US petrol prices fall below US$1/gallon – RM0.90/litre!

Petron Blaze 100 Euro4M launch 4

Motorists in the United States now have a whole new reason to smile, as prices of petrol in Michigan have dropped below the US$1 (RM4.36) per US gallon (3.79 litres) mark, according to WXYZ-TV.

The state’s TV station’s news report stated that at one fuel station, Beacon & Bridge Market in Houghton Lake, is in fact selling a gallon of petrol at just 78 cents (RM3.41) – that’s 90 sen per litre. A Marathon Gas Station, also in Houghton Lake, lists petrol at 95 cents (RM4.15) a gallon, or RM1.10 per litre.

The American Automotive Association (AAA) in Michigan stated that prices in the state have fallen by about 13 cents (57 sen) over the past week. On Sunday, the average price for regular 87-octane (not equivalent to our RON measurements) unleaded petrol was around US$1.74 (RM7.60), or RM2.01 per litre – that’s 19 cents (83 sen) cheaper than at the same point last year. This is the first time Michigan has seen prices drop below US$1.75 per gallon since January 2009.

Previously, the AAA has stated that the average price of petrol across the US will continue to fall below last year’s average of US$2.40 (RM10.49) per gallon – or RM2.77 per litre – in 2016, as oil prices hit a near seven-year low. The Independent in the United Kingdom reported that crude oil prices have now dipped below US$28 (RM122) a barrel – a far cry from 2008, when prices shot past the US$100 (RM436) a barrel mark for the first time.

By comparison, current fuel prices in Malaysia as of January 2016 are as follows: RON 95 petrol is priced at RM1.85 per litre, RON 97 petrol at RM2.25 per litre, diesel at RM1.60 per litre and Euro 5 diesel at RM1.70. On the high-performance side of things, Shell V-Power Racing costs RM2.65 per litre, while Petron’s new RON 100 petrol is priced at RM2.80 per litre.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• hahaha on Jan 19, 2016 at 4:50 pm

why then the h*ll are we paying RM1.85 per litre????

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 183 Thumb down 5
    • Wahai Orang Orang Kampung on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:12 pm

Masih tak sedar lagi? Kerajaan anda tipu anda puas puas. Now it is open for everyone to see, Petrol is only 90 sen per litre. US also incur processing and distribution cost. So how petrol can be 90 sen?

In Malaysia, we are cheated big time. This is even worse when we produce our own oil. We produce our own high grade oil but this high grade oil is sold to Japan and Arabs at a high price. Then for Malaysians, our Government imports very low quality and super high in sulphur for Malaysians.

We Malaysians use this super high sulphur petrol which causes many health problems because it is Carcinogic and POISON.

Don’t we Malaysians deserve the right to use our own oil drilled and mined from our own Tanah Air?

And why are we paying RM185 when the true price of petrol is 90 sen??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 187 Thumb down 10
      • Diamonds Girls Best Friend on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:18 pm

” Darling …Don’t matter what public opinion is… just make sure you get me the latest 2016 diamond collection “

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 2
        • Educate Donkey on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:36 am

Are you talking about Rosmah’s RM85 million dollar diamond? She already said, she saved from childhood.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
          • Educate Donkey on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:42 am

But the donkey cannot see the Birkin handbags costing RM500k each, the private jets costing few hundred million despite existing 4 jets already got, the RM85 mil diamond, the exorbitant free trips to Kazakstan, the RM2.6 billion (now RM4 billion) etc

• Wake Up Malaysians on Jan 20, 2016 at 9:21 am

I hope Malaysians wake up. 90% people suffer but few cronies, mainly government servants enjoy a lavish lifestyle.

All of them jetset around the world. And most UMNO cronies and government servants all own posh partments in London costing 1 million pounds and above.

Yes, most of them are mere Government Servants. I never knew our Government pays so much for them to even buy RM7 million properties in London

• RM1.85 for Euro 2M Petrol on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:13 pm

So unfair. And this is after US oil is heavily taxed. Even after heavily taxed, it can be 90 sen for Euro 4 or 5 quality

Malaysia got no tax on petrol. So I can only guess it must be 70 sen. We pay RM1.85 for Euro 2M petrol (Euro 2M is Euro 1.5)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Because our country’s major revenue stream includes oil, and we’re losing money from our oil business? Hello? Did you go through secondary school at all?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 98
      • Gargantia on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:25 pm

When loss revenue blame Rakyat to cover(GST 6%) the cronies losses??? When earning cronies continue buy plane and diamond including “donation”??? Where’s your logic? Dignity logic?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
      • Najib logic on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:55 pm

When oil price goes up..gov increase the price of petrol and saying that the price went up…when the price falll..gov remain or increse the price of petrol and saying that country main revenue lost…wtf is this gov

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
      • badfren on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:06 pm

Hey donkey, then y when generate revenue (during 110pb)telling us that they need to subsidize more on petrol?

• Educate Donkey on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:37 am

Still making fun of people and looking down on people ie asking people whether they went to secondary school?

• DonkeyKong Official BN agent on Jan 20, 2016 at 9:14 am

People fed up lah read your post. Everybody also know we kena tipu minyak. Even 20 years now, Gomen tipu subsidise minyak.

What is there to subsidise? We produe our own oil. Like Brunei. Sell to your own rakyat cheap cheap first lah then sell at global prices.

Think about your rakyat, not just few UMNO pockets to get richer.

• Vinvent Ang on Jan 20, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Donkey asshole waiting for Kak Ros licking.

• tomfoolery on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 153
      • Night on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:46 pm

“is in fact selling a gallon of petrol at just 78 cents (RM3.41) – that’s 90 sen per litre.”

Did you even read the article? or a fool

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 2
      • Night on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:48 pm

a Gallon is NOT a liter

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
      • TOMFOOL on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:51 pm

RM0.90 per litle lah you tom fool…
        see properly lah…

And do you see properly in you undi paper before you cross ah??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:38 pm

Why are we paying RM1.85 when true prices are 90 sen? Very simple. It is because of Songlapping.

We have to subsidise the lavish lifestyles of our Ministers and their wives. now, their private piggy bank Petronas is short of money, so, they cannot just take billions at one go anytime.

So, we rakyat now have to pay for those lavish living, those 20 or 30 Birkin handbags that cost about RM100k to RM500k each etc.

Welcome to the Government that Songlaps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 13
    • Donkey J on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:52 pm

this questions is mystery, it calculate formula out by superior G.

• Gargantia on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Still waiting for the BN cronies supporters to reply… Yet the Red is hiding and they call “dignity”!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Power Rangers on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:56 pm

Else Jibby cant demand the $$ from Petronas for his spending…

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:13 pm

I will soon change my son saga to 4 liter Lexus since petrol is cheap.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 21, 2016 at 10:55 am

With Toyota good sales, I already driving Lexus, why keep a Proton at home? No one keep junk at home!

• Minyak on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:03 am

Janji Ditepati

• hahaha on Jan 19, 2016 at 4:53 pm

I also like how MAS, AA, TNB etc… all staying quiet as a mouse now that petrol prices are below $30.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:16 pm

Why? What statement should they make? That our country’s income from Petronas has fallen to roughly half of what’s projected, but oh, don’t worry, although we’re over RM50 billion in terms of national revenue, we’ll reduce prices for all our citizens so that they can enjoy spending while Malaysia can go bankrupt and start borrowing money from neighboring countries that we’ll never be able to return, just like Greece?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 63
      • wahai macai…sejak bila more cashflow for citizens to spend will result in a country going bankrupt..

the more the ordinary man spends the more money goes back into the economy which will in turn spur more spending..it’s a cyclic process la moron…wana defend your political believe also think before commenting la….

A large reason the country is doing badly is unlike many oil producing countries..there was less diversification and lot of mismanagement when attempts were made to diversify with the oil revenue (since this a car page ill name proton as a prime example)…

Relying on substantial income from ONE company 50 years after being self sufficient really shows the extent we have fallen behind our peers…and pls..dont use Myanmar and some backwater African country to compare..our peers back then were the likes of Korea and Taiwan…enough said…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
        • DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:42 pm

That only applies if the economy is domestically-driven with a bulk of the spending on domestically-produced goods rather than imports. Increased public spending doesn’t always translate to a better economic climate, it also depends on where the spending is going.

And you’re right, 50 years later, still depending on one primary commodity. And you know why this is so? Because Malaysians are stupid and lazy and love blaming everything on the government, and expect the government to shore up the economy. The local population is so low-quality that it’ll still be decades before we have a functional knowledge economy that relies more on IP and services than commodities and manufacturing.

Malaysians only want no tax, a strong ringgit, cheap cars, more salary, etc. without knowing what drives the economy. The country is not just the government. It’s the people. What have you guys done to strengthen the local economy? Anything?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 55
          • George Abdul on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:56 pm

If the Rakyat had no faith in the government then… just left the post to some capable person !!! End of your BN protection logic !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
          • hahaha on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:40 pm

wow… donkeys sure has lots to say….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
          • Educate Donkey on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:40 am

aiseh, always calling everybody else stupid and lazy. You so clever ah?

• Hafiz on Jan 20, 2016 at 9:19 am

Hope the donkey isn’t a Malaysian, otherwise it just called itself “stupid and lazy” :-D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
          • What people want on Jan 20, 2016 at 9:50 am

“Malaysians only want no tax, a strong ringgit, cheap cars, more salary, etc.”
            That’s not what Malaysian want, that’s what everybody in this world would want. That’s why we have the government. The government supposed to be the most brilliant peoples so that they can bring prosperity to the citizen. But when the leaders are sohais and got backed up by peoples like you that’s why we’re all having this nonsense.

• Educate Donkey on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:38 am

Real BN macai. Now don’t know what to say. Just hantam people

• Power Rangers on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:58 pm

thats bcos your boss is corrupted

• The Truth About Petronas on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:21 pm

The problem is this. About 30 years ago, Petronas management and our Government had no brains. They signed an agreement with the Mat Salleh cartels to sell Oil at US$30 per barrel. At that time, oil was US$20 per barrel.

The only problem, this was a contract for the next 50 years at a fixed price of US$30 per barrel. Our bodoh Minsiters thought they outwit the whiteman. They thought they were so pandai even the white man kena con.

So when oil went US$130 per barrel, Petronas still had to sell at US$30 per barrel to this cartel. Practically ALL our oil.

This is what you call bodoh business. Our Government, even 30 years ago, were filled with Bodoh people who could not see or forsee oil could go to even US$150 per barrel.

So, when oil prices went up and up and up, Petronas never made a sen.

Now, of course, as it dips below US$30, Petronas can make little bit money.

This what happens when Petronas keeps its books secret from the public and the public cannot give check and balance and scrutiny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
      • DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:37 pm

Bravo for a crappily-written piece of fiction

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
        • Educate Donkey on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:44 am

Sounds fiction like the fiction BN created about DAP being offered billions so that Yahudi can set up army base here. But Donkey says its truth

• Yellowschoolbus on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:09 pm

Hahaha…the most stupidest comment of 2016…and 2016 just started…ignorant fool with super imagination…

• Amriji on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:16 pm

Apa cerita mimpi dongeng pulak ni?

• The Truth About Your A$$ on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:04 pm

HAHAHAHA I’d like to see your source. If Malaysia has 2mil like you..wait..even 20 people like you….God save us.

• DAP RBA new interns ka ni? kekekekek

• If this is the only way government compensate the living cost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • Fook the government! They where got time to look after us? Only thing they know is to raSuah Rasuah and RASUAH

• Question?? on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:24 pm

But because petrol is high, all our food prices have 3 fold in prices the past 10 years. So, how can our Government compensate living cost???

• George Abdul on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:52 pm

This john come to protect his cronies again… He just keep make excuses for cronies until Malaysia went bankrupt… then will finally realised he’s been cheat for his whole life !!! Only Rakyat suffer, Cronies owner still with their luxury life !!!

• Educate Donkey on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:46 am

john and donkeykong are the same person. Everybody knows this now.

• Jimmy on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:35 pm

Sangat suka makan terlampau banyak cakes secara keterlaluan.
      Hyper tidak efisien. Inilah USA.

Itu US kan negara pengeluar petroleum terbesar di dunia.

• kapchai on Jan 19, 2016 at 4:56 pm

what is the pump price of petrol in saudi arabia now? RM1,40/litre?

• lao yee on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Full of craps from BN. The ‘market price’ is based on their own mood. Keep cheating Rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • where do our gov study their maths? Tandas ke? we are paying 2x of US price while we produce our oil..

• salim on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:11 pm

John oh John
    You are fed shit and you think its caviar.
    You a such an imbecile & a total douchebag.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Lower petrol prices = lower national revenue. The country is already earning less and people want fuel prices to go down and further reduce our national revenue? Malaysia is not like Singapore, 80% of our economy still relies on commodities. When commodity prices take a hit, our currency and economy take a hit, so it’s impossible for the government to reduce prices in light of this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 55
    • Amriji on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:22 pm

Ini satu lagi cerita Hindustan…fuel price lower to own Rakyat does not mean lower national revenue. Unless the Government revenue is to suck the Rakyat’s blood through tax on fuel. Was there an announcement on fuel tax?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • Gargantia on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:29 pm

National earing less then why civil services still increase salary? Yet need Rakyat to cover(GST 6%) national losses? Where’s your logic???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Oh mak lu cina on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:20 pm

I thought Malaysian sells their oil to overseas and we import lowsy arab oil. So what has it got to do with the country earning less vs the petrol price? After all we are not using our own oil. You cannot be expecting rakyat to make up the drop of revenue right? No brains.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • bunny on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:15 am

Dear donkeykong.. i think u r wasting yr time with these paultan readers. ‘Empty vessels make the loudest noise’ is simply how i label them. Let them be and go n educate other people who are more open minded in dealing with arguments. Total waste of time commenting here. All news must be politically related. Sigh.
      The only valid n sane commenters in paultan are sudonano, donkeykong,n aero. The rest are just politically driven imbissle who came to an automotive website to spread their agenda. How low could you go ppl?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
      • Educate Donkey on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:47 am

Now Donkey change name to bunny and create a new identity to cover himself up. Everybody knows now Donkey is a BN Cybertrooper

• they are RBA bro. Been paid to do this.

• Cantona on Jan 20, 2016 at 9:40 am

Nice name change DonkeyKong. Trying to be a bunny now??
        The only person that starts politic drivel is you. Please keep your politic inclinations out of a car blog.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:12 pm

Yes, there’s only one single person in the whole world that has different thoughts from you guys, because thinking that the opposition is just as crappy, or that we have a part to play in strengthening the economy instead of blaming the govt for everything, is against the norm and must be the work of people who are paid by BN. With such extremely low intellect, is it any wonder that you guys are the ingredients that made Malaysia a failed state?

• Learn your Lesson on Jan 20, 2016 at 6:01 pm

still talking rubbish and looking down on others, calling others names, calling others low intellect.

• VanDamn on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:57 am

Do you remember when prices were at a record high a few years back and we were paying sky high prices? Even though we were an oil producing company, the government mentioned they needed to subsidize for our petrol. How can you subsidize something you have? Now the prices are low and the argument is we cannot afford to reduce our national revenue by adjusting oil prices to market value. Masa harga tinggi, untung banyak..masa harga turun, pun nak untung…..

• Raymond Chia on Jan 20, 2016 at 10:10 am

As I fast forward along the comment section, I’ve been noticing your comment again & again.

I can’t help it but to reply.

Judging from your comment “lower petrol prices = lower national revenue”, I don’t think you’ve learn enough. Stop lurking around the internet too much, and go back to your books.

Cheers.

• Mak Esah on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Eee murah nye boleh lah pegi pekan selalu!!!

• Labuan max on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Please tell us what Ron the usa price you give

• Mboleh on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:18 pm

WHY IS THE PRICE OF PETROL STILL SO HIGH? IT’s because those crocodiles have yet to finish their feeding from the poor rakyat!

• and of course when this keluar buletin tv3 , they will compare to Singapore, say Malaysia among the cheapest price in Asean. and then cut to some menteri pa so la, says Malaysia bertuah dan harus bersyukur. am I right

• muixmuix on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:21 pm

now we were the ones who subsidies the government..

• dodgeviper88 on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Man this is seriously screwed-up. Don’t forget US oil prices includes taxes that they recently just increased. Our oil prices should be around RM1/L the most. Furthermore Singapore is reducing their public transport prices while ours increase by 30%. What a joke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • Gargantia on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:55 pm

This time Red “dignity” will come and protect Rakyat or his cronies boss? Where are them now? Hiding with his bosses !!!

• Ollie on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:30 pm

This article is gonna flame so much its gonna burn down the internet.

The reason we’re paying RM1.85 is a remnant of BN subsidy history. Gomen fixed prices when they had so much of money to subsidise fuel. Petrol station operators minted money as fixed costs and guaranteed returns for years.

Now, its a managed float, to protect station operators (many are Bumi) and to shield rakyat from fluctuation.

Malaysians are not used to fluctuations in general. We only know fixed price petrol for years, and until today we see people queuing up at night if price increases 5sen tomorrow, to save appx. 5sen*40 l = 2 bloody ringgit. The fuel burned while waiting and start-stopping the engine also more than RM2.

We can go to daily float, like developed countries. But what will rakyat do when price goes back up? Complain lg la.. biasa la. kita kan suka komplen.

Its the subsidy mentality that caused this ‘managed’ float. Now the gomen hides behind it, but make no mistake, rakyat wanted this.

Nevertheless, lets move to daily float, free market petrol. Like in the UK, Tesco will start selling wholesale petrol.

But don’t you dare complain when the price goes up. For all we know, there’ll be cars dying all over the place cos they are waiting for tomorrow to fill up their tanks, dgr cite.. esok petrol turun.. xpe la petrol light da kuar.. xpe la… nk jimat RM1.20 esok je la pump minyak…alamak enjin matii.. alamakk…

Subsidy culture – forget about it. We’re not OPEC, our petrol money should be saved for future generations and not used to fuel the stupid cars we have here and to subsidise. Its basic economics, google and learn about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:44 pm

People here are too lazy to google. Most have been stuck under their tempurung all their lives. Fewer still have ever tried creating their own tech startups and tried setting up companies in other countries. But everyone talks like an economic expert when the bottomline of what they’re saying is merely “Me! Me! Me! I want cheap cars! Cheap fuel! More salary! I wanna do the same thing over and over every day but live like a king!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
      • George Abdul on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:01 pm

Good go tell your boss ajib and RosFat don’t live like a king !!! You dare??? Foolish Donkeykong

• Educate Donkey on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:49 am

aiseh again calling everyone lazy lah, stupid lah, not wise lah. Donkey, donkey, pergi tidur lah bang. Sudah makan nasi lemak, apa lagi mahu biing

• Cantona on Jan 20, 2016 at 9:54 am

Says the Donkey who has so much time to flame in this blog. Blaming all Malaysians for this and that with his better than thou or holier than thou attitude. So tell me what do you contribute to the country other than trolling in a blog since you mentioned how lazy Malaysians are??

• Should i bersyukur that gomen cheated me? on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:35 pm

Below Usd30 per barrel our pump stations price tag around rm0.85-1.10 (Mahathir time,1999-2002) Petronas still survived,made money & paid tax.But Usd30 per barrel now our pump stations still slottering people’s necks at rm1.85-1.95 (Jibby time,2009-now)..Should be rm1.20-1.25 per little lor Jibby… Now no more 15-20billion yearly subsidy.Where’s the saved subsidy money go? Gst,toll increased

• DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Ever heard of inflation and currency devaluation? Then might as well blame every single PM since 1957 because back in the 80’s we could buy curry noodles for less than RM1 but today it’s around RM5-6.. must be due to the hawkers’ insatiable greed..

But oh, back then in the 80’s the starting salary was less than RM300 while today it’s around RM1800 at least, so perhaps we should also go back to the starting salary levels of the past?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
      • George Abdul on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Foolish to bring hawkers in your logic??? Where the goods and foods maintain the price??? if not government control the price them who??? End of you fooling logic !!!

• Amriji on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:27 pm

Ever heard of stupid governance and leakages due to corruption? Price of fuel today RM0.90 per liter still means RM0.90 per litre. Not RM 1.85 per litre. This is already without subsidy…

• RM300 - Ha Ha Ha on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:33 am

I started work in the 80s. Fresh graduate. My salary was RM1500. Where got RM300? This alone shows, you are a compulsive liar and all your postings are doubtful

Hello abang crony, RM300 was in the 60s lah

• Educate Donkey on Jan 20, 2016 at 8:51 am

In 80s my wonton mee was RM1.80. Chicken Rice was RM1.80. Where got below RM1?? When you became BN Cybertrooper, UMNO never briefed you on this ah?

• tokmoh. on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:43 pm

The jews did this ronaldo.gif

• MeToo on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:56 pm

Guys. Pls stop complaining about high petrol prices…

We need someone to pay for all those private jets, shopping trips overseas, educational trips where everyone and their maids fly overseas fully paid for…

Your government thanks you for your contribution…

• kipid on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:00 pm

years ago when people complain car price is high. some expert at buliten tv3 say that because our petrol is cheaper. now car price increase, and our petrol not even get subsided.

• sick&tired on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:01 pm

to all my fellow malaysians,

Please wake up before it’s too late! We are all suffering because of Jibby’s mistakes! They are trying to divide us by using religion and race so that they can stay in power. We used to be on par with freaking South Korea! Now, even Thailand has suppressed us. If we are not careful, it will be our future generations who will end working as maids in countries like Indonesia and Vietnam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Gomorrah on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Sick and tired,

We are suffering because of the mistakes of his predecessor, the longest serving prime minister of this country (not to say that the current one is innocent). Google the historical forex records, see how he devalued our currency from being on par with Singapore for short term gain. See how his ill-advised venture into auto manufacturing has resulted in this mismatch between our earning capacity and car ownership and worse still home ownership. Look at all the apartments springing up everywhere so that the local councils can collect more rates/fees for the same plot of land. And look at all the traffic congestion this causes which leads to the “need” for new highways for traffic dispersal – all by crony companies with a toll agreement which is basically a license for them to print money for 30, 40, 50 or more years. Privatisation of state assets/utilities, world class air carrier brought to it’s knees by idiotic policies. An education system that produces blinkered imbeciles who cannot question why the system has to be like this, no understanding of our skewed electoral system, and an opposition that is now resorting to the same practices as the incumbent because there is no other way to gain power in this country. We are well and truly screwed and scarcely anyone will stand up to make the change happen.

• Bobster on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:05 pm

It would be interesting to see what the process are across the causeway and up north. The US is a very different market than us and our neighbors. For one, refinery capacity for Malaysia is much smaller, to the point we’ve to import finished products to make up for a lack of supply. As it stands, we’re about 600 kbpd for the whole country combined, that’s less refining capacity than the state of Texas.

Secondly, we do not have many players in the oil manufacturing space. All our refineries are owned by a multi national, and there’s 4 in the country. The US is unique because they have a huge refining base, and independent ones at that. So there’s a much bigger supply base and hence the supply is not controlled by a few players.

Thirdly, there are many grades of petrol being used in the States, some of which are no longer used here. You can still GET RON 88 and 92 petrol there. In addition, I think Federal EPA standards for emissions are not as strict as the EURO standards we’re implementing. So there will be petrol brands which are going to be much more expensive than the ones quoted in the article.

• kazanixm on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:06 pm

well i do have concern when the oil price is getting too low. if the oil reserved in the world is near depleted/rumoured to be depleted, the price will be increasing sky high to the extend that we the people could not afford to pay the gas. some sort of supply and demand logical. well, thats just me i guess

• kesian~Malaysian on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Haiz….forget about fuel price dropping. I don’t see any drop of the price of food, drinks, raw materials, etc etc… Some more it’s still going up due to CNY. There goes COMMON SENSE & here comes NONSENSE. =_=”

• ben yap on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:22 pm

when i read until the end of this article, i already know that this article will generate a lot of hatred towards the government.

• Elekom on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:22 pm

Prices on December 2015.

Crude oil – USD37 per barrel.
    Refined oil – USD57 per barrel.

RON95 and 97 = refined oil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Amriji on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:30 pm

And the prices stated in the article above is not ‘refined oil’? So US cars do not use ‘Refine Oil’? They run on minyak masak kah?

• Tadalaku 1M on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:23 pm

world oil price naik, malaysia GOVT cepat cepat naik harga…

world oil price drop, malaysia govt buat tak tau….then want to setup committee to study, etc bulshit. Give lots excuses that business man losing money, as though Malaysi govt garanti sure-profit to petrol station operators. Really then??

Looks like we are now paying the blardy govt everytime we pump petrol to our car or bike, apart from paying GST, and income tax….

The Govt has becoming a burden to Malaysian now??

• brader on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:28 pm

correction broader, world oil price drop, govement mansuhkan subsidi. waiting for pru14

• Kipid on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:29 pm

tol naik, minyak naik, harga kerera naik harga barang pun naik. so ingat2 la bila pru 14 nnt.

• Gracke on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Nothing else our government can maintain, only petrol price can maintain very well!!!! Shit!

• merzlover on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Menteri: kalau minyak mahal, jalan kaki sudahlah

• Congrats, Paul Tan, for successfully attracting synonimous hatred from pampered msian netizen. Kudos. But one sad thing bout msian pampered netizen is they always accept fact without investigating one. Complain first, never question back mentality. Really sad. For this reason alone, politicians will forever take advantage of msians, n forever we will be stuck with a crappy gomen. Vicious cycle, no doubt bout it. Rlly sad. Sad and boring summore. Nobody, save one or two blokes, question the ron rating. Number 1, the octane rating of 87 is equivalent to ron 91. So what is the issue exactly, since we are paying 90 sen more, but getting better quality ron 95? Number 2, the 90 sen a liter price in michigan only lasted for a day or two. Now its back to abobe rm1 a liter. This is possible because of us’ floating price mechanism. Im no jibby asslicker, but for real, nobody even care to point out these two pieces of info? Rlly sad. Im disappointed by my fellow netizens who are supposedly smart, educated urbanites, but exhibiting below-par mentality. Any comments?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 23
    • Gojeng on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:53 pm

They will put the blame on everyone and everything except themselves. Maybe it is true that our education system is declining, resulting to this kind of mentality. komplen komplen komplen whine whine whine bark bark bark oni loh.

• They have been well trained by Democrazy And Politiking. Nuff said

• DonkeyKong on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:10 am

Why feel sad, bro? There’s plenty of opportunities elsewhere, considering the ignorance, arrogance and low-quality of Malaysian citizens. You tell them something they don’t like to hear, they accuse you of being BN cybertrooper, or being paid by BN, etc. as if alternative views do not exist in the universe.

If you’d like to look for opportunities elsewhere, don’t need to look too far and hard. It took me and my partners only three days to set up a private limited company in Singapore vs the 2 weeks it took to form a Sdn Bhd in Malaysia. It took us just a week to have our business address set up in the Cayman Islands and 30 minutes to have our bank accounts set up in Singapore with an international bank. In less than a month, we have access to global markets with a HQ in a country that has more tax treatise with every other countries in the world than most tax havens, Labuan included. We have since spread our wings so far and fast that looking back at Malaysia (business-wise) feels like looking back upon a joke or a bad dream.

Let the wild dogs bark at the moon for all they want. The real world out there doesn’t wait for whiners and complainers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • dontknowdonthurt on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:33 pm

I wish I hadn’t click this news. the more u know, the more it hurts

• Kin chew on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:59 pm

The article doesn’t tell the whole story. Prices are so low because of a price war between the three stations. Average prices throughout the country are still in the $1.75 range per gallon

• LOL, find it funny to see all the comments, let’s take a look from another perspective, if let say, americans visits malaysia today, they will be shocked to see our petrol is priced at USD 0.43/litre. that price is ridiculously cheap by taking the fact that it is a premium petrol. will they go back home and scream at barack obama? oh ya, pls discount the falling of the exchange rate, even if 1 usd= rm3, the price would still be cheaper at rm 0.61/litre, holding the price of the oil is constant at rm1.85. No i don’t support BN neither do i support pakatan but please,if you want to hate someone make sure you have a very strong reason to do so.

• no hater on Jan 20, 2016 at 11:10 am

No, we are not haters.. we just want transparency.
      The government promised to give the formula of how the float price is calculated. Why continue to deny us the truth if there is nothing to hide?

How do we know for a fact that we are not subsidising the government in oil prices? If we are, we have the right to know.

You will get skepticism if you don’t come clean.

• Vinvent Ang on Jan 20, 2016 at 3:21 pm

Hei idiot USD 0.43/liter is the equivalent of USD 1.63/US gallon. US petrol prices just broke 1 USD. This is what happens when you study math and science in Malay.

• The oil price in US is cheaper because there’s supply glut of oil due to the shale boom. To make it worst, US law prevents producer from importing the shale gas. If the law is lifted and they are able to import, the global oil price will also fall, and of course, we will get cheaper oilà. But see from different perspective, we Malaysian will be hit harder due to the shrinking profit from o&g.

• eric wong on Jan 20, 2016 at 11:19 am

where was PM promise car price turun by 30%? only in Malaysia both cars & petrol are expensive….
    someone will jump out crying Singapore but in Singapore you don’t necessary need a car to move about, can you do that in Malaysia?
    I can see my future in Thailand/ Indonesia…