SPIED: Proton Persona replacement, Iriz sedan on test

2015-proton-persona-iriz-sedan-spyshots-1

In striking resemblance to the very vehicle we spied last time around, here, is what could be your second look at the Proton Iriz-based B-segment sedan, said to be a replacement for the current Proton Persona, undergoing a public test wearing full camouflage.

As confirmed by Proton chairman Tun Mahathir Mohamad, a next-gen Proton Persona has been tipped to hit Malaysian showrooms in 2016, and it is most likely that the Malaysian car maker would bring this to life based on its new and highly capable Proton Iriz platform.

Unlike our previous spyshots that captured a closer look at the car, only a single rear snap of the vehicle is available this time around, as shared on Facebook via Faris Farhad on to the Proton Iriz Community (Malaysia) social media group.

Still, it’s clear enough for us to tell that this vehicle bears great similarities to the one we spotted last week — the exposed roof and its shark-fin antenna, tail lights peaking out through the camo, wide rear bumper, door-mounted wing mirrors and more give it away.

When the model does finally appear in showrooms, we expect it to feature the same powertrain options available to the current Proton Iriz, being either a 1.3 litre or 1.6 litre VVT four-pot that can be paired with a five-speed manual or CVT automatic transmission.

Next year, it is expected that Proton will also unveil its flagship Proton Perdana, along with a new Proton Saga that is expected to follow this Persona replacement.

GALLERY: 2014 Proton Persona Executive

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Kakakaka on Nov 12, 2015 at 10:49 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 210
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 233
      • Noob John on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:31 pm

I’m super rich and hardworking but I own proton cars only. Because I don’t want waste my hard earn money on luxury cars. No point for that. As long as it could take me from point A to point B safely, I’m satisfied and Proton can fulfill this. I’m happy driving Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 267 Thumb down 17
        • Dandan je on Nov 12, 2015 at 2:03 pm

well said… well said…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrrr on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:25 pm

You can bluff whatever you want with your Proton. RM15k a month is nothing compared to the RM2.6bil donation. By the way, make sure you buy the Iriz/Preve/Suprima S. Proton won’t survive because of your verbally Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. Where is your physical action to support Proton? Just buy da shit!

And good luck to you and enjoy Proton garage time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 98
        • hailthepurist on Nov 12, 2015 at 8:09 pm

any car above rm100k is considered luxury here..

• meel9 on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:47 pm

yo, my salary is rm15k/month n im using 2 proton cars, neo cps n suprima s premium.. so what? im still a proud malaysian..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 10
      • Stupid john on Nov 12, 2015 at 3:54 pm

U very high income person but low class minded driving a high class car . Such a noob …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 58
      • John's Decendants on Nov 12, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Too arrogant with your rich lifestyle but poor in self-morality? Why need to address the poor people as lazy? Pity to you and your family..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
      • rich boy on Nov 13, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Just bcos u’re blessed with wealth and opportunities doesnt mean u can condemn people easily…dun talk big la…in the end we all die anyway…

• Super rich on Nov 13, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Majority people rich like u actually doesnt have money, cheaters!

• S.roma on Nov 14, 2015 at 9:27 am

tun m is using proton perdana

seem that u are what u commented here, well said bro, haha…

• Pity u.. u hardworking but ur brain stick together with ur ass. what an assbrainer.. buy luxury car for what.. even u so damn rich.. i dont see the need for it.

• fisal on Nov 13, 2015 at 6:56 am

Iriz is nice to drive, but Proton has to do something with the air conditioning system…

• wahedenator on Nov 12, 2015 at 10:59 am

Persona replacement ke? More likely Saga replacement je

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • Sapu Sapu Malaysia on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 144
      • Another hater who just blurts out allegations without proof or stating facts. Where is the billion of LHDN into Proton that you talk about? Its digusting seeing fellow Malaysians just talk rubbish from their ass without having any facts to back it up. Everyone knows the current government does not see eye to eye with Tun Mahathir, the chairman of Proton. Statement has already been stated clearly on the media that the government does not approve for any funding/ grants to Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • George Abdul on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:02 am

I will pass if using “punch cvt” again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:22 pm

i tot u hate p1 from the beginning? or u hate p1 coz of use punch cvt?..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
      • George Abdul on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Don’t make mistake I don’t hate Proton, I just dissapointed on the management that only care for “huge profit” and ignore customers satisfaction… 30 years of cheating that makes the brand failure… If start to improve on customers feedback on engine and transmission and after-sales services they may make a good car !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • yes..you may pass away…rest in peace bro…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • azizul on Nov 12, 2015 at 6:09 pm

it will be from jatco, that what i heard from proton powertrain and bicep department

• waemarc on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:15 am

Persona, among the decent looking model from Proton.
    Hope for better looking new Persona

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • Ready on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:21 am

Camouflage for what? No one wants to copy also la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 41
    • Espionage on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Perodua will copy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • yes…proton doesn’t need the camouflage… people nowadays always use potato to shoot pictures..can’t see anything anyway..

• nabill (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:26 am

TBH , i still cant get my head around it , this being the persona replacement and NOT saga replacement!
    it just looks smaller than current persona ..
    the profile , specially the rear , does assemble the current mazda2 sedan , which means its gonna look awkward from the rear…
    and why cant they have a horizontal rear tail lamp rather than vertical which makes it look like any other sedan…
    anyway , more spyshots needed without camouflage!

• kzm (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:11 pm

New saga will use upgraded existing savvy/saga platform from other sources that i read.

• Anyone care to explain? If Iriz is B-segment, Persona is C-segment, how can a B-segment car replace a C-segment car? Downgrade?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Uzair on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:17 pm

Persona was never a C segment car. Get your fact right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
      • Persona is a C-Segment car you banggang. Go look up carbase.my and check out list of Proton cars. Banggang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • no name on Nov 12, 2015 at 6:24 pm

carbase.my data not too accurate la brother…the actual data shows persona still in B segment like polo sedan….its not good to “membangangkan” people….

• S.roma on Nov 14, 2015 at 9:33 am

fyi

its c segment

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_Persona

• kzm (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:18 pm

persona will be B segment sedan, C segment gip to preve/ss..new saga will be A+ segment sedan, new perdana will be D segment..p1/suzuki colab suppose to be A segment hatch (that if happen la).

• ruffstuff (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Actually Persona is a C segment car. The fact that other C segment car when the Persona was release has grown bigger.

As for this replacement, it is being put against B segment sedan like the Vios/City/Mazda2/Almera.

The Persona will move down to B segment, Preve will maintain the C segment, Saga will maintain its size, more likely into A+ segment

• redidiot on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:44 pm

let me get this straight. the original saga, the one based on the Lancer, is now going to be ana A+ segment car? and the persona replacement is going to be a B segment car? WTF????

• Yeah..sadly true.downgrade in size but still increasing the price

• If iriz sedan is the new persona? Then what would be the new saga? Created from scratch?

• kzm (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:12 pm

from upgraded current saga/savvy platform

• no name on Nov 12, 2015 at 6:26 pm

yup…more rigid and improved platform with including the HPF parts…just wait n see lah….

• Mari Mari, If you have Dual DVVT aka Dual VVT-i engine.
    Your FC will be improved by 20% terus.. RM300 monthly petrol become RM240 monthly.

President and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh also revealed that the company is currently looking to supply its engines and transmissions to other carmakers. “We are hoping in the near future to offer [powertrains] to other OEMs,” he said. “In fact, we have offered our engines and our transmissions to Proton.”

http://paultan.org/2015/07/11/perodua-sendayan-engine-plant-ready-q4-2015/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Tangkap basah on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Proton to buy engine from Perodua?

No way maruah tergadai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • pirlo on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:15 pm

more like daihatsu engine and transmission.

who is going to calibrate ecu and tcu when the engine & transmission are installed in other oem vehicle?

• tcsaitang on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:10 pm

persona is using gen2 body , pre hot press form steel , (in savvy ,saga and satria neo)

this replacement will be safer and tougher than ever
    like iriz and preve body ,

• Schreyer on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:14 pm

Strong body but ugly butt design is still a sales disaster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • camtakpro on Nov 12, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Ugly butt design is Proton design language anyway. It will still sells if it is good.

Get rid of that Punch CVT, get one from Jatco. Or just get an Aisin 6AT.

• fugleysushi on Nov 13, 2015 at 1:21 am

You must be fan of Vios and Almera designs.

• camtakpro on Nov 13, 2015 at 11:27 am

No need to be fan of anything. If it is good, people will buy it. Vios and Almera are ugly but no where near Suprima Ass ugly.

The last pretty Proton is Satria Neo.

• jobless on Nov 12, 2015 at 2:01 pm

John was absolutely correct..u can judge their low class mentality by the way they drive on the road..and most of ah beng drivers are driving P1p2 even God car…plus those old junk coz they cant afod buy new latest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • True and I also seen many luxury car driver drives like asshole.

• Jatco cvt??

• Proton achieving 15% TIV in 2015 on Nov 12, 2015 at 2:29 pm

2005 – Savvy sales lost to Myvi
    2015 – Iriz sales lost to Myvi

2016 – Proton sedan sales lost to Perodua Sedan, by a HUGE margin. Proton TIV percentage fall to 13%, despite launching all sorts of new junk like the new Persona and Perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
    • Raja Bomoh on Nov 12, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Perodua Sedan is the end game over for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
      • no name on Nov 12, 2015 at 6:32 pm

long way to go boss….if toyota let it happen lah….toyota is not stupid to give small sedan sales for perodua…if they stupid enough..nobody will buy vios anymore…

• camtakpro on Nov 12, 2015 at 4:54 pm

2005 – Savvy “My First Lotus” sales lost to MyVi
      2015 – Iriz “MyVi killer” sales lost to MyVi
      2016 – Proton sedan “MyVi killer” sales lost to MyVi

For the love of God, please stop being a “MyVi killer” or “XXX killer” without even improving your damn car quality. You can say you hot press metal the entire car without any basis, but when your pasar malam gear knob and buttons just fall off less than than a year, wtf hot press metal that gear knob and buttons, no shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • lymboghini on Nov 12, 2015 at 3:35 pm

A car of bad design proportion. A new kind of Nissan Latio sedan or Suzuki SX4 sedan. Spacy B segment sedans but overall design was just awkward.

• Firdaus on Nov 12, 2015 at 4:45 pm

they will fail if still use the Cam ‘tak’ Pro engine!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • hepat2 on Nov 12, 2015 at 9:13 pm

you guys complain2 but you dont know how hard to make a car…quality x bagus lah,cvt annoyinglah..macam kamu dapat buat sendiri……..kita bebas untuk memilih apa2 kereta ja …OWN DECISION !!!!!!!!

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Nov 14, 2015 at 9:30 am

Hard to make a car is Malaysian problem. Others like backward & low quality China never complained and now have surpassed Malaysia in making engines and cars.

• Encik Ego on Nov 12, 2015 at 10:14 pm

Syukurlah masi ada Proton.

• Pencak FaJar on Nov 13, 2015 at 8:10 am

I love my blue persona <3

• Sylinder on Nov 13, 2015 at 10:11 am

Bontot suprima s yang di panjangkan..hehe

• Ootai on Nov 14, 2015 at 3:13 pm

TSMB, tell your boys not to market this sedan. It can’t achieve BEP. The exterior sucks. The internal is worst. Nothing commendable. Concentrate on EEV. Get your lotus guys to fresh design for proton. Like the European guy did to Kia. Your nearest competitor is P2. As at now,.you have no answer. Period.

• Dino Bravo on Jan 02, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Proton sales will rise provided 1) No punch cvt 2) No punch cvt 3) No punch cvt 4) ………conventional auto is better or give customers option.