RENDERED: Proton Persona sedan, based on Iriz

Persona2_front

Sightings of a new Proton Iriz-based sedan have intensified lately, leading to speculation that it will come to market in the near future as the next-generation Proton Persona – the return of the nameplate has been confirmed by Proton chairman Tun Mahathir Mohamad as being in the works, and the car wearing it is slated to be launched sometime next year.

As such, we have enlisted the services of rendering wizard Theophilus Chin to envision what a Persona based on the Iriz will look like. Clearly based on an earlier rendering (then tipped to be the next Saga), these pictures have nevertheless been worked on to better match the latest spyshots.

Visible changes from the original Iriz include slimmer headlights, now joined together by a broader chrome bar reminiscent of the new Civic Sedan and Corolla Altis. The fog light housings have also been reprofiled, while the lamps themselves are now circular instead of triangular like on the Iriz 1.6 Executive.

Persona2_rear

Moving back, the side profile is closer to the Iriz than on the earlier rendering (which was longer and lower), while the rear window line gains a C-shaped kink, similar to the Preve. The rear end has also been made longer, presumably in the interest of fitting a larger boot.

At the back sit almond-shaped tail lights, again joined by a chrome horizontal bar. The rear bumper also gets a black diffuser insert to give it a sportier feel, as well as to break up the visual bulk.

Persona2_side

Expect the Persona to be fitted with the same 1.3 and 1.6 litre VVT engines as the Iriz – at least for now – mated to a either a five-speed manual transmission or a CVT automatic.

Next year should also see the unveiling of the flagship Proton Perdana in the first quarter of 2016, along with a new Proton Saga that is expected to follow this Persona replacement. What do you think of Theo’s rendition?

GALLERY: 2014 Proton Persona Executive

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments reflect skepticism about Proton's quality, design, and sales performance, often citing low sales figures, quality issues, and outdated models like Iriz. Many express disappointment with Proton’s CVT transmission and engine performance, comparing Proton unfavorably to competitors like Toyota Vios and Perodua. There is praise for the rendered designs by Theo, with some hopeful that Proton will adopt more modern, appealing aesthetics and reliable engineering. Several comments mention Proton's ongoing struggles with trust, safety features, and market relevance, while some optimistic comments praise Proton’s potential if they improve quality and design. Overall, the sentiment is mixed, leaning towards criticism of Proton’s current state, but with admiration for the creative renderings and potential for improvement.

• ProtonGSC on Nov 13, 2015 at 10:42 am

One word nice work Theophilus Chen…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 7
    • Jaguh Global on Nov 13, 2015 at 10:53 am

Theopilus Chin as Proton chief designer = 1 Million car sales

Whoever currently Proton chief designer = 0.1 Million car sales

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 21
      • Same L0rrrr on Nov 13, 2015 at 12:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 161
        • Same shit on Nov 13, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Expensive??? 45k with ABS, ESP, TC, HHA, BA expensive?

What about your 90 plus K TRD Vios God Car edition with only ABS+EBD? What about your full spec MyVi God Car Special edition with only ABS+EBD with 2 airbags? Expensive? NO?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 174 Thumb down 10
          • Same L0rrrr on Nov 13, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Why our Vios priced RM90k? Ask your beloved MITI! Because of protecting the Proton, we have to jack up so much! You think we can’t sell at low price?

Owning the Proton is only car price? How naive. You need calculate the fuel, garage fee, tow truck fee, time loss due to sudden break down etc etc etc. There are solid reasons ppl don’t touch Proton, that why you see Proton can offer up to RM10k discount. Junk should be FOC and yet no one will bother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 91
          • katamba on Nov 14, 2015 at 8:40 am

To Same loor
            Check vios and camry price at indonesia… compare to malaysia price. Why their price as same as camry and vios in rosmahland?ermmm…maybe because indonesia offer their local made car like proton.. and the best part,that extra money goes to toyota, not to their gov…?

Let hope tppa come and give us the real story of big brand tekan cunsumer kaw kaw

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 139
          • ByourSELF on Nov 13, 2015 at 7:20 pm

hatuuuudiaaa….lagaknya seperti raja wali…

• JohnT on Nov 13, 2015 at 8:17 pm

Can you use other name please? You disgrace the name.

• Sammy Taik Loo on Nov 13, 2015 at 9:44 pm

Toyotaik cars are for dumbass tai lan ngong rich-wannabe people. People with no money but want to ‘action’ lebih. these people got no money because they are lazy like hell.

Please lah, Toyotaik owners, work hard and stop being lazy and daydreaming of ‘Good RV’ of your taik cars. Aim high in life. Don’t be a disgrace to yourself and your family by aiming for a jamban Toyotaik.

• Poorpeople on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:52 pm

Yes we are poor.. Yes you are rich.. For now lah. You children you never noes.. They could be driving proton someday… Dont talk like no education la. Kaya tapi cakap tak bertamadun takleh pergi jauh bro..

• Anonymous on Nov 14, 2015 at 12:03 am

Said by someone owning a Proton currently????

• SURESH on Nov 14, 2015 at 12:10 am

I USED TO DRIVE WIRA FOR 8 YEARS.NEVER GIVE A PROBLEM. THE ONLY REASON I CHANGED IS CAN AFFORD MORE EXPANSIVE CAR, IS BECAUSE I CAN AFFORD PRIUS. IF PROTON PRODUCED CAR LIKE PRIUS, I WILL BUY IT. BTW, PROTON BUYERS ARE DISGRACE? ACTUALLY YOU ARE DISGRACE.IT IS GOOD BUY FOR THE PRICE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
          • Chan Long on Nov 14, 2015 at 12:14 am

Thats because rich people like you john are only rip off other person money…dont be too proud of yourself…now you are in the sky high…future you never know…today we are a proton owner, maybe tomorrow its yours?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • Hatchback expensive???u tau calculate ke x ??1.6 premium just RM 62k complete with EBD ,ESC,Traction Ctrl,cvt,6 Airbag,auto lamp..compare with Myvi 1.5 extreme Ada apa???? Price RM 61k…keyboard warrior thinking level..very2 sad

• Theophilus Chin (Member) on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:00 am

Thanks!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 7
      • theo, i think proton will put the number plate at the bumper just like iriz and perdana…just my hunch..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
      • No name on Nov 13, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Good job theo….from the side its almost similar except for the tail light design….1 hint..the rear tail light is a single piece type…no light on the trunk lid….

• Trying hard to have constructive discussion konon. It still cannot cover that the this company is in deep dung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Same L0rrr on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:12 am

Still no DRL? Come on.. Toyota Vios already came with DRL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 46
      • Same shit on Nov 13, 2015 at 12:38 pm

NO DRL at least it is equipped with top notch safety features. Unlike your VIOS TRD God Car edition with only ABS+EBD with 2 airbags priced at an overwhelming 90k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
      • Same LOrr…u proton give full accessories pun kutuk jugak..x bli ,asyik kutuk saja…u drive keta apa?? Or just 20 year old Toyota …talk much

• camtakpro on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:19 am

Design failed. Proton must compulsory have ugly ass design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 62
    • OMG…Nice design, but if the engine still using back the lousy Campro 1.6….Sorry, no thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
  • The back looks City + Fiesta…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • werewr on Nov 13, 2015 at 10:46 am

Proton City !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • rizaine on Nov 13, 2015 at 8:28 pm

nice name…, but we can start with proton kampung first before turn to city

• John Trollvolta on Nov 13, 2015 at 10:48 am

Dat ass is nice tho. Can Proton please hire Theo already?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 7
  • somepissedoffdude on Nov 13, 2015 at 10:54 am

Sadly as good as this rendering looks, we all know that proton can NEVER come up with designs as good as this. Worse is that their egos will never let them admit that and actually hire GOOD designers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
  • No One Care on Nov 13, 2015 at 10:59 am

Not bad. But the rear is so weird(in an ugly way). Hope Proton improve rear design cause Proton really suck at that. And i hope the premium spec has chrome around the side window. Kipidap Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • Looking at the size of iriz, it is logically any iriz based sedan is a saga replacement..

imo pesona is a ‘bigger’ car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Theophilus Chin (Member) on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:13 am

In theory, the Saga should be the sedan variant of the Iriz. But recently Proton have restructured the lineup:
      A-Segment: Saga shrunken; to fight Perodua sedan
      B-Segment: Persona shrunken, booted Iriz to rival Vios and City
      C-Segment: Preve and Suprima
      D-Segment: Perdana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • Myvi Sedan on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:34 am

What if Perodua secretly developing Myvi Sedan to fight the New Persona?

No worry for Toyota Vios as UMW will ensure price gap between Myvi Sedan and Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • urzu3 on Nov 13, 2015 at 2:24 pm

i dont think myvi will be secretly design a new car.. they just rebadging daihatsu/toyota car till today

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
          • Malaysian call it copy not rebadge

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:26 pm

If they rebadge the 86, I will see you all queuing at the perodua showroom.

• You all can accept an ugly city why not proton

• Leafable on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:08 am

Looks like a corgi on 4 wheels.

• hazzif on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:10 am

Nice design..wish this will be the real one and nothing less..

• BeemerFreak on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:13 am

We have a great design and rendering guru at our disposal yet proton hires monkeys to do the job. Name your price Theo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
    • Agree with you monkey…

• Theophilus Chin (Member) on Nov 13, 2015 at 1:44 pm

I’m not qualified. I’m merely a photoshop user.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rrrr on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:28 pm

Outlook/style is never proton issue, quality is! Ugly car good quality everyone buy, see Almera. Beautiful car junk quality no one bother, see the Suprima S.

• Abon Gunawan on Nov 13, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Ini zoo kah? Cakap maciam monyet

• alldisc on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:14 am

now the front and rear looks more balanced!

hazel nut shaped rear lamp clusters is a nice touch too.

• Same L0rrr on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:15 am

Still cannot beat the Toyota Vios.. the figure shows the truth!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 48
    • Sam VHL Loo on Nov 13, 2015 at 12:22 pm

Perhaps, still a lot of sor hai ‘tai lan ngong’ carbuyers in Malaysia that worship their stupid aerokit, stickers with Sportivo emblem and leathers (that can keep dead skin alive) over the importance of stability control and other safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Yes, the figure show the truth. Current B segment Saga already 40k units and Vios only 30k units

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:30 pm

When vios same price as Saga, proton can change business sell roti telur. People buy Saga simply it is the cheapest sedan. You better swallow the truth!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • TJ Liew on Nov 14, 2015 at 11:07 pm

So………. Enlighten us when will it be coming true? When our children’s grandchildren era? Seriously Same Lorrrr, after all your commenting in this blog, what exactly is your point here?

• Toyota Vios has lower safety standard than Saga… recent study done by Australian safety institute.

• Twwwwwwwwwwwww on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:20 am

real wizard – Theophilus Chin.
    proton should hire this guy. this renderings looks appealing.

• Jackswing on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:24 am

Theophilues Chin, Proton should hire u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Theophilus Chin (Member) on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:32 am

Thanks! But I’m no designer. Believe me when I say Proton has great talented designers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
      • Bangled on Nov 13, 2015 at 1:21 pm

“Proton has great talented designers.”

Muahahahaha.

Give me oxygen tank pls cant breathe.

Bahahahahahah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
        • DonkeyKong on Nov 13, 2015 at 6:47 pm

For a guy that speaks and thinks through your ass, where should the oxygen mask be connected to? Certainly not your ugly face?

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:36 pm

Proton not selling clothes, why so concerned on designer and fashion, keep on trying to con young car buyers with style and flowery words like “Betul2 Onz”? Onz what? You not in genting casino!

Proton need true engineers!! Don’t talkok bullshit like “boss, ni Proton mah. Memang macam ni, biasalah. Tak suka kenapa beli?”

• Wiwiwiwiwiw on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:25 am

Good render action.
    Theo as the head of Proton design!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Sohai Design on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:25 am

A local C-Segment Persona shrunk to become a B-segment contender … Lazy to say. sohai idea.

And guess what will the tyre size become….. 175/65 R 14.
    Garbage designer in Proton. lousy technology even after 30 years !!!!!

All they do is copy.. Even Perdana strip off from Accord. So lameeeeeeeeee……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
    • furois on Nov 13, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Cannot beat 4 speeder non VSC Vios same tech after gens.
      Preve Exora Saga are copies too?

Come on

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:40 pm

These Preve Exora Saga no way close to the vios in terms of comfort, reliability, consistent quality, cheap maintenance, rare garage visit, good fuel consumption and lastly, good RV.

If they so good, proton no need discount RM 10k to attract buyers. Use your brain please.

• Ahmad on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:26 am

Ok.. so a Satria is a hatchback Wira, a Gen2 is a new Wira Aeroback, a Preve is a new Gen2, and the Suprima S is (supposedly) the new Satria (during Neo’s time on earth) thus making the Persona the new Wira Sedan… so why would the Persona be an Iriz Sedan? Shouldn’t the new Saga be Iriz Sedan and redesigned and larger Preve the new Persona? Or is the Persona a new waja?

Proton should just keep a single name plate for their cars earlier. Confusing.

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:43 pm

I tell you a simple way: as long as it is Proton brand, don’t ask don’t touch don’t bother.
      Do you care what are in your neighbor dustbin? Same logic

• mehmeh on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:41 am

Looks much better than iriz itself and old persona (If proton uses this design). If manual version less than 45k will be a decent buy. Pls proton just adopt this design and sure will get good response from market and fire those idiots in your design department!

• Dah la. Dun give the clowns at proton false hope la. You all have been saying they same thing over and over again about how the junk will sell and now look at how many iriz they are selling?

• Mr. Faust on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:43 am

Can I you guys something? It’s definitely off topic.

What’s your opinions on 2011 Volvo XC60? I’ve made research and I’ve read everything regarding this ride. The biggest drawbacks would be expensive maintenance services and also its parts. Haven’t got the chance to test drive the car, yet. Other than that, it is be an awesome ride.

So, can I have a real-world feedback on this vehicle? Thank you.

• Richard Johanthan Lim on Nov 13, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Hi Mr Faust, well my 66 year old dad owns a 2010 XC60 (Its the same as a 2011 one) and it is a great car.The only problems are that if you wanna go off roading, look elsewhere as the XC60’s off roading capabilities are close to none, and some XC60’s are reported to be pretty unreliable in forums but my dad’s XC60 doesn’t have any problems even after 200,000 km of serving.The good things about the XC60 is that the 2.0 turbo has plenty of punch and the car is a good long distance cruiser and has fantastic fuel economy (6.7 liters/100 km).If you’re buying a used one, I suggest you getting a low mileage XC60 as they are probably in better condition.Good luck in buying an XC60.Cheers!:)

• Mr. Faust on Nov 13, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Hi Richard. Thanks for the reply. I am thrilled to read your comments as your dad owns one and it shows how good the car is. I don’t mind about the off-roading part because my job requires me to travel from Selangor to Johor and back forth quite often. Therefore, I wanna find a car that is comfortable, powerful, value for money and perhaps, rare to be seen. Even after 200k km, XC60 is still doing great, I am more happy to hear that. Yeah, been searching the best second hand XC60 right now. Hopefully I’ll own one next year. Thanks again!

• Richard Johanthan Lim on Nov 13, 2015 at 3:25 pm

You are welcome, Selangor to Johor quite often means you are gonna be travelling a lot.The XC60 is perfect for that.The XC60 is basically a Swedish CR-V or vice versa.The XC60 should do the job just fine.Other options such as a 2011 Audi Q5, BMW X3 are great cars too.

• errrrrr on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:52 am

that’s cute tire…looks out of proportion

• abg misai on Nov 13, 2015 at 12:00 pm

As always, nice rendering by Theo. But Proton, bigger wheels please! It looked very awkward for cars with big body but small wheels.

• almerasucks on Nov 13, 2015 at 1:22 pm

+1. We never want to see another almera on the road. I almost throw up every time I saw the almera especially from rear view. You will think….”wtf is this car, tire so small and thin opposed to its big rear bumper and weird rear design…..pui!!!”

• Yea… and all of us almost fainted everytime we see proton cars thinking why still got dumb people buying from this cheater.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • I guess the wheels are not big enough for your ego?

• kipas angin on Nov 13, 2015 at 12:07 pm

More idea please..

• Ong Chee Boon on Nov 13, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Frankly speaking, i would think this is a genuine production design came out by a new design chief if the title did not state “RENDERED” by Theophilus Chen.

Good work. Your design has made a lot of us really wanna buy this sedan (only if they take your design)

Proton should really fire its design and QC chief.

• rendering is easy work…just sit infront monitor

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:47 pm

Rendering is easy, a lot of Thailand agua much sexier and hotter than your girlfriend, SO?
        See the same logic here?

Proton need engineer and quality.

• Theophilus Chin (Member) on Nov 13, 2015 at 1:41 pm

Thank you!

• ugly front.
    ok ok back.

• nabill (Member) on Nov 13, 2015 at 12:59 pm

those rims looks sooo small ! probably theres so much metal around it
    anyway those small sedans they almost all have the same profile bcos of small dimension restrains..tall,narrow with a strange looking rear end…
    if it has enough interior space , general refined ride and drive(im looking at u CVT) thn it will sell well …its not a magical formula….
    its ironic that the CVT is made by Punch , bcos sometimes , u really want to Punch that CVT in the face the way it whines!

• Proton 15% TIV in 2015 on Nov 13, 2015 at 1:28 pm

Should have named Proton Bungkus, because this will be “THE BEGINING OF THE END” for Proton. Bye bye Proton, may you die and rot in hell for exploiting and cheating Malaysian for 30 years. #ProtonBungkus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • Proton 15% TIV in 2015 on Nov 13, 2015 at 1:42 pm

Proton just don’t get it don’t they? Since 2012 , Proton had launched 3 new models: Preve, Suprima and Iriz. And yet, Proton sales continue to fall from 23% in 2012 to just 15% this year.

The problem is never about their new models, it’s all about QUALITY. Malaysian car buyers aint give two shits about hot press body structure, ESP or airbags. Look at Perodua, a 10-year-old Myvi still beats Iriz on the sales chart! We don’t see hot press metal structure on our car. But if the pasar malam junk quality gear knob and power window switch falls off, that annoys the driver big time. When a barely one year old dashboard rattles like a prostitute banging her client on a “Rumah Tumpang Chow Kit” squeeky bed, we will notice it. Proton just don’t get it, they will never get it.

Come 2018, our road will be flooded with Perodua sedans and everybody will forget about this junk. By then, Proton sales will fall under 10% of the TIV and bungkus is definitely near. #ProtonBungkus

For fanboys, you can thumbdown me 1000 times, but you cannot refute what I said because I argue with facts, which you guys can’t. Now go buy 10 Proton junks and park them at your house to save your beloved junk maker from its certain demise. Show your patriotism, action is substance. #ProtonBungkus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
    • DonkeyKong on Nov 13, 2015 at 6:51 pm

Ironic that you’re talking about “argue with facts” when your whiny bitchy rant has no facts at all..

• Proton 15% TIV in 2015 on Nov 13, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Oh, Donkey Kong, the Proton asslicker who accused people being moron but himself being a shallow, prejudice moron. You want facts? Click on this: http://paultan.org/2015/09/25/malaysia-vehicle-sales-data-for-august-2015-by-brand/aug-2015-passenger-and-commercial-data-formatted-1-xlsx/

Go work out Proton year to date TIV figure on August, it stands at 15.9% percent, which is worst than last year, you don’t need Einstien’s brain to do simple maths calculation.

How about one more fact for you moron? Go marklines.com and check 2015 H1 (Jan – June) sales figure for Perodua and Proton. Perodua Axia : 49,851 units Perodua Myvi : 26,611 units Proton Iriz : 7,614 units

Despite being 10 years old, Myvi still outsells Iriz more than 3 to 1 margin! Ya, call that Proton “game changer”.Don’t make me laugh lah.

Do you know why I name my avatar: Proton achieving 15% TIV? That’s because I’ll look down and predict that Proton sales figure will never exceed 15% in 2015! Do you know Proton sales to TIV has been plunging an average of 2% since 2012 despite launching one junk after another in the name of Preve, Suprima and Iriz? Go figure why.

I really admire Proton fanboys, because they are so ignorant to facts and figure, just like their beloved car maker: Syiok sendiri. Now come out facts that can refute what I say. You are the one that bitch like a pussy. Don’t call yourself Donkey Kong, call yourself Pussy Kong instead. Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • need more time to get back trust….bad history

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:50 pm

Total agree!!! A proton, is still a proton, just another locally made junk. Nothing more nothing less

• Should sell the 1.6L with 17km per litre FC and 5 stars ANCAP and ESP and 6 airbags with quiet engine and smooth transmission for RM44888 otherwise this garbage can expect sales of 20 units a month. 1.3L version shud sell below RM33888.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • No one care on Nov 13, 2015 at 3:41 pm

Are you retard or drinking to much ‘daun ketum’. Even without that BS tax on car, RM44,888 is not enough to even make a small profit. 1.6L + 17km per litre + Hot Press Forming(HPF) which is expensive than typical body frame + ESP??? Even Myvi and Vios dont have any of that specification and their sell quiet well. Think before you comment.

• so done on Nov 13, 2015 at 7:18 pm

u want murah murah punya car go buy yourself a saga or axia otherwise shut your mouth if u dont have idea how to make profit

• Why?… when there is Preve sedan? Proton would do better to focus on build and service quality instead… The brand needs to assure customers that its unenvious past is firmly in the past. It has improved in terms of vehicle design and to some extent – performance. It needs to galvanise its people – diversification may be needed here – and instill pride of product quality in them so they’ll rise up to today’s automotive challenges from foreign competitors.

• maxefic on Nov 13, 2015 at 2:54 pm

The 8th wonder of the world are Proton haters. They will spend time and effort to comment on every articles or news about things they hate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • No one care on Nov 13, 2015 at 3:25 pm

Lol he forget to put radio antenna at the rear perspective. Thats why it feel really odd to look at. Anyway congrat Theophilus for this awesome rendered.

• maximillian on Nov 13, 2015 at 3:51 pm

the front if viewed from side look a little like mazda 3 sedan previous version one. just saying. :P

• MansorTodak on Nov 13, 2015 at 4:20 pm

Perodua salesman ke yg comment perodua sedan will flood malaysia highway? Mana sedannya? Cakap saja. Proton sudah test dekat jalan lagi. Perodua nye mana? Mana sedannya??

Suzuki-Proton gonna make new A Segment. I think Proton will flood malaysia highway. Bye2 perodua. Proton conti, solid ride, turbo engine, 5 star ancap is the future.

Your time has ended. People want solid car not sampan kosong goyang feel and no ABS. See toyota vios. You see at highway now? No. Rakyat sudah bijakkk. Rakyat want full safety car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Perodua never do testing, juz copy n assembled then sell to public.

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:56 pm

Test what lar, Iriz tested at winter Europe, proton hybrid tested at mars SO WHAT? I never know you can drive at zoo negara penguin house or solar system. These are just tricks to burn money put money from public account into private pocket. Sendiri cakap sendiri Syok only

• MansorTodak on Nov 13, 2015 at 4:21 pm

I saw someone comment here that perodua sedan will flood malaysia highway? Mana sedannya? Cakap saja. Proton sudah test dekat jalan lagi. Perodua nye mana? Mana sedannya?? Proton sedan sudah ade atas jalan test.

Suzuki-Proton gonna make new A Segment. I think Proton will flood malaysia highway. Bye2 perodua. Proton conti, solid ride, turbo engine, 5 star ancap is the future.

Your time has ended. People want solid car not sampan kosong goyang feel and no ABS. See toyota vios. You see at highway now? No. Rakyat sudah bijakkk. Rakyat want full safety car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Proton 15% TIV in 2015 on Nov 13, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Yakah? Kalau rakyat “pandai” as you say, why Proton sales so pathetically low? Do you know how many cars Proton sell this year? Only manage to stand at 15%TIV this year, the lowest in the history, despite launching one junk after another in the name of Preve, Suprima and Iriz since 2012. The best part is, Proton is almost overtaken by Honda! I didn’t even mentioned 10 years old Myvi sales still beat Iriz!

Proton export market is non existence, and Malaysian had largely abandon this stupid brand, Perodua is making multiple millions and laughing to the bank, Proton is loosing millions every year, now tell me who’s time has ended?

People want good quality, reliable and fuel economy car. Not some fuel guzzling stupid Campro turbo that drinks fuel like a big cow. Thinking about Campro turbo as the same league of TFSI? Campro is just a stupid bolt-on turbo, not even with direct inject with stratified combustion. Only uneducated mat kampung will fall for this pathetic “turbo”. Only 138 HP from a 1.6 turbo, malu saja nak dibanding dengan THP, TFDI or even Ford Ecoboost. Speaking about “solid” car, go to the showroom and see how awful Proton fit and finishing is, barely a year your car has all sorts of funny noise and rattles like a prostitute banging her client. Ya, call that “solid”. Kalau tak mampu nak buat benda basic, don’t talk about safety and solid, coz Proton quality is just hampeh. That’s one word that can use to describe Proton, tak sedar diri. BMW / Volvo of Asia? Don’t make me laugh lah buat malu saja. Kalau tak mampu saing, baik bungkus saja. #ProtonBungkus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
      • MansorTodak on Nov 13, 2015 at 7:09 pm

1.6 ecoboost ford is using the same kp39 turbo unit like CFE. Low sales ka shout2 here? Pity. I see many new myvi unsold and left at parking lot . Ur time has over. It’s now Proton time. SAGA R, PERSONA R, PERDANA R AND THE MOST HOT CAKES CAR NEXT YEAR, A SEGMENT SUZUKI-PROTON. Bye2. It’s PROTON TIME.

• MansorTodak on Nov 13, 2015 at 7:11 pm

and also PROTON new TurboGDi and Gasoline Direct Injection is coming soon. Not to forget their new 2.0 Turbo petronas engine.
        ITS PROTON TIMES.

• MansorTodak on Nov 13, 2015 at 7:13 pm

And also u drive Vios and then drive Persona. You wil know the meaning of solid conti ride. LOTUS RIDE AND HANDLING IS JUST BRILLIANT.

• Rashuk Khan2 on Nov 13, 2015 at 8:11 pm

Agree with MansorTodak. Produa Salesperson try to bash Proton next replacement model. Proton loss to Produa not because Preve or Suprima not good enough but the market for C-Segment is not wide compare to B-Segment. By introducing Iriz, New Persona and New Saga defenitely will kick out MyVi from the market due to outdated model and lack of safety. On top of it if Proton go for A-Segment project defenately effect to Axia sales figure.

• Proton achieving 15% TIV in 2015 on Nov 14, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Funny Proton fanboys cannot understand reality.

How about one more fact for you moron? Go marklines.com and check 2015 H1 (Jan – June) sales figure for Perodua and Proton. Perodua Axia : 49,851 units Perodua Myvi : 26,611 units Proton Iriz : 7,614 units

Despite being 10 years old, Myvi STILL BEATS THE SHIT OUT OF IRIZ IN SALES FIGURE, outselling Iriz more than 3 to 1!

I argue with facts and figure, Proton fanboys argue with syiok sendiri statement. Go masturbate like Proton, that will make you better.

• reality on Nov 14, 2015 at 10:52 pm

the reality….. myvi and alza sales drop after axia launch

• MansorTodak on Nov 13, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Proton bungkus? I read this slogan 5 years ago. Still no bungkus. Hahahahaha . They make billion u know? How to bungkus? Each year keep produce new model. Next year, SAGA R, PERSONA R, PERDANA 2016, A SEGMENT SUZUKI-PROTON. So many new model. Gonna tapau Malaysia market. Next year is PROTON TIMES. New GDi and TurboGDi is coming, 2.0 Turbo is also incoming. So many new project. Close cop? Hahhaha. U think PROTON no money kah ? LoLoL

FYI, Ford 1.6 Ecoboost is using the same unit of KP39 Turbo use in CFE engine.

Solid conti ride and handling, 5 star ancap, full safety. Proton ftw.

#LOVE PROTON, LOVE LIFE

• Proton achieving 15% TIV in 2015 on Nov 14, 2015 at 1:45 pm

So what? Ford Ecoboost is smooth as silk and refined. Proton CFE is rough, fuel guzzling and macam hampeh.

Despite using the same turbo unit, but outcome is SOOOOO different. That shows how backwards Proton technical competency is. Jaguh Kampung will always be jaguh kampung.

• Proton achieving 15% TIV in 2015 on Nov 14, 2015 at 1:59 pm

GDI? 2.0 Turbo? You must be a fanboy living in fantasy! Proton is losing money every year, if not why DRB Hicom was asked to chew this piece of “dead meat”? Petronas engine? Tak dengar kentut pun except for that demo unit.

FYI, Proton is in deep shit. It doesn’t have money for any R&D for new engine and they know the lousy Campro can’t stand up to the latest competitor. Proton doesn’t even have the capability to make direct injection engine, let alone R&D, dream on your stupid Proton GDI.

You want some facts fanboy? Go click at this:

http://paultan.org/2015/09/25/malaysia-vehicle-sales-data-for-august-2015-by-brand/aug-2015-passenger-and-commercial-data-formatted-1-xlsx/

Do some mathematics, see how many cars Proton sold this year in relation to the TIV. It’s just a pathetic 15%, the worst in history. Do you know Proton sales figure has fallen from 23% in 2012 to just 15% this year> an average decline of 2% per annum. Even Honda is pious to take over Proton in 2-3 years time. Don’t believe? Go click: http://paultan.org/2015/01/16/proton-perodua-market-share-falls-below-foreign-brands/2014-malaysia-market-share/

I argue with facts and figures, Proton fanboys argue with syiok sendiri and masturbation fantasy. Now give me facts to refute my statement. You can’t because you are just a syiok sendiri fanboys who can’t LOOK INTO REALITY.

How about one more fact for you moron? Go marklines.com and check 2015 H1 (Jan – June) sales figure for Perodua and Proton. Perodua Axia : 49,851 units Perodua Myvi : 26,611 units Proton Iriz : 7,614 unitsDespite being 10 years old, Myvi still outsells Iriz more than 3 to 1 margin! Ya, call that Proton “game changer”.Don’t make me laugh lah.

Sudah sampai mangun bangunlah, apa sah mimpi lagi macam Proton? Berlancap syiok sendiri buruk kepada minda dan kesihatan, buatlah kerja yang berfaedah dan hidup dalam REALITI, bukan dalam MIMPI.

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 14, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Well said!

• MansorTodak on Nov 15, 2015 at 11:09 am

LoLoLoL. You better buy all suzuki possible model that will plant in tanjung malim now. Resemble all the component and study 1 by 1 . This suzuki-Proton A segment will tapau all axia market. That is what you should worry about. Proton ftw

• Pedal signal pun dia tak tau nak letak kat mana… apa alasannya dia letak kat kiri? Proton memang syok sendiri… tak mau dgr pendapat pengguna… orang dah bising suruh gantikan exora, dia tak layan. Sebaliknya tahun depan proton nak keluarkan.3 sedan. Apahal? Mcm tak ada strategi. Honda dah mula dgn br-v tapi proton masih mimpi… kesimpulannya tak payah harap sgtlah kat proton.

• albag on Nov 13, 2015 at 5:38 pm

seriously… any hatchbacks being converted into sedan will look like shit.. how the hell this kinda idea can be brought up in the first place… damn awful

• Freddie Krueger on Nov 14, 2015 at 5:23 am

Ya bagus kita tunggu beli Perodua Axia Sedan saja.

Axia Sedan = Proton’s biggest nightmare tutup kilang.

• MansorTodak on Nov 15, 2015 at 11:11 am

Proton nigthmare? LoL suzuki-Proton A segment = perodua biggest nightmare.

Proton – suzuki A segment = japs reliability,japs fuel saving engine + Lotus ride and handling = win lioa lar

Bye2 axia market

• so done on Nov 13, 2015 at 7:12 pm

i think the front should be redesign bcs it does not fit any car but iriz. love the design tho except for the front. for all u ppl who think proton owner is poor get yourself an attitude and mentality adjustment lah pundek! u think they will buy proton car if they can afford other car ha? fix your goddamn brain lah roadtax and insurance proton kan murah plus service lagi maybe those people who use proton car are saving their money to buy new car or a student’s first car. and yes i agree campro engine sucks. most student in uitm use proton or perodua car because they are just student. tak kan baru 20 nak drive mercedez or bmw to school so stupid lah you all! Malaysian people so goddamn judgmental and fyi i’m using a secondhand 2013 satria neo with lotus engine (thank god) to save money and buy a house u dumb

• Abon Gunawan on Nov 13, 2015 at 8:29 pm

Chit! The rendering is based frm the tip-off. Theo just copied and hoping ppl applause him.

• Jaguh kg on Nov 13, 2015 at 8:59 pm

Front like peugeot 207and back like honda city…mana cari..best car of the year!! Belilah buatan Malaysia…janji tak payah kena tow half way..

• roof too damn high on Nov 13, 2015 at 9:47 pm

not the car height,damn cant design the car with lower height?

• perodua sedan vs vios……they dont want conflict…. any way market size still the same and bos also the same

• Annoynimouse on Nov 14, 2015 at 7:44 am

I agree that it is hard to “sedanize” a hatch by adding a boot. Ford got it all wrong with fiesta although the Focus was not bad. The Mazda 2 didn’t do well either in my view. Proton had to try very hard converting the Savvy to Saga and it tells although it turned out to be not too bad. They were successful with the Persona (from the Gen2) but then the Gen2 wasn’t really a hatchback in the first place (it’s a fastback). Other German brands aside, VW is perhaps among the only few that managed well with their Polo Sedan and Jetta (Golf).
    The challenge is to get that coupesque look you find in new sedans, which is hard since you need to stretch the original C-pillar which is almost vertical in hatchbacks.

• mizapilah on Nov 14, 2015 at 8:18 am

Proton car design is not elegant and sleek enough as the Italian Pininfarina’s or the Hyundai’s, even the technical features cud be updated, such as, the auto emergency brakes to avoid front/rear collision, rear view mirrors replaced with led screens and need more improvements. Want to get good demand, Proton shud be more creative and improvise.

• hepart2 on Nov 14, 2015 at 3:50 pm

same plerr, sorry to say this but TOTOya is high rv (regret value) to me …i test driven a vios , its sucks..sucks shit ….you bash about proton cuz you never tested an iriz so wake up

• Look just like US camry at the back

• Dino Bravo on Jan 05, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Last few years Proton cars is fine but people do not buy them because of lousy cvt. Now, they still want to sell Persona cvt, for sure cannot sell.

• Dino Bravo on Jan 05, 2016 at 6:50 pm

Proton cars are fine but people don’t buy Proton cars with cvt. The sales of old Persona and Waja (no cvt) is good.