Proton to stick to existing model names – Perdana in Q1 2016, new Persona and Saga later in the year

2016_Proton_Perdana_preview_ 002

We had a quick chat with Tun Mahathir earlier today after he previewed the company’s upcoming 2016 Perdana. The Proton chairman revealed that the local carmaker’s future cars will stick to existing model names, which is certainly good news indeed.

“As for new models, we will no longer change our names. We will stick to the same familiar names, but with upgraded technologies and looks. So in the future, you will see new versions of the Saga, Persona and Perdana, and maybe one or two more,” said the former prime minister.

Proton CEO Datuk Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah, meanwhile, added that the new 2016 Proton Perdana will be launched in the first quarter of next year. New versions of the Persona and Saga will follow later on in 2016, in that order.

2016_Proton_Perdana_Tun_M_Preview_5

Asked to comment on the new Perdana’s looks, Tun Mahathir said that, “we have shown it to some people, our dealers and vendors. Their first reaction was ‘wow’. It’s different from the old models. It looks like a completely new car, not just a rebranding exercise.

“Previously, we used to take a foreign car and restyled the front logo, and maybe a bit of the rear. This new Perdana is different. The entire car is new,” he concluded.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Goiter on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 355
    • Then dont come here la..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 200 Thumb down 11
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 04, 2015 at 8:27 am

This site is for automotive enthusiast not for stupid comment basher like you. If you don’t like the brand or the car don’t open it. Paul Tan will publish the stories of new Perdana until it launch on early 2016.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 42
    • DannyTan on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:17 pm

Yet you care enough to leave a comment on how “nobody cares”, since you care and nobody cares, does it mean you are nobody?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 165 Thumb down 4
    • frossonice on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:24 pm

You care so much that you end up writing your ‘opinion’ here.

Marah-marah sayang tu. :P

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 2
    • Booooo, lame comment. You care enough to comment with your cheap bashing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
    • ProtonGSC on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Saga and Persona if make it affordable Rakyat will care and support !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 3
      • Low Budget on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:10 pm

If they want to retain the name SAGA then the SAGA should be always cheap, because SAGA always equate to Cheapo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 40
      • 1JutaAxiaSedan on Oct 04, 2015 at 11:21 am

Nobody will buy Saga, Persona once Perodua Sedan launched for sale.

#1JutaAxiaSedan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
        • Perodua Sedan will destroy their occupants before reaching 1 juta

#SayNOtoMovingCoffins

• camtakpro on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:24 am

Proton Saga already destroy enough of the occupants all time, money and life that their descendants prefer other choices.

• aikon on Oct 04, 2015 at 12:40 pm

Isn’t it affordable now? Or you prefer 50 sen for 2? Let’s be realistic.

• Moondrops on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Never knew you were elected as spokesperson for everybody!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Raymond on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:49 pm

But still comment aaa?

• Goiter on Oct 03, 2015 at 7:16 pm

Commenting is free and doesn’t require many brain cells just like you proton workers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 50
    • Singaporean on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:25 pm

Pity u all bolehland ppl. Ur gov cheating u all for more than 30 years for junk made cars n u still supporting it… Ur gov purposely increase foreign car price so u all can buy junk made by nasi lemak management. Even we singaporean, come to ur country spend billions, ur country cannot grow further… Ur gomen n crony companies will suck all ur blood till try and save it to thier own blood bank! Muahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 80
      • RoadRage (Member) on Oct 04, 2015 at 12:13 am

Shut your pie hole, nobody hit your buzzer..

• You dont sound like a singaporean. More like a loser working with shit salary..you couldnt even afford a used perodua kancil and you live in a small rented room in puchong low cost apartment..what you do everyday is complaining and feeling angry for your sorry shit life..you blame other people for your incompetence and your constant failures in life…you like browsing the internet using mamak’s wifi on your dataplan-less second hand oppo smartphone and writing stupid comments…yeah..that is you shitface..you..can you please put your stupid face inside your sorry asshole?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
        • Singaporean on Oct 05, 2015 at 7:36 am

Muahaha… Raged nasi lemak!

• PrinceOfWales on Oct 08, 2015 at 1:35 am

Hahaha.. that might be true. The words from andy really make me laugh. I believed Singaporean is a loser guy that use his 10 years old Ex5. Even count everyday his coins to fill 2 ringgit petrol. Then always blamed others because of his poor life. Maybe he regret of not study well at school. Singaporean, try to improve ur life please, u deserve to buy a car, even own a kancil

• Then why bother to comment it…huh

• Susukotak on Oct 04, 2015 at 7:58 am

New record most tumb down on 1st comment

• fariz01 on Oct 04, 2015 at 8:45 pm

The paultan crew asked that’s y tun explained you idiot

• Silthice on Oct 03, 2015 at 3:58 pm

Exora is also due for a refresh model. Hope we get spacious 8 seated refresh model… With 6 Manual transmissions or 7 auto/cvt…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 2
    • the archbishop of banterbury on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:30 pm

CVT is a big no-no.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Perodua Vios on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Like Preve CVT 7 speed ProTronic is the best

• Farghmee on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Exora should retain the airconds,
      upgrade to sliding doors for easy access.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • If this new exora comes early next year, i will go for it instead of buying a parallel import.

• Dandan je on Oct 05, 2015 at 12:34 pm

sadly it wont come out next year. 3 models already planned for launching next year. but hopefully next year we can hear a news for exora replacement model.

• StvHsl on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Good that they finally realized about not to change name anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • DannyTan on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:26 pm

And not to come up with some strange and difficult to remember names like Preve, Suprima S and Iriz. The old names are much neater and better like Saga, Persona, Satria.

– Preve should have been Persona.
      – Suprima S should have been Persona hatch or at least Preve hatch.
      – Iriz should have been Saga hatch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Sesenol on Oct 04, 2015 at 12:39 am

Suprima S can be Satria if they dont want to develop seperate model for it

• sepul on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:42 am

They can call it Proton Knight, translate to Satria in Malay anyway.

• Suprimau on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:55 am

What also want to use Malay name, confirm it’s Nasi Lemak product

• camtakpro on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:26 am

What’s wrong with Nasi Lemak? It taste good. Just that Proton car doesn’t last longer than a pack of Nasi Lemak.

• Jezza on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Goodluck proton.

• AhPauL on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:30 pm

R.I.P, Satria?

• anonymous on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:03 pm

It’s great news indeed, but please get rid the annoying whining Belgium build Punch CVT and replace with German build ZF auto transmission and it solve the problem. The Getrag Manual Proton should or may perhaps update to 6 speed manual for higher variant except the based model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Perodua Vios on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:56 pm

I think 6 speed manual for base/standard variant and 7 or 8 speed auto for higher/premium variant is better..

• Papagoines on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:06 pm

Finally… whether you like it or not, those name already like household names…

• Goiter on Oct 03, 2015 at 11:08 pm

Yah just like how ‘pontianak’ and ‘toyol’ are household names

• Matchy on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:04 pm

Good… they finally run out of idea for name. Just hope they wont revive the “Gen.2” name!

• MentalKar on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:33 pm

Baru balik dari Alami Proton,Ingat dapat tengok Perdana Baru tapi cuma masih bertutup lagi, tak pa sabar tunggu mungkin esok lusa Tun boleh kasi open lagi sikit naa.Siapa datang jangan double parking tepi Highway susahkan orang awam laa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Norman on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:41 pm

Dont mind him,As usual when a topic about a manufacturer pop up,Other brands salesman will kaw kaw condemm it like he own the car before hand.Truly amazing how ignorant people can criticise a car quality/performance that have not even available for test drive..Maybe a student of the coconut bomoh la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Kancil Hybrid on Oct 03, 2015 at 7:04 pm

Please bring back WIRA. Preve should have been named Wira.

• Geli siot! on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Change name or not geli siot tengkok proton n perodua nie.. And dont tell me if u dont care dont comments.. I care for my fellow malaysian… I want then to use foreign cars.. Better quality… Not milotin made cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
  • Absolute Rider on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Please bring back Satria Neo, as it was the hot model including first generation Satria and Satris GTi. Bring back the hot hatch…. 3RD GENERATION SATRIA!

Can use Suprima S platform but totally restyle with lower roofline.

Thank you very much.

• Proton Paria on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Proton Perdana, Proton Persona, then soon Proton Paria.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 48
  • Aero (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 10:18 pm

That’s good, the major world players have all stuck with their trademark nameplates for decades; Corolla, Civic, Elantra etc..

Proton’s case is such that only the successful cars (in terms of sales or critical acclaim) get to keep their nameplates (except the Wira and Waja). The Saga, Persona, Satria and Perdana either sold well or were well received.

Proton should continue selling new models under the same successful nameplates, because it would build up brand reputation and heritage in the long run.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Labuan on Oct 04, 2015 at 10:09 am

They reserved name Proton Aero. Suitable for macai like you that ends up buying a Toyota in Langkawi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Muhammad on Oct 03, 2015 at 10:25 pm

Please revive the Proton Wira, Iswara, Juara and stuff.

Maybe change Inspira to the new Proton Wira, Iswara as the new enhanced Saga FLX etc etc

• Absolute Rider on Oct 03, 2015 at 10:50 pm

New model for new segment must have a new name. Only when replacement for particular model as new generation such as saga, perdana, or last time the first generation satria to second generation satria neo.

• scania on Oct 04, 2015 at 9:06 am

preve facelift pleaseee

• Aiman hakim on Oct 04, 2015 at 10:06 am

Saga is a sucessful model from proton .so,if proton launch the saga, it will destroy honda

• 1JutaAxiaSedan on Oct 04, 2015 at 11:17 am

Perodua Sedan will destroy Saga sales.

#1JutaAxiaSedan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Perodua Sedan will destroy their occupants in accidents before reach 1 juta

#SayNOtoMovingCoffins

• Upskirt here, upskirt there. Something they have done since Savvy.
    Doing the same thing over and over again and hope for a different result.

• ionlaw on Oct 04, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Dont forget protob JAGUH…

• Chingu on Oct 04, 2015 at 3:07 pm

I suggest to for Proton to name their cars all starts with P. Drop Saga, Iswara, Arena, Iriz, Suprima, Satria, Savvy, Inspira, Wira, Exora etc… Keep Perdana, Putra, Preve, Persona

• Chingu on Oct 04, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Jaguh isnt Proton cars laa… Either it is a bike or upcoming Perodua car…

• Ah Beng (ori1) on Oct 04, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Tis topic all monopoly by so many defensive P1 losers..ooi parking tepi highway kat Alami Carnival buat sesak highway..all blind
    Y sapot no wonder they kip being ripped off

• Absolute Rider on Oct 04, 2015 at 7:31 pm

During the launch of Proton Iriz back in 2014, this 2nd generation Perdana already in the making.

Watch Proton Iriz – Proton Design Process at the last a minute plus, the video show you the rear, side and even front headlamps of the car. Of course, that was the early stage.

• MentalKar on Oct 04, 2015 at 7:52 pm

Ada Uncle kasi tau saya, dulu-dulu lagi orang dah tak percaya Proton boleh buat kreta. Buat jarum pun x tahu. Dan dah 30 tahun dah Proton buat kreta dah berjuta kreta Proton yg kita sama2 naik sebelum jadi kaya dulu. Tapi memang manusia mudah lupa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Jaguh Global on Oct 05, 2015 at 1:19 am

Bangladesh tetap beli kereta Toyota. Buang masa saja Proton mau pergi sana.

• Proton is lacking in one major part only, it have style, it have quality…not much but good eanough(way more better then perodua), good handling tech….but not the engine, if they manage to change to any, atleast suzuki engiine, it’ll be perfect

• Hi PaulTan.Org. I sincerely prefer referring automotive news on your website. But once I started to scroll to the comment section … arghh the commenter are irritating, they were talking crap and suddenly involves the government .. What a bunch of bullshit. They could have been more mature and try giving their opinion on an official line or something. Not here. In the future, I really hope that you could strain/ ‘tapis’ their words before it went public. Thank you so much.

• Jobless on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:34 pm

Mr Ar, once voice does not make the majority…we value freedom of expression, if u find some of the comments not to yur agrrement, maybe u can choose to either ignore them or stop reading the comments section..some of the comments r meant to be sarcastically funny, maybe if u want sugar coated words and propaganda u can choose to read the local papers