SPIED: Kia Cerato facelift seen undisguised in Korea

2016 Kia Cerato spotted-01

Korean websites, Bobaedream and Motorgraph are showing pictures of the facelifted Kia Forte K3 parked somewhere in South Korea, undisguised. Over in Malaysia, the Forte is badged as the Kia Cerato, so this design could be an indication of what we can expect in the near future.

Overall, the design changes look quite subtle especially in the back, despite what was said previously. The Tiger Nose grille appears to be a tad larger and more prominent now. In addition to that, the signature grille now seems to be linked to newly-designed boomerang-shaped headlamps, probably inspired by the fourth-gen Kia Sportage.

The front bumper also looks as though it has been refashioned, with air inlets at the corners. Down the back, minor changes can be found on the bumper and the rear lamp cluster design.

2016 Kia Cerato spotted-02

A 1.6 litre turbodiesel engine with 136 PS and 300 Nm of torque is said to be under the hood of this prototype. To add to that, it’s said to be paired with a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission. Word is that the new turbocharged 1.4 litre petrol engine that makes 128 PS and 211 Nm, found under the sixth-gen Hyundai Elantra will make its way into the US-specced Forte.

Over here in Malaysia, the Cerato comes with a choice of two engines – both paired to a six-speed automatic transmission. Engine options includes a 1.6 litre Gamma D-CVVT four-cylinder engine with 130 PS/157 Nm or a 2.0 litre Nu MPI mill that makes 161 PS/ 194 Nm of torque. It’s unclear as to whether the facelifted Cerato in Malaysia will feature updated engines yet.

So guys, do you like what you see so far?

GALLERY: Kia Forte/Cerato spyshots:

GALLERY: Current Kia Cerato

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Looks Hideous!

• Steven on Nov 26, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Headlamps’ too big now. Old version looks so much nicer.

• Geraldo on Nov 27, 2015 at 1:57 am

I agree with you. And the line cut at the engine hood is not helping at all either.

• shawal on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:18 pm

Looks ok ok oni , less sporting pretensions, which is good and more suited to the car’s actual nature

• roxas on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:33 pm

looks like the entry level K2 now , not so classy

• Jemput Naik on Nov 26, 2015 at 3:41 pm

Alamak the rear lights look like old Sylphy…and as suspected it is indeed a Forte but Nazak chg name to Celaka than naik harga

• FIST (Member) on Nov 26, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Looks like someone with too much mascara

• choha on Nov 26, 2015 at 8:53 pm

why copy the fugly BM’s broken-bonnet-nose design?

• Sammy Loo on Nov 27, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Looks nice or ugly is subjective, but bad RV is a fact.

• Jeremy on Nov 27, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Usually when the facelift models come out, you’d be anxious because its gonna trump your car but I am still a happy camper with my current 2014 Kia Cerato 1.6 SX

Good day gentlemen!

• how bout fuel consumption??can it match to current honda city??just asking coz interested in getting the basic cerato..

• Sammy Loo on Nov 28, 2015 at 11:37 pm

Cerato Kx? People will start telling at you no ESP and only 2 airbags and worst still it is a kimchi