Peugeot 308 THP Active – confirmed at RM119,888

Peugeot_308_THP_Active-1

Previously estimated at RM120,888, Nasim Sdn Bhd has confirmed that its Peugeot 308 THP Active variant is priced at RM119,888 – a cool RM17,000 under the regular 308 THP’s recently revised RM136,888 price.

Naturally, the cheaper vehicle does get a revised list of equipment to match. For example, halogen reflector headlamps are featured instead of LED ones, and there aren’t any front parking sensors on the vehicle either. The front bumper has also been revised to accommodate repositioned LED daytime running lights.

Instead of the regular 308 THP’s 18-inch “Sapphire” alloy wheels, the 308 THP Active makes do with slightly smaller 17-inch “Rubis” rollers. And where there was previously a spare alloy wheel in the rear, the Active gets a steel one instead.

Peugeot_308_THP_Active-2

Inside, the 308 THP Active features fabric seats instead of the more expensive Alcantara option, and items like the electric massage function have been removed. Fortunately, there are several key items that remain, such as the 9.7-inch touchscreen display and the 3D Arkamys six-speaker audio system.

The model’s performance remains untouched, offering a 1.6 litre twin-scroll turbocharged engine which delivers 150 hp and 240 Nm of torque. The mill is paired with a six-speed Aisin-sourced torque converter automatic transmission.

For safety, the 308 THP Active continues to offer six airbags and an electronic stability programme (ESP) as standard. However, its dynamic cruise control, emergency collision alert and emergency collision braking systems have been given a miss.

Five body colours are available, including Rouge Red, Mocha Brown, Artense Grey and Nera Black. The more affordable version of the 308 THP first appeared in Peugeot showrooms here in December, and bookings have been opened since then.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 26, 2016 at 12:40 pm

I did notice that there ain’t many 308s left on the road now as there were a lot on the road once upon a time. Anyone care to guess what happened?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • thepolygonal on Jan 26, 2016 at 1:32 pm

Warped cylinder head?

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 26, 2016 at 3:38 pm

Getting the Peugeot is same as getting a Proton, good luck to the quality!

• No part on Jan 27, 2016 at 11:19 am

Honestly I would take Proton then.
          Both will breakdown, but at least Proton has parts.

Peugeot? enough of calling service center to ask for status. If you ever own a Peugeot under Naza, you know what I mean.

• Diseaser on Jan 26, 2016 at 8:36 pm

I saw disease both comment and commenter. Plus disease car (used junk banyak makan wang F30)

• john (umno) on Jan 26, 2016 at 1:49 pm

Because everyone goes to buy 316i. Cheap and more styling.

• cabaiperawit on Jan 26, 2016 at 2:26 pm

problematic car. use only for those who are know how to handle the car. for ladies, please stay away from this car unless u have husband. anyway, it is a nice car to drive. to own it? tepuk dada tanya selera :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Someone got greedy and when sales down they panic and removed everyting…tis model was hot last time at Rm99k plus, suddenly increasesd ti Rm130k when new model came..same story wit Kia Forte old model Rm75k hot selling than they chg the bame to Celaka and increased prices to Rm100k of course the sel oso celaka

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
    • 4G63T DSM on Jan 26, 2016 at 2:03 pm

I can live without the leather seats, front parking sensors, LED headlamps, and big wheels. I can probably also make do without the active cruise control.

But removing the city active safety systems is a step too far.

As you know, active city stop could have save you a lot more money than you have paid for …in a single case of distrupted attention.

Someone at Naza Peugeot wasn’t thinking properly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Matter on Feb 06, 2016 at 8:30 pm

Since when does the 308 comes with active city stop? what you on about bro?

• theanswer on Jan 26, 2016 at 5:10 pm

the 99k is vti model. thp always over 100k. the previous gen 1.6thp priced at 120k. single spec halogen lamp. i think now for 99k u can get 408thp after discount.

• This 308 can be considered – only if you were a French.

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Jan 26, 2016 at 1:20 pm

Please bring in the Diesel HDI… Not this… We want Diesel.

• Sammy Loo on Jan 26, 2016 at 2:45 pm

There are not many of Peugeot 508 diesel variant on the road, petrol is way more than diesel.

• Peugeot fan on Jan 26, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Wrong move peugeot. 308 has always been a car of a legacy which it has its own fans. U can never beat the major cars manutacturer like honda toyota 3tc but atleast u shud keep ur standard atleast for peugeot enthusiast. Surprise? Yes there are numbers of driver that eud buy peogeot over and over again, im one of them. Halogen reflector headlamp? Fabric seats? BIG mistake peugeot.

• intermilan on Jan 26, 2016 at 1:38 pm

???

Sorry to point the obvious, but introduction of this lower-spec 308 does not mean they stop selling the high-spec 308.

You can still buy the high-spec 308.

• intermilan on Jan 26, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Offering a cheaper version of 308 (which is not that cheap) might not solved the problem of collapsing sales that they are having.

As bad as VW reputation is, the evident pointed that Nasim / Peugeot is in much much worse quadmire.

Overall market performance is flat, and Peugeot sales managed to plunge by a whopping 45.7% (VW -28.2%).
    There is no clear external factors to be blamed for this abysmal number / performance.

They should come clean with many issues that are damaging the brand values. Issue such as “excessive carbonation” of the Prince engine should be addressed better. Solution (if there’s any) should be made public.

Nasim should also advise what type of petrol (either RON 95 Euro 2 or RON97 Euro 4) should be use for each model/variants/engine (e.g. 308/Active/150hp).

Especially so models with Prince engine.
    Could Euro 4 petrol helps?

Anyway, good luck.

• theanswer on Jan 26, 2016 at 5:13 pm

to be honest..u will face more other problem before u face “excessive carbonation” problem.

• No part on Jan 27, 2016 at 11:24 am

Excessive carbonation??
      This is Malaysia lah, since when this is the prime consideration for buying a car?
      And Mini uses Prince, I don’t see the sales plunge 45.7%??

But I do agree that Nasim dealership here is the weak link.

• Hafriz’s fav car :-D

• isuzuki on Jan 26, 2016 at 1:54 pm

How nice.

• Najib on Jan 26, 2016 at 2:03 pm

Y no Keyless Entry n Push Start at this price??

• Same L0rrr on Jan 26, 2016 at 2:09 pm

Never buy French except for wine and bread. As I always said, you will never go wrong with sushi cars. Buy Toyota better, good RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Sammy Loo on Jan 26, 2016 at 2:47 pm

hardly see any new 308THP on the road after launching for quite awhile, after having bad experience with the previous generation of 308, nobody wants this junk anymore. Look at the RV, it is worse than kimchis!

• Tadalaku on Jan 26, 2016 at 8:32 pm

this car is a failure even before it is launched and sold.

You have been warned, people.

• KennyFang on Jan 26, 2016 at 9:07 pm

308 is one of the most problematic cars in Malaysia. Buy this car only if:-
    1) You have an intimate knowledge of this model and can handle its problems without panicking or frustration
    2) You are prepared to spend a lot of time in service centres
    3) You have a spare car to use when your 308 is warded in the workshop for weeks or months
    4) Your work allows you a lot of flexibility to be late due to car trouble and SC visits.
    5) You can keep your temper when SC treat you like a peabrain.
    6) You are prepared for the occasional roadside breakdown. If you are a lady who drives at night please think twice.
    7) You are prepared to sell off your car when the warranty expires at abysmal value…if you can find a buyer.
    8) If you decide to keep the car after warranty expires you are prepared to fork out on average RM12K a year maintainng it.

If you are prepared to do all the above, enjoy this car!