New Mazda MX-5 named 2015-16 Japan Car of the Year

mx-5_2015_action_48

The Mazda MX-5 has been named the 2015-2016 Japan Car of the Year. The Japanese roadster becomes the sixth Mazda model to win the award, following in the footsteps of the Mazda 2 that won last year.

Having made its world debut back in October 2014, the fourth-generation ND MX-5 is also the sixth model in the new range of Mazda SkyActiv cars, featuring the brand’s latest Kodo Soul of Motion design language.

President and CEO of Mazda, Masamichi Kogai said, “this result is thanks to everyone’s enthusiastic support, and we are both grateful and proud that our Roadster has received such a prestigious award.” He continued, “inspired by this win, we will continue building cars that offer driving pleasure, aiming to become a “one-and-only” (brand) for our customers that they will choose again and again.”

mx-5_2015_still_24

The front-engine, rear-wheel drive car is known for its perfect 50:50 weight distribution and Jinba-ittai (“horse and rider as one”) driving feel. The two key elements are said to be the driving force behind the MX-5’s success and appeal over the generations.

At the helm of the new MX-5 range, the top-spec model is powered by a naturally-aspirated SkyActiv-G 2.0 litre engine that delivers 158 hp and 200 Nm of torque. A 1.5 litre engine is also available in certain parts of the world, offering 114 hp and 148 Nm of torque.

In Malaysia, only the top-spec 2.0 litre version is available, with a price tag of RM219,999. Currently, our version of the MX-5 only comes equipped with a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission. However, Mazda Malaysia has confirmed that a manual version is on its way to us.

GALLERY: Mazda MX-5

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Here I present you also: “Automotive Scandal King of the century”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Malaysian only knew Vios is Car of the year for Japan car not MX-5

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 07, 2015 at 4:27 pm

I see….

Car of the year audition standard has drop so much. Such a car price with least of good feature has won the glory? No way!! Worse car of the year it should be…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
    • Ask our beloved GVN for such a price in Malaysia. In Australia this car only selling in the range of A$40k.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 07, 2015 at 4:31 pm

so call Mazda Kodo designer is super lazy, all model front is same, nothing differentiate them, especially Mazda 2,3,6,and coming cx3. just like rosmah hair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
    • Buahaha on Dec 07, 2015 at 5:12 pm

Oh my god. You try to trash Mazda with such bad jokes. Maybe you should practice being funny on yourself first. I’ll then be the first to have a laugh.

• fed up fella on Dec 08, 2015 at 1:05 am

I don’t see your connection of Mazda’s designs and Rosmah’s hair -_-

• Angkat Bola on Dec 07, 2015 at 4:59 pm

when the Germans or other angmoh do it u all say ..’wow awesome..so much character ‘ and all sorts of superlatives to justify the win……..when asians have a design language u call them super lazy…….typical colonial mindset..like to carry the balls of angmoh only… U never realize kah your Auti and your BEEmah and your porsha been doing it for decades….must be a kid under the staircase on his hand me down pc…trying to be all political at the same time..what a loser…

• Hello on Dec 07, 2015 at 7:01 pm

You so funny. Everyone say that about bmw and audi.

• lazymazda on Dec 07, 2015 at 8:16 pm

Auti BEEMah and porsha are luxury cars, that’s ok. But Mazda is junk, sorry to say they are lazy.

• Smlok on Dec 09, 2015 at 5:46 am

Mazda lazy? How?

• jinba itai on Dec 10, 2015 at 8:03 am

Mazda MX-5 is the best selling roadster in the world,even in the Guiness World Book of Records.
        That already shows Mazda knows something about building roadsters

And you are saying Mazda is lazy?

• Seems like everybody who drives it loves it. It’s a world legend now. Congrats Mazda. More please.

• redidiot on Dec 07, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Buat la coupe version, conform chassis will be twice as rigid…and slap on an MPS engine, stiffer suspension, bigger anchors….

• kkzoom on Dec 08, 2015 at 11:23 am

Well done MAZDA…. 2 in row. Your Hardworks pay off!!
    Continue to build cars that drivers adore.

• Smlok on Dec 09, 2015 at 5:43 am

I wonder how it drives compare to Toyota 86