unclamimed to reduce toll fees for 1 year la.

• A Khalil on Nov 06, 2015 at 10:40 am

Dah baca komen orang ramai kat portal-portal tentang isu ini. Kadangkala aku tak faham jugak rakyat Msia ni. Takde rebate, dibagi rebate. Lepastu bila dah ada rebate, tak pi claim pulak dah. Apa yang susah sangat. Kalau nak pergi claim rebate pun malas, I rest my case lah. Semua kad loyalti ada tarikh luput dia, takkan nak tunggu sampai kiamat lak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 48
  • jobless on Nov 06, 2015 at 11:01 am

Just use the unclaimed millions to implement a system where rebates can be instantly deducted/granted…ini zaman sains & teknologi dunt give all those crap stories..current system is so troblesome have to wait certain dates and go to their office somemore…peope busy and sometimes the trip to their office alone the petol and toll more than the discount received

• Direct rebate would be the effective solution like LDP and other highways for festival discount

• Meera_rin on Nov 06, 2015 at 11:16 am

they cannot automate the rebate because some idiots dunno how to register their own TnG card.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Ranter on Nov 07, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Then those PLUS idiots should provide the facilities and help some idiots who doesn’t know how to register TnG. Not categorize all brilliants as idiots!
      PLUS is giving excuses which is irrelevant to the current standards of technological advancements! What are they talking of (10+ years of old standards) having difficulty in automated rebates?
      bull* excuses by PLUS

• mama gatal on Nov 06, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Take other person money without permission is seems like ‘Merompak’ & ‘Mencuri’.

God will punish this heinous act.

• droll on Nov 07, 2015 at 9:58 pm

only works if the card is not lost. if you lost your tng, your rebate is also gone. so part of the unclaimed money could be from lost cards (and the thief also didn’t do the claim!)

the only workaround is you MUST register your card before you lose it.