Isuzu D-Max Safety Car on display the Thai Motor Expo – bringing out the racehorse within the workhorse

Isuzu_D-Max_safety_car-1

What happens when you take a workhorse and convert it into a racehorse? You get this, the Isuzu D-Max Safety Car, which was displayed at the 2015 Thailand Motor Expo. While we’re not sure about its name (should be called the Safety Truck), the pick-up certainly receives a fair share of modifications.

Based on the Thai-spec extended cab D-Max, the list of changes begins with a full aero bodykit, consisting of front and rear bumpers, side skirts and rear “diffuser.” The truck also gains a prominent rear wing and sticker wrapping as well. This is topped off with an LED emergency light bar on the roof of the vehicle.

As you can clearly tell, the truck also gets a revised suspension setup from Hot Bits, accompanied by a significantly reduced ride height. The D-Max also wears 18-inch alloy wheels that are wrapped with Toyo Proxes T1R 275/35R18 tyres.

Under the hood, the truck is powered by a new 1.9 litre Ddi Blue Power turbodiesel that has been tweaked to output 230 hp. That is 80 hp more than the standard engine, which provides just 150 hp. No word on the torque output, but we expect it to be more than the stock engine’s 350 Nm.

What do you think of the track-focused Isuzu D-Max Safety Car/Truck? Or does the Ford Ranger Raptor aftermarket special appeal more to you? Let us know in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• alldisc on Dec 03, 2015 at 6:07 pm

That 1.9 turbo diesel sure is delicious.

• Neither. Sam Loo says Toyota Hilux Revo Sport Concept gives him more orgasm.

• Diesel Drag Thailand on Dec 03, 2015 at 8:54 pm

I like these pick up truck that found in Thai , with lowered big rim big spoiler big inter cooler .. Compare to our boleh land, those wira cabolator with lousy exhaust , unbalance height ..

• Looks bloody stupid.

• Surely 600nm and above